We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ganpati Guest House

Agoda.comUS$ 21*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 30*
US$ 21*
US$ 27*
US$ 30*
US$ 21*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ganpati Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ganpati Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,422: English reviews
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

Very safe place for solo female travellers. Hard to find so take a pick up from the hotel on arrival! Friendly staff, felt totally safe. Rooms clean and spacious, good hot shower, good beds, what else do you need? To be recommended! No need to take Ganges-view room, there's a perfect view from the roofterrace.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ira1971
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel staff we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your stay in Varanasi, and for taking out your precious time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in...

Reviewed 27 November 2014

A lovely guest house in a great location, our room was also fine though the most expensive. However the place is let down by certain members of staff whose general attitude borders on insolent. The roof top restaurant was of particular concern where our meal took it's time, and when it finally arrived was poor and luke warm including the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much to sharing your experience with us, we are really sorry for not coming up to your expectations, it´s not good to know that you did not had a good experience. We will take up your points very seriously as they are the tools to improve our quality and service levels. We hope that you give us...

Reviewed 25 November 2014

Stayed in this place earlier this year and it wasn't my first visit- have been meaning to write a review for some time now. The staff are friendly and professional, it seems they prefer foreign tourists rather than indians- maybe just my sense but that's the impression I got- especially since the place is always filled with foreigners. The security...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Justine d
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in a near future in our hotel. Your opinions are very much appreciated, as they show us that we...

Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Booked one night in Ganpati Guesthouse when were visiting Varanasi. Everything was really good - clean and nicely decorated room, spotless bathroom, comfy bad. Our room was on the ground floor, therefore not much light there - windows were facing the inner courtyard. However, this didn´t bother us at all. Very good location - though indeed a bit difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JullyTheTraveller
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much to sharing your experience with us & taking out your precious time to write here on Trip Advisor. Your satisfaction is our goal, so reading comments like yours makes us feel very happy. We thank you for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service. It was a pleasure having you with us...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We had one of four rooms that direcly overlooked the Ganges and it made the whole visit fantastic! Book room 13 if you can. Food pretty standard but everything else was perfect. Great haven right in the heart of crazy Varanasi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BloujeBlarge
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & taking out your precious time to write here on Trip Advisor . It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Varanasi . Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and above...

Provo, Utah, United States
Reviewed 21 November 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying at Ganpati Guest Home and we will be returning next year. The location is the best part, right on the banks of the river. Food is good, rooms are clean, and staff are fairly accommodating. Sunil, the concierge, was extremely helpful and we would recommend him to anyone. My only complaint is that one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph R
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much to sharing your experience with us, we are really sorry for the disturbance you faced that night. It was unfortunate but we had to finish the renovation on that day only due to some technical problems. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host...

Reviewed 18 November 2014 via mobile

Wanted to stay here as a friend had stayed her 10 years ago and raved about it, and also it's no 1 on trip advisor. Although they were fully booked, they kindly offered their sister house (ganpati home 30 secs walk away) Bit sceptical at first but on arrival was very impressed and in my eyes this house is more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan T
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

On behalf of all the Hotel staff we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your stay in Varanasi, and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in our...

ohio
Reviewed 18 November 2014

For reference this is not a jw marriott or even a holiday inn. This is after all in the old city on the ghats. the service in the restaurant was very friendly.. The front desk was very cool but efficient. Bring your own hair dryer and fresh bar of soap if you need those items. the beds are a 12...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diverOhio
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

We thank you for trusting us and for your review as it helps us to improve our day-to-day customer service We will take up your points very seriously as they are the tools to improve our quality and service levels Thanks & regards Nagendra Dubey

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2014

We are a young couple and stayed at Ganpati for 6 nights (as a side note, 3 nights in Varanasi is plenty). My partner and I loved Ganpati. Peaceful, clean and lots of different areas to hang out and relax in- a sanctuary from the often chaotic nature of the city. This guesthouse overlooks the ghats and is close to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ladybugbum
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

On behalf of all the Hotel staff we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Varanasi, and for taking out time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in our...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 November 2014

This is a guest house and not a luxury hotel. That said it offers almost anything an upscale hotel offers including free WiFi in a modest setting. Its views are anything but modest as it overlooks the Ganges river and is situated at the very edge of a ghat. The rooftop restaurant has excellent service. We only had breakfast but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Traveleasy
Ganpati G, Front Office Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & taking out your precious time to write your review on Trip Advisor . It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Varanasi . Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and...

1,209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1148)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (201)
Viewed
View from Room (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (553)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (24)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
1,168 reviews
0.5 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
247 reviews
1.0 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 73 in Varanasi
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
4.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.6 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#21 of 73 in Varanasi
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Price Range: ₹ 1,228 - ₹ 3,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ganpati Guest House staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
philadelphia
over a year ago
stl
over a year ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Ganpati Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be generous with tipping.”
James_attree, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose the rooms with Ganges view.”
shivaershadi, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view of the Ganges”
  • watching children fly kits, view from rooftop
robert003, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view, it'll be at a premium but worth it.”
harleyBoy42, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get the private room and get a balcony.”
MissingCC, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 21* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 27
PricelineUS$ 21
Hostelworld.comUS$ 30
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates