We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Maxwell Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Maxwell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Maxwell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed 23 May 2016

My bff and I decided for a staycation and after comparing prices and location we decided to check-in here. The hotel is just in Escario, near to everything! the room is clean and smelling good. We had our breakfast at their Culinary center. Food for breakfast is just normal though. All in all, this is a good hotel. Nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose24Cal
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rose24Cal, Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and for choosing to stay with us based on our price and location. We're glad that you found our hotel nearby everything you needed during your stay. Our housekeeping staff will be happy to know that you found your room clean and pleasant smelling. Through our tenant, the Philippine School of Culinary...

Reviewed 16 May 2016

Stayed for 13 nights in April, no complaints about the hotel whatsoever. The staff from reception, housekeeping, bellboys and security guards were all friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was clean and quiet, bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Housekeeping serviced the room every day, including a couple of days when I didn’t leave the room until after 2pm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_80bob
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob_80bob, Thank you for reviewing The Maxwell Hotel Cebu on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to receive your 5-star review. Our hotel staff will be glad to know that you are happy with the services they provided. We are glad you found our rooms clean and quiet, our beds comfortable, and our linens clean. Our housekeeping staff do clean the...

Iligan, Philippines
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Had a pleasant stay at Maxwell. Wifi is very strong and reliable even inside my room. It's very close to strip malls, restos, and banks. Staff are courteous and it's a quite hotel. The only downside was the aircon in my room (419) is kinda weak and is kept together by electrical tapes. The bed is comfortable, I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nephrite17
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nephrite17, Thank you for reviewing The Maxwell Hotel Cebu on TripAdvisor, and for rating us four-stars! We are delighted that you are happy with our recently upgraded wifi connections. Our new wifi hardware infrastructure ensures that guests get strong signal in every hotel room and function room at The Maxwell. Our wifi signal even reaches nearby residents, some of...

Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived around 20.00. Didn't have the booking confirmation correct. Had to sort it out. Rooms weren't ready! They must have put us in the disused rooms. No water heat control HOT!! Air conditioning cut in and out as it felt. Curtains looked as if they were dragged out of bag last minute and hung. Dirty linen blood on towels bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is unfortunate that you had an unpleasant experience with us. We'd like to clarify that we do not have any disused rooms, as all of our rooms are regularly used. We do not book OTA guests in disused rooms because they pay less. We do not...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel's location is really convenient. It's close to several restaurants, 24-hour convenience stores, and a 24-hour gym. If you don't feel like stepping out of the building, they also have a restaurant at the lobby that serves delicious boneless lechon belly. There's also a laundry and massage service. The hotel is within walking distance (around 15-20 mins) of Ayala...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dianne209, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Our central location is one of the best things about our hotel, and we're happy that you found plenty of things to see and do nearby. The guys at Lechon Belly are happy to know you enjoyed their tasty lechon. It's nice that...

Paris, France
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Not much to say, which in this case is quite a good sign. This is a western style business-like hotel, the bed is quite good, the bathroom is clean with a well-working hot shower. Nothing fancy but all in all, good bargain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trip a
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear trip a, Thank you for this short but sweet review of our hotel. At The Maxwell Hotel, we like to keep things "simple, clean, and affordable" for our valued guests. We're happy that you were satisfied with our simple amenities and services. Thank you for saying that our bed is good and our bathroom is clean, with a well-working...

Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Our stay was very comfortable. The hotel was very clean and there are many restaurants and bars nearby. We got the room 417 and it has a good view. All the staff were very accommodating and the wifi was very fast too. Highly recommended for a comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabsummer100
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AprilAprilF, Hello from The Maxwell Hotel! Thank you so much for giving us 5-bubbles on TripAdvisor! We're glad you had a very comfortable stay with us. Thank you for saying that our hotel is very clean and that you had a very nice view from room 417. We're happy you enjoyed our very fast WiFi connection and that you...

Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Maxwell hotel gives hotel guest the convenience they could get. Restaurants, and mini groceries serving 24 hours customer time is within the vicinity. Accessibility to both taxi and jeepney is not a problem. Will be back if schedule permits.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leah E
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah E, Hello, from The Maxwell Hotel! Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvsior. We are happy you found our hotel location very convenient. There are truly lots of things to do within walking distance of our hotel. And it's also easy to get a cab or ride a jeepney when you need to go around the city. We...

Pomeroy, Washington
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We stayed here as our usual motel was full. Decent location not far from Ayala. Plenty of restaurant choices nearby. Room 418 was clean and comfortable, but the bathroom could use some updating and repairs. The water heater was balky and I complained about that when we left. I also had trouble with the WIFI (might have been my computer)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank whip5209
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear whip5209, Greetings, from The Maxwell Hotel! Thank you for giving us a 4-bubble review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you found our location very decent, near Ayala and within walking distance of over a dozen restaurants. We are delighted that you got two very good nights of sleep and absolutely loved our complimentary breakfast at the Philippine School...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Our stay here was worth it.My sister and i stayed in this hotel for 4 nights,5 days and the rate we paid for was worth it. Food was average but delicious.But we were discouraged w/ the 3 in 1 coffee because we prefer brewed coffee.It's a good thing that starbucks was just across the street. The room was simple but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Athena B
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Athena B, Hello, from The Maxwell Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvsior. We are glad that you and your sister had a pleasant four-night stay at our hotel. We are happy that you found our guest room simple, comfortable, and clean; Our bathroom big and clean. We are now in the process of...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 km away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#17 of 87 in Cebu City
159 reviews
0.4 km away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.9 km away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#29 of 87 in Cebu City
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#51 of 87 in Cebu City
312 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#35 of 87 in Cebu City
344 reviews
0.2 km away
Paragon Suites
Paragon Suites
#38 of 87 in Cebu City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maxwell Hotel is a 72-room economy hotel in Cebu City. It provides simple, clean, affordable accommodations to business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel

Address: N. Escario St. | Barangay Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Price Range: ₹ 1,702 - ₹ 2,487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maxwell Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Maxwell Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Iligan, Philippines

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Maxwell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the south side of the building get warm in the afternoon while you are away.”
 of 5 bubbles whip5209, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Back part, corner room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles kingofsinulog, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the room with the column in the middle.”
 of 5 bubbles 103lestery, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles bd103170, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Always book in advance to get the best rates...”
 of 5 bubbles 489richardp, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5