We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cititel Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cititel Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,034 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cititel Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 890: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 September 2012

One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in! :) We chose this hotel as the manager, Mr Tony Goh, made an effort to respond to every single review on TripAdvisor; this is a sign of good service. And yes, we were proven correct. Upon our arrival, the receptionist greeted us and check-in was quick. We booked two deluxe rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EugeneJJC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Eugene Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! Thank you so much for writing in to share your thoughts – I am truly delighted to note that you have had a most enjoyable stay here and my sincere thanks for your kind and gracious comments about our hotel team members and the service rendered. It is always gratifying to know that...

Ko Lanta, Thailand
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We went there when the hotel was super busy since it's Hari raya period and surely, the hotel was packed! But we can say that the hotel can handle quite well with the room management, everyone get the room with the arrival time and the check in process is really fast for me. The room is not big but clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alwaysdelay
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! It is indeed very heartening to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang. We truly appreciate your kind comments about our hotel facilities and thank you for your kind understanding about the high occupancy days during your stay. Yes, many of our guests agree with you and are pleasantly surprised...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I had a wonderful stay in this hotel. When I arrived from a long bus journey from KL the reception staff greeted me with a smile and were very friendly. My room on the 16th floor was a little small but clean and modern furnished to a high standard. All staff were great, cleaning staff always cheerily greeting me in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AaronB101
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us - I am truly grateful for your kind words about our services and facilities and have shared them with my team here. It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded our guests' expectations during their stay with us...

Bintulu, Malaysia
Reviewed 6 September 2012

When I stepped in, I was impressed by the nice and spacious lobby. The reception staffs are friendly. I booked 2 rooms i.e. a standard twins & a deluxe double bed for 3 days. However, they provide with single beds. There is not much difference between standard & deluxe. The location is very convenience, got food stalls just opposite and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lkluk
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. We trust that you had a great trip home. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Cititel Penang and thank you for your gracious comments about our staff, services and facilities. Please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered at the Health Centre;...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Actually this is my 2nd time staying at this hotel. The hotel is conviniently located in heart of the city and within walking distance to most of the famous food attractions in Penang. That has been my main agenda for staying at this hotel anyway. Yoi can even skip breakfast at the hotel since the food outside is much nicer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zmyusof
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am glad to note that you had enjoyed your stay here as well as our famed Penang food. We appreciate your kind comments about our location and you may be pleased to note that we are currently completing our refurbishment programme...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Was here for a weekend holiday, booked a standard room since this hotel is highly recommended by my friend in Penang since it was recently refurbished. Booked the room online and payment was charged to my card, I have specifically requested for a non smoking room. I was greatly disappointed when they gave me the only room in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ReneeC2
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the room allocation for your stay. It was high occupancy here during then, but that is certainly no excuse for what you had experienced of your stay here. i truly apologise....

Mid North Coast
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at this hotel and whilst it was generally good, there was certainly room for improvement. We had an ocean view recently renovated room which was excellent. The only down side was that if you had the curtains open to look at the view, the room heated up and the air con took over 24...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alongboarder
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about our room but regret the down-side of the air-conditioning, for which i apologise. I have spoken to my Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers to ensure that this issue does not...

putrajaya
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Lovely sea view from 18th floor room.. free parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful and provide and awonderful service in all departments. We enjoyed the closeness to great shopping venues (commercial and local handcrafts). We will be staying here again on our next visit whenever that may be, hopefully next year. With many eating place within walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zasani
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! My team and I are extremely delighted to note that you and your family had a great stay with us. Thank you for your gracious comments about our team members and we are glad that we had made your stay a fulfilling one too. I do hope that you will be visiting again...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Me and my family went to this hotel in April 2012. While checking in they said that they won't charge for a spare mattress for my baby while I wanted to pay the deposit I saw that they have added 50$ more just for a mattress!!! and when I say mattress that we agreed on they sent a foam!!! It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perthiantraveller
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I regret to learn of your experience and please accept my apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience. Please let me explain: the extra bed and sofa bed (for children below 12) are all chargeable at RM50 each whilst we provide complimentary baby...

singapore
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our 2 nights stay earlier this month. We booked a standard room with breakfast and were given a 7th floor - which had a lovely seaview. The check in was handled very efficiently by a young chinese lady (sounded local)who was very friendly and offered useful advice on the different shopping malls I could visit,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie j
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang . Thank you for sharing the review on your recent stay at Cititel Penang and I trust that you had a good trip home. I am elated to know that you have had a fulfilling stay with us and I have shared your kind comments with my team with much pride. Thank you...

998 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (568)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (221)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (400)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Heritage View Room (54)
Viewed
Executive Suite Seaview Room (93)
Viewed
Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi (14)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Heritage View Room (38)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.6 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
510 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: ₹ 3,361 - ₹ 5,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cititel Penang staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Cititel Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Non-smoking rooms available”
Andrew_BeMyGuest, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on floor 28, quite and non smoking room”
sowmyaa2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“city view room”
rajasekhark_13, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room on the high floor facing the sea is more relaxing”
lmakk109, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request for sea view room”
seaton188, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5