We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Silka Johor Bahru

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Silka Johor Bahru
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Start your review of Silka Johor Bahru
 Click to rate
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with my big family for 2 night. we took 6 rooms. The rooms were clean and neat. Hot water in the room functioned very well. Breakfast was just okay and not much variety.The hotel was a bit far from jb city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hassbeevi
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear hassbeevi, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback on breakfast is duly noted, and we will work on offering a better selection in future for an improved dining experience. We hope you had a good stay with us overall, and hope to welcome you again. Sincerely, Ridza Johari Director of...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My kids luv water that i need to find a reasonable price hotel with a pool. Silka Hotel is my saviour! thank you sooooo much! we had buffet breakfast but seem it took ages just to get my bull eye ready. Perhaps u can prepare some and put it next to nasi lemak counter instead of having my son go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanty S
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Shanty S, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have taken note of your comments on breakfast, and will work on improvements for a better experience. Please do visit us again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you then. Sincerely, Ridza Johari Director of Operations, Silka Johor Bahru

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff are friendly & courteous especially the parking guys. Location wise, good except for gym/swimming pool facilities that needs to be shared with the rest of the residence. Breakfast was so-so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dee1909
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear dee1909, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Ridza Johari Director of Operations, Silka Johor Bahru

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for my business trip. It's a bit out of nowhere, but if you have a car, it will b easier. Tesco is within walking distance with some basic Malay food court. Hotel is sharing the gym, swimming pool with the condo which is under the same management, but the facilities is at the condo side where you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yktangphotography
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear yktangphotography, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We trust you had a good stay with us, and hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Ridza Johari Director of Operations, Silka Johor Bahru

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent experience staying at Silka over 3 weeks with good customer support and services. Very friendly and efficient front desk. Clean and nice place to be with affordable price. Will recommend this hotel to my colleague and family members.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zulikram M
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Zulikram M, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Ridza Johari Director of Operations, Silka Johor Bahru

Reviewed 10 January 2017

It was a great 5 days stay in this hotel. Most of the staffs were wonderful and attentive. However, I especially enjoyed the fantastic service provided by Shafiq. Thank you for your great help. On the other hand, the food in the restaurant wasn't that great. Overall everything good. I will definitely visit this hotel in future.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ariunaa A
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Ariunaa A, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and look forward to wlecoming you again soon. Sincerely, Rudza Johari Director of Operations, Silka Johor Bahru

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I struggled to write this review because it was such a poor start. We'd driven from Singapore facing the Woodlands causeway crossing and the hours of frustration only to arrive 36km later (2.5hrs) to this hotel we had booked through a Groupon voucher. We couldn't access our room as it wasn't ready so we headed off to do some local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Papalite
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Papalite, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience with us. We are happy to know that our staff took the time and effort to attend to your needs in a professional and courteous manner. However, we also acknowledge that there are areas where we could have fared better. Indeed, the room should...

Reviewed 2 January 2017

Booked my room using booking.com when it said breakfast included, when i arrived there, it was excluding breakfast. The staff named Shafiq was very friendly, we checked in 15 minutes earlier in the deluxe room, spacious, well maintained. Some of the tv channels didnt have proper satellite. I had a comfortable stay with balcony in my room and king size...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen L
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Jen L, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have taken note of the areas where we can improve for a better experience in future. Meanwhile, we are pleased to know that you were well attended to by our staff, and found our room comfortable during your stay with us. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The first thing I noticed was that the lobby reeked of cigarettes. The rooms are big, spacious and fairly well kept. Parking is available but it is situated at another building (NO LIFTS! have to use stairs :<), making it hard to move our luggage to and from the car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette l
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and for highlighting the issue of the cigarette smell at our lobby. We will look into this and ensure the necessary steps are taken to rid the area of the smell. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you again. Sincerely,...

KL
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Family trip booked 3 deluxe double. Took 1 hour to check us in from 2 pm. Rooms were spacious but quite old and one of the room had a smokey smell and there were cigarettes butts in the glasses left in the toilet. Air cons not functioning well and one of it broke down in the mid of night emitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieVerena
SilkaHotelsMsia, Director of Operations at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review

Dear JulieVerena, Warm greetings from Silka Johor Bahru. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We truly apologise for the unsatisfactory experience during your stay with us. We will brief and remind our staff on the importance of attending to guests' needs in a professional, courteous and tactful manner, and ensure this is practiced consistently moving forward. We hope...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
4.1 km away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#24 of 107 in Johor Bahru
21 reviews
2.5 km away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#27 of 107 in Johor Bahru
46 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#66 of 107 in Johor Bahru
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 107 in Johor Bahru
89 reviews
2.6 km away
No photo provided
Grand World Hotel
#43 of 107 in Johor Bahru
1 reviews
8.5 km away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 107 in Johor Bahru
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Masai | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Price Range: ₹ 1,440 - ₹ 2,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Silka Johor Bahru staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Silka Johor Bahru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe room was spacious!”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you get what you paid for”
 of 5 bubbles jeanettel945, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at 2nd floor and the rooms have poor sound proofing.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieVerena, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“non-smoking rooms would be best”
 of 5 bubbles lexines2016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book the suites. It's beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles seowksseng101, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5