We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Sands Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
White Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 September 2016

My only hesitation in giving White Sands a rave review... is that I want to keep it as my own little secret getaway!!! My husband and I have stayed at all the hotels in Napeague, we try out a different one each time we escape NYC for a weekend... and this was far and away the best. The woman at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLorelei
Amagansett, New York
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Despite having the best beach views in The Hamptons I will not be staying here again. Management and resort ownership have no concern for their guests safety or peace of mind:1) disconnecting all smoke detectors in a cedar shingled structure violates all Town Fire codes: 2) Hosting loud late night parties including setting off fireworks right outside guests doors. 3)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nunziodX1346LZ
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear NunziodX1346LZ, We just want to make clear all you concerns. First of all, we clarify that management and ownership are deeply involved into guests safety and well being. 1)Something that you must learn is that there are two causes why smoke detectors go off: Smoke and Humidity!. Sometimes the alarms can go off because somebody is cooking or the...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

You can not get closer to the beach. The room was small but comfortable with a memory foam mattress. It also had a cook top and small fridge. If you need Internet and reliable cell service stay else ware because both are virtually nonexistent here (in my case a huge plus) I satyed 3 weeks in early spring and LOVED...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joe m
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Joe M, you are welcome at any time whenever the hotel has openings available so you can enjoy and appreciate all what White Sands can offer and we always are "listening" to any suggestion to make more enjoyable your stay. Thank you

Huntington, New York
Reviewed 12 July 2016

This unpretentious ocean front hotel will surprise you. Immaculately clean and quiet. The front desk can be rude, but once you get past that you are in for a little surprise. Isolated and beautiful beach. No A/C but the ocean air make up for it. BBQs available. Very well maintained-- combed. No pool, but there is the Atlantic at your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cooper1998
Islip, New York
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Fabulous, private, not for the showy - A Pearl in the oyster of Napeague. This is not noisy, pretentious, competitive Hamptons social scene, but a quiet place for an oceanfront private experience. So much better than the other Hamptons, with a location on the sea, and very near.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JacquelineBeh
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, we invite you to enjoy more of what White Sands is all about! A simple, clean small hotel on the ocean!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 December 2015

My wife and my 2 year old son were at White Sands in August 2015. We had to work for a couple of hours every day so we we really wanted a place with wi-fi. The wi-fi did not work in the room or in the common areas, only in the management office with no place to sit comfortably. When...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ignacio642
Omar V, General Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

We could understand your frustration and we are really sorry for not having a reliable wireless internet. Since the wireless internet for guests is a free complementary service, we do not guarantee a successful connection however, after a deep study of the situation, we have concluded that we were having some glitches specially in the summer when the heat reaches...

Plainview, New York
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We had booked a 4 night stay at the White Sands in July. They required a 50% non-refundable deposit. We had been there before and we were not concerned with the deposit. Unfortunately, the day before our stay was to begin, my father-in-law passed away. I called the hotel to cancel and spoke to 2 people at the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JeffBaddish
Gruenwald, Germany
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed here after a horrible night at the surf lodge.. I highly recommend this clean and calm place to people that love to wake up with a magnificent view to the ocean. We went to the grocery store to buy some food and enjoyed our selfmade sandwiches on the terrace. Only 10 minutes to Monthauk (by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ninaneumayer
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Ninaneumayer, You are welcome to the beauty of White Sands has to offer at any time.

Block Island, Rhode Island
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We absolutely Love staying at the White Sands Resort every year! My husband, three children ( 2, 8, & 12) and myself for the past five years always look forward to seeing Diana and What a great surprise to meet Barbara their new staff member she is truly the best! Barbara was so informative on the need to know what...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lara B
New York
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

I had stayed here in the past with my parents and enjoyed it so I was excited to bring my husband and 9 month old daughter here for a few days at the beach. I called and left a message and Barbara called me back the following day and told me their was availability for an oceanfront large efficiency on...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank sflaherty
Omar V, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review

We understand your frustration and we are sorry about the inconvenience of the accidental overbooking caused however, we addressed it as soon as it was spotted within 24 hours after making the reservation. We must explain that as a small hotel with few units, we book rooms rapidly through the season and the chances to have availability in one them...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
5.7 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.2 km away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
148 reviews
2.3 km away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#16 of 41 in Montauk
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#5 of 6 in Amagansett
77 reviews
2.0 km away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
48 reviews
10.0 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 41 in Montauk
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully simple small hotel on the ocean ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: 28 Shore Rd, Amagansett, NY 11930-2169
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Price Range: ₹ 13,953 - ₹ 14,021 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Amagansett
White Sands Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Sands Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to stay on the ocean side to get the full effect of the wave sounds at night.”
 of 5 bubbles Cooper1998, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for close ocean view efficiency.”
  • View to the East
  • View from courtyard
 of 5 bubbles JacquelineBeh, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Large efficiency deck”
 of 5 bubbles larab198, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ocean fron Efficiency is best”
 of 5 bubbles Coolhand-sundance, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Any one in the main building,and for perfect sun rises the East side/for sunsets the West side.”
 of 5 bubbles 730tomw, 23 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay