We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
50 Avenue de Bourbon, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Lowest prices for your stay
$209
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$208
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$209
Travelocity$209
ZenHotels.com$232
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1147)
Pool & Beach (306)
Room & Suite (139)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 22 hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Hotel Le Recif is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Hotel Le Recif provide a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a minibar, and guests can stay connected with free internet access.

In addition, while staying at Hotel Le Recif guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and a gift shop. You can also enjoy a pool and breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Hotel Le Recif.

While in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hotel Le Recif, including Go by le Cap Mechant (0.9 mi), Le D.C.P. (0.9 mi), and La Marmite - Restaurant Creole (1.2 mi).

Should time allow, Jardin d'Eden is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French
2045Reviews42Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 821
  • 816
  • 284
  • 96
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jean-Pierre T wrote a review Jul 2021
Entre-Deux, Reunion Island77 contributions19 helpful votes
I was expecting an average venue, actually the staff was very professional, the room clean and comfortable, breakfast really yummy. In the end we really enjoyed our stay, the only deception was the absence of a kettle in the room that helps a lot for an herbal tea at night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carin S wrote a review Nov 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa68 contributions70 helpful votes
This was my first visit to Reunion Island. The hotel is close to the beach - does not have direct access one has to go through a gate and then down to the beach - very nice breakfast included - but be careful of the BIRDS - they pounce on your food as soon as you turn your back! My room was basic. This hotel seems to be popular with families as it has more than one pool area. Maybe try to get a room on the ocean side - mine was not so no real view. Staff were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: try to stay on the ocean side of the property - it has many buildings on the property so maybe a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 11 Nov 2019
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that our team was able to provide you with excellent service and help make your trip to Reunion Island memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit! Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bigcaintoad wrote a review Oct 2019
Perth, Australia323 contributions161 helpful votes
This was our first stop at the beginning of a 12 day stay on Reunion. We were moved from our original hotel to Le Recif and we were so glad. Situated just back from the beach with views of the sea, the rooms are comfortable and all the staff friendly. Breakfast is traditional but keep an eye on the birds or they will pinch your bread! The pools are well situated and you have a family pool and an adult pool for those that prefer a bit of quite. The bar serves some excellent cocktails and evening food which is a variation on the buffet. Situated just out of the village of St Giles which has a reasonable selection of shops and a colourful Sunday market
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 25 Oct 2019
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We're delighted our team made you feel so welcome and valued during your time in our hotel. We endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. That's what we like to see! We can't wait to host you again soon for another amazing experience. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MikeyK wrote a review Aug 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa57 contributions51 helpful votes
We stayed in Hotel Le Recif for three and a half weeks during July. The hotel is well situated close to the beach with sea views from some of the rooms. There are a large number of parking bays available. There are two pools - one next to the bar and casual restaurant and one further away towards the north side of the hotel grounds. The grounds are well kept and there is direct access through a gate to the beach with the swimming area a short walk down the beach. Breakfasts are buffet and are really good enabling those that do not have lunch to make it through to dinner quite easily. The dinners are all buffet and, although we only ate there a few times, they are good. You can also order snacks at the bar/restaurant next to the pool. The staff are extremely friendly but English is limited and a smattering of French certainly helps communication. The rooms are plain and could do with some updating but are very comfortable. The only issues that we had was that the wi-fi signal in the room was not wonderful and the TV channels were all French with no other options. Overall well worth a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms near the furthest pool will generally have a better sea view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 9 Aug 2019
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you loved your stay at Le Récif and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PepaDolniBrezany wrote a review May 2019
Dolni Brezany, Czech Republic105 contributions59 helpful votes
Hotel with many villas is located in very nice garden, almost botanical with many interesting flowers and plants. Open restaurant serves very good breakfast. On the other hand only few restaurants around. Real sea swimming is not the best as in all island. Beach is just across, water shoes are highly recommended. To move around and travel, car is needed. Often traffic jam on the way to and from the airport. Hotel has large parking place. In general we stayed for 4 nights to travel and we were satisfied. Helicopter flight is a MUST.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 5 May 2019
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. A car in indeed needed to move around the island and traffic jams are frequent. One has to leave the hotel early to avoid them. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Hotel Le Récif! Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
neritab2016 wrote a review May 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel from 21 Apr to 23 April before checking into the Lux Saint Gilles. We arrived late into the evening when dinner was already closed but the staff were wonderful and prepared us a delicious dinner.The hotel also added in a roll away bed for my son.Rooms were small but clean and perfect for our family. We spent the next day at the beach which was a little disappointing as there are no loungers on the beach so you need to lie on your towel.Also the beach is very rocky. The pools at the hotel were wonderful. Service was great and the buffet breakfast and dinner was wonderful. The location of the hotel is also very central in comparison to the Lux Saint Gilles.Our only problem at the hotel was the language as we speak English and the staff only spoke French so it was difficult to communicate.Thank you to the staff for your warm hospitality. I will definitely recommend your hotel and book you again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 3 May 2019
Dear "neritab2016", Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor following your stay. We are very glad to read that everything was wonderful during your stay. We would like to thank you for all your positive comments and will relay them to our staff. The beaches in Reunion Island are all public beaches. This is why we can not display loungers or remove "rocky" corals that annoyed you. We are about about that. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. Warm regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joel G wrote a review Apr 2019
Feurs, France1 contribution
A little paradise on Earth! We were pampered by all the teams during our week. A lot of attention and kindness. A very nice place to be pampered. 2 swimming pools has layouts and rooms perfectly air-conditioned. Quiet and live place of the beach of the Hermitage.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 26 Apr 2019
Dear "Joel G", Many thanks for your kind words. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Le Récif. We are glad that you found our location convenient and found our staff friendly. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
World Wanderer wrote a review Feb 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms are basic but clean, staff is very friendly. The amenities including the pool and restaurant were great. You also can't beat the location given the very easy access to the beach. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 5 Feb 2019
Dear valued Customer, Many thanks for your kind words. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Le Récif. We are glad that you found our location convenient and found our staff friendly. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RGautam wrote a review Jan 2019
Mumbai, India107 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
This was one of the most disappointing stays .By the way this property is owned by Lux* but the services are very average .If u don't know French,u are on your own here. it's a very outdated hotel which needs immidiate attention .This rooms are very average.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 27 Jan 2019
Dear valued Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback. I'm sorry to read we didn't meet your expectations in all aspects of your stay with us. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct deficiencies in our offering. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Worldtravelernikceno wrote a review Oct 2018
New York90 contributions41 helpful votes
We paid 250 euro for a standard room and cannot believe what we saw when we entered. The room was nothing lux about this place. Very much outdated and there was even a door missing in front of the cabinet. The bathroom was old as well. I did not even dare to use the bath as this one was soo old as well. Very much disappointed and I will not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms are outdated
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif
Responded 29 Oct 2018
Dear Guest, We are so sad to know, you didn't really enjoy your stay in our Hotel. Le Récif*** is 3 stars hotel produced by Lux, located on the west coast of Reunion Island. We pay attention to all what our guest expect, so many thanks for your comment, which help us a lot. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$156 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
les hotel du recif
LOCATION
Reunion IslandArrondissement of Saint-PaulSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL LE RECIF (Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Le Recif
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Le Recif?
Nearby attractions include Harley Davidson Reunion Flying Twin (0.6 km), Plage Des Brisants (1.1 km), and La Villa Club (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Le Recif?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Le Recif?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Le Recif?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Le Recif?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Le Recif?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le jardin des sens, Villa Blanche, and Sauvage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Le Recif?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Le Recif have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Le Recif offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Le Recif?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Le Recif offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Le Recif?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.