We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marine Tourist Guest House

Expedia.comUS$ 18*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 23*
US$ 18*
US$ 23*
US$ 23*
US$ 18*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Marine Tourist Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 246: English reviews
Start your review of Marine Tourist Guest House
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was exactly what we wanted after our flight from the UK. We stayed in room number 7 which was spacious, immaculately cleaned, king size fresh bed and great air con! This room has a private bathroom and towels were provided. Reception staff were very helpful and location is 1 minute from the beach and cafes etc all around. All...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Winnuses
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

we stayed here two nights to recover from long flight. the rooms are nothing special but for the price is good. staff is nice and always helpful. the location is perfect as it is near to the beach and also to many restaurants. only thing that was not perfect that we got one room with AC and second was without,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristinasvk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on my way in and out. Was impressed with the rooms which were clean. Stayed in a dorm on my way out which was also okay. I left my watch there by mistake and was glad to hear they found it. It's not the most social hostel but good for a stopover and location wise being next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkotak
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

This is a decent place to stay before or after a flight out of Colombo (800 rupee tuk tuk ride). Dorm rooms are cheap and the staff are friendly, but the wifi is terrible. Sea Joy restaurant just two doors down has great rice and curry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Location is good, bathroom facilities appalling, dirty and needs massively modernising. Stayed in a four bed mixed dorm, lockers large, beds reasonable. Aircon in room. Could have potential but the bathrooms really let this place down. WiFi average. Would i stay again, no. The bathroom isn't fit to wash a dog in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudd18
Marine-Negombo, Owner at Marine Tourist Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the bathroom facilities at Marine Tourist Guest House. While we always strive to keep our bathroom clean, we have regular scheduled cleaning times. Our hardworking staff cannot really monitor round the clock all the comings and goings of our guests. That is why we encourage everyone to foster the...

London
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

This is our first trip to Sri Lanka and we came here straight from the airport. The guest house advised us (via email after we enquiries) about the price of a taxi. They were helpful and friendly when we arrived. On our first morning they were happy to give us breakfast even though it was half an hour after the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer1London
Cheshire
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Our second visit to Marine Guest house which is a very friendly family run place. It is very near the beach, many restaurants and transport is at the door. Buses, Tuctucs and taxis are available. Housekeeping is very good and the breakfast is generous. Nothing seems too much trouble for the owner or his family. The rooms are spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norjay
Shrewsbury
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Accommodating staff welcomed us at 4.00am after our flight landed. Clean, comfortable room. Friendly staff and good location. Easy for the beach, restaurants and shops. We liked this place, but go elsewhere for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephWill
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Came straight here after a 14hour flight - the room was perfect! Clean, spacious and a big 4 poster bed! The staff were friendly and advised with onward travel, and there were lots of restaurants and bars next door. Breakfast not included but think it was cheap as an extra :) would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachelwalker12
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

3주동안 스리랑카를 여행하던중 휴식차 네곰보에 일주일을 머물렀어요 처음 이틀을 여기서 지내고 다른 호텔에서 2박하고는 다시 마린으로 와서 5일을 머물렀네요 네곰보해변근처 비싼호텔을 제외하고 거의 보았지만 가격,시설,전망,위치,친절,청결에서 최고입니다. 하나 아쉬운점은 룸에서는 와이파이신호가 약해요. 며칠전 돈과 보석이 들어 있는 지갑을 잃어버리고 낙심하고 있었는데 사장님께선 제가 사모사를 먹고 싶다고 한걸 기억하시고는 다음날 시내를 다녀오시면서 일부러 맛있는 가게까지 가셔서 제게 사모사를 사서 선물해 주셨습니다. 스리랑카에서...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parkgahi

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.6 km away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
1,383 reviews
1.0 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
464 reviews
6.7 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.5 km away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 41 in Negombo
1,087 reviews
3.1 km away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 216 in Negombo
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Marine Tourist Guest House in Negombo. Our budget Guest house ,hotel is located 100 m away from Negombo beach. The Marine Tourist Guest House of Negombo is in the Negombo tourism resort. If you are looking for the ideal home-away-from-home accommodation, Marine is the ideal place. Situated in a peaceful environment and just minutes from the Colombo airport, Marine Tourist Guest House is the place for you. Largest, cleanest budget guest rooms in Negombo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marine Tourist Guest House

Address: No. 118 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: ₹ 713 - ₹ 2,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Tourist Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Marine Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Tourist Guest House Hotel Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marine Tourist Guest House staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Darwin, Australia

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Marine Tourist Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a sea view.”
Norjay, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for upper floors for a good view”
StephWill, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs are with great views.”
  • My room upstairs. The beds with moquito nets.
  • A view to the sea from my room.
  • My comfortable bed with mosquito net. Was really good to sleep in it.
MalleA_13, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top rooms have better view”
vinitaBO, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Closer to airport with very pleasant stay”
shaox2015, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 18* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 23
Hotwire.comUS$ 18
Hotels.comUS$ 18
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates