Arusha Planet Lodge

Arusha Planet Lodge

Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha 23118 Tanzania
Traveller (457)
Room & Suite (67)
Pool and grounds were beautiful - pool also had a bar area....
Pool & Beach (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 82 hotels in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Mosquito net
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Swahili
937Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 487
  • 344
  • 90
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
#rooftopfoodie wrote a review Feb 2020
Zurich, Switzerland4,878 contributions449 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Arusha Planet Lodge is really a very cosy hotel with cute little houses divided into two rooms. Unfortunately it is somewhat far from the center of town but once you are there, it is a little oasis of peace.
The staff is probably the best thing about the lodge, they very kindly changed the assigned room to a quieter one and lent an adapter as one of the charging outlets wasn’t working.
The pool is another welcoming feature and the bar also features a great treat to try, the Tanzanian Dawa (meaning medicine) made with their local Konyagi liquer. The bar staff is also outstandingly kind, chatty and good company.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PlanetLodges, Owner at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Thank you 344blankas. Hongera kwa kupata dawa! (Congratulations on getting the medicine!) Yes, we love it when clients "feel at home with us" per our motto. I truly believe the location is ideal because if we were closer to the bustles of town, we could not be the "little oasis of peace" anymore, would you agree? We appreciate the nice words and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ISR77 wrote a review Dec 2021
Sao Paulo, SP161 contributions93 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge is about 7 Kms (15 minutes’ drive) from Arusha downtown.
Beautiful, spacious, green settings.
Lodging is comfortable (2 rooms in a bungalow)
Breakfast is good; for dinner, we preferred to go to town - the taxi + (good) meal at Khan’s BBQ was tastier & cheaper than the hotel’s (ok) dinner for two.
The hotel offers airport transport services for $35 (ARK) which is 233% higher that a city taxi; unacceptable; call an Arusha taxi services (Festo)..
The Lodge is charging 5% for CC payment, again, above the 3% average in Tanzania: while paying with CC, we had to register (in their terminal) our name, address, e-mail, phone…very unusual procedure for credit card payment. we opted for cash…
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Owner at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Dear ISR77, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing extensively about your stay! Thank you for the kind words about our green environment, space and beauty. We stand by our transfer rates and yes, clients can always take a taxi if they prefer. Our meals aim to cater to a wide variety of clients from all walks of life... many have raved about them being excellent here too. Likewise, the appetite for adventures of going to into town at night for dinner is not universal which is why most clients dine with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back sometime. Karibu Tena!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a review Mar 2020
Reading, United Kingdom49 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night before beginning our safari. Very nice property, and staff excellent too (maybe a little too over eager to please). Individual room/villas, very comfortable. Has a pool but didn't try, we ate late lunch by it tho. There are two cons to this place though, the first is (when we were staying on a idyllic Sunday), there is a crazy pentacostal church which backs onto the property so there is a lot of noise - hysterical shouting and talking in tongues craziness which no one seems to talk about. Also though the food is good and tasty, its mainly western in nature and comes at western prices, which is a bit rude as you don't know the area to go outside the property to eat (and eat safely).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathias A wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent buffet with lots of variety and great taste. Really cozy rooms with nice showers, the staff comes once a day too clear the room of mosquitoes and other smaller bugs and they have built in bugnets around the beds.
Would strongly recommend!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Free wi-fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Jambo 658mathiasa! Asante sana for the perfect rating which i shared with the team for encouragement. We hope to see you here again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison B wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The welcome at the lodge was very warm and friendly from all the staff. The individual lodges were basic but had everything you needed and the shower and bathroom facilities were very good. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and well presented, the main reception area and bar were well set out and a relaxing place to spend some time.

The only downside was our lodge was near the road so from 5am there was a lot of traffic noise which made it hard to sleep.

Overall though we were very happy with the lodge and it was a nice place to spend our final night before heading home.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Owner at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us AlisonB1727! Glad you enjoyed the room amenities, lounge and restaurant meals. Yes, during your stay there was some road work happening which may have added to the traffic noise heard. We are working with the local authorities to ensure nuance is minimal for guests and trust this will not be an issue going forward. Thank you for writing about your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
British_Batman wrote a review Sept 2022
Dorset67 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Lodge is primarily a place of transition, either to or from the airport, so you're either in need of a sanctuary or a change of pace after safari and sand, and for those purposes it works. The greeting we had was warm and extensive. The grounds are very well kept and all of the staff were friendly and welcoming.
The room, whilst it was a decent size, had probably the worst view onsite, in that it looked at a patch of mud and a ten foot wall. The other rooms at least had a view of cultured gardens and plants, so this was a disappointment because sitting out on the balcony was not satisfying.
The food was tasty, with a reasonable selection for all tastes, and the drinks were not too badly priced.
It's a decent stepping stone into or out of Africa, and that is welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Owner at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 22 Oct 2022
Dear British_Batman, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback here. I am sorry you had a room with "the worst view onsite, in that it looked at a patch of mud and a ten foot wall." Unfortunately we have one such room and due to recent updates to our perimeter wall, we had to do away with the vegetation that had overgrown on it. Rest assured we have planted new flowering plants to alleviate the eyesore from future guests staying in the room. We appreciate your fair review and yes, we are doing our best to improve the view from the balcony. It is our hope that life will bring you our way again so you can enjoy a room with great garden views. Asante sana!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pulmcc wrote a review Apr 2023
Marietta, Georgia78 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to Tanzania for a safari and stayed in Arusha at the Planet Lodge before our safari. From the moment we stepped onto the property, we were treated as more than regular guests. We were greeted with a glass of hibiscus juice and offered something to eat but we were full and tired after our long flight so just went straight to our rooms. Staff members took our luggage to our rooms who then gave us a quick briefing. The room was clean, spacious, with a comfortable bed, with an AC unit if needed. Wifi was also available in the room though not the strongest (as expected). Two bottles of water were provided in the bathroom for brushing your teeth. Breakfast the following morning consisted of sausage, bacon, potatoes, eggs to order, crepes, coffee, and juices.

It’s a shame that we only stayed here one night as we were just passing through. The hospitality was wonderful and I would not hesitate to stay here again. Many thanks to the incredible staff!! 👏
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Owner at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 17 Apr 2023
Thank you very much Jonathan!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ScottS_MN wrote a review Nov 2020
USA273 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From when you walk in the door its hard to believe that you're in a large city. The main building for check-in is also the lounge & restaurant. The wood of this room defines it with warmth. Garden paths wind around to the double bungalows. Spacious and beautiful with a small patio - this is no hotel room. Dinner in the main building was very good and included breakfast was cooked to order. Outstanding people working here. Stephen went the extra mile to make sure everything was perfect. Corrine at the front desk was a breath of sunshine.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Other at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Thank you for your kind words ScottS_MN! Glad to know you enjoyed our unique traditional lodge setting and the service from both Steve & Corrine. We all hope to welcome you back sometime. With best regards, The Team @ Arusha Planet Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loch Ewe Luxury Pods wrote a review Sept 2022
Mellon Charles, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service, amazing food and very comfortable accommodation.
The lodges were great, spotlessly clean and everything that you could need was provided
Staff were very helpful, friendly and always available.
We stayed as a family, for a number of nights with breaks away to do Mt Kilimanjaro and then safari and always received a warm welcome on our return, we stayed in three separate lodges and they all were to the same high standard.
I would highly recommend and hope to return some day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Owner at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 22 Oct 2022
Thank you very much for highly recommending us Lochewe2021!! Yes, we'd love to welcome you back whenever you are ready. Karibu sana.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany wrote a review Jun 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights at the beggining and again for a night at the end of our safari adventure. Staying with a large group (10 people) that needed multiple rooms and they set everything up very nicely. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Food was delicious and drinks were reasonably priced compared to all the other places we stayed. Pool was clean and nice, laundry service was available for reasonable prices. Rooms were fantastic; comfy beds, nice large bathrooms, AC for each room, bed nets, everything we could want out of a lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Planet Lodges, Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Asante sana Go55547758356! We are very glad you chose us for your first and final nights of safari! We are glad to have been able to provide you with "everything you could want out of a lodge." Thank you so much and a warm welcome back when life brings you our way!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from PlanetLodges
Arusha Region, Tanzania3 contributions2 helpful votes
Absolutely, yes we do! Our chefs are happy to consult with guests upon arrival to discuss preferences as needed. You can also email us ahead with preferences so we can ensure you feel at home with us!
Answer from PlanetLodges
Arusha Region, Tanzania3 contributions2 helpful votes
Our sister property Airport Planet Lodge is 10 or less from the Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO). On the other hand thi (Arusha Planet Lodge) is a good 45 minutes door to door from JRO during the day which can be longer at night and when there are traffic incidents.
Answer from jly75zhs
Moshi, Tanzania75 contributions35 helpful votes
1. You are safe while on the property, and maybe taking a walk during broad daylight within the immediate vicinity (on the same road), but it's never advisable for a woman to be out after dark alone. 2. Check with Planet Lodge about cost of airport transfer. It should not be more than $50 (that's fair/reasonable) one way. 3. Yes, I think PL can arrange transpo into Arusha. Just ask...they are very accommodating people.
Answer from DanishMP
Kolding, Denmark48 contributions48 helpful votes
Nice og understanding managers/staffs. You can leave your stuff there. Don't think it will cost you :-). Enjoy your stay
Tamara W asked a question Jul 2018
Calgary, Canada103 contributions4 helpful votes
How often is your shuttle service to/from Arusha? Is it free?
Answer from PlanetLodges
Arusha Region, Tanzania3 contributions2 helpful votes
Sure Tamara, thank you for considering a stay with us! The shuttle service to Arusha is free for in house guests and it leaves the Lodge at 10 am and returns clients (pickup at Clock Tower) at 4 pm. You must sign up at Reception the night prior so we can schedule a vehicle appropriate for the number of people in your party. If no one signs up we do not prepare a driver/vehicle so we always encourage clients to sign up early and cancel if the must vs. signing up late. I trust this answers your question but feel free to drop us an email for further information. With best regards, Grace.
Maciej K wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Order a full-board - it’s a financially efficient option. Plus: food is very good in this hotel! "
Read full review
Sarah R wrote a tip Dec 2023
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food is so good!"
Read full review
Gustav M wrote a tip Dec 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I truly enjoyed my dining experience at Arusha Planet, thanks to the team's excellent hospitality."
Read full review
Liz H wrote a tip Nov 2023
10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have a very nice pool. They have drivers available to take you places. They charge $15 one way."
Read full review
Brian T wrote a tip Oct 2023
Scottsdale, Arizona5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"1) Location is about 15-minute drive from town. 2) Food and drink are a little more expensive than other hotels or restaurants."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arusha area.
PRICE RANGE
₹6,831 - ₹7,997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaArusha RegionArusha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARUSHA PLANET LODGE - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arusha Planet Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Arusha Planet Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Tanzanite Experience (6.0 km), Utopia safaris (3.8 km), and Kilitanzania Pride Tours and Safaris (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arusha Planet Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Arusha Planet Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Arusha Planet Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Arusha Planet Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arusha Planet Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chinese Whispers, Five Chutneys, and Georges Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arusha Planet Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Arusha Planet Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Arusha Planet Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arusha Planet Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arusha Planet Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Swahili.
Is Arusha Planet Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Arusha HotelsArusha Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ArushaHotels near Arusha Planet Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire