We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Outpost Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Outpost Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Outpost Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 316: English reviews
Luanda, Angola
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here before and after taking a safari tour with G Adventures; after seeing the price in the travel guide i wasnt expecting it to be be so nice! On both occasions i was given a large clean room with nice facilties including spare towels, basic toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities. the bathrooms were nice and even though i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellyrichardson
Helena, Montana
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived at Kilimanjaro airport after dark, but found a taxi right in front of the airport doors to take us to the Outpost for $50.00. (This seems expensive, but it is a long way into Arusha and really the only option.) Our room was ready and they opened the bar so we could buy a cold beer ($3/each). We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FAB033
London, Canada
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Upon arrival the staff carried our bags, handed us our keys, and welcomed us into wonderful clean rooms. They will do your laundry for a small cost but you get it back the same day. The cafe and restaurant are great value and the pizza is delicious. After our safari and climbing Kilimanjaro this place was a treat to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanuctraveller
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very much regret staying in the Outpost Lodge. Extremely noisy at night with crazy barking dogs nearby. Bathrooms very dirty - we had to ask for clean towels. Toiletpot loose on the floor, shower controlled by wheels either producing boiling hot or ice-cold water. Dirty open drain hole in cracked bathroom floor. Not what you want before and after your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarinaBahrain
Fisheaglepoint, Owner at Outpost Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know. As we responded to the previous review about the same room, we have been following up on all the issues which you mention. We also must, and do, apologize sincerely. We have closed down the room for immediate refurbishment. Café Mambo is working hard to solve packed meal issues.

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We arrived at the Lodge, as per our planned itinerary, 'in time for a late dinner'. Our flight was on time, and the transfer swift so no delay to the plan. The place was completely closed up, the guy on the desk was clearly not expecting us to want to eat, said everything closed up at 9pm, no drinks were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katherine153
Fisheaglepoint, Owner at Outpost Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have been following up on all the issues you mention. We are sorry that this wasn’t brought to our attention before you left. We must, and do, apologize most sincerely.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here before my 6 day trek up Kilimanjaro (for 1 night). I typically don't stay in lodges (usually full service hotels) but considering I was in a third world country, it did the job. The food was decent, good service. A little loud at night since it's located right in the middle of Arusha (dogs barking at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma M
Exeter
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for a night either end of climbing Kilimanjaro, we were pleasantly surprised by the place as it was included in our climb so we expected a dive!! Staff were friendly and welcoming. Room consisted of 2 single beds with a good mosquito net with no holes, desk with TV and Kettle. The room and linen was clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExeterHannah
Olympia, Washington, United States
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here two different nights shortly after arrival in Tanzania. We were very pleased with the service and hospitality. Exactly what we wanted and needed and an excellent place to stay in transition to our safari.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael E
Abingdon, Virginia
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here 2 nights before and 1 night after a Kilimanjaro hike. Rooms were clean and basic. The A rooms (annex) had no water the morning we left for our hike white the R (residential) rooms did have water; not sure why the difference. The A rooms have individual water heaters in each room. The R units have a central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trixie449
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at the Outpost Lodge before and after a Tanzanian safari. The hotel is set in beautiful, lush and tropical grounds and the accommodation which was part of an old house fits in well. The rooms are spacious and the shower hot which was particularly important after nights spent camping on safari. The hotel was able to cook up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonya65

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.4 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
831 reviews
5.2 km away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
382 reviews
18.4 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
506 reviews
2.8 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
80 reviews
0.8 km away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 41 in Arusha
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unpretentious, and truly 'value for money'. Clean and safe, beautiful tropical surroundings with quiet relaxed atmosphere... bar, restaurant, cafe, free wifi, laundry service, and free safe bagage store while on safari. A home away from home in true East African style. 20 minute walk from the downtown, satellite TV, genuine cafe and friendly helpful staff... welcome - Karibu sana! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outpost Lodge

Address: 37A Serengeti Road | P O Box 11520, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: ₹ 4,980 - ₹ 8,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Outpost Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Outpost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outpost Hotel Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outpost Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Outpost Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some areas have to keep windows closed to keep monkeys out. Some rooms can accomodate three individuals.”
 of 5 bubbles 747debrak, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Loved room M-1, but I'm sure they're all good”
 of 5 bubbles pwmchugh, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the monkeys - you have to ensure you lock all doors and windows.”
 of 5 bubbles PhineasFogg54, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“New rooms have better showers.”
 of 5 bubbles davidcD8636AS, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I saw several rooms and all were nice, roomy and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Patti264, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay