We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandies Tropical Village

Casuarina Road, Malindi 68 Kenya
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Outdoor pool
Paid Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Good to know
Ocean View
Family Resort
Full view
Getting there
Malindi Airport3 km
Vipingo Airport74 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 211
  • 57
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The staff at the resort are amongst the most friendly we have met on all our travels. In general the Kenyan people are very friendly and helpful.The food provided by the resort is VERY good and caters for all needs, also there are constant snacks available during the day.The room
Read more
A perfect vacancy: wonderful place, beautiful beach, good food, nice people...Sandies Tropical Village is top of the line. I highly recommend you...It was like being in a dream. In conclusion I should like to offer my particular thanks to Ambrogio, a great counselor: my kids spen
Read more
Response from Web M, General Manager at Sandies Tropical Village
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear nic0683 Greetings from Sandies Tropical Village! Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our professional services,delicious food, staffs especially chef Ayaz & Ambrose. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warm Regards Alexander Zissimatos
Read more
Check in was abit messy with them not locating my booking. It was finally sorted in 1 hours time by then i was at my wits end with my 2 kids. Food was good but monotonous. A little variety and different cuisines would have been good. The room was ok, though we had a juniour suite
Read more
Response from Web M, General Manager at Sandies Tropical Village
Responded 16 Oct 2018
Dear PollyNairobi, Greetings from Sandies Tropical Village! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read your positive comments on our good food, rooms, bar, friendly staffs, beach and the morning beach walk. However we are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced during your check-in time we made an investigation regarding this matter and put a system in place to eliminate this from reoccuring. We also appreciate your comments and suggetion regarding the few things that did not meet your expectations during your stay. We do hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a better experience. Warm Regards, Alexander Zissimatos
Read more
We had an amazing stay, the staff was very service minded and polite.
Only thing to complain about was the loud music by the pool and the constant disturbance for activities when you really just want to sleep in the sun. Other than that we had a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Response from Web M, General Manager at Sandies Tropical Village
Responded 18 Sep 2018
Dear Emilie B, Greetings from Sandies Tropical Village! Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are greatly honored that you had an amazing stay and appreciated our polite staffs. However we apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay especially with the loud music by the pool area. We made an investigation on this matter and put system in place to avoid this from reoccurring. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards, Alexander Zissimatos.
Read more
We had the all inclusive meal plan at the hotel, and the food and beverages were great.
The hotel staff were friendly. We had a choice of swimming pools from the hotel and its sister hotel next door. The rooms were huge and had good facilities.
Read more
Response from Web M, General Manager at Sandies Tropical Village
Responded 12 Sep 2018
Dear Manish1967, Greetings from Sandies Tropical Village! Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read your lovely comments about our great food , beverages, friendly staffs, huge rooms. We are also happy that you were able to enjoy activities in our sister hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon Warm Regards, Alexander Zissimatos.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
piscina al tramonto
i letti
Photo provided by managementSandies Tropical Village
Sandies Tropical Village
Do you provide full board service
what is the surrounding area like is it easy to walk around the local area and visit markets and local tourist attractions?
Hi, Vici T. Yes, It's easy to access the local area and visit tourists attractions. Our front office can guide you on this while in the hotel. Warm Regards
1 vote
Show all answers
Do the rooms have air conditioning or ceiling fans .?
Hi, rooms have both. The aircon is at the entrance with little influence on the overall bedroom temperature, especially in the bigger area where beds and fan are. To help mix the air and have an overall pleasant temperature, you can use both, the fan will help a lot.
1 vote
Show all answers
hi, how much will it cost to upgrade from HB to All inclusive for 3 weeks for 1 adult+1 child 6 years old? just not sure I want to pay for AI before I see its quality. also I read there's a lot of activities for kids. I plan 3 weeks stay with my daughter and wonder if hotel has enough going on to keep her happy there?
Hello I am not in a position to answer about upgrading accommodation because i do not work there. You can however contact them through Tel: +254-720-607075 / +254-735-955666 / +254-42-2120444 The resort has activities to keep them occupied; there is swimming, snorkeling, visits to Marine parks, Swimming with dolphins etc that you can arrange with the hotel staff concerned. Hope that helps.
0 votes
According to some of your reviews,the place sounds outdated .I would really like to visit but the review s are scaring me..to add on that we have infants
I don't think it's entirely comfortable for you and infants below the age of 5. 10 and older would be better as a budget option.
0 votes
"we had to endure a lot of noise from visitors seated at the reception who made noise late into the night, as our room was close by"
"Rooms around the Dream Garden are newer."
"Rooms not close to the reception area are more quiet."
"family rooms are older, new suite for couples more modern"
"Pick a junior suite. For just a small price difference you get a larger room with fantastic terrace or porch."
US$ 116 - US$ 182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sandies tropical village hotel malindiplanhotel tropical beach hotelplanhotel tropical beach malindi
Planhotel Tropical Beach Resort
KenyaCoast ProvinceMalindi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing