We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gemma Patong

78/16-19 Soi Na Nai 8 Phungmeaung Sai Kor Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#48 of 233 small hotels in Patong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Gemma Patong is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Patong, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer a refrigerator, air conditioning, and a desk, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Gemma Patong features 24 hour front desk, 24 hour check-in, and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Gemma Patong guest, you can enjoy a fitness center and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Bangla Boxing Stadium (0.9 mi) and Patong Mosque (1.5 mi), guests of Gemma Patong can easily experience some of Patong's most well known attractions.

Patong has plenty of Chinese restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Saffron Spice Restaurant & Bar, Soul Curry Restaurant and Bar, and Madras Cafe 2 & Guest House, which are serving up some great dishes.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Patong Beach (0.8 mi), Bangla Road (0.6 mi), and Patong Boxing Stadium (1.1 mi), which are all within walking distance of the small hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Patong!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Valet parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Thai and 1 more
45Reviews3Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 9
  • 6
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Epolach wrote a review May 2023
Williamsburg, Virginia52 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel prices in peak season can get quite pricey sometimes. Booked here for 2 days here for only $19 USD per night. Located in the south of Patong. About a 15 to 20 minute walk to the Beach, Jungceylon Mall, and Bangla Road. However, it was very close to OTOP and a few other day/night markets. Good sized room had a table and a chair and a small balcony. Cons AC worked poorly and made lots of noise. But for the super low price I can overlook things like that!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
M Y R A H M A Y Y E H wrote a review Feb 2020
Singapore, Singapore7 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights a little bit far from the beach but all the the things needed is near. Communication with the receptionist quite good, but other tourist very noisy during 2am. Hope their is soundproof
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Toby & Georgia wrote a review Dec 2019
Guernsey, United Kingdom30 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed here for 10 nights and were really impressed. The hotel room was really big and very clean. Big bed that was super comfortable. Great room for the price. Staff were friendly and the hotel also has a gym but we didn’t use that. The restaurant here has really nice food and a big menu. Tasty but slightly expensive. Although there are LOADS of great restaurants nearby. Was convenient to have a 7 Eleven next door too! Location wise it was good taking about 15 minutes to walk to the beach and centre of Patong. If we were to return to Patong we would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael Y wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi I recently stayed here for 3 weeks in Gemma hotel room was brilliant, the staff we’re extremely friendly and helpful I had a great time and will use this hotel again, thanks 4 a great time 😉 see yo soon again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark303 wrote a review Apr 2019
Phuket, Thailand4 contributions
You never quite know what you can expect when booking a budget hotel like this... The reception staff are generally friendly without being overly obsequious or cheerful. The room was really nice though... Pretty minimalist, a sofa would be nice. The aircon worked well and there was a mini fridge and a 7/11 mini-store to top it up. The hotel really is well placed, with a short walk into town and black (10 minutes) Otop market is maybe 5 mind away, so very convenient. The rooms get refreshed every day and two bottles of water supplied. Restaurant is not open in the evening, the menu is limited, but everything is cooked on demand and the prices very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gee wrote a review Jan 2019
22 contributions2 helpful votes
Arrived at the hotel from an over night bus at 4am (was told and states on there description that it’s 24 hour check in). When we arrived the doors were shut and a number on the door to ring, after over an hour of calling the number a man eventually answered then drove down to the hotel and told us we had to pay an extra 700 baht if we wanted our room early (£15) plus the £25 for the night stay. 700 baht for 5 hours before we could officially check in is just a cheek!! Anyway we paid it as it’s 5am and we wanted a couple hours sleep before wanting to do a tour as only on the island for 1 night. We asked if we could get a tour from there he replied yes come back to reception at 8am so we went to the room and set alarm for 8am when I went down there at 8am the man told me “later later” and walked away from me which meant we basically didn’t get chance to do any tour because he couldn’t be bothered to sell us one and tours start at 9am and no other tour company’s around. Just a few heads up before you book this place: - the man with the nose piercing is rude as anything! - the room was disgusting and smelt like poo. - the a/c was flooding the room and not working and reception just laughed. (It’s 35 degrees ffs) - there’s no lift so if your on floor 4 like we were good luck. - a deluxe room is tiny and dirty. - photos are not what it’ looks like... do not be fooled! - Hotel desk is NOT 24 hours, this will be a problem with your stay if your arriving the hours between 9am-10pm. - not that close to Patong beach - 300 baht taxi away but that’s pretty cheap! (£7)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sap wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution
im already booked single room on march 2019 via traveloka and im already pay it . but im check again in traveloka and another booking situs , now it seems like gemma patong didn't have single room choice on the booking situs . so how about my booking? keep registered on the hostel sistem right?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Thrishul S wrote a review Mar 2018
Dumaguete City, Philippines11 contributions2 helpful votes
1.I politely asked if you guys serving food - she replied yes. 2. I asked for the menu - i got a face and then she gave. 3. Then i ordered fried rice asking if u serving both chicken and prawns?- i got a rude face and a reply saying chicken or prawns??? Before even eating annoyed with the service.. very bad hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GemmaPatong, Owner at Gemma Patong
Responded 22 Mar 2018
Dear Thrishul, Thank you for your kind feedback for us. We are so sorry to hear about the disappointing incident, and want to apologize for her unpleasant behavior and such inconvenience caused by our staff. Due to language barrier she did not understand your English accent as while pointing out picture of prawn on the menu you asked for chicken. She wanted to really make sure as the 2 dishes are of much different prices, and was unnessarily over excited. Again, we thank you for the feedback, and have warned our staff to be really nice and to give a better service to our customers. Best wishes from all of us at Gemma Patong.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
OJ_Cinco wrote a review Mar 2018
Houston, Texas8 contributions
Drinks are cheap but the service is poor. We sat for 30 minutes without being greeted by anyone to only be told to sit back down and wait. There is only one lady working the cafe and it seems to take her at least 10 mins to make drink. When we finally did order we were told that the item we wanted was not available until the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GemmaPatong, Owner at Gemma Patong
Responded 12 Mar 2018
Dear OJ Cinco, Thank you very much for patronizing our cafe. Our cafe is very small with only 10 small tables. Prices of foods and drinks are cheap. Our kitchen is very tiny. Each dish is freshly cooked individually when it is ordered, and it is served on first come - first served basis. We do grocery shopping for fresh items from the market daily, sometimes twice a day. Some day some items or ingredients may not be available from the market. We want to be sure to serve delicious and fresh Thai and western foods but the cafe is not suitable for anyone who is in a hurry. If many people come at the same time, especially during breakfast time, delivery of cooked dishes and made drinks will be rather slow. We've been looking for more staff as you may notice it being posted on the glass wall of our guesthouse. We apologize for our slow service, and thank you for your feedback. Best wishes from all staff and family members of Gemma Patong.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
xsaara wrote a review Feb 2018
Amsterdam, The Netherlands33 contributions11 helpful votes
I just arrived yesterday but my first impression of this hotel has been great. The price is why I chose this hotel, but upon arriving I noticed that the location is great too! There are lots of nice restaurants nearby and Patong beach is close as well. About the hotel itself, this is a budget hotel so it’s obviously not too fancy but the rooms are very clean and nice and the air conditioning works well. The service has been friendly too. Would absolutely recommend if on a budget!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GemmaPatong, Owner at Gemma Patong
Responded 22 Feb 2018
Dear Xsaara, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your time in writing great reviews for Gemma Patong. We are very happy to know that you like our staff service, budget price, reasonably clean room and the location. Many nice restaurants nearby including our little cafe downstairs serving good and delicious Thai and western dishes at very cheap prices. Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated by all of us here. Enjoy your holiday in Patong, Phuket. Best wishes from all staff and family members of Gemma Patong.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Patong area.
LOCATION
ThailandPhuketKathuPatong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GEMMA PATONG - Hotel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gemma Patong
Which popular attractions are close to Gemma Patong?
Nearby attractions include David Jone Fashion (0.4 km), Cashmere Suit Tailor Phuket (0.4 km), and Tom's International Collection (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gemma Patong?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Gemma Patong?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Gemma Patong?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gemma Patong?
Yes, free parking, street parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gemma Patong?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Brooklyn Patong, Bubbles Restaurant, and Chou Chou Deli Shop.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gemma Patong?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, and Turkish.