We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/06/22
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (747)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (94)


#62 of 400 in Ubud

See why so many travellers make Mathis Retreat their hotel of choice when visiting Ubud. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as Mathis Retreat offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and baggage storage. Plus, Mathis Retreat offers a pool and an on-site restaurant, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Ubud, Mathis Retreat is located a short distance from Gunung Lebah Temple (1.3 mi) and Subak Juwuk Manis (Ubud Rice Field) (1.3 mi).

Ubud has plenty of Italian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Three Monkeys, Uma Cucina, and Umah Pizza, which are serving up some great dishes.

During your visit, be sure to check out Campuhan Ridge Walk (1.2 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Mathis Retreat as you experience all of the things Ubud has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Indonesian


Full view
74Somewhat walkable
Grade: 74 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
825Reviews13Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 676
  • 118
  • 20
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Glowingdeeps wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore4 contributions1 helpful vote
We had booked our stay at the but unfortunately due to health reasons we had to cancel our trip. We forgot to cancel our booking and subsequently requested the hotel either to refund our booking or charge us for the first night as retention and not the full length of the stay. We also provided them with the relevant medical bills / certificates. The hotel staff displayed extreme levels of in-flexibility and answered our emails and phone calls with a very high degree of rudeness, especially the front office manager - Bruno. Our booking was in December 2019, pretty much the peak season and all hotels were overbooked so it would not have been difficult for them to accommodate our request. However, we were simply taken aback by their rudeness. While we understand we missed out cancelling the booking by the deadline and it is upto the hotel to agree to the refund or not, there is a way of communicating the same to customers. We have travelled all but needless to say we were taken aback by the rudeness displayed by the hotel and its front office staff. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Regards, Navneet
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Response from Bruno B, Propriétaire at Mathis Retreat
Responded 3 Apr 2020
Mister Navneet, I’m very surprised of your post as I told you several times by mail and by phone that the rate you booked was a non refundable rate, so as its name mentions it cannot be refunded, moreover you not book directly with us but by one of the online travel agent who has their own policy as well. We are not taking the decision but the agent and they were not agreed to refund, This is why you have the choice to book also Normal Rates if you want to be able to cancell in last minute. You forget to mention that I proposed to you to postpone your stay with no extra charge, option that you refuse and I tried to help you as you paid by credit card you have an insurance covering these issues – once again you refuse to use it, may be because you had no official document prooving your health issue. I was really not rude, but please also reminder that you send me more than 5 mails, pushing me to change the decision (which was not from me but from your online agent) threatening to kill us by destructive post on this website if I don’t accept it – Finally and to remind you as well, you called me more than 15 times even Saturday evening till midnight to put more pressure on us…Not sure it’s a fair way – I feel it as very rude way as well…. So please in the future if you take a non refundable rate, be ready to got these issues and to avoid it I can just advice you to book directly with the hotel and normal rates – always little bit more expansive but easy to cancel in last minute. Thank you for your time.
Read more
Seghers E wrote a review Feb 2020
Gistoux, Belgium34 contributions35 helpful votes
In october 2019 , we decided to go and see by ourself this Island we where hearing so many excellent comments. As we don’t like to organize too much our stays, we followed an excellent advise from a friend. We contacted the Mathis collection which is a resort with 3 different locations on the Island. Villa Mathys in Umala, Mathis retreat at Ubud and Mathis Lodge in Amed for a total of 13 nights in Bali. Our trip was amazing , everything was very well organised, we could have every informations upon our arrival in those 3 different hotels . Organising the day before what we were going to do the next day . This is a great advantage as there are son many things to see but also the need of relaxing some times . Villa Mathys: Definitely the first place where you have to enter Bali. The villas are extremely charming . This is actually a Paradise. Mathis retreat in Ubud: excellent location to visit all the surroundings. Karin was there to help us making the right choice for the excursions. The restaurant of the hotel is great with a vue on the rice plantations and some nice white ducks walking along. Mathis Lodge in Amed: exceptional place isolated in the hills whith a view on the Ovean and a Jacusszzi in the room !! The restaurant offered amazing italian dishes (and others) that Santos , the Manager always ready to make you feel well, teached to his local employees. We left there afte 4 days off diving and relaxing . Direct to the airport. Well We had a perfect trip !!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
pdmancs wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom502 contributions388 helpful votes
I stayed at Mathis Retreat before it changed hands (and names), and I’ve been back a couple of times since to eat at Terracotta, the restaurant. It’s a beautiful place, in a sublime setting, with lovely staff. Very relaxing. This time I stayed in the new block. Mostly perfect - just a couple of things I think could be improved: when I asked for an iron, that’s all I was given. No board. Bit of a pain! Also one of the light switches in the bathroom didn’t function - all the lights operated on one switch. So no mood lighting if you want a relaxing bath - it’s way too bright! The local cat is lovely, and enjoying sitting in our chairs on the terrace. I’m hopelessly allergic to cats, so this meant I had to avoid them. No one’s fault - just one of those things.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Kirill M wrote a review Jan 2020
Kuta, Indonesia40 contributions15 helpful votes
Very cozy atmosphere and great place for relaxing, chilling. Not in a city center, but quite close to it, location is very convenient overall. Staff is well trained and disciplined, always ready to serve you and help. Good restaurant and breakfast menu, and top quality of food. Very beautiful surrounding, and landscape, hotel is very well designed. If you drive bike, it's possible to rent from hotel and quality of bike was very good (rare for Bali). Good wifi on whole hotel territory.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Maya L wrote a review Dec 2019
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands18 contributions38 helpful votes
the rooms are worthy of a 5 star hotel. We spent a week in this magnificent setting. We get up in the morning with a great view and a great breakfast. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The swimming pool facing the rice fields will allow you to relax after your day of visiting or shopping in Ubud. The bedding and cleanliness of the hotel are impeccable. We recommend this hotel without reservations. !!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Erica T wrote a review Dec 2019
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
I wasn't sure what to expect when we booked this hotel. It isn't in the centre of Ubud and lies adjacent to a Paddy field. You do have to share your environment with ants, frogs and geckos but it isn't at all unpleasant and the rooms are extremely clean. The food is exceptional, the staff couldn't be more welcoming and charming. There is an hourly shuttle if you wish to go into Ubud. I wanted rural and quiet but high end service at the same time. I got exactly that.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled
Thea wrote a review Oct 2019
5 contributions
Mathis retreat is a very good place to stay if you want to relax or just enjoy a nice view by the pool and resturant. The staff is very friendly and our bungalow is very clean with nice interior. The breakfast was also very good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
liloopuce wrote a review Oct 2019
paris, France9 contributions1 helpful vote
Was expecting a nice and quiet boutique hotel but I found a noisy and not so clean hotel. We had the bungalow 1 at our arrival and it's the worst! very noisy from the road and from the back office of the employees. And no shutter so you are awake at 6am..Toilets were not very clean and we had to ask for hot water in our room. We changed room the day after and it was a bit less noisy but just next to restaurant and pool and you can hear the neighbours very clearly. Pool is correct but you need to fight to have a towel. Restaurant is very good though and breakfast is awesome. Bungalows are bigger and more pricey but still small if you travel with a child. Rooms next to the spa and pool seem to be more quiet. As I was not very happy with my stay please note that Karine Manager of the place gave me a discount on some expenses that we had. It was much appreciated and nice from her. I think some people can enjoy their stay there as the environment is lovely but we did not. Please note that it's a French hotel and for my friends from France you will meet only French people at the pool and restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
tami125 wrote a review Jul 2019
Ubud, Indonesia36 contributions33 helpful votes
Mathis Retreat definitely lives up to its name. This place is a Retreat. Just seating by the pool watching the sunset and sunrise it’s an activity. During sunset, you will see the bats flying above the rice field and in the morning you will see many birds. The rooms are spacious, rustic and the view is serene. The afternoon tropical fruit snacks are delicious and the shuttle makes going to town very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
David Cavalas wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I just spent 2 nights with 2 friends and everything was absolutely perfect! The landscape, the view, the staff, the room, the swimming pool I could honestly not recommend a better place to stay in Ubud! All the staff members were so kind and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
$62 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbud
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mathis Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Mathis Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Wayan's Book Store Padang Bai (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mathis Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mathis Retreat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mathis Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Mathis Retreat?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mathis Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sawah Terrace at Mandapa, Warung Scooting Ubud, and Terracotta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mathis Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mathis Retreat have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mathis Retreat offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mathis Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Mathis Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mathis Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mathis Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Indonesian.