We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Maxwell Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Maxwell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Start your review of The Maxwell Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location wise, it is really a good place to stay. It is near food shops, convenience stores, malls and a lot of jeepneys are accessible (Since area is near main road, expect some traffic congestion). The room that we initially got has a faulty aircon but thankfully we were moved to a better room with such good and fast service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Cristina A
Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 13 March 2017

we stayed in this hotel because it was fairly new at the time. they had no wifi, no room service. i hope they have improved on that now. staff was composed of students on OJT i think. because of our bad experience at this hotel, i would not recommend it to anybody. there are many other hotels or inns in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EsEsTeeTee
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

We had a last minute reservation with Maxwell, and though our booking is not even sent to them, they already accommodate us which is totally hassle-free! Kudos to the front desk. Clean and safe place as well, their amenities are also up to date!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celine S
Boracay, Philippines
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

thought it was a good hotel but ,no. they gave us a room with clugged toilet and sink, ac drips, wifi doesnt work. you can hear the noise from outside. also gave us a room in the middle with widows inside (why?). anyways book online as well cheaper

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaeasy
Manila
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

The Maxwell Hotel The good... Great location with lots of eateries and health spas nearby. Plenty of jeepneys and taxis passing by. Reception staff was pleasant and efficient. Credited me with one extra night's stay, versus Agoda reservation (I corrected them). The room was "prepared" for me. (which actually meant the obvious deficiencies were hidden from me, where practical.) Bottled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaranganiDiver
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for about two nights, wifi connection is extremely the best. air conditioning units were in excellent condition. personnel were all polite and attends to all your needs at a snap. Room is well-maintained but I think rooms need effective sound proofing as you can hear vehicles and other transportation that will disrupt your sleep at night as it passes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I have great memories of Maxwell Hotel , that is why when we had a company function in Cebu , i demanded that i be booked at Maxwell hotel instead of the other hotels in the area. when i arrived i have noticed that a lot has changed , unfortunately it was for the worse. I had a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank r0bertcruz
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear r0bertcruz, Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. It's unfortunate that found your latest stay with us poor compared to your previous stay over a year ago. But a lot has already changed for the better since you stayed with us three months ago, in September. Firstly, we have already taken steps towards curbing our small bug problem, which...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday a few days ago - Sep 22 and we're both very satisfied with our experience. We booked our stay via Agoda and the booking did not allow any special requests to be added. I sent a direct email instead listing down my requests and mentioning that it was my birthday. I received...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderfullgirl
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wanderfullgirl, Thank you for giving us 5 stars on TripAdvisor! We're delighted that you and your boyfriend were satisfied with your Maxwell Hotel experience. We hope you'll stay with us again during your next birthday! We did our best to accommodate the request you sent us through e-mail are happy that you liked our simple surprise. We're glad you...

Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This hotel offers free wifi and they have a great connection. Located in Escario, this is very near to almost everything. There are restaurants and coffee shops nearby so you won't get hungry at all. There's also a nearby mini stop. Breakfast is a bit expensive though. However, the room rates are reasonable. Hotel has accommodating staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larissa D
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larissa D, Thank you for giving us 4-stars on TripAdvisor! We're delighted you enjoyed our great free wi-fi connection available in our lobby, hotel rooms, and function rooms. We've been spending a great deal upgrading and maintaining our hotel wifi system. Many guests agree that our hotel is very conveniently located. There plenty of restaurants, bars, coffee shops, convenience...

Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I booked Maxwell via Hotelquickly for as low as a thousand per night. I find the room comfortable that can give me a good night sleep. The hotel is very accessible to Ayala ang Fuente Area. Not to mention that is just few walks away from Capitol Central where commercial businesses are booming. For me the place is a one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cran T
Verne A, Assistant General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cran T, Thank you for giving us a 4-star review on TripAdvisor! It's nice that you found and booked our hotel on HotelQuickly. We offer very affordable last-minute rates on their booking platform. We're delighted you found our hotel room comfortable and you had a good night's sleep. We're also glad you found our hotel location very accessible to...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 km away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#18 of 87 in Cebu City
160 reviews
0.3 km away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.9 km away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#30 of 87 in Cebu City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Paragon Suites
Paragon Suites
#36 of 87 in Cebu City
69 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#35 of 87 in Cebu City
349 reviews
0.8 km away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#63 of 87 in Cebu City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maxwell Hotel is a 72-room economy hotel in Cebu City. It provides simple, clean, affordable accommodations to business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel

Address: N. Escario St. | Barangay Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Price Range: ₹ 1,734 - ₹ 2,825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maxwell Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Maxwell Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Iligan, Philippines

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Maxwell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the south side of the building get warm in the afternoon while you are away.”
whip5209, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Back part, corner room with a view”
kingofsinulog, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the room with the column in the middle.”
103lestery, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with a view”
bd103170, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Always book in advance to get the best rates...”
489richardp, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5