We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Booking.comUS$ 195*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I stayed at the hotel from 22nd to 26th February 2016. Very nice very spacious well kept and clean rooms. Food variety very wide. Lots of staff in the restaurants sometimes you feel they were more than the guests bot all dressed in very old, dirty and torn uniforms. Worst dressed employees i have seen in a long time. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe N
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Mr Joe, We thank you for patronizing our resort courtesy of Intra-Health whom we have worked well with since 2012. We appreciate your compliments of the ambiance/rooms being spacious and clean plus with good wide selection of foods. Attention to detail is taken in all areas to ensure guest satisfaction and memorable experience whether on Leisure/ Conference or...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The room we stayed in was beautiful and the hotel grounds and swimming pools are good and sufficient. Which means pools do not get overly congested during busy seasons. However, the service is pathetic!! At meals, you have to wave to waiters to get service and this was consistent for the 4 days of our stay. I love mushrooms but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DennisKeya
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Mr Keya, Thanks for patronizing us during the peak season period, We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in certain elements and rectification measures have been put in place. With your support & recommendations, You are most welcome to visit us once again. #MakeItKenya, #TembeaKenya Thank You.

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

My stay was a worth one. Relaxing, exciting and above all awesome food. The facilities too were very accommodating and an amazing staff you have. Chef Moha, barman Karisa, George the attendant made my stay a worth one. I will really miss the resort; especially the food. It's a definitely visit again resort for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna G
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ms Edna, We thank you for patronizing our establishment and appreciate your compliments. With your support & recommendations, You are most welcome to visit us once again. #MakeItKenya, #TembeaKenya Thank You.

Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 11 January 2016

If you want to spent your time in a nice quite place. Ocean Beach is the place to be. U welcome at home, the staff are nice, welcoming and they make sure you are having the best time. The garden is nice,and green and not to mention the ocean, is just there.. You will have to decide if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dolphin904
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Everything about this hotel was fantastic! We began dealing with the GM Harvey in September 2015 and from the onset he was extremely accommodating. The hospitality factor was there right from the get go and we could not wait to get there! Upon arrival our check-in was easy-breezy and we were shown to our beautiful rooms in no time -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenyalanna
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ms Khanna, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, An Excellent stay Is Unforgettable!. Much Humbled to host you and your C.S.I team,-plus we do appreciate your support and enlightening comments of your stay with us. We do look forward to your continued patronage. With your support we, #MakeItKenya, #TembeaKenya You are most welcome to visit us...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

To be honest I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the coast as we always try to explore Kenya with my hubby by visiting different places. This has been my worst experience to date. Here it goes. We were put in a very fancy deluxe room with my hubby, son aged 5 and daughter aged 1. The service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal K
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ms Crystal, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, Second, accept our apologies for your experience which you term as the worst. First, you were given a free upgrade to a deluxe suite, due to the hotel being fully overbooked and your initial request of 2 single rooms could not suffice. in any case as the booking...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We booked trip from Dec 30-Jan6 to celebrate the new year and my birthday. Booked through Expedia and according to their website the hotel was confirmed. On arrival at the hotel we were informed that there was a glitch with the Expedia booking system and the hotel was overbooked so they would have to accommodate us at their sister hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karimilovestotravel
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ms Karimi, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, Second, accept our apologies for a predicament that you underwent in regards to uncosy room allocation in hotel next door, particularly during this Festive period that the resort was fully -overbooked. / extending a temporary *premier suite* for the night, slow service/ *green pool* which is galana natural...

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Their services were very bad, cause while we were there, the waiter we had been assigned to never came to even order our food or organise the table he had taken us to. The couple that had even arrived quite earlier than we did had been waiting for an hour for their order to arrive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, Second, accept our apologies for a predicament that you underwent in regards to services not being extended to you as anticipated particularly during this Festive period that the resort was fully -overbooked. Third, embracing Customer service policy is the top most aspect that our resort entails to all clients regardless...

Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Five nights with my family. This is the best hotel ever, quoting the words of my son. We found the resort to be a home away from home, serene and tranquil. The food was fresh and delicious. The customer service impressive. The boys really enjoyed the swimming pools and especially the jacuzzi. Amazing to find three large swimming pools. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meshack N
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, We were humbled to host you and your family and still do thank your son for picking amongst many other resorts- Of-course i agree 100 % to his quote * best hotel ever* we are the top best in Malindi and ranked Top 10 in both Luxury & Top Hotels...

Thika
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

My malindi experience was amazing! ..when my travel agent suggested Ocean Beach Resort I practically fell in love with the place and knew I wanted to go there for my holiday. I spent this past weekend with my son and the experience was fantastic. From the beautiful ocean views the spacious rooms, clean and quiet environment! The spa experience but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, An Amazing Experience Is Unforgettable!. Much Humbled to host you and your Son plus we do appreciate your support and enlightening comments of your stay with us. We do look forward to your continued patronage. With your support we, #MakeItKenya, #TembeaKenya You are most welcome to visit us once again....

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
5.0 km away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 27 in Malindi
215 reviews
15.1 km away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
181 reviews
18.7 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
5.3 km away
Sandies Tropical Village
3.9 km away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 27 in Malindi
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FIVE STARS EXPERIENCE. Ocean Beach Resort is a superior deluxe five star hotel that takes hospitality back to its essence with its unique style of tropical early 20th century style with wooden roofs and elegant wooden floors. It is situated in the sand dunes beach two kilometers north Malindi Township. Malindi, the pearl of Kenyan Coast. This is the favorite destination for those whom are looking for something special. The hotel is on the beach, adjacent to the Malindi Golf and Country Club and only two kilometers north of Malindi Town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Golf & Country Club, Beach Road | P.O. Box 5296, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Price Range: ₹ 10,738 - ₹ 19,300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malindi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
kent

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All seem to be pretty good....”
AdamJ187, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not bad for Conferencing. Leisure dont try”
joen277, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ground flour not far from Reception”
dolphin904, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Horrible wifi, superior rooms are nice and very spacious.”
Karimilovestotravel, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Suites are very spacious great for families, Standard Rooms are also big enough for families”
R4iggs, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 195* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 195
Travelocity
Jumia Travel
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates