We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Shangri-La\\
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Panoramas (28)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,717: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This was a well equipped resort with clean rooms, friendly staff and many free activities available. The pool area is well positioned and maintained. The resort would be the place to stay if you wanted to stay and not access the shopping and food precinct in the city daily. It is a good ten minute taxi trip to town, doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerrie B
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kerrie B, Thank you very much for your kind words, Kerrie. We truly appreciate them. We all can't wait to welcome you back for another Borneo holiday soon! Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We spent four nights at the resort, we paid to upgrade to Club Room, the food was lovely, breakfast was superb in the restaurant, a large variety to choose from. Views from the room and infinity pool, make you feel like you are in paradise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VsPitstop
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear VsPitstop, Thank you so much for your compliments. We are so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday here and can't wait to welcome you back. Remember, it's a direct flight from Perth to Kota Kinabalu! Safe travels always. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Hamble
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We are nearly at the end of our 8 day stay and have had a most enjoyable time. Food-- we haven't actually eaten at any of the restaurants as we were in Kinabalu club which included breakfast, all drinks and a very appetising snack every day from 4-30 till 8-30 and it's child free from 6-30 so we spent a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank simon1958
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear simon1958, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of the resort. You've given so many useful tips in here, I am certain many will find them useful. On behalf of my colleagues, I would like to thank you for your compliments and kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kota Kinabalu!...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

having construction, waiting 20 mins to check in with heavy drilling noise Got to the room, heavy cigarette smell and return to front desk, waited another 20-30 min to change room Buffet dinner has no refill Breakfast busy, glasses and plates dirty, staffs are unhappy Room is old, the time we are tired trying to sleep, found that the lights...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bananajills
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear chiulyphoebe, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of the resort. I read your review with much concern and would appreciate it if you can contact me urgently at tah@shangri-la.com. We would like to get in touch with you as soon as possible. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the shortcomings you had experienced during...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We checked in as the current refurbishment commenced. By the end of our stay some corridors and stairs were blocked off, and day noise was a little more intrusive. But for the majority of our stay we had a most pleasant experience. The room was well appointed and breakfast arrangements were fine. A wide choice in the buffet. We visited...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Welshbroad
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Welshbroad, Thank you so much for your kind words and for giving us full rating. We truly appreciate all the compliments and tip you had given here in this review. We do hope we will have the chance to serve you again. Until we meet again, safe travels always. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Service delivery ok except housekeeping. Breakfast buffet spread good, except if you stay a week you may get frustrated w same choices. Cldnt try the spa as it requires pre booking. Hopefully renovations will complete on next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lovebug163
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lovebug163, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of the resort. We apologize for not meeting your expectations when you were last here. We do hope to welcome you back after the transformation works are completed at the end of June. Until we meet again, safe travels always. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of...

Shanghai
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Resort for Chinese Golden Week. The service was wonderful from the front desk, to housekeeping to the waiters to the Club servers and the spa employees. The customer service there is wonderful. The pools/play areas were awesome for families. We have a 20 month old daughter who had an absolute blast on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NikNakMcHen
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear NikNakMcHen, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of the resort. We truly appreciate your compliments, observations and feedback. It is wonderful to hear that your little girl had enjoyed herself while you were on holiday here. We can't wait to see you all again. Until then, safe travels always. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I have been to both Shangri-la's in kota kinabalu ... and this is my favourite! The welcome and check in was personal and superb ... they picked us up from the airport. The lobby is lovely with great seating, bars and views. The rooms are a little old now but still spacious and clean with lovely balcony and views. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mr A
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. A, Your review here has us working in the resort all floating on cloud nine! Thank you so much for your very kind words and for your recommendation. "...my young daughter loved her stay here, and so did I!! Would definitely come back again and again" ... We will all be right here, welcoming you back time and...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Beautiful room, perhaps the picture here looks better, our balcony view is still alright just that palm trees / coconut tree are kind of in the way, nevertheless it is still a beautiful room and it has been a wonderful stay. We check in approximately 2100hrs~ due to our late night flight in. The guest relation officer was really very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mio A
ShangriLa_TAH, Diretor of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mio A, Your amazing review has blown us away! Thank you so much for your kind words. We can't wait to see you again! Until then, safe travels always. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Reviewed 26 October 2016

I stayed one night at the Shangri-la Tanjung Aru Resort & SPA together with my family. what can I say about this place is the friendliness of its employees and the condition of the room was incredible. My children are very happy if you can play in the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darkness L
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Darkness L, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of the resort and for giving us full rating. We are so happy to hear that the children had enjoyed their holiday here and can't wait to welcome the whole family back again for many more days of sunshine, slides and fun! Until we meet...

3,498 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2946)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (641)
Viewed
Room/Suite (369)
Viewed
View from Room (265)
Viewed
Dining (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (469)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (952)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (530)
Viewed
Amenities (138)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (47)
Viewed
Kinabalu Wing Executive Seaview Suite (56)
Viewed
Kinabalu Wing Seaview Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (115)
Viewed
Tanjung Wing Seaview Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.4 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
25.1 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,200 reviews
19.0 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 12,464 - ₹ 27,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
56 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (56)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on second floor!”
 of 5 bubbles jennifersS2743YX, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Sea or the Mount Kota Kinabalu view, depending on your preference.”
 of 5 bubbles thumpa28, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the ground floor as it will go out straight onto the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles 723LauraM, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have good views as you could have a sea view or mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles chriskeeno52, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles KerrieB827, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay