We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6 Avenue des Colombes, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90512
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$48
View deal
eDreams$48
Lol.travel$55
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (107)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (5)

About

#3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Flic En Flac
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The newly opened B&B in Flic en Flac on the west coast of Mauritius offers a unique experience to all kinds of travellers - backpackers, couples, groups of friends or families travelling with children. The hotel is centrally well situated in a calm district of Flic en Flac and within walking distance from the beach as well as the plenty of restaurants, souvenir shops and the town's commercial centre with supermarket (less than 5 minutes). At Lariad you can enjoy the two swimming pools (outdoor and indoor), the exotic garden, the balconies which offer a great view and a fresh breeze and of course our welcoming staff who will always be glad to help you plan your next day: visits around the island, water activities, hiking, golfing, karts, exploring the adventure park Casela - only listing a few of them. Come and see for yourself!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Full view
62Somewhat walkable
Grade: 62 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
115Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 41
  • 11
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dave T wrote a review Mar 2020
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at the Lariad for 14 nights in late January/early February. The taxi was waiting, as arranged by the BnB at the airport to meet my flight, which showed a promising start to the holiday. The BnB rooms are basic, spacious, with adequate storage space, a small fridge, quietish aircon and a good sized comfortable double bed. More importantly they are kept very clean by the daily cleaning staff who do an excellent job - well done!! All the staff are helpful in every way and you are greeted with a "Hello" or "Bonjour" and a smile in every passing. Special mention to Marie Laure, Patrick & Roger. The outside pool is small, but perfectly adequate (considering the fabulous Flic En Flac bach is only 5 minutes walk away), and it is cleaned and maintained regularly. Like most tourist lodgings at the end of a busy season, a little TLC was needed here & there (garden areas, the indoor pool was not accesible ), however this in no way spoilt my holiday. Couple of minor observations:- - breakfast choice could be improved or rotated, especially for visitors staying for longer periods. That said, the simple breakfast food in general was fine, with excellent service. - hotel arranged excursions (especially scooter hire) did seem a little expensive so I did not book any. The public bus system is very cheap & a great experience. I had 3 "bus tours" to Quatre Bornes, Tamarin & Port Louis using the system & after your first journey it is relatively easy to understand & use. All in all, a nice BnB, great resort, good BnB location, lovely staff and I would return again, in fact I intend to, in the not too distant future!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stayed on the top (2nd) floor, nice peaceful & good quality sleep
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Peter B wrote a review May 2019
Mainz22 contributions12 helpful votes
Very friendly staff, mainly Marie Laure. Sie war very friendly, helpful and cleaned our room very fast and well. The rooms and citchen were very clean, quiet location, she is closed to the Beach. The citchen is shared by 3 rooms, fully equipped.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sanjit D wrote a review Mar 2019
Croydon, United Kingdom108 contributions125 helpful votes
This hotel rips his customers off. I paid extra to get a Superior room but got a standard family room instead. This is not what I paid for!!! Apparently they were fully booked so why take my booking in the first place. Was it greed? I complained several times and asked for the manager to come and see me but he/she never came. In the pictures on Booking.com, it shows you that you get a large fridge freezer and a table and chairs.....we not got neither. This is false advertising. I complained but again, nothing was done about it. There was not even a glass or teaspoon in the room. This is appauling!!! The toilet smell was horrid. You avoided going into the bathroom due to the smell. We could not pull the curtains is our room as otherwise the neighbours or guests could see into our room. There was no privacy at all. The room was so dark as they had put the cheapest and lowest wattage bulb you could find!! The room was also so noisy. There was loud music being played by the neighbours as well as the staff talking loudly whilst getting breakfast ready in the morning. Talking of breakfast, this was a cheap horrible breakfast. They added chilli cakes and samosas to our breakfast!!! This isn't definitely not a breakfast item. The pastries was tiny and dry. We had to ask how do we get tea and coffee! You just couldn't relax at this place. At one point, water started pouring out of the Air Con and soaked our clothes which was underneath! I would recommened tourists to stay away! There are much better places than this! I wrote this review on Booking.com from where I booked this terrible place and wrote exactly what I wrote above. Some individual, very likely the manager replied! Oh I laughed and laughed. I have never seen so many lies and excuses in one reply in my life. It just shows how unprofessional the staff are at this place. As the title of my review says.....STAY AWAY!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, Gérant at Lariad BnB
Responded 22 Mar 2019
Dear Sanjit Thank you to share your opinion regarding your stay in our Guest House. It is, for us, very important to know the opinion of our guest. This will obviously help us improve our domain. On Booking.com we put forward some pictures of our rooms, but not all. As a guest house we manage to provide the best for our guests. We upgraded you to a Family room as it is a more spacious room. At the time you booked, the Superior Rooms were available for sale (referring to the above, we upgraded the rooms category). Was it greed? No, it was Marketing Strategy to get our Guest House filled during this Season. There are 3 terraces available with chairs and tables and may be used by our guests. As explained you may also invite exterior guest to enjoy the pool and the terraces during reception hours. The only restriction was not to disturb the actual guest of the establishment. Very happy to notice that during your stay your friends and yourself spent nice time around the pool. The housekeeping is done on a daily basis, unless ask not to do so. On several occasion, our housekeeper has been given instruction, by yourself, not to do the room. Maybe this has resulted to the bad smell of your toilets. Regarding the kitchen equipment, glasses and tablespoon; there were, as explained to you during check-in, in the common kitchen. The access was opened to all guest of Lariad BnB. Being engaged in the environmental protection, we try our best to contribute by using ecological light bulb, which are more expensive than the normal ones as they last longer. Of course, we would have been more than grateful if this could have been communicated to us; we would have together found a solution to satisfy your needs. Moreover, needful would have also been done immediately if you reported the air conditioning issue to us. We have close collaboration with our partners who come in less than 24h. For some, visiting a country is also tasting new food, seeing new faces and experiencing new habits and way of living. What Lariad was trying to do in including ‘Gato piment, samoussas,’ in the breakfast is the sharing of our culture, because Mauritius is not only about beaches, sun and sea; but also about culture and mixture of all the beautiness of the people living here. Mauritian yourself, you may remermber the typical breakfast here, some nice tea prepared by Grand-mother and her ‘Du pain, beurre et Gato piment’. Our breakfast include fresh fruits, juice, jam and cakes freshly prepared on a daily basis. Our ‘ Cheap horrible breakfast’ is appreciated by tourist who want to discover what Mauritius food has to offer. We are aware that we give loads of information during the check-in; about the hotel check-in check-out, breakfast, activities, facitlities etc. Maybe you were still tired of the long trip you made and forgot about the breakfast and how it worked. I personally explained to you that the breakfast would be served on the terrace - you will get a table with your room number on it. Then, stipulated that you should get eggs, bread, tea and coffee served on the table near the indoor pool. We would have been happy to explain same again if you had asked us. We are here to serve the guest and make sure he feels at ease. Very sad and surprised that we did not met your expectations and did not find what you were searching for in a Guest House’s concept. On the other hand, happy that despite all the issues raised, you enjoyed, as you said, a, ‘clean and tidy and picturesque courtyard’. We are among the best rated BnB in Flic-en-Flac, thanks to our staff services and engagement in customer care. Unfortunately, you were not. Thank you for your honesty in your comments and notes. All opinions and rates are welcome as this gives us the strength to improve. ‘Beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ Kind regards
Read more
Alex M wrote a review Oct 2018
Madrid, Spain19 contributions22 helpful votes
We saw that this hostel had great reviews on the internet, but our stay was disappointing. The hostel is unkempt, the common areas and the pool quite dirty, the bed in the room very uncomfortable, definitely needs an urgent reform! But the worst thing was not like that, it was the personal treatment, the attempt of kindness, they asked us 400 rupees to make a taxi trip 2 km away in the same city, in order to achieve it. That is about € 10! . Finally, the lack of professionalism when the keys are delivered, a blonde lady (possibly the boss) goes up to our room. You have never left me the moment of leaving a hotel room. Very bad ways and a great improvement in dealing with the client and the services they provide at expensive prices.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, . at Lariad BnB
Responded 12 Apr 2019
Dear Alex, Greetings from Lariad BnB! Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your stay in our BnB. We are quite surprised about your comments, especially regarding the ‘’ unkempt, the common areas and the pool quite dirty, the bed in the room very uncomfortable, definitely needs an urgent reform!’’ As you stated previously, the great reviews concerning our hotel shows a kept, cleaned and comfortable place. All the building is cleaned on a daily basis by engaged staff who like their job and who are very much involved in customer care. The price proposed for your taxi, is actually the price that could be proposed in any other hotel (taxi fees + commission of the hotel). However, our prices are relatively cheap and affordable. The reviews speak for themselves. We are very sad and surprised that the
Read more
Annie T wrote a review Jul 2018
58 contributions16 helpful votes
We spent 5 days at Lariad BnB. I was quite surprised with their bedding when we first entered the room. The bed is only covered by a thin sheet as a quilt which was odd. The shower took a while to get hot water. The breakfast was under our expectation, too basic. There were two days without fresh croissants and one day even has no egg available. I noticed that this only happened when the person in charge wasn't around. The BnB is about 15-20 mins walk to the beach. The wifi is very stable which I will give them a thumb up. Staff is reasonably friendly and helpful, but nothing extraordinary.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, . at Lariad BnB
Responded 7 Apr 2019
Dear Annie Greetings from Lariad BnB! Thank you for taking the time to share you experience in our BnB. All our beds are covered with slipcover and a sheet. Upon request you may get a quilt. If communicated we would have immediately done needful for your comfort. We do not put the quilt in the room for hygienic reasons. As there is normally a very hot and humid weather we prefer to give the quilt upon request. Our breakfast is basic but complete. We wanted to offer a cheap and basic breakfast, rather than a complex and expensive one as we want to remain competitive and low budget. Furthermore, the beach is at 700m for the hotel, that is around 5-6 min walking, depending on the one’s paste. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are among the best BnB in Flic-en-Flac and our strength is our staff. Welcoming, smiling, helpful and engaged to our guests. Warm greetings Sandrine
Read more
Gimenicefood wrote a review Jun 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa26 contributions9 helpful votes
Very disappointing experience. Although the cleaning staff is very nice and helpful, some items went missing from our room. We were also overcharged and we were refused the opportunity to cancel our booking. There is no parking -only street parking. The street parking is not secure and we were asked to jump start the neighbour’s van with our rental car. The expensive breakfast was horrible and only consisted of bread, some old fruits and an egg boiler. Some guests complained about the neighbours noise levels, but nothing was done about the matter. Food items were also stolen from the communal kitchenette which a few guests complained about. The kitchenette is very poorly equipped with only one pan and a few utensils. You’ll have to buy everything else including oil and salt etc., which could become very expensive. The pictures of the property display two pools and a jacuzzi, yet during our 3 week stay we didn’t see anyone use these facilities as they are awkwardly located by the entrance gate. Above all, the receptionist is rude and not understanding whatsoever. Would not recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, Assistant Manager at Lariad BnB
Responded 20 Jun 2018
Dear Gimenicefood, We have been very pleased to have you in our BnB. Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay and experience with us. We are quite surprised by your comments about the staff and the breakfast. As you may see in comments left by previous guests, our staff is renowned for its warm welcoming, desire help and availability during your stay. We treat all guests the equally. The guest pay for a service, either it be one night or 3 weeks, they are all treated as per standards. We are very sad that your stay in our BnB was not at your convenience and according to your expectations. Unfortunately, regarding the fact that you wanted to shorten your stay in our BnB to move closer to the airport, we were not able to fufil your request because, according to our policy we cannot refund or modify the booking when it is done less than 30 days before arrival, or done during the stay itself. Regarding the equipment in the common kitchens, each kitchen may complete the other. Please find all equipment that are actually in the kitchen; Lemon press, Coffee maker, kettle, Strainer, Stove, Large saucepan, Small saucepan, Woke, Bowl, glasses, Cereal bowl, Coffee cups, Cups, Small Plates, Big Plates, Microwave, Microwave bell, Mini oven, Toaster, uplands, Rappe, Kitchen Knives, Pasta tongs, Skimmer, Can opener, Bottle opener, Wooden spatulas, Large spoon, cooker, Soup spoons, Coffee spoons, forks, Knives, draining, Cutting board, Tea pass, Trash can. Moreover, our price for the breakfast offered is very competitive and try our best to vary our buffet every week, keep it low cost but of quality. Most clients appreciate the breakfast buffet, as it is a complete one; with bread, toast, boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, fruits, yogurts, cakes, sausages, subs etc. If you have any advice about how to improve our breakfast, we would be grateful to have you feedback. Contact us! We agree with you that there is no parking and this is stipulated in our conditions and services offered, but you may park your car in from of the building. Furthermore, we are surprised about the noise that disturbed you. The neighbourhood is generally calm and relaxing as we are far from the main road and noisy activities other there. Families, couples and elderly persons love our place because we are off center. We hope that you will find the ideal place for you to spend your holidays next time. Still very sad that our services were not at your convenience. Kind regards, Sandrine – Assistant Manager
Read more
LidkaHonorata wrote a review Mar 2018
Warsaw, Poland1 contribution
Clean room - cleaned daily, very nice and useful staff, near to the beach, shops and restaurants. Good breakfast, but every day identical, wi-fi ok, always efficient air conditioning, clean and pleasent swimming pools, possibility of renting a car, silent and total peace. In minus: old, unpleasant towels - I recommend taking my own and uncomfortable bed. The hotel worth recommending, we would be happy to return there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The best room is the one with a view of the garden and swimming pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, . at Lariad BnB
Responded 5 Apr 2019
Dear LidkaHonorata, Thank you for your time and honesty in your comment. Pleased to see that our service was well appreciated. As we consider the opinion of our guest we manage to change the mattresses, towels, sheets and pillows. We hope that you will visit us during your future stay in Mauritius. Kind regards, Sandrine
Read more
Anish wrote a review Sep 2017
Mauritius11 contributions2 helpful votes
We were surprized on the first day with a clogged sink with very bad odour and the lights in the bathroom was not working. It was unfortunately fixed the next day. We were told that we would have a kitchennete inside the room but instead it was a common kichen user by all the residents. The water from the bath was either too hot or too cold, we were not able to get it to a convenient temperature.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, . at Lariad BnB
Responded 4 Apr 2019
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for taking the time to comment your stay on Tripadvisor. Looking forward to welcome you back!
Read more
Andrew H wrote a review Sep 2017
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island142 contributions107 helpful votes
Great value for money!! A charming, picturesque and clean b&b in central Flic en Flac, five minutes on foot from the beach, with shops, bars and restaurants all nearby. This is my 3rd time at Lariad. It's one of the best places to stay in Flic en Flac. The rooms are modern and tastefully decorated and the property is well maintained with plenty of tropical vegetation. The neighbourhood is quiet, but the nightlife is within walking distance. The breakfast was 6.50€ extra/day on my rate, but is normally included. Only negative thing is that the showers in both the rooms I stayed in had a few problems (impossible to switch from rain shower to hand shower and water would go from hot to cold and back again for no reason).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, Reception at Lariad BnB
Responded 4 Apr 2019
Dear Andrew, Thank you for those great comments. It has been a real pleasure meeting you and serving you. Happy to hear that our hotel was at your convenience. Thank you for sharing your experience in our BnB. As always we will be more than happy to welcome you back. Kind regards, Sandrine
Read more
Steve N wrote a review Aug 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa220 contributions33 helpful votes
Pros: - Good location - Friendly staff and one of the best check in processes we saw in Mauritius - Breakfast included. - Issues reported were fixed the same day (eg. Blocked drain) - Modern room Cons: - All rooms open onto a huge hall, so noise transfer between rooms is high. - Shared kitchen - Small room
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LariadBnB, Reception at Lariad BnB
Responded 3 Apr 2019
Dear Steve, On behalf of Lariad Team, thank you for such great comments. We have been very happy to welcome you and offer you our services and help during your stay. Despite being a small hotel, we try to be as reactive as possible because the satisfaction of our guests is all that matters. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back for a short or long stay, you visit will be well appreciated. We thank you for giving us your opinion and appreciating all other aspects of our BnB Kind regards, Sandrine
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictFlic En Flac
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lariad BnB
Which popular attractions are close to Lariad BnB?
Nearby attractions include Kenzi Bar (0.3 km) and SpeedoMax (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lariad BnB?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Lariad BnB?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lariad BnB?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lariad BnB?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lariad BnB?
Conveniently located restaurants include Creole Shack, Mosaic - Eat & Drink, and Kenzi Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lariad BnB?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Lariad BnB have airport transportation?
Yes, Lariad BnB offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lariad BnB?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Lariad BnB?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (8.1 km) and Maison Eureka (14.9 km).