We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sonia Otaru

0.9 km from Otaru centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
1-4-20 Ironai, Otaru 047-0031, Hokkaido
Name/address in local language
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Sonia Otaru
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Sonia2, as the Sonia was apparently under reconstruction. Liked the great downtown location with easy acces to the canal and nearby restaurants, fairly comfy rooms and an excellent self service Japanese breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igor S
Management response:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sonia Otaru. Did you enjoy the sights around Otaru? We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the view from the hotel and the spacious rooms. We are sure our prime location within walking distance of the Otaru Canal and Sakaimachi-street helped you to have a pleasant stay here in Otaru. We will be sure to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Chose this hotel mainly due to the location , canal is directly opposite and the main shopping street / sushi street is just 10 mins walk away . Note there are 2 buildings , hotel sonia & sonia 2 . Took us quite awhile to get our parking right We kept going to the wrong car park and was chased...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gracie_Chen
Management response:

Thank you for staying at Hotel Sonia. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the parking lot and key. I will make an effort to solve it soon. Please come and visit again.

Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Positives: Hotel is in a great location on the Canal front, an easy 15 minute walk from the train station. Views from the rooms that face the canal are pleasant. Staff at the front desk were helpful and spoke some English. Beds were comfortable and the room was bigger than average Japanese hotel rooms. Negatives: The room had fairly poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TAS96
Management response:

Thank you for coming to Hotel Sonia Otaru this time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Hong Kong
Reviewed 20 June 2016

It is nice that we could park our car in the car park of Hotel Sonia. It is located in a central area with walking distance to tourist attractions. My room is clean and comfortable. We only stayed one night there. However, I was most impressed by the Japanese rice in their breakfast. It was the most tasteful rice I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nemo_aussie
Management response:

Thank you for coming to Hotel Sonia Otaru this time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Sitting in about the best position you could hope for in Otaru, this old hotel has been sitting here for a while, and it shows. The only hotel room we had in Japan that was less than sparking clean. The accumulated grime could be a sign of old age but the mounds of dust in the corners are just poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCT
Management response:

Thank you for coming to Hotel Sonia Otaru this time. I truly apologized for the dirt in my room. We improved as soon as possible. We look forward to seeing you again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Room was spacious and clean and the rate was reasonable. I had a splendid view of the Otaru canal. I went during winter and the scenery was inded beautiful. There are many eateries nearby and walking distance to all the major attractions found in Otaru. I am not a fussy traveller and if I had the chance to be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mulyati308
Management response:

Thank you for coming to Hotel Sonia Otaru this time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Not a bad place to spend a couple of nights if you are not very fussy. It's located right next to the canal and is kind of run down and certainly not as good as it looks on the hotel website . It offers parking at an additiona 970 a day. The rooms are fairly spacious. The canal view btw...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bluessp
Management response:

Thank you for staying with Hotel Sonia Otaru. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

This is my first time to Otaru, traveling with a family of eight. The hotel is well located near the Canal, within walking distance and offering decent breakfast. That's about all the good there is, really. The hotel generally gives off an old vibe, which can come across as creepy to some. The rooms are clean and decently spacious. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
Management response:

Thank you for staying with Hotel Sonia Otaru. We apologize that you felt inconvenience. We will strive to improve the service to satisfy our customers. Thank you valuable opinions.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Simple and comfortable hotel and great value for money. Rooms were clean and quite spacious. The windows can be opened. We had a great view of the beautiful Otaru Canal from our window, it's also a short 10-15 minutes walk to most of the attractions that we wanted to go, dining options are great as there are alot of good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilovesandwich
Management response:

Thank you for staying with Hotel Sonia Otaru. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 January 2015

we stayed in the superior twin room for two nights. We can see beautiful Otaru canal from the window of the room. The room is clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Hotel is serving Japanese buffet breakfast and it is great. The hotel is located right in front of the famous Otaru canal. It is about ten minutes walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KHYap
Management response:

Thank you for staying with Hotel Sonia Otaru. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Hotel Nord Otaru
#5 of 21 in Otaru
276 reviews
Grand Park Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Authent Hotel Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
323 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#4 of 21 in Otaru
188 reviews
Smile Hotel Otaru
#12 of 21 in Otaru
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quaint hotel featuring European antiques surrounded by stone warehouses and Otaru Canal. The lobby and guest rooms are also European style, and the fantastic night view of Otaru Canal viewing from the guest room directs the moment of bliss. There is "sushi-treated beach" on 1F, you can enjoy sushi using fresh fish. We serve delicious dishes at breakfast by handmade sushi craftsmen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia Otaru

Address: 1-4-20 Ironai, Otaru 047-0031, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Price Range: ₹ 4,026 - ₹ 18,519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonia Otaru 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hotel Sonia Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonia Hotel Otaru
Hotel Sonia Otaru Hokkaido
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sonia Otaru staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonia Otaru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for canal frontage room at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles TAS96, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get room with the canal view.”
 of 5 bubbles mulyati308, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Choose a view of the otaru canal”
 of 5 bubbles ilovesandwich, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the canal side so you get a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinRiley-Osaka, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Request a canal view room and remember that twin in japan means 2 single beds”
 of 5 bubbles suede16, 14 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5