We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akwadup Lodge

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Akwadup Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Akwadup Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

Rustic and basic lodge. Most of the lamps in our lodge did not work. The shower head was broken. Be aware that there is only cold water. The food was very basic and lacked any kind of spices. They did not have any fish or prawns which we had hoped for. Perhaps we were unlucky having stayed only two nights....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Palmadan
Akwadup-lodge, Propietario at Akwadup Lodge, responded to this review

First we want to thank you for your comments in first place we wish to clarify several important points Kuna Yala is a rustic and basic place around, the rate used is calculated to cover costs and offer good service in a remote place with difficult access you have probably found something damaged, it may be true because it is...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had not booked to go to Akwadup but as there was some problem with our original lodge at Sapibenega and it had been closed together with all of the lodges around Playon Chico, we were delighted that our agent Daniel at Panama Travel Corp had been able to re-organise us to stay at Akwadup. We were there for 6...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank twohoots2
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our voyage to the lodge was very memorable. We flew in a small plane with a few tourist and mostly local Kuna people, headed to the Achutupu airport. We dropped people off a one stop (Playa Chica), we proceeded for a 15 minute flight to Achutupu. Anselmo and Juan met us at the boat dock and once he was satisfied...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Whitney T
New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As travelers, we welcome surprises. even the bad ones, because we know, it's just a part of the whole experience. San Blas islands may not be for everyone. It is raw, undeveloped, and different. Exactly my kind of place. Endless little islands, crystal clear waters and an underwater world, that will take your breath away. And the more raw your...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank liat-geographic
Akwadup-lodge, Propietario at Akwadup Lodge, responded to this review

good morning and blessings, First we want to thank you for your review on tripadvisor this really helps us to improve our service either good or bad. At the same time I also want to apologize to the problems that occurred in the trip that caused annoyance. travel by boat: in all messages that we send to our customers always...

Mexico
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We just spent two days/two nights at Akwadup and we loved it! First of all, the arrival at Ashutupo airport is amazing: you are welcomed by Anselmo, a very nice person and authentic Kuna. He loves his country and want you to know the best of it. The cabins are perfect, clean, spacious and with better comfort I was expecting....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank happyfamilyMexico
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

An overall good experience. The cabanas arespacious and cute, but do not expect full maid service or to have fresh towels everyday. The food ranges from absolute delicious fresh fish, to mixed casserole of days old leftovers. This is not to discourage going, but to set the right frame of mind. The staff is really willing to please and a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TheHappyJourney
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We loved our time at this lodge. The quarters, while basic, had everything we needed and our guide Horacio and other Kuna people we met were very helpful and sweet. We enjoyed the birdwatching and the daily guided tours, but this is mostly a place to just relax and get away from it all. Bring a book or some playing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Redstart3916
Akwadup-lodge, Propietario at Akwadup Lodge, responded to this review

greetings from Akwadup We greatly appreciate your opinion about our lodge, we just like to clarify a small point regarding our aquarium, from the day of your visit few weeks before we had finished the preparation of the aquarium in the first phase, is not really eazy to take care of it 24 hours, we had some clients asking us...

Puerto Rico
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Best place to relax and disconnect from the city....just go and let them to be the hosts, guides, and even chef! Had a great time with my family in July 2013 and will always remember the Kuna friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Calderisi
Panama
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I went with my mum for two nights. The facilities available are definitely nicer than in the rest of San Blas. There is a proper bathroom with tiles, a shower, sink and mirror. This is not something that you will find in other places. The beds were comfortable with mosquito nets. You get a nice ocean view from each room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauraperez15
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A friend and I chose to go to the Akwadup Lodge as opposed to the more touristy Western part of Panama. We cared less about hanging out on the beach and being with other tourists and more about seeing the local Guna culture, an indigenous group. With that said, the beach alongside the hotel really isn't for swimming. It's too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia P

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Blas Islands hotels
110.3 km away
Hotel El Porvenir
Hotel El Porvenir
#2 of 2 in San Blas Islands
40 reviews
98.4 km away
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
#13 of 28 in San Blas Islands
26 reviews
106.3 km away
Cabanas Coco Blanco
Cabanas Coco Blanco
#4 of 28 in San Blas Islands
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
96.3 km away
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
#2 of 3 in San Blas Islands
42 reviews
0.0 km away
Ultimate San Blas
Ultimate San Blas
#7 of 28 in San Blas Islands
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabanas Demar Achudup
Cabanas Demar Achudup
#1 of 1 in Masargantupo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Akwadup Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you want the ocean breeze in a welcoming place, far away from your city and life’s stress, let me help,I would like to tell you about a special place in central America, off the Caribbean coast of Panama.we belong to the Kuna indigenous people and are the owners of two palm fringed eco-tourist lodges on islands in Kuna Yala, meaning Kuna territory (also known as the san Blas Islands). The names of these highly regarded resorts are UAGUINEGA (winner of an International Business award) and AKWADUP, they are on small coral reefs close to the island of Achutupu which has one of the most traditional Kuna cultures, little changed over the centuries. Our guided tours will take you to watch the native women making their world renowned molas; at your selection you may wish to take a trip up river into the rainforest. Enjoy the snorkelling, swimming, or just relax in a palm shaded hammock. At night under the moon and shining stars.We are waiting to greet you. The Kuna dance, culture, stories and enjoyable,unique experience are sure to stay in your memory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akwadup Lodge

Address: Akwadup, Panama
Region: Panama > Guna Yala Region > San Blas Islands
Price Range: ₹ 6,357 - ₹ 9,631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akwadup Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Akwadup Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akwadup Hotel San Blas Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Akwadup Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Akwadup Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views, terrible bed bugs”
  • Telltale signs if bed bugs. Ack!!!! This is my arm after 2 days here
randgalt, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all are over-water huts and pretty much the same (rustic and amazing). For four people, we asked for two huts and this worked well.”
birtukan, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 7 probably has the best view.”
Lis100, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“My tip would be to prepare very very good against mosquitos !!! we got bit like 200 times although we had spray !”
  • sunset
  • sunset
  • lodges
  • sunset
Chris_Ka_87, 4 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Every room is the same!”
Cvalen, 31 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates