We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Planet Lodge

Show Prices
#3 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Planet Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived to Planet Lodge after 7 days on Kilimanjaro - with no shower, no beds, no comfort at all. To say the least, Planet Lodge appeared like a gift sent from heaven! The swimming pool was incredibly clean, the breakfast was superb, the lodges were cozy! The hotel territory was well kept, with lots of fruit growing in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tetshev
Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our way back from trekking Kilimanjaro. Hot shower was lovely, rooms service was slow but tasty, and the room was beautifully decorated. Not close to anything in Arusha, but was great for an evening of solid sleep following a week in a tent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMAOC
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel twice just before a safari and Kilimanjaro climb. It was extremely comfortable with nice bed, sheets, warm shower. It was a welcome addition to my safari and climb since I would be in a tent for 2 weeks. The staff was incredibly helpful, good english skills. Morning breakfast was quite good as well. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chinomad60640
Binfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very far from being cheap, but the service is well below expectations. We stayed for one night only (as most tourists before/after their safari), but experienced way too many problems to enjoy this hotel. First, they failed to meet us at the airport - and even when we called them, they were unaware of any problem (and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexsas777
PlanetLodges, Operations Director at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alexsas777, Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Planet Lodge. In reading your review I see that there was misunderstanding with your transfer and how our free shuttle service works. Starting with the airport transfer; clearly did not have your transfer request because even the prices you are quoting do not exist here... we charge...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Planet Lodge twice over the past few years, before climbing Kilimanjaro and after my Serengeti Safari, and I'm surprised that anyone could write a negative review about this place! It's clean, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are friendly and welcoming, and the food is great. The road to the hotel is unpaved and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WMKK1974
Houston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is a basic place, they are very welcoming and attentive but there is a lot of room for improvement: 1. Mosquito nets don't cover very well all the bed until the floor. 2. Breakfast is very basic and not really good. 3. Dinner prices are a bit too much for what you get. Quality of dishes is between average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aowen5
PlanetLodges, Operations Director at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear aowen5, Asante for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. Kindly allow me to respond to some of your suggestions for feedback: 1) Mosquito nets - We've addressed this feedback with housekeeping and all nets were made long enough to cover the beds with the colored bottom fabric folding slightly on the floor around the beds....

Hillsdale, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived late after a long flight from Detroit via Amsterdam. After a nice greeting I was quickly taken to my room. It was clean and nicer than expected - I had read a few negative reviews beforehand. The staff was very helpful and the dining facility was very good - couldn't have been better. A beautiful facility - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gethursby
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at this place, having read the reviews of past travelers. However, our stay was just average. The staff members were rude and gruff, the only warm person being the manager, who greeted us upon our arrival. The gaggle of housekeepers sitting around gossiping on the stoop of our room when we arrived to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank La_tiburona
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay was short but nice. We arrived very late but were greeted warmly. All of our interactions with the staff, both before and after we arrived, were friendly and professional. Our room was clean and pleasant and breakfast was enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KM2013_05
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend and I stayed at this hotel at the end of our 22 day trip in Tanzania. After the wonderfully friendly service we received everywhere else in the country, this hotel seemed to lack the same sparkle. The room was adequate with everything you need. There is some need for repairs, but nothing to be too concerned about. Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RKumara

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.1 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
832 reviews
14.1 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
378 reviews
5.8 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
80 reviews
4.2 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
128 reviews
6.9 km away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: ₹ 6,399 - ₹ 13,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
#5 Business Hotel in Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planet Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Eden Prairie, United States
Eden Prairie, United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Planet Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from the road (dust and noise)”
 of 5 bubbles Alexsas777, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. The pool is inviting if you have time.”
 of 5 bubbles benicha56, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No idea on pricing since this was a package put together by our travel agent.”
 of 5 bubbles hkillary, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were in an outside bungalow and certainly never heard any noise.”
  • We stayed in Unit 28 which was clean, comfortable and close to the pool.
 of 5 bubbles LornePark, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look similar. Lower numbers nearer restaurant and reception.”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethH326, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay