We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
32 rue de Boucan Canot, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$263
View deal
Booking.com$262
Hotels.com$263
Travelocity$263
Orbitz.com$263
eDreams$262
Destinia.com$375
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (856)
Room & Suite (204)
Pool & Beach (131)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 22 hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Boucan Canot combines the authenticity of a 'Creole' residence with a modern comfort, a beautiful charming hotel where intimacy and discrete luxury hold the first roles. Today, four major assets characterize the hotel: an ideal situation, a typically local decoration, a top-of-the-range service and a refined gastronomy. A luxury resort on the beach, offering a unique panoramic sight on the ocean. A preserved natural site combined with a typically local architecture. A greenery treasure, anchored on a basalt spur, beat by the softness of the trade winds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Boating
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Fishing
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French
817Reviews6Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 418
  • 270
  • 75
  • 45
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
chitza wrote a review Nov 2021
Brussels, Belgium236 contributions94 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Earlier, we stayed in another 4 star hotel south of the island. It is by comparing with the other 4 star hotel that i'm writing this review. In other locations, we 've stayed several times in 4 star hotels, the level at Réunion seems to be lower overall. This particular hotel I'd rate it a 3 star as I experienced it now. Anyway, this hotel let us down especially with the breakfast We couldnt get a decent coffee for breakfast (this is a coffee that is not nescafé), we asked a couple of times but the staff didnt seem to understand our request. Odd, because only 5 meters away, at the bar, one can get a very good "normal" coffee or latte for purchase. Breakfast is basic although the omelets, made to order, are very good! The dinner selection for half board was not always up to our taste, but there was flexibility from the staff in choosing from the normal menu, whether or not with a extra to pay. We would personally not opt again for half board, because a few days we couldnt eat 3 courses and could instead have eaten a simpler meal nearby. But if you like to fine dine "french cuisine" every day, half board would be your thing. Drinks are relatively expensive here, again comparing to the other hotel. Other than that, a general touch-up or cleaning would be nice. Especially in these times, I would have preferred that for example outside tables would be cleaned more often and thorough. The hotel is very nicely located, and this is what I liked most: the guarded swimming area and the natural pool. The swimming pool is shallow, does not really allow for a sportive swim. We made the best of the location close to the beach, but as said, we had better here at Réunion.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 30 Dec 2021
Hello, we would thank you for your comment and will pass it on to the teams concerned in order to make the necessary corrections.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nad wrote a review Nov 2021
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island1 contribution
The hotel staff lost our car key in someone else’s car. We had to wait to get the key back for 7 hours in the common parts of the hotel because they didn’t allow us to keep the room after 11am. Their security system is really not worth 4 stars hotel standards. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 13 Nov 2021
We once again apologize for the problem with your car key. We fully recognize the failure of our services on this subject. We could not offer to keep the room because we were full, otherwise we would have gladly done so. However, we have offered you several solutions: - using the car of our Managing Director to get around (while waiting for the key to return) OR - the reservation of a taxi to be able to return home to Ste-Clotilde and we would then have brought the car back to you as soon as the key was collected OR - wait at the hotel until the key is returned, offering you lunch at the restaurant (starter + main course + dessert + wine + coffee for 2 people) + access to the swimming pool + use of the courtesy room at the end of the day - OPTION YOU CHOSEN. We therefore made a commercial gesture of more than 100 €uros. You have certainly spent a day "waiting" but enjoying the facilities of a 4-star hotel right on the water free of charge. We understand that you were disappointed, but it would have been more honest to tell us your opinion during our many face-to-face meetings rather than to do so behind your screen. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
enricodar wrote a review Mar 2020
Rome, Italy14 contributions10 helpful votes
I've bene there prior to join a cruise ship for work. The hotel is very nice, eccellent location. The room is spacious with a beautiful veranda. Breakfast and the other meals are good. Staff is kind, smiling and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 9 Jul 2020
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your kind review, It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger C wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa160 contributions101 helpful votes
We had a" suite with sea view". It was fantastic. In fact we were sad to leave so fantastic was our stay. Definitly worth the extra for the suite. The location is great, right next to the rock pool and netted area of the beach. If the hotel is full be prepared to park a few 100 meters away if you arrive late as the spaces are limited. We didnt try the restaurant as there are many restaurants at the beach. Great Hotel, Great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: get the sea view, the lagoon view is also ok.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Roger, Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will share your compliments with our staff. We would be happy to welcome you again for a next stay. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rashmi wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful spot right on the beach, amazing sunset views from the restaurant terrace and room balconies, professional staff, creative and high quality poolside bar and restaurant, and ample car parking so we could access other west coast beaches and activities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your kind review, It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ErnieVW wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa20 contributions14 helpful votes
We were looking for a hotel close to the beach/seafront and Boucan Canot was one of the few we could find. Not sure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well located, with the beach a few meters away, the tide pool right next to the hotel and the pristine swimming pool. We have found Boucan Canot (the town) not as busy as the surroundings but still had a vibrant buzz with tourists. Good shops and restaurants in the vicinity. We however did find the restaurant somewhat expensive but still value for money ito quality of food. I can highly highly recommend the hotel. You well not be disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pay the extra bucks and get an ocean view room with balcony.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear Ernie, We would like to thank you for taking the time to make a comment. We are delighted that your stay has been enjoyable. We hope to welcome you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zultejpar wrote a review Jan 2020
Vancouver, Canada10 contributions13 helpful votes
you cannot swim on the beach. But still spectacular. nice swimming area, in the rocks. Service is excellent. very personalized check in. good breakfast. parking on site. close to beachside restaurants and shops.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear customer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, We are glad to read all your compliments, we will share them with our team, It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip to Reunion Island.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Perpetual Traveller wrote a review Dec 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates21 contributions62 helpful votes
Had a short but pleasant business stay at the Boucan Canot, which is my second visit. GOOD - Extremely polite young staff - Reception friendly and helpful - Open plan with fans natural & fresh - Quality food at Restaurant - Quality breakfast - Ideal location right on beach - Pleasant sea view - Classy Boutique style of Hotel - A strong non chain Hotel feel BAD - A little understaffed in Restaurant - Small towels -
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 25 Dec 2019
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your kind review, It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicholas A wrote a review Dec 2019
Brooklyn, New York4 contributions
We decided to visit Reunion for a few nights (3) during our honeymoon to Mauritius and couldn't have picked a better area/hotel! We stayed in a room on the lagoon and it was absolutely beautiful to have the ocean view balcony to wake up to every morning. The location is also great since there are multiple delicious restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is situated just above the beach and is perfect for sunsets/relaxing by the pool. We definitely recommend staying here for a relaxing vacation. The complimentary breakfast is also fantastic and a great way to start your morning. If you rent a car there is free parking and will have a ton of activities to do within the area! Highly recommend staying in this location!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 11 Dec 2019
Hello, On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel. Be assured that these beautiful compliments are for us a source of motivation in the accomplishment of our daily missions. Wishing to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon, Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt P wrote a review Nov 2019
Linz17 contributions23 helpful votes
Stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights. Rooms are ok but cleaning needs to be improved (we found lots of hair in the shower when we moved in). Disgusting are the birds at the breakfast location (sitting on the tables, chairs, buffet,....) check-in was ok, Location is great
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 11 Dec 2019
Hello, Thank you for giving your opinion. We are surprised at your remark about the cleanliness that usually happens to be a positive feedback from our customers. Regarding birds, we are on an island and we do what is necessary to limit the inconvenience. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$202 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
boucan canot hotel
LOCATION
Reunion IslandArrondissement of Saint-PaulSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BOUCAN CANOT (Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Boucan Canot
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Boucan Canot?
Nearby attractions include youpideal.re (0.3 km), Réunion Bike Aventure (0.3 km), and Descente VTT (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Boucan Canot?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le D.C.P., Marie B. Glacier, and Restaurant Le P'tit Bleu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Boucan Canot have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Boucan Canot offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Boucan Canot located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 km away from the centre of Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains.
Does Hotel Boucan Canot offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Boucan Canot?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.