We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apa Villa Illuketia

Show Prices
#33 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apa Villa Illuketia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apa Villa Illuketia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Welcome to tropical paradise! Illuketia Estate is such a wonderful and romantic place that winds you down instantly. It feels like living in a botanical garden. It is by far the best place I have ever stayed in the past 20+ years in Asia. The staff is welcoming and friendly and the food is excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Frankinsingapur
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 July 2015

400 metres off of the main road, the Apa Villa in Illuketia is wonderfully nestled inland in the most perfect location: close to Sri Lanka's stunning inland jungles, not too far out that it's too difficult to find, but far enough so you don't get disturbed by the hustle bustle of the vehicles. Upon entering the property's gates and driving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AntoineWu
Reviewed 4 June 2015

My girlfriend and I visited Apa Villa Illuketia last year when staying at the Apa sister beach hotel and decided to come again this year and stay exclusively in the gardens and this time we brought another couple along with us. Can not recommend enough. We absolutely love the southern Sri Lankan coast. Every morning we would wake up, drink...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott L
Bombay
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We had a lovely stay at the Pond House. We were four of us and this was a really special place.The rooms had an old world charm with mosquito nets enveloping the beds. The bathrooms al fresco were truly refreshing with modern amenities and a shower open to the sky..how cool is that! In front was our very own large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khorshy
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Staying in this hotel was such a great experience ! The house in itself is beautiful and the rooms are stunning (even the smallest one, that we had), It is seating in a huge garden with a pool. The size of the place (only 6 rooms) makes it very friendly , cosy and confortable. The staff is very chill yet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EmmaSing
Sydney
Reviewed 9 April 2015

My two little kids (7 and 3) and I stayed at Apa Villa Illuketia not once but twice this past week on our south coast Sri Lankan break. I had aspirations of a surfing holiday near Weligama, but it was not to be - what we all agreed on was returning to Apa Villa! The property itself is a beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gabrielperera
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Our stay at Illukeitia on 23rd and 24 rd February 2015. . We were four people traveling together in Sri Lanka and had booked the ‘main house’ at Illuketia for our own private use over the period of two nights. I made the booking directly with Appa Villa who at the time confirmed that the rate we agreed to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stuart b
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review

It was clearly not our intention to invade on his party’s conversation. We take it that as owner of the property, we will make a friendly welcoming gesture to our guests. However, we erred on this one occasion. We are operating a fully licensed hotel and as such public space is for the use of other guests as we have...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We chose Illuketia for 2 nights for more of a colonial estate feel in a lush, garden environment and were in no way disappointed. The gardens are truly stunning - sprawling lawns, rainforest like surrounds, monkeys in trees, water monitors in the ponds and beautiful birdlfe everywhere. You really do feel transported to another place in time. Food and service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NicandMic
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review

We thank our guests for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that they enjoy the garden surroundings, wildlife, food and service. We are disappointed to hear of the errant tuk-tuk drivers from outside trying to take advantage of our foreign visitors. We have published a guide for fares to frequently-asked destinations and we leave it to...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 October 2014

A gorgeous little retreat inland from the coast. Gardens are stunning teeming with wildlife. We stayed in one of the pond house rooms, great view of the pond which had resident water monitors, kingfishers and freshwater turtles. Parrots were everywhere, monkeys cavorting in the trees - the place was an idyll. This is recommended for those who want to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank benzonar
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. Our guest hits the spot when he or she endorses that Illuketia is for those who want a different experience along the coast away from the beaches. The rewards of staying at Illuketia are the fantastic wildlife in passing viewed straight from the verandahs and through the windows. We share the same enthusiasm about...

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay here at Apa Villa. Everything was absolutely beautiful. The moment we arrived we were shown around the property by the very friendly manager. We were given a welcome drink which was papaya juice. The grounds are stunning and you instantly feel relaxed and at peace. We stayed here at the end of our busy trip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gemma S
ApaVillasGalle, Owner at Apa Villa Illuketia, responded to this review

We are most grateful for the wonderful review posted by Gemma S on her short stay in our garden villa Illuketia. It is the pleasure of the staff and management that everything turned out well for her. We would like to clarify the matter on the lower rates enjoyed by other guests at the time of her stay. While our...

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
5:25
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
4.9 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#13 of 29 in Unawatuna
262 reviews
6.0 km away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#28 of 60 in Galle
172 reviews
8.4 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
362 reviews
4.3 km away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#35 of 60 in Galle
286 reviews
6.3 km away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#18 of 60 in Galle
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A villa hideaway with five suites set in 12 acres of garden and ponds. A luxury that our guests can discern on arrival. Only 15 minutes from Galle town, going to Illuketia is a return to nature and plantation lifestyle. The splendid mansion with original wooden temple doors, carved window frames and Oriental-style furniture is drawn out of a traveller's journal. A swimming pool in the far end of a lush garden allows a dip while watching birds and monkeys at close range. Three differently styled bedrooms are placed around a courtyard fish pond in the main house and two other suites are located in a separate Pond House. Each room varies in size and outlook, with its own walk-in wardrobe, sitting area indoor or outdoor. The Hibiscus Suite is considered the master room with a long private balcony lined with cushions and facing tall jack trees and rice fields. There is a separate walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The Lotus Suite is aligned long and spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Windows look out to a water channel and flowering trees. The Citronella Suite is cozy and comes with a dining table and chairs in a private open-air verandah. It has its own wardrobe and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are air-conditioned with additional ceiling fans and power points. The villa serves organic rice from its own rice fields, fruit, herbs and vegetables from the garden. Apa Villa's Sri Lankan Curry Rijstafel Dinner is all-time favourite among guests.. Apart from this, there is All Day menu of snacks, light meals and tea service. Evening meals are from an A La Carte with our stewards serving in the traditional sarong and tunic outfits. Booking for long-term of Pond House and whole villa welcomed. Illuketia and its grounds is ideal for weddings, anniversaries and birthday celebrations or groups with special interests like bird-watching, workshops, mahjong, painting and photography. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apa Villa Illuketia

Address: Illuketia Watta | Wanchawala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Price Range: ₹ 10,149 - ₹ 16,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apa Villa Illuketia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apa Villa Illuketia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Villa Illuketia Hotel Galle
Apa Hotel Illuketia
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#17 Family Hotel in Galle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apa Villa Illuketia staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Apa Villa Illuketia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best room is the one with a huge verandah - very welcome in exceptionally hot weather like we experienced”
 of 5 bubbles Helen-Sarah48, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“The Hibiscus room opens out to a balcony which overlooks the grounds. A great place to sit in the morning and evenings.”
  • The balcony attached to the Hibiscus Room
 of 5 bubbles Brendon_F, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Really enjoyed the peaceful rooms away from the main villa, by the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles SaumN, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are different, and therefore, unique.”
 of 5 bubbles AntoineWu, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Hibiscus room if not travelling on a budget, otherwise the pool house is lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 559scottl, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5