We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
77 rue des Navigateurs, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/23
Hotels.com
$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/23
Booking.com
$87
View deal
Travelocity$144
Priceline$89
ZenHotels.com$146
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (184)
Room & Suite (32)
Pool & Beach (28)

About

#10 of 22 hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located at Mont Roquefeuil, the TAMA Hotel*** is nestled at half-height between the seaside resort of Saint-Gilles-les-Bains and the highway Route des Tamarins. Close to the beaches of Roches Noires, the lagoon of L'Hermitage and the golf course of Bassin Bleu, you will be at five minutes from the fishing port, the marina and numerous leisure activities. The residential area of Mont Roquefeuil offers access to all amenities: supermarket, shops, bakery...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
279Reviews14Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 125
  • 51
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TGkamp wrote a review Sep 2022
17 contributions14 helpful votes
Nice hotel with a good emplacement. Kind personal and good room. Lot of parking spot. Very helpful and nice personal. The room was clean and quiet. There is a super u (supermarket) near from the hotel and lot of restaurant (5 min in car). Wifi was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Céline GRIS, Services aux clients/réception at Tama Hôtel
Responded 17 Sep 2022
Hello, thank you for your comment on our establishment. We are delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay at the Tama Hotel. Sincerely, Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
__ R 0 M @ I N __ wrote a review Oct 2021
Lausanne, Switzerland161 contributions61 helpful votes
Good value for money when looking for a 3 stars hotel in St-Gilles-les-Bains. We selected a studio which had an outdoor kitchen and large bathroom. There is also a shared pool to enjoy before 3pm to avoid the shadow. Make sure you have a car before booking this hotel as it is a must. The location is 2km from the downtown on the hills and you’ll definitely not enjoy the stay without a car ;-) We also found the double beds a bit small, at least smaller than average.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you have a car!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kiparmy_travels wrote a review Oct 2018
Clarens, South Africa58 contributions24 helpful votes
The photos on the website portray a very different picture to what you actually get, they are very professionally taken in that the rooms look more spacious. We stayed in a self catering place prior to checking into Tama Hotel with a similar size room yet it did not feel nearly as small as this hotel room felt, granted we knew we booked the small double room of "10m²" but it felt tinier once inside. We were on the 2nd floor and had to carry our 20+kg suitcases and other backpacks etc. up and down the stairs which was awful. I'd rather have stayed in a much more basic place again than booking the hotel which was meant to be a treat for our 2nd last night on the Island. The only plus factor was that they had a very nice swimming pool (which closes early) and really friendly staff at the reception. All in all, I wouldn't recommend it, rather book something more authentic. Judging from the other reviews the self-catering rooms may be nicer, but then again you can get cheaper more relaxed places for less money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have a heavy suitcase ask for a group floor room! And the standard rooms are TINY!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TAMAHOTEL, Directeur général at Tama Hôtel
Responded 10 Oct 2018
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at TAMA HOTEL We are sorry that your stay was not as expected It is true that our small standard room is not spacious (10m2) however it is comfortable with all the necessary equipment (air conditioning, tv, wifi, tray courtesy ...) It should have been reported at the reception, we would have made the necessary to propose you an upgrade (surcharge) We hope you have a nice stay on our island Regards, Maurine
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlene S wrote a review Nov 2017
Cape Town, South Africa85 contributions20 helpful votes
This hotel is really well appointed to those who would like to have a hotel stay with the benefit of being able to cater for themselves. The hotel does offer breakfast to guests at an extra cost but you can very easily cook all your own meals here. The rooms are spacious with ample storage for clothing. Bathroom is also a good size. There is a nice big swimming pool and parking with the premise. Overall, this is a good value for money place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Philip H wrote a review Nov 2017
London, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
The room was dark and sterile. Felt a little bit like a spacious youth hostel room. The kitchen was on the balcony separated from the outside by a garage door which also acted as the only window. So you had a choice of a dark room or a kitchen unprotected from bugs and ants and such. The photographs on the website are done by a very talented photographer and it is difficult to see resemblance once one is in the room. All in all a very strange place to stay. Reception staff was nice, though.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TAMAHOTEL, Responsable hébergement at Tama Hôtel
Responded 4 Nov 2017
Dear Philip, Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel We are surprised that you have not enjoyed our studios that often meet the expectations of our guests. Our reception staff thank you for your comment :) Sunny greetings Maurine
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
climbing-s wrote a review Aug 2017
Basel, Switzerland21 contributions6 helpful votes
From the homepage we expected bright rooms, a beautiful view and a modern apartment. Instead we got a room with no daylight, unless we opened a kind of garage shutter which opened towards a patch of soil and a gutter. When other guests arrived, we constantly had their cigarette smoke drifting into our kitchen. What we didn't understand is why they put us into this room, because we had the impression that the other rooms with a beautiful view were not booked for days. Pros: In the beginning, the nights were very quiet. The nearby supermarket is very well equipped and the region is really recommendable because it is very dry and warm with lots of sunshine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Luis K wrote a review May 2017
Reykjavik, Iceland43 contributions13 helpful votes
Nice hotel and clean rooms, but the service was cold compare to everywhere we went in Réunion. We didn't like the location so much, and the design was not our taste. Nice swimming pool. We would have rated much higher if the service was good, but we were disappointed in the poor welcoming. Don't think I would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rudolph M wrote a review Jan 2017
Barcelona, Spain40 contributions9 helpful votes
Tama is an "Apart - hotel" : a hotel with limited self catering facilities. The rooms are fairly new and our room had a view of a wall. The hotel staff also decided to place 2 sun loungers against this wall, resulting in us having zero privacy during our stay. (There was somehow always people using these sun loungers staring at us while we cook, eat, dress etc.) This really annoyed us, and we moved the sun loungers to the pool area. The next day they were back. I do find it interesting that the couple (us) that stayed there the longest, was the couple who ended up with a room with zero views. The room is only partially serviced. Meaning the cleaners only clean the sleeping area; NOT the kitchen. If you decide to use the kitchen you have to wash the dishes yourself. Everything im the kitchen was probably bought at a 50c store. I have only ever seen such cheap wine glasses at the cheapest of cheap camping sites. The pool area is lovely and very relaxing. The reception staff are not very friendly. I'm not sure if they got their training in Paris, or the fact that they speak very little English. And finally: Tama is only 5min from St Gilles and fairly well located for the price. We would probably not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MorphetN wrote a review Dec 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa289 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
The Tama Hotel was much as expected as booked through the internet. We knew it was a limited facility location. It is very convenient off the highway and just on the edge of the " centre ville " of St Gilles so you can avoid too much traffic as you come and go. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful too. The room is compact but adequate, with air conditioning. The modern bathroom and shower were much appreciated compared to what else is around Reunion. The balcony as a kitchenette was well stocked and useful. With the fridge there is no need to pay Euro 12 for a hotel breakfast. There is a Score supermarket close by but hills would make walking quite tough unless you are very fit. Also hot and humid in December. You need a car to explore Reunion but the hotel only has 2 small parking areas to accommodate about 14 - 16 cars but have 66 ( approx) rooms. This could be a negative but we were fairly lucky with our times. There are lots of restaurants and take away food shops in the coastal town. This location is also a good base to go to L'Eperon, Maido and even Dos D'Ane to view the mountains. It is 15 minutes to St Paul - Friday night market and more shopping. We were happy with our experience and choice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Many options so read and check carefully before you book
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DanO68 wrote a review Jun 2016
Alexandra, New Zealand576 contributions455 helpful votes
We really loved this place, set up in the hills behind the beaches of St Gilles and L’Hermitage, very quiet and low-key. The location is a little out of the way, but in reality it is only about a 5-minute drive to the beach and into town. Pleasant views of the scrub and grasslands above St Gilles. The hotel is new and modern, a big plus for us. We requested a room with a kitchen and were pleased with the fully functional kitchen, except it was missing a few essentials like a toaster and kettle. The bedroom was roomy but quite dark, with only one tiny window, but if you left the door to the kitchen open, there was enough light to see. It could definitely do with more windows. There was a good internet connection in the room as well as a TV and AC. The pool area was beautiful and sunny and we were sorry we didn’t get to make use of it. There wasn’t much in the way of restaurants in the immediate area within walking distance, so a drive down the hill is required. Overall we had a great stay here and would definitely recommend this place to other travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Reunion IslandArrondissement of Saint-PaulSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMA HOTEL (Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tama Hôtel
Which popular attractions are close to Tama Hôtel?
Nearby attractions include youpideal.re (0.9 km), Descente VTT (0.9 km), and Aquarium de la Reunion (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tama Hôtel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tama Hôtel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tama Hôtel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tama Hôtel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tama Hôtel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le D.C.P., Marie B. Glacier, and Restaurant Le P'tit Bleu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tama Hôtel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tama Hôtel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tama Hôtel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Is Tama Hôtel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.