We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Capital Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 6: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

I specified I wanted a window when I booked, but did not have any when I arrived and there was no way to change it. The staff was kind of OK, but the female owner was more than cold and worst was her extremely arrogant French husband who dared to make some rather disagreeable and provocative politic comments out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sacha M
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located quite conveniently near Tetrakovskaya Station, in walking distance of Red Square and many other sights. Fine facilities. HOWEVER, all the reception staff (we met three) were rude and off putting, with none of the understanding and chirpy attitude usually found in hostels. They were very inflexible when they found out we made a booking error online, making us pay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank polarbowler
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! I'm really sorry you had an unpleasant stay. The regulations you faced were due to the fact that we are a small hostel and can not afford to have too many clients on the spot when they are not supposed to have checked in yet (for the comfort of other clients, especially in summer). When it comes to the... More 

Travellers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The place is a little hard to find at once but once you found it, it is very easy to remember. The location is fantastic. not only is it very central but the area has many bars and restaurant and is pretty lively. 2 metro lines and amazingly close as well. The price is definitely great for Moscow. I stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LoumaB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Do never stay at this hostel! You will have to share the bathroom with a big amount of strange people, everything is very dirty, people at the reception are quite arrogant and the room doesnt even have a single window! I would have change my room at the same moment I arrived there! I asked for a towel and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ivantxu09
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comment! Our site, just like Booking.com or other channels perfectly indicates that we have all types of rooms, private as well as dormitories. As in any Hostel (and not Hotel), you share your space with other guests only if you choose to do so. However, it is always good to receive any comments in order... More 

Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Starting from the positive aspect of this accommodation: it's in a very good location and well signposted. When I checked in, I specified to the female owner about the possibility of staying only one night. She showed me the hostel, she sounded ok, but she was not able to give me proper information about Moscow (easy questions about public transport... More 

Helpful?
Thank inabigcountry
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you fro your comments. I'm sorry to hear that your stay ended up on this unpleasant incident. It was necessary last summer as we are a small business and can not afford to keep the luggage of everyone. However, we made some space and changed the regulation so you can of course drop your luggage before the time... More 

Riyadh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

As they advertise in their website, it is more like a guesthouse than a hostel. The hostel is not crowded like typical hostel, so it is good for you who need a good rest after wandering Moscow. The location is excellent, only 2 minutes walk to metro station. You can take the metro to the red square, or just walk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Seveight

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Zamoskvorechye
Medea Hotel
Medea Hotel
#138 of 296 in Moscow
31 reviews
Sayany Hotel
#211 of 296 in Moscow
90 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Park Inn Sadu
Park Inn Sadu
#57 of 296 in Moscow
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zamoskvorechye
Kadashevskaya Hotel
Kadashevskaya Hotel
#53 of 296 in Moscow
277 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Zamoskvorechye
No photo provided
108 Minutes Hostel
#81 of 1,344 in Moscow
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Zamoskvorechye

Neighbourhood Profile
Zamoskvorechye
It wouldn’t be a mistake to call Pyatnitskaya street the main axis of this neighborhood – turn one direction and you’ll find the Tretyakov Gallery in Lavrushinsky Lane, turn another – a hip Scandinavian restaurant. Old churches now embrace contemporary life with style and grace. Going to Zamoskvorechye is like visiting during the times when it was a medieval Russian quarter, but with a modern twist of 20th century buildings pushing themselves into the 21st century with new businesses opening weekly. Stroll down Pyatnitskaya to taste dozens of global cuisines – from Ukrainian and Georgian to Thai and American.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Extremely well located, only 10 minutes on foot from Red Square, the Kremlin and all major points of interest (including the famous Tretyakov Gallery), our hostel offers a light, clean, homelike and peaceful atmosphere. Close to all public transportation, 30 seconds away from a convenient metro station, the hostel will also offer you the possibility to get a quick access to the best price cafeterias with traditional Russian food, fast food, sushi bars, and regular bars located in the neighborhood. ATM's, Exchange banks, Post office, Pharmacies are to be found easily in this part of the city which mixes nightlife and the traditional outlook of the old Moscow.Charm of the old Moscow and modernity of a international accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital Hostel

Address: Malaya Ordynka St., 5/6, bld. 2-3, Moscow 119017, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Zamoskvorechye
Price Range: ₹ 1,778 - ₹ 2,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Capital Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're not too much on a budget, try to get a window. Even though the room with no window is not that bad.”
 of 5 bubbles LoumaB, 3 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Find another place if you can”
 of 5 bubbles inabigcountry, 4 Jun 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay