We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Jesselton Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Jesselton Hotel
The Jesselton Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Jesselton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 401: English reviews
Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

What an amazing place.The staff can't do enough for you.The rooms are spacious,very clean and comfortable.What more can you ask.Easy to reach anywhere in KK and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.Great value for money.What more can I say . Loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wessiegirl
Jesselton_Hotel, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wessiegirl, Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. While our location is a real asset, we are glad that you have taken time to recognize our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Jesselton Hotel soon! Warmest Regards, Michelle

Brunei Darussalam
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed over the weekend and found it to have an excellent location. Within CBD and walking distance to explore Kota Kinabalu city. Set in old colonial building, with comfy and charming rooms. The only downside is the lack of secure car parking for those driving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddie T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Booked it because we wanted to visit the first hotel in KK, lot of marble and kitschy 1950s decor which was charming in its own way and gave it some character! Staff were very friendly. Bedroom was clean, however the bed was pretty hard and the shower was a bit grubby - lot of limescale/ water stained.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 3 times during Sept with my Mum. We used it as a base as we flew into and out of Malaysia through Kota and across to Sandakan. This meant we got to experience 3 different rooms. All were sufficient and we found exactly the same as previous reviews here. The first room we had which was towards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WeekendWonders
Brighton
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for one night at The Jesselton but found it to have an excellent location for exploring KK and be very comfortable. The interior is a little dated but the room was large, comfortable and clean and reception was very helpful. One note, the newly introduced GST was not included in the price we were quoted on booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleBrighton
New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Despite the fact that this is one of the first hotels built in Kota Kinabalu (if not THE first), this hotel is very well maintained, and does not look its age. The staff is SUPER nice and helpful -- they will go the extra mile for you. And the location is great. Right in the middle of town, and close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya M
Singapore
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Jesselton Hotel decor reminds me of the grander yesteryear that had gone by. Given the price and location, this place is unbeatable in terms of value. The decor and facilities will benefit from updates though. It is well located in the heart of old town, where the street cafe and restaurants are just few steps away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thanni999
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is well located in the middle of the city and there are lots of good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. During weekend there will have the Pasar Pagi which you can buy wide range of local products with reasonable price. The only cons is the condition of the building and room are very old.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seng S
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight at this colonial hotel. The rooms were clean and well presented. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in the heart of the city, a short walk from Jesselton Point and a short taxi ride from the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andeange
Holland
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed there for one night. The elevator is very small and the rooms are very old fashioned. But it's clean. There is no restaurant and you have breakfast next door. The breakfast is very good. The staff is very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank punkmuts

415 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Suite (53)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,101 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
553 reviews
0.4 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,904 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
376 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 3,403 - ₹ 4,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jesselton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Jesselton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the corner room facing the Old Town White Coffee as they seem to be bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles LakhvinderG, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have king sized beds some bathrooms a bath”
 of 5 bubbles alanloy, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quieter room facing the side street”
 of 5 bubbles sandyh655, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Suites are large, sunny”
 of 5 bubbles anuragverulkar, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Good hotel, very central, would stay there again!”
 of 5 bubbles daval1949, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay