We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa

Travellers' Choice award winner
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 376*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Reading
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Of course everyone has different expectations and experiences, but if you want somewhere quiet, relaxing, helpful - this place certainly delivered for us! The hotel emailed us a week or so before to arrange our bus transfer to hotel from the station. We were met from our train and arrived at the hotel where we had a welcome drink and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea31
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay Ryokan with us and we always strive to ensure that our guests enjoy every moment of their time with us. Thank you for your kind words about our front office team. As guests enjoy this...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in late October. I really have to praise their service. They have a shuttle to pick up customers within Nikko, you just need to call them. It was raining on the day, their shuttle showed up promptly to pick us up. They even agreed to give our guide a ride to the train station,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela H
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Dear. Guest So happy that you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let us know. As you commented, we have shuttle bus service from hotel to "World Heritage area" & "Tobu station" or "JR nikko station". Shuttle bus service (from PM2:00 to PM7:00) pick you up after your call. "Onsen" the one of the Japanese...

manila
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is my third experience at a ryokan, and my husband and I were excited to have my two kids experience the bliss of staying in one. I was very disappointed. Service and welcome pale in comparison to the two other ryokans we had stayed at. We probably arrived at a bad time, (we were 4 hours early for check-in)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gel c
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. Our goal is to provide a warm and hospitable ambiance for all our guests and I am sorry we were not able to fully meet your needs. That is because of a lack in our speek english understanding. We apologize that my English...

Lyon, France
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Excellent Traditional Japanese Ryukan though modern and classic altogether. Superb food and service either in your own room which I recommend or in the beautiful restaurant overlooking the scenery and a perfect "onsen" with all the amenities. Furthermore beautifully situated and calm in the touristic pearl of Nikko

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taoistfrog
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

So happy that you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let us know. We are very happy and proud that you liked the hotel, our hospitality, Japanese food, room environment. We take great pride in offering our guests memorable experiences complete, and I'm so proud to hear that we did just that. I really hope...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This was our first and only experience of a ryokan so can't compare to others. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful - nothing was any trouble. The setting is beautiful and the private onsen was amazing. The food was exquisite although a traditional Japanese breakfast can be challenging for Western palates. It was easy to get to Lake Chuzenji...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elvis147
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed such a fantastic experience Japanese Ryokan. We truly pride ourselves on our hospitality and personalised service, and so it is brilliant to see that we exceeded your expectations. 'Nikko area' you will arrive in...

Bugis, Singapore
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed two wonderful nights and it was one of the best experiences we had on this trip. The outdoor onsen was great but the one in the room was out of the world. The room was spacious and we were very satisfied with the amenities. I loved the roasted barley tea given outside the onsen and the milk in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdelineWWW
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed room environment, outdoor bath and dining experience Japanese dishes. We are happy that you are very satisfied with Ryokan. I really hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Oakland, California
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights with our daughters, ages 4 and 6. We had a ground floor room with a private bath. It was wonderful. Girls lived in the 'hot tub' and in-room automated massage chair. My wife and I enjoyed the pleasant staff, comfortable beds (nothing like the futons I dreaded in college) and the ease of navigating the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cringe2
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. We are glad to know that you and your family had a comfortable stay in our place. I'm happy that you enjoyed an private open‐air bath, hospitality and dining experience Japanese dishes. As you commented, we have shuttle bus service from hotel to...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

From the first greeting to help with leaving train schedules, this hotel was the epitome of courtesy, friendliness and comfort. The multi-course meals were the best Japanese food we encountered on our two-week tour of Japan, and that includes some Michelin-starred restaurants in Tokyo and Kyoto. Not only that, but the chef made delicious accommodations for one of us with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GardenGourmet781
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us and taking time to give us your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor. We are very happy and proud that you liked the hotel, our hospitality, Japanese food, room environment(private open air-bath). We take great pride in offering our guests memorable experiences complete, and I'm so proud to hear that we did just...

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in this fantastic Ryokan with family, our two 8 and 10 boys for two nights. Room 101, with private outside bath and full dinner and breakfast served in private dining room. The room is more an apartment, 100% old Japan style with futons taken care of when we were out. View from every corner is onto the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bodudus
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to know that you and your family had a comfortable stay in our place. A ryokan is for travelers who wish to experience Japanese culture and enjoy the comforts of Japanese hospitality and service, Japanese Dishes. Ryokans...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We wanted to spend one night outside of Tokyo in the countryside and some friends had stayed in Nikko many years ago and recommended it. After booking I found out that the famous temple in Nikko is currently undergoing significant restorations and I got worried. While some of the temple area was indeed hidden due to the renovation much of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel22864
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. 'Nikko area' you will arrive in 2hours by train from Tokyo. You can discover the good old Japan here. You can discover the good old days and traditional Japanese here. And you can also enjoy nature at the same time. Open-air bath Onsen...

810 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (491)
Viewed
Agusai Room (43)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Azami Room (57)
Viewed
Fuji Room (58)
Viewed
Komakusa Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Shiyakunage Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Yashio Room (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (101)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Chuzenji Onsen
Hotel Shikisai
Hotel Shikisai
#8 of 151 in Nikko
154 reviews
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#3 of 151 in Nikko
299 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
#7 of 151 in Nikko
275 reviews
Chuzenji Onsen
Hoshino Resorts KAI Nikko
Chuzenji Onsen
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
#12 of 151 in Nikko
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17-room quiet & small inn with seasonal hospitality, surrounded by beautiful nature and Japanese garden , which is distinct for each season, in Nikko inland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa

Address: 2204 Nikko, Nikko 321-1415, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Price Range: ₹ 19,782 - ₹ 48,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nikko
#1 Spa Hotel in Nikko
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nikko
#2 Family Hotel in Nikko
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend getting a room with it's own hotspring tub.”
857travisk, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Différentes donc au choix de chacun”
Taoistfrog, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private bath was a pleasure.”
cringe2, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with private bath”
765chunl, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ginryu - Japanese/Western-style Room with Open-air Bath”
andrewY8631QN, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 376* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates