We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

G Hotel Gurney

TripAdvisorUS$ 117*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$ 117*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for G Hotel Gurney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,434: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We just returned from a 5-day stay at the G, our 2nd in 2 years. We enjoyed it as much as the first. Curious about the negative comments as we did not see any of it. Our experience at the cafe and at the lounge was great as was the front desk. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank superspots101
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was great to hear you enjoy your 2nd stay with us and we hope to see you back in the near future for many more stays. Kind regards, Michael Hanratty General Manager

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed as a family of four with two toddlers. My kids loved the pool but I thought it was a bit too cold and pool surface was a bit rough. The hotel service was good (especially the concierge, housekeeping and front desk). The location is superb as it is connected to Plaza Gurney, and today (23 July), another mega...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catherine L
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing G Hotel as the preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Penang and I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us in particular the location and service. In regards to the pool, we are carrying out resurfacing...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Many issues: 1. Front desk people are completely rude and not able to perform their jobs. 2. Room: 1) holes in curtains, dirty, AC not working correctly, cheap feeling. 3. Rude security Don't bother staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JamesBay_13
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear guest, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. By receiving guest feedback we are able to monitor our services and ensure we are provided the proper level, however on this occasion it appears we have failed. Guest service is our main priority and it was unacceptable that you have received such inconstancies from...

Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Well, I'm staying here just for a luxurious enjoyment, however I feel that the price is not worth it, there is no bathtub, and when I check in there is missing bathrobe as well, i do compare with Hilton at K.L Central, the price is cheaper and the room design is more luxury than G Hotel. Nevertheless, the minibar is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Foodhunter84
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor It was disappointing to read your experience during your stay with us which I apologize for however I will be reviewing each point to see where we can adjust to improve. In regards to the bathtubs, our Deluxe rooms and all Suites do have bathtubs however...

Singapore
Reviewed 17 July 2013

As I don't know the other ones, it is maybe true. The lobby is great with very nice design. The style is original. I liked the breakfast, the size of the room, the wifi, the service, the sea view, the design of course and the mojito at the bar, I disliked: - the bed mattress!!! Never seen such hard mattress...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurent P
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I love Penang and its world heritage architechure, the hawker stalls and street vendors - I hope it never changes. The G Hotel is modern and funky but fits brilliantly into its old world surrounds. The expansive but warm lobby is embellished by attentive bell staff who graciously touch their hearts in the Malay sign of respect as you enter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated because guest satisfaction and comfort are our first priority. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and impressed with the Malaysian greeting. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback....

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Its like a nightmare when having a dinner at the restaurant (G Cafe). The first impression was good with the excellent service & smile from the staff. But the worst part is we have to wait almost 45 minutes for staff to deliver our order. Just imagine we order Club sandwich which is cost RM 24++ and took 45 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Michellegabor
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay in our hotel. It is disappointing to note that the service rendered in G Café was less than satisfactory, I agreed with you that the waiting time of 45 minutes for food is totally unacceptable. I have shared your feedback with our team; appropriate action...

Singapore
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Before I booked the room, I thought it was strange that the size of the Superior Double/Twin room was 55 square meters (priced at about S$200) but the Executive Double/Twin room was 38 square meters (priced at S$260)!! I understand that you pay more for the Club/Executive Floor Lounge but why should the room be smaller in size? I checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Contented13
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us and we are glad to have the opportunity to respond to your concern. I would like to apologize as different information was provided to you, our Rooms Division Manager has noted on your feedback and appropriate training will be reinforced to enhance services and...

Dransfeld
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Nice art deco style hotel. Excellent location at guerny drive. Department stores and restaurants in walking distance. Some room have a significant view to the sea and the guerny drive promenade. Various offers leisure activities like gym, yoga lessons and pool. Can't recommend g.spot (the night bar). Life music is to loud to have any conversation. Service is slow and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruhlendorf
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay in our hotel. We are always glad to hear from our guests. I was glad to read that overall you enjoy the stay at our hotel. I was however disappointed to learn that the service rendered in G Spot was not up to expectation. Please...

Singapore
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I checked in with my 8-year-old girl on a Tuesday afternoon for a two-night stay. We booked a standard room but the reception staff said that they'd upgraded us from a deluxe room to a suite. What a big surprise! The spacious suite came with a separate living room and a kitchen. The perfumed toiletries in the bathroom were from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vina I

1,542 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1143)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (245)
Viewed
Bathroom (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (151)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (67)
Viewed
Other (435)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (347)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Executive Room (24)
Viewed
Executive Suite (30)
Viewed
L Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
386 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,390 reviews
3.7 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
3,785 reviews
4.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
635 reviews
3.5 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: ₹ 6,158 - ₹ 12,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from G Hotel Gurney staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from G Hotel Gurney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with seaview”
  • A view from my room
dhananjoyk, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are good”
146larsl, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“water front view, higher floor”
  • shower
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
  • f
  • 2
  • clear glass view to the room
arikh2013, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the upper floors and not facing construction, as most areas have building works or noise .”
X7500UQthomasg, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Service in Executive lounge is very nice”
iamdanielv, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 117* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates