The Standard, Hua Hin

The Standard, Hua Hin

Traveller (1116)
Room & Suite (106)
The Standard, Hua Hin
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#9 of 160 hotels in Hua Hin
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hua Hin has been a beloved beach getaway for over a hundred years, dating back to the construction of the railroad connecting the bustling metropolis of Bangkok with this dreamy seaside town. By the mid-1920s, it became the chosen holiday retreat for Thai nobility drawn to the undiscovered pristine coastline. Over time, this sleepy fishing village transformed into a popular coastal destination while maintaining its old-world charm and natural beauty. This beach town has been even further awakened with the arrival of our gorgeous hotel, The Standard, Hua Hin. And not to brag but, we made it on Conde Nast Traveler's 2022 Hot List as the only hotel in Thailand. The Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards 2022 are in and not only did you vote us the #1 resort in South East Asia, you also crowned us the #7 resort in Asia, and the #35 resort in the world. Our seaside retreat is nestled in a lush garden dreamscape with native flora and greenery, just steps from the Gulf of Thailand. Our colorful collection of 199 rooms, suites and villas is complemented by an innovative spa program seamlessly paired with a lively and vibrant pool scene, and a variety of drinking and dining options to suit every taste. There’s the Lido restaurant and bar for all-day indoor or al fresco dining, elixirs and fresh pressed juices at The Juice Café, and the impeccably restored Heritage House, Praça, for authentic Thai food and craft cocktails in an unparalleled setting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Horseback riding
Children's television networks
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Board games / puzzles
Kids club
Highchairs available
Pushchairs
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Thai
Hotel links
Special Price:Book Ahead For 25% Off Stays

Location

59 Naresdamri Road, Hua Hin 77110 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Bangkok Intl Airport
150.7 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles445 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Standard, Hua Hin garners praise for its attentive service and prime location near the beach and local attractions. Guests appreciate the hotel's cleanliness, modern amenities, and inviting atmosphere. While the rooms are celebrated for their style and maintenance, a few guests find them to be on the smaller side. The lush gardens and beach access are highlights, though the pool can get crowded. Travelers find great value here, despite occasional remarks on pricey drinks and service hiccups.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Modern
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
445Reviews7Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 358
  • 53
  • 20
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
James8896 wrote a review Nov 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a couple, we spent nine nights at the Standard in a superior suite, room 601 on the sixth floor. I have to say we had the most special time at this hotel it was absolutely perfect in every way.

The room was well appointed, large and spacious, guest toilet and deep soak bath with rain shower. The suite had a large L-shaped sofa which was extremely comfortable, great TV with chrome cast, minibar which was well chilled. The air conditioning was excellent especially in the day heat. The bed was extremely comfortable, good quality linens and pillows. The room was serviced to a high standard and was offered a turndown service in the evening where towels were replenished.

The pool Area was special, very pleasant on the eye and everything was well thought of.

Breakfast was exceptional and a big shout out to all of the staff and chef, beautifully presented, good quality produce and a wide array to choose from. Well done to everyone you work extremely hard and your efforts pay off. Great kitchen staff - food was always topped up and nothing was too much trouble.

All in all, we feel this is the best hotel in Hua Hin, If you are looking for a cool, hip yet luxurious hotel with great service smack in the middle of the town, then this is for you. You will not be disappointed! We are very sad to leave this place but exceeded all of our expectations
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nattakorn Boonpeng, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Hi James! We miss you already! Couldn't imagine how 9 nights gone so fast! Your comment has made our day, we can't stop smiling now. We are so happy you had a great experience with us, we love hearing about how our team delivered an amazing service to our guest. Thanks for stoping by our little paradise in Hua Hin and you are always welcome back. Much love, - The Standard Family -
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StaffieLancs wrote a review Jan 2023
Lancs
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is beautiful with lovely well maintained grounds positioned on the sea front. It is certainly of a standard that is hard to beat. The staff have obviously been very well picked to provide a good friendly service throughout the hotel. Breakfast was varied and to a high standard with both western and Thai food and the restaurant was positioned by the pool on the sea front. There are several bars in the grounds and a fully furnished gym with dressing rooms, lockers and shower facilities. There are bungalows on the premises plus larger blocks with very well presented modern rooms with excellent showers and good quality wash products. There is also a nice balcony complete with 2 chairs and table. The beds are comfortable with good linen and the lovely thick towels were changed twice daily. Air conditioning was good also and for once there was no problem with the door keys which you find in some hotels. The lifts were quick which was good as we were on the 6th floor. The pool area has many comfortable sun loungers of different types and seats which are also on the grass plus positioned around the pool. The pool itself however was not as large as it first appeared to be. You need to enter the pool very carefully as there are no hand rails and the steps are slippy. Half of the pool is taken up by the steps so there is only half to actually swim in. There are 3 steps then a gap of 3 feet so you think you have reached the bottom but then more steps which are hard to see as the tiles are all blue. This is a fantastic Hotel however and we will certainly be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This Hotel is busy at weekends with weddings etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 4 Feb 2023
Hi StaffieLancs, What a detailed review! We enjoy reading your word, other travelers too we believe. We appreciate you stay with us and take some time out of your day sharing you love and your experience with us. We will be sure to share this to the entire team. We hope to see you again soon :) - The Standard Family -
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Professor Eli c wrote a review May 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed during a rainy weekend.

The breakfast is poor, no option for western food, need to wait 30 minutes to seat down while a lot of flies and bugs flying around you.

During afternoon and dinner time, variety of food at the restaurant near the beach and the pool bar need to be improved, small portion with high rate.
The pizza four cheese was with zero cheese.

The happy hour ar the pool is pay 2 get 1 free, with poor quality of cocktails during 1600-1900.
If you do happy hour, do it 1+1 and give quality cocktail, don't be cheep and put alcohol inside, it's not a juice.

The happy hour ar the restaurant near the beach is 1+1 during 21:30-2300 but only for poor cocktails.

Someone need to teach the staff how to make cocktails.
Also, why not to include the wine under happy hour?!

Anyway, i didn't put 1 star and i give 5 starts although the only because you can see that the staff are really trying to make you feel happy and because of the fact that the standard hotel is new hotel, everyone likes new hotel.

Need to improved urgently : breakfast, breakfast area, food and beverages.
You can see that the hotel is missing staff and the service is very slow. It's about the time to hire them back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 7 May 2022
Hello Elic151, Thank you very much for your spending the time to share us about your experience at The Standard, Hua Hin. We are sorry to learn that you experienced. We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team. -The Standard Family-
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paris P wrote a review Dec 2022
Bangkok, Thailand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was very disappointed by the experiences at The Standard Hotel. Even though the hotel design and vibe is very good, the room quality and service was a downfall.

At check-in, hotel staff just gave me a room key and point to where I should go. There was no escort service. I had to find the room on my own.

The cleanliness of room was terrible. I found a lot (Literally, a LOT which made me feel itchy) of small bugs behind the bed headboard as well as on the wall. I called to the Front, front officer just replied me that she would sent a housekeeper to check without apologize. I have to insist them twice that I need a room change, before they let me change the room. It was not fun at all because I traveled with toddler and there were lot of stuffs that I had already unpacked.

After I waited for the housekeeper, duty manager came for apologize with complementary drinks coupon. Actually it did not help but ,at least, it made me feel that someone sincerely wanted to apologize. However, I had to request for a bell boy service to help me move all of my languages to new room because the staff just informed me a new room number.

However, at our new room, I found a small cockroach and Lots of small bugs (Again). I felt the cleaning and maintenance system in this hotel has a problem.

At the Restaurant (Lido), there is no high chair provided for toddler/baby which I was surprised. They only provide a booster seat which quite dangerous for toddler and the waitress just informed me that I should hold my baby during meal which was not convenient at all. I had to hold my toddler and eat with my one hand all the time. The meal experience was unpleasant and chaotic.

By the way, the public area (such as pool bar/ beach area) was well-design and photogenic. Comparing to the hotel size, these area are small. These area were crowed most of the time especially at the pool.

To sum up, I felt that staffs here do not have service mind. I don't know it is a hotel policy that let staffs just do their job following the work procedure. For the room quality, it was terrible. Moreover, how the hotel's staffs manage the situation was a disaster. They had no empathy at all. Only the good side of this hotel are their design and vibe, the rest do not meet the standard.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 2 Jan 2023
Hello 810parisp, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us. While open for a year now, we are still new. Therefore, we welcome all comments with open arms as it allows us to improve and strive toward giving a better experience to all our guests. We are sincerely sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in terms of team member enthusiasm and lack of emphasis. We will re-train the staff more diligently. Regarding the undesirable bugs in the room, please believe that we do weekly pest control around the entire property. Being a lushful property with a plethora of flora, it is possible to find a small uninvited guest in the room. We sincerely, apologize for this. Nevertheless, your feedback is well received and shared with each respective department for improvement. Should you give us the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future, please let us know as we are connected. Rest assured we’ll be sure to wow you. Thank you again. Nick Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thus N wrote a review Dec 2021
Maha Sarakham City, Thailand
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the worst “friends trip” ever. While we kept in mind that the hotel is new and has just launched, it was even below our expectations. This hotel is the definition of style without substance.

We booked a Standard Pool Villa because we want some privacy. It turned out that our villa has a direct view of a balcony of another room. That means we had no privacy whatsoever. The bathroom has one toilet roll with no spare. That’s even worse than a motel! When we were going to bed around 12 am, we couldn’t turn off the bathroom light. We tried every switch (which have no labels!) and ended up having the electricians to come check them out. They said that it’s the system fail and they would need a ladder to look up on the ceiling. It was past midnight and we were all tired. As someone who has anxiety and depression, the feeling that I couldn’t turn off the lights really triggered my emotional issue. It was just not a good night of sleep I was looking for.

Breakfast was chaotic. With that capacity and limited service team, they should have open breakfast in 3 rounds for better and quicker turn-over tables.

When we checked out, it took us an hour because they miscalculated the bills and the they were miscommunication. Once everything is cleared, we received only an apology and that was it. The room issue (both privacy and lighting) has been made aware to the staff and not a single person asked us about it during check out.

If your booking is refundable, runaway or just book near by hotels. This place is just an expensive set studio to lure in money for taking pics. (And they pId tons of money for influencers and celebs’ reviews)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Just book regular rooms. Villas are really bad. Go to breakfast very early to avoid the crowd.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Hi Khun Thus We appreciate you taking the time out to visit our new property and wanted to apologize that our hotel did not meet your standards in terms of service and offerings. As a brand we’re known to be very cheeky and voyeuristic so naturally, there are a few spaces throughout the property and rooms where you may have some distant interaction with a neighbor. We understand that privacy is a concern for our guests so we will be looking into alternative measures to accommodate. Thank you very for highlighting the issues you have encountered and please feel free to visit again as we plan to improve our hotel in every aspect. Wishing you a great weekend ahead and we hope to see you soon. Yours truly, The Standard Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenvit C wrote a review Apr 2022
Nonthaburi, Thailand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a brand new hotel in Thailand. The price is higher than their competitors such as Intercon and Hyatt.

The good thing is the hotel are new and very photogenic. The vibe is good for young adults and bloggers. During my stay, the hotel was quite a full house.

Unfortunately, there are a lot more to improve, especially the service. My room cost almost 400 usd before goverment support program, which was very expensive compared its competitors. What I got is that, the check-in staffs did not bring us to the guestroom and suggest about hotel feature and area. At night, i asked for a bucket if ice, which was a complimentary, it took more 30 mins until they sent to us. I called to follow up and staffs voice was quite upset. I don’t think they should have use this kind of voice with customers. The pool is quite small compared to the numbers of guests in the hotel.

All in all, if you don’t mind to try new thing, you would better choose some of others hotel that is more reliable in service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pool villa is not private. Stay away from that
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Hi K. jenvitc Thank you very much for your spending the time to share us about your experience at The Standard, Hua Hin. We always aim to deliver a great experience and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team. -The Standard Family-
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davedevil725 wrote a review Jul 2023
Bangkok, Thailand
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Had been looking forward to the stay as The Standard brand always gives you a feel of an chick and chill vibe. We arrived on a Sunday and while the check-in was swift and friendly, nothing much too out of the ordinary about it. Instead we found the hotel was very busy and full of traffic. With greenery and tranquil walk ways here and there in the hotel, during peak days it’s seems more like a park with people taking pictures everywhere rather than a place you can hide away and relax.

It seems the hotel attracted a lot more Millennials families with babies. Nothing wrong in that aspect but just if you are couples or singles looking for an romantic or hide away vacation then be really mindful before booking this hotel.

The most expensive room in the house, the beach front villa faces directly onto the swimming pool before your view can expand onto the beach. And in the pools there are babies floating and kids running in front of your villa every five minutes before your eye can get a glimpse of the beach and the beautiful sunset.

With room service menu is EXTREMELY LIMITED, the most limited I had ever seen other than hotels in Indonesia. Around 5 items for main course and 2 items on dessert menu. NO ice cream at all is offered in the hotel. Not sure if this is the intention and NOT so standard act but some might find this troublesome.

Overall a perfectly located hotels but just not our vibe as couples
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 5 Jul 2023
Hi davedavil725, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am always happy to hear guests experience as well as their feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed feel welcomed at the reception and from the décor to location. At The Standard, we take pride in being a place for everyone who call us home regardless of what their journey is. I was sorry to hear you felt limited on in-room dining menus. What a shame you were unable to enjoy ice-cream as you wished. We do apologize for a breakdown in communication which result you this disappointment. We do have them available at Lido from noon to late evening. Yet for in-room since we believe that it’s best not to beat with warm temperature while delivering to your room. Let me know when you next come to visit at Nattakorn.boonpeng@standardhotels.com We would love to tailor your stay at our best. Warmest regards, Nick - Nattakorn Boonpeng Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dick Z wrote a review Dec 2022
Bangkok, Thailand
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is built on a large narrow piece of land that stretches all the way to the sea. There are two main buildings and a number of villa’s. There is ample parking space. Reception is very friendly with good English skills and we finally get to see some smiles again. You need to get to the room by yourself, not a problem but a bit unusual in Thailand. The room is not big, has a king-size bed and a sofa. There is no writing desk. Also very little storage space, no proper closet. The room has a ventilator in the ceiling which makes some noise and cannot be turned off. I found it quite annoying, especially since there is also air conditioning.
The pool is large, 1.20m deep. There is not very much shade. Around the pool loudspeakers are placed which produced only bass tones. Very annoying and making it impossible to relax or read. I also don’t see the pony of such “entertainment”. Almost everyone has his own earbuds or headphones. So unfortunately an area to avoid. There goes one ball.
Breakfast is very extensive. A choice of almost everything and friendly service. Here too the inevitable music, too loud and varying from esoteric to rap. Not something to unwind by in the morning. The food is good, the coffee is only remotely reminiscent of what we are used to drink. So caught up on that in the room where there are pads. The first morning we were asked whether we wanted eggs or coffee, the next day no-one bothered to inquire. So in spite of good food there goes another ball.
Pets are allowed, making it possible to step into the result of this on the foot path as happened to me. And not all dogs behave and are quiet.
Looking at the class of the hotel and the price I would say that it is moderate value for money. Luxury and disco don’t combine very well for me. Or maybe the elderly customer like myself is not wanted.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Hey DickZe! Thank you for sharing your experience and such a briefed property orientation! What a good details :) We're so glad to hear our staff's impression was a good one. We love what we do here, and always want to make sure the vibe is right at The Standard. Anyhow, we were glad to host you, and look forward to seeing you again as always. - The Standard Family -
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Billie wrote a review Aug 2022
Te Atatu, New Zealand
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Standard in August 2022 for 9 nights. There were many positives but also negatives, but I know they can easily work on these. Firstly what a 5 star beautiful complex, from the open reception area with welcome juice and attentive staff, to the architecturally stunning buildings throughout the complex they are even better in person than the photos! The beautifully maintained gardens and pathways with attentive landscapers and gardening staff.
Then the pool and restaurant areas exceeded my expectations because the pool is actually bigger than what I thought it would be from the photos.
The rooms were immaculate and fresh and clean.

The negatives, we would have liked more attentive staff at the pool area. We always had to call them over over the whole 9 days we were there, it was never initiated by them. Also QR codes could help so orders could be made from the loungers and delivered maybe that would help?
Drinks took a long time even when it was empty if it was busy then orders were either wrong or took way too long. Also the 2 plus 1 is confusing. We only realised this on day 7! We thought it was 2 for 1?! So we were ordering 2 thinking we were paying for 1?! Not clearly explained.

The other annoying thing was you couldn't order from another restaurant if you were at pool or vice versa?! Really annoying because we felt like something else but could only order if we were actually sitting in their restaurant! Huge mistake so we always ended up going elsewhere. The inconvenience and "sticking to the rules" was really annoying and definitely didn't show us a holiday type of hospitality.

Also a real lack of quality wines, but found a beautiful Rose at the Praça but couldn't buy it at the Pool Bar?!

Also we found out there was a fun bingo night after the fact and would have loved to have attended?! Real shame as it was our last night and heard it was fun!

While the staff were really lovely I think there just needs to be a bit more training so guests can get that high end service they expect from a place of this calibre.

However I liked that you could view your bill on the TV screen, this should be told at reception as many hotels do not have this service and could be overlooked.

Overall I give it 4 stars as it might be the picture perfect hotel, the service and attention to customer needs is paramount and will improve as training and mentoring of staff in these areas improves.

Kaapunka
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Midweek is very quiet so great, but then again the busy vibe on the weekend is cool too. The...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Standard Hua Hin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Hello Cruiser01410063578, Thank you very much for spending the time to share your experience at The Standard, Hua Hin. We are very glad that you had a pleasure stay and please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and we will use the feedback to make us better. From all of us at The Standard, Hua Hin family, we look forward to seeing you again soon! -The Standard Family-
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack wrote a review Nov 2022
Bangkok, Thailand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
New and beautifully designed hotel with an art deco feel you would expect from the Standard Hotel brand. Landscaped beautifully with large trees and lush tropical shrubs in a peaceful quiet setting. Centrally located right on the beach and walking distance to all the restaurants, bars, massage, etc in Hua Hin.

Stayed in a standard rooms which was perfect. Modern with a comfy bed, large bathroom, balcony and all the amenities.

Breakfast buffet was good with a mix of western and Thai food. There are 2 other restaurants...Italian and Thai/Japanese style izakaya with some nice options. Nice bar right on the beach for a drink.

Gym was a little small but good enough for a workout. Did not try the spa but it looked nice.

The swimming pool area has plenty of comfy chairs and a nice bar. Can't remember if there was music but if not they should add some.

I have stayed at the Marriott in Hua Hin and would say it is a better choice if you have kids because the pool is more kid friendly and they have a kids club. If you are a solo traveler or couple then I would recommend The Standard as it is very relaxing.

Suggestions to make The Standard Hua Hin even better

1) Trim or eliminate some of the trees between the pool and the beach. Some of these trees shed needles which wind up in the pool. This would improve the view of the ocean and allow more sunlight which I assume most guests want at the pool.

2) Add steps at the swimming pool to make it much easier to get in and out. I saw some people confused on how to get in and out and I don't think it is very safe.

3) Provide more training to pool staff. I was not approached and asked if I wanted a drink or something to eat. I had to always get up and go ask them. There were always 2 or 3 people working at the pool and they were just standing around talking to each other most of the time.

4) Have at least one employee dedicated to keeping the beach area clean. Sadly when I walked the long strip of beach in Hua Hin I saw lots of trash and nobody picking it up. Keeping the beach clean is as important as keeping a hotel room clean. If the beaches are not nice then tourists will go elsewhere. The city of Hua Hin or the hotels and businesses on the beach should realize this and hire people to keep it clean at all times.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nattakorn Boonpeng, Guest Services / Front Office at The Standard, Hua Hin
Responded 28 Nov 2022
Hey, we are so happy you enjoy your time with us. What a detailed review, thank you so much :) We love hearing from our guests about the amazing work that the Standard Family does. Nothing brings us more joy than sharing our little piece of paradise with you. We do have a music around the pool, also there is a invited DJ playing on Saturday, Sunday. We are so thankful for the suggestion you have given to us, it has been brought to our team attention. You are always welcome back :) - The Standard Family -
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GrandTour35594004533 asked a question May 2024
Scottsdale, Arizona32 contributions
Does the hotel offer laundry service? Thank you!
Answer from Patty Kanyaporn
390 contributions10 helpful votes
For Longstay 30+ nights, the hotel offers 30% off laundry services.
Answer from Roving40025612101
1 contribution
Idk the brand but it was strong. I used it to dry my dog’s fur after her shower and it was fast and quiet.
maureen j asked a question Jan 2024
Preston, United Kingdom
How often do they have pool party (tech) party
Chrisbruun asked a question Jan 2024
Koege, Denmark112 contributions45 helpful votes
Hi is there lactose and glutenfree products at the breakfast
Answer from Jeremiah L
Perth, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
I am sorry. I don't know the answer.
hunterScott asked a question Feb 2023
Newcastle, Australia183 contributions27 helpful votes
Does this resort have a sauna or steam room?
Answer from Cheyenne L
Singapore23 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes I believe there is a sauna opposite the gym
Abood H wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing "
Read full review
Prue A wrote a tip May 2024
Ambrogio, Italy2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Personally, I felt breakfast at €21 a head was too expensive but there are plenty of local places nearby. Pool bar prices also too high."
Read full review
FellowTraveler705336 wrote a tip May 2024
10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The refrigerator in the room very loudly"
Read full review
Paweesuda J wrote a tip Apr 2024
Bangkok, Thailand8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurants are really good, both Lido and Praca. The spa also surprised me, didn’t expect that they will be this good, must try!"
Read full review
rod_stephen wrote a tip Apr 2024
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Busy at weekend "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hua Hin area.
PRICE RANGE
₹7,850 - ₹11,608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandPrachuap Khiri Khan ProvinceHua Hin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
199
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STANDARD, HUA HIN - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Standard, Hua Hin
Which popular attractions are close to The Standard, Hua Hin?
Nearby attractions include Smart Tailor Hua Hin (0.4 km), Oxford Tailor (0.4 km), and Italian Style Tailor & Leather (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Standard, Hua Hin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Standard, Hua Hin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Standard, Hua Hin?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Standard, Hua Hin?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Standard, Hua Hin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Praça, Lido, and Rocks Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Standard, Hua Hin?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Standard, Hua Hin have airport transportation?
Yes, The Standard, Hua Hin offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Standard, Hua Hin located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Hua Hin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Standard, Hua Hin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Standard, Hua Hin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Hua Hin HotelsHua Hin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hua HinHotels near The Standard, Hua Hin
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire