We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms with really little space Clean and efficient Bath with hairdryer Breakfast was good Reception Personal friendly and attentive Good location right in the middle of downtown OK for 1 or 2 nights Most guests stay here just for one night anyway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaminoTraveller
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is clean, not very costly, with a descent breakfast. The stay was comfortable except the only encounter with the reception service. We were in a hurry to get to room, being already checked in, we just needed the keys for the room. We were made to wait for almost 30 minutes for this. There were lot of people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Souvik S
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Very tiny and basic rooms without anything!! The first room we got was was in a very bad condition and then as I complained they moved me to a new one which was a bit better, but it was a very bad experience to stay here,for what I got the price was even expensive!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
Antigo, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The location was the biggest plus for the hotel. Within walking distance of everything you would want to see of the historical area of Colonia. The room was clean, quiet and quite comfortable with everything you would usually need. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us. Only downside is the hotel is in need of a major renovation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John59491
ROYALCOLONIA, Director Comercial at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write to us and share with other travelers your experience. It is very important the detail of the expressed so that all can know with what to find in the Royal Hotel. We hope to see you again when you visit Colonia del Sacramento!

London
Reviewed 25 January 2017

The initial room we were given was too small, and didn't resemble the photos on bookings.com. However after asking for a different room we were upgraded to a much better one, which changed our stay for the better. Great things about this hotel:- - fantastic staff - very clean. Also friendly cleaning staff - good breakfast - pool area -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NinaLouiseMarshall
ROYALCOLONIA, Director Comercial at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write to us and share with other travelers your experience. It is very important the detail of the expressed so that all can know with what to find in the Royal Hotel. We hope to see you again when you visit Colonia del Sacramento!

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 18 January 2017

On the positive side, there was a/c in our room and the hotel was clean. On the negative side, my sister had booked what was called a suite with beautiful photos that did not match what we got. What we got was a small room stuffed with three beds in it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 887maud
ROYALCOLONIA, Director Comercial at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We always appreciate receiving the constructive feedback from our guests. We deeply regret that your room was not fully according your expectations. The hotel is being gradually renovated. Actually, 11 new rooms will be available by the end of the year. Looking forward to having the opportunity to guest you...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

As a seasoned traveler I can tell you that I have stayed in different hotels world wide both economical to luxury level. I give this hotel a 3 star review for the following reasons: Pros: -Convenient location close to everything walking distance, location big points. - First floor common area adorable, common balcony, living room with couches, tv, bar stools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gsan
ROYALCOLONIA, Director Comercial at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We always appreciate receiving the constructive feedback from our guests. We deeply regret that your room was not fully according your expectations. The hotel is being gradually renovated. Actually, 11 new rooms will be available by the end of the year. Looking forward to having the opportunity to guest you...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

.....by the pictures on the website. Our room looked nothing like those photographed, it was basic in the extreme, little more than a hostel, but it was at least clean and cool which was a relief as v hot outside. Not a picture or decoration just four beds. The pool was small and very busy. Cold bottled water available for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gunilla K
ROYALCOLONIA, Director Comercial at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and share your experience with other travelers.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel was average and maybe a touch below , it has mould around the windows , the first room had to much mould on level 6 we were moved to a smaller room on level 4 Mould was better but not perfect , carpet torn , shower head was bad. Has ac good ac , Breakfast was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
ROYALCOLONIA, Director Comercial at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We always appreciate receiving the constructive feedback from our guests. We deeply regret that your room was not fully according your expectations. The hotel is being gradually renovated. Actually, 11 new rooms will be available by the end of the year. Looking forward to having the opportunity to guest you...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Decent enough hotel and a good value for Colonia. Room was big enough as was the bathroom. Just a little out of date for my taste. Pretty good breakfast buffet in the morning. Free wifi worked well also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
ROYALCOLONIA, Director Comercial at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writting us. It is really important for us to know the opinion of our guests in order to improve our service. We look forward to having you again in our Hotel.

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.8 km away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,007 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,943 reviews
0.3 km away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
612 reviews
0.2 km away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
849 reviews
0.3 km away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel located in one of the main avenues of the city, in Gral . Flores 340, just 200 meters where the historic center, declared in 1995 a World Heritage Site begins. At 200 meters from the beach, 8 blocks from the Storm and ground terminal. An establishment with over 30 years experience in tourism service , which always seeks to innovate and accompany the constant changes that require us in these times. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: General Flores 340, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: ₹ 3,781 - ₹ 7,627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors appear to be quieter with better views.”
 of 5 bubbles John59491, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a new room, and be insistent. At the weekend, get to breakfast before 9”
 of 5 bubbles NinaLouiseMarshall, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 444gunillak, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Walk around the town it's lovely and no need for a golf cart”
 of 5 bubbles Craigc842, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from Hotel Royal.”
 of 5 bubbles Charrito_Nati, 19 Jun 2011 | Read review
5 of 5