We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tubotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tubotel
Tubotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tubotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the tubotel for 6 nights and it sure was a test of our resilience. TUBES: The tubes themselves are tiny. As a couple, we found it incredibly difficult to access our rucksacks and when it was raining, there was no way of standing in the tube without getting wet and the whole inside very muddy. As it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cj922012
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

hello i am sorry to hear that u had such a bad time. not sure if we met, but my wife recalls looking for u to give u free ride to kuah, as agreed with u to leave at 3pm she waited for u until 3.15 made 2 rounds thru the resort, checked the bathrooms and common areas without being...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

i never expected how wonderful was the view from the hotel.. it was stunning specially when the morning sun peeks at dawn. the staff was friendly and accomodating.. they are well informed about the common questions for first-time traveller like myself. the place was neat and clean. overall thumbs up!! planning to stay there again when i come back for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roland c
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

thank u for your kind words happy travels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Tubotel is a must-try place to stay. The concept is interesting but the best tube hotel rooms, to be stayed in, are those facing the sea front. I went in a month of rainy season. Lucky for me, it was not raining but cloudy. So, it was just cooling enough, coupled with good sea breeze. The room is known for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan O
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

thank u for your review. we are constantly repairing and improving tubotel, but keep in mind as close to the sea as we are it is a 24/7 job. and during the raining season it makes it a little difficult. we will keep up improving our environment and the next door construction will hopefully be completed soon. happy travels

Seremban, Malaysia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

It's a nice place, but a little small. Shared bathrooms, so it might not be suitable for couples. The owner greeted me personally in the morning. He had breakfast with me and was sharing his stories, and was a friendly guy. Alex as his name. The scenery in the evening is beautiful, especially with the sofa setup to relax and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashley g
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

thank u for re assuring potential future guests about the room size. it is what it is, a drain pipe hotel,..... some love it,..... some hate it..... we would like to meet everyones expectation, however with the unique hotel concept it is not possible. happy travels and great of u to take the time to give ur feed back. ciao

Kota Setar District, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 August 2016

It is an overall lovely environment with great communal space, can enjoy nice breeze in the morning and night when you have nothing to do. However, don't expect more from the surrounding environment, the sea is not great and there is no beach. You will have to go to Cenang beach either by bike or car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jia Jiet L
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

thank u for taking the time to review tubotel. yes correct, no beach, no party, no traffic, no noise, no smelly rubbish pins, no pick pockets, no motorbikes racing, no beach boys trying to sell u water sports, no rubbish lying around, no,,,,,,,,, no....... we are just a quiet place where u can relax, and enjoy with great views. not...

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 August 2016

it was a short holiday, we check in on 12th and check out on 14th Aug (3day2night). What can i say is that, the location is okay just that maybe because they place hidden because of the construction going on beside the hotel. But from the tube that we got (sea view..totally awesome!) , breakfast, the staff (friendly), clean (share...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gonnahateyou
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

glad u enjoyed ur stay and shared ur experience with the tripadvisor readers. safe travels and hope to see u again. ciao alex

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my not-yet-confirmed gf came here for 3D2N and everything was amazing experience, especially the view so stunning which bring so many memory to us. Staying in this tube hotel just took away our mind from busy city life. The hotel is close to airport (recommend to rent bike or car) and everything just so easy to access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U3805TRryanc
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

great to hear that tubotel could help to kick start your romance. happy days,...... save travels

Oakland, California
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Positive: Amazing breakfast and food over all, nice communal space that overlooks the ocean, friendly staff, comfortable beds, complementary towels, beautiful sunsets and inexpensive beers, management was understanding and gave a refund when we choose to leave early. Negative: Small, wet and dirty bathrooms with skin whitening soap (yuck!), half the toilets didn't flush and were clogged over the 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

yes, i remember . u arrived and it was raining,..... u then told me about our cancellation policy,...... yes we had a problem with the plumbing. it is fixed now and we are in the prcess of changing from 5 showers and 4 toilets to 9 combined units of shower and toilet in the same cubical to allow more privacy....

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I had a great time at the Tubotel Langkawi. I stayed in the tube rooms overlooking the sea, and it was really unique and offered a great view of the ocean with stunning sunsets. My friend stayed in the container bunk room, and it was really affordable and comfortable. I loved the outdoor verandah at the common area, with huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MynnSWTW
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

many thanks for ur blog and review. safe travels

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Absolutely amazing spot! Views and communal area are great, I spent a week here! Great for relaxing and you can hire a scooter/car from the hostel to go explore the island. The Kedawang centre is about 20 min walk (ask at reception for the short cut), it's very touristy and expensive for Malaysia but go for the food courts or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review

i am glad u had a great and relaxing stay. any time again book on our website, it is cheaper... ciao

509 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (296)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Tube (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
14.7 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
9.0 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.1 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
1.7 km away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#3 of 141 in Langkawi
319 reviews
14.8 km away
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Tubotel

Address: Jetty Pelancongan Chenang | Kuala Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Price Range: ₹ 1,409 - ₹ 2,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Tubotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tubotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Tubotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't go during rainy season”
 of 5 bubbles euphorialicexz, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the seaview room, much nicer :)”
 of 5 bubbles Kevin_S_2017, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is a must! you wont regret it!”
  • the view and wind is sooo awesome!
 of 5 bubbles gonnahateyou, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't go to Langkawi! Tioman and the Perhentian Islands are better.”
 of 5 bubbles rkeller86, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles whitdeewhit, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5