We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cititel Penang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cititel Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cititel Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 874: English reviews
Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Arriving at Cititel was quite a surprise - it was so much fancier than I'd expected! The amount I'd paid for my stay, due to a fantastic discount on Agoda, made me think it would be a regular 3 or 4 star affair - or perhaps I was working on australian prices? In any case, the service was excellent -...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tina C
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for your kind and gracious comments of our staff and services – I am indeed very happy that you had a delightful time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay here. It is with much pride for me to share your comments with my team. The...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Cititel Penang is at a very good and prime location. Just mins walk you will find many eateries, 7/11 shops and pubs/clubs around. From Hotel taxi - to Gurney drive is 10RM, to Kek Lok Si temple and Penang Hill is 25RM, to Reclining / Sleeping Buddha Temple is 10RM, to Komtar is 10RM. There is also a bus stop...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neha S
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share the review of our hotel and I trust that you had a wonderful stay in Penang. Your positive comments of my team members and hotel facilities and location are greatly appreciated – thank you. My team and I extend our warmest wishes for a Happy...

Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Booked 3 rooms. Even though rooms were non smoking, they had a cig smoke smell. Not very big rooms, felt a bit cramped after staying in other more spacious hotels. The shampoo that was provided was in a wall pump by the shower & smelled gross. Doubt most ppl will even use it. The non skid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeiledTraveler
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Warmest Greetings from Cititel Penang! Thank you for taking the time to write and your kind comments are most appreciated. It is with regret that our hotel does not have a totally smoke-free environment policy but please be assured that our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeper are always looking into improving the air quality of our public areas and in our...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 December 2012

If you looking for average and reasonable price range hotel, you should choose cititel hotel Penang, nice and clean, so with centre location in Georgetown. Central to Penang road area, which happening spot such as nightlife and food heaven. Nice place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wantedperson
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! It is indeed very heartening to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang. Thank you for recommending our hotel and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. With my best wishes for a great 2013 and beyond! Kind regards Tony Goh General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Booked here as many smaller hotels were booked up. It's very convenient, my room was large, all mod cons, stunning view. But felt could be anywhere as basically a business hotel. Pricey and my rate did not include breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCtravelbug
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang. I am glad to note that you like our rooms and hotel location. Breakfast is an option for our guests and you may want to consider buying into our breakfast at a special rate the next time you book online with...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 December 2012

When we first stepped into the hotel, the lobby clearly reeked of very strong stale cigarette smoke. The smell did not just stay there but it was everywhere - in the lift, cafe & corridor. Worst of all, the stale cigarette smell was also strongly present in the hotel guest room which we were assigned to. We figured that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jhon13
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to write and trust you had a safe trip home. Please let me convey my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and the disappointment encountered during your recent stay with us. Regretfully, our hotel does not have a totally smoke-free environment policy but we do have non-smoking rooms...

Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The wallpapers are all stained. The bed are full of shoe prints and blood prints and stains, The bathtub was leaking and the shampoo and soap was very diluted. The chair in it was so dusty. It look more like a 3 star than a 4 star to me.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BenjaminHon
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.] Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us and trust that you had a good trip home. My sincere apologies for the lack of attention to details in your room – please be assured that this is not our usual standards of service that we maintain here at Cititel...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Penang Cititel is on Penang Road, close to the KOMTAR tower, the tallest building in Penang. It has a convenient location for the working traveller with business in the middle of the city. If you are on holiday with not much time to spend on the island, avoid this area. Having said that, Penang is a very popular food destination....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khairi W
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us and hope that you had a good trip home. Thank you for your kind words for our staff and hotel facilities. I regret to note your comment with regards to the internet access during your stay -...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Went for a 3 night stay in a standard room and had the best experience. Outstanding service from very helpful and approachable staff especially Mr Gabriel Oi, Mr Amud, Mr Mizal and Mr Calvin. Transport services and different tour packages readily available for customers provided by the hotel. Lots of food stalls available in walking distance from the hotel. Smooth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wong_Fam
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera! I am thoroughly delighted to know that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is always gratifying to know that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay and your appreciation is great motivation to all of us here. I...

KL
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Went for 1 night stay and had the best experience. The location was nearby with the famous 'Nasi Kandar Line Klear' and also ' Sup Hameed'. Just by walking distance. There is a lot of convenient shops around and food stalls. About 10 minutes drive to Gurney Drive but depends ob the traffic. The room are well clean and maintained....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kite_High_KL
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to write and I am happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us. Our...

976 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (546)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (400)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Heritage View Room (54)
Viewed
Executive Suite Seaview Room (93)
Viewed
Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi (14)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Heritage View Room (38)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 82 in George Town
580 reviews
1.0 km away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#27 of 82 in George Town
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 82 in George Town
918 reviews
1.2 km away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 82 in George Town
694 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: ₹ 3,064 - ₹ 4,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cititel Penang staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Cititel Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room on the high floor facing the sea is more relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles lmakk109, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request for sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles seaton188, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1615 very high floor for non smokers and with good seaview”
 of 5 bubbles KiKi2148, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the 6th floor (non smoking floor) with a view of the sea. It was great.”
 of 5 bubbles kaleselvirajoo, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Select rooms away from the main traffic areas”
 of 5 bubbles hod799, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay