We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,897: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fair to say that the initial impression of the Magellan was that it looked a little tired and in need of some TLC to make it sparkle. The beach is about the size of my backyard and certainly not for swimming. Not much at all around the Magellan unless you are into golf. That said the pool is amazing so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear Mark S, Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. Glad you found our room to be nice and comfortable. We are happy to inform that refurbishment plans for the rooms’ façade at The Magellan Sutera Resort are already being carried out in stages at the Marina Wing. Hope you will get to experience the...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed for three nights in this hotel. I enjoy very much with the water sport activities and the swimming pool of this resort. The swimming pool is child-friendly and incorporated with bar that serve wide varieties of drinks. It also connected to a private beach. Considering its design and water sport activities, it is excellent. However, there are also...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank VK K
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear VK K, Thank you for taking the time post a review about us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you like the water sport activities, swimming pool facilities and Waves Pool Bar at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. However, we are most concerned to hear that your stay with us indicated a lot of shortfalls. We are disappointed...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful hotel resort. We arrived after spending the past week climbing mt Kinabalu and then sleeping and telling in the jungle- treated ourselves to 2 nights in the Magellan. Definitely pay a bit more for the Magellan over the other hotel. We visited the other hotel pool and it's fine but a lot less luxurious. Hotel staff all incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mishka827
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear Mishka827, Thank you for the lovely review about your recent stay with us. Great to hear that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu and hope that it was a successful climb. We are absolutely happy to know that you had a perfect stay with us at The Magellan Sutera Resort. Your positive comments will go a long...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The thing that stands out at The Pacific is the friendliness, high service level of the staff. All the staff that we had met in the hotel during our 5D, 6N stay were friendly, smiley and provided good advice to the queries we had. The staff at the Concierge (special thanks to Sabri) were patient, gave us really good recommendations...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shin669
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear Shin669, Thank you for sharing a review with us on TripAdvisor. Great to hear that you had a memorable and pleasant stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Your praises for our associates certainly made our day! We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of personalised service for each of...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The very first impression was shocking enough: I was given a key for an already occupied room. Thanks heaven nobody was having sex when I barged in! Lots of smiles and apologies from the staff, yeah, thanks a lot - finally an empty room. Food is OK, though breakfast choices are skimpy; just 2 kinds of fresh fruit and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillamy78
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear lillamy78, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this helpful feedback. We read the experience of your stay with deep regret and disappointment, especially when you have made our Hotel your accommodation of choice. All of your comments have been well noted and each one are being addressed with great earnest. We would like to sincerely...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose to stay at the Pacific Satura based on family recommendations. From the time we got there until the time we left we were made to feel a part of the Pacific Satura 'Family'. I could not fault anything with the resort. The food was amazing, the facilities exceptionally clean, the location was ideal for all tourist activities including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelBug762013
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear TravelBug762013, Thank you for taking the time to share your ‘5-star’ review with us. We greatly appreciate your recommendation of The Pacific Sutera Hotel and that our associates were able to make such a memorable experience for you during your time with us. Can’t wait to welcome you again the next time your travels take you back to Kota...

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Staying in Sutera Harbour is to stay in a harbour city of its own - 14 restaurants, boats to the island from the local pier, several pools, two gyms etc. A beautiful environment. Unfortunately the city of KK does not resemble this miniature harbour city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plingelingan
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear plingelingan, Your review is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you home to your residence at Sutera Harbour Resort on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu! Best regards, SHR-Management

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived around 9.00pm on Thursday April 10 Check in was a little slow but that was no problem and well worth the wait. We were taken to our room which was 7404 overlooking the ocean and resort pool. Wow, how surprised were we when we got into the room It was a very large 2 rooms a powder room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robycoll
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear robycoll, Thank you for your sharing a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at The Magellan Sutera Resort. We are pleased to read that you had a great time and enjoyed the spacious Executive Suite rooms, swimming pool facilities, amenities and services. Your positive comments has certainly been an encouragement to all of us. Being a...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been to many hotels in Eastern Asia. The hotel seems very big but when I got there on Wedesday Night on 16th of April. There is only two people on the front desk. People had to wait to be served. I clearly noted and sent email with reservation people several times regarding my reservation because I am taking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joesung
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear joesung, Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We apologise for the negative experience and shortcoming in service which you had encountered during your stay with us. We take all feedback very seriously and rest assured, we have addressed your concerns to the responsible department heads for further review and appropriate action. On that note, thank you for...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I went off for a trip to Sabah with my family. Stayed at the Pacific Sutera as the room was booked by Dad's colleague. When we arrived, I conclude that the hotel has been there for quite a while. At that time, it was flocked with tourist from Japan and also Korea not to forget the locals as there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anastasya711
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review

Dear Anastasya711, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and we are disappointed to learn that The Pacific Sutera Hotel was not to your liking. However, it is heartening to know that our property, The Magellan Sutera Resort which is closely located, measured up to your expectations. Although you found The Pacific Sutera Hotel to...

2,434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2334)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (391)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (355)
Viewed
View from Room (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (257)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (114)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
Other (948)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.9 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,977 reviews
2.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,302 reviews
17.0 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
2.8 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
612 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 7,009 - ₹ 17,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the ground floor. Room's are slightly dated but clean and a good size. I have no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles vickilock, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room Level 4 and above. Those below Level 4 might get noisy if you are too near the swimming pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles AyCee76, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles Lyndal2, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Families to stay on lower floor for easier access.”
 of 5 bubbles TroyB934, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Sabahfriendly, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5