We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Priceline
Trip.com$41
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Etrip$36
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1523)
Room & Suite (504)
Dining (124)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 28/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ganpati Guest House
Updated 28/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 396 hotels in Varanasi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Yoga classes
Coffee shop
Badminton
Boating
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Full body massage
Wifi
Restaurant
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Taxi service
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi
2593Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,419
  • 903
  • 171
  • 52
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Elodie wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions
Loved the view, restaurant food was delicious (fresh mango juices !), staff has been the sweetest during our stay. Also loved the services : tours, henna tattoo, morning boat tour and transfers at a reasonable price! Place and rooms are comfortable enough for a guesthouse and the location is really perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kavitha B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Hotel is very clean and facing Ganga river. Beautiful view of Ganga and temples from this hotel. People are highly cordial. Only thing is there is no intercom facility so each time you need to go the reception if you need anything. Restaurant food is a bit over priced but taste is good. Please be ready to walk at least 1.5 kms from the main road to reach this place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you would like to enjoy the view of the temples and ganga go for super deluxe or deluxe rooms...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
supradipta wrote a review Mar 2022
Howrah, India6 contributions
Nice stay in room 17. Good Things: 1.Staffs are Good and ever smiling 2.location is excellent, just in Meer Ghat 3.Kashi Viswanath Temple,Dasaswamedh Ghat,New Corridor all are very near. 4.Famous Kunj SAU sweet shop,Godhulia more,Kashi chat bhandar,Kuber Pan shop are within 10mins walk. 5.Food in Ganapati restaurant is good. 6.Rooms are comfortable and clean Some Things I don't like 1.Lots of stairs to reach the hotel and Ghats of Ganga 2.Room has no TV or Intercom/telephone 3.Budget rooms has no Ganga View ( that's ok ) 4.Food are costly and less variation 5.Mobile signal very weak,though you can use their wifi Few tips about Benaras travel Try chats from Deena Chat bhandar which is far better than Kashi Chat Bhandar.Benarasi paan is must try. If you want to taste good fish meal then visit Dasaswamedh Boarding house as Most of the restaurant are veg.Ganapati guest house is inside the famous Viswanath gali so all shops and temple are very near but you have to walk 15 mins from taxi,auto stand to reach this place anyway their staffs will help to carry the luggages.Its a good option..Har Har Mahadev…
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danny wrote a review Mar 2022
New York City, New York4 contributions
I don't often review hotels, but this place was truly magical. A hidden gem tucked away on a little side-street, with a ton of character and breathtaking balcony views. It also has a restaurant with some of the best food I had in Varanasi. I loved waking up every day and seeing the Ganga out my window, then eating a delicious breakfast in the serene and beautifully decorated courtyard. I was a little nervous about this place when I booked it, but I need not have been -- it was perfect, and the very friendly staff could not have been more welcoming. If you're visiting Varanasi, this is absolutely the place to book. You won't regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The river-facing rooms are totally worth it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HONEYISH wrote a review Mar 2022
Mumbai, India386 contributions183 helpful votes
Right on the Bank of Ganga G-well within the new Complex of Shri Kashi Vishwanath G temple-Beatiful Location on Mir Ghat which right in the centre of Lalita Ghat(Shri Kashi Vishwanath G Temple n where PM Shri Narendra Modi G take Dip in Ganga G) and Dashashmegh Ghat where all the Aarti of Ganga G is taking place every evening..Their Super Deluxe Room Category has a unique feature which I beleive no Hotel in Banaras has that is one can see the Sun Rise by sleeping on the Bed and if You come out in the Balcony then it looks much beautiful.Super Deluxe category rooms are really really spacious and Beautiful. They are having viewing Galary for all the Guest of the Guest House.They have an access to Ganga G within the Guest House..Best View of Entire Kashi is from their Terrace Restaurent which is really wonderful Place to have a Meal..Breakfast-Lunch-Dinner... Best part in the food we like it's Masala Tea-which all the foreigner would love to have it in India as well as Milk Coffee..they are amazing.. The staff they have are trained like a Five Start Hotel Management and they will try to make You Happy n be helpful through out 24 hours.. They have their own Taxi service to lift from the Railway station as well as Airport. Even the Driver is very courteous..they are offering City Tour of Banaras for almost 6 hours which is worth Going through in the afternoon by showing near by places Like Ramnagar Fort-Sarnath Temple n will introduce You to the Delicacy of FAmous Banaras Lassi and taking You inside of Banaras Hindu University which is very very Famous..n visit the famous Textile weaving Factory.. Their Directors too are very very Supportive as well as informative.. M.D. Shambhukumar G(ChikuBhai) is well versed with so many Language knowing the true Value of Hospitality..as well as Great Personality. Director Mr.Bipin is also very much informative regarding near by places as well as the Temples especially "KaL Bhairav G" temple n it is because of him we understood about so many temples near by.. Receptionist Amit is very very supportive always Helpful even during the very early hour of the Day.. Overall I beleive this Guest House is a complete Package of Pilgrimage Tour along with FAmous Banaras Ghats..one can pemper themselves by eating Beautiful Banaras Delicacies Near by too n taking a Dip in Ganga G very much accessible..…
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Super Deluxe Rooms are the Best one to choose though they are bit expensive..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
christian r wrote a review Dec 2021
Chatenay-Malabry, France1 contribution
Fantastic place, fantastically clean, fantastic view on Ganga and main ghat, very well located and the last but not the least fantastic 👍🙏 staff and owners, always ready to help. Best guest house ever and i have been traveling in India for last 25 years. I recommend 200%
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The deluxe room with balcony are a cool treat and really worth the very decent price. Indulge...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vasundhara S wrote a review Nov 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India46 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
I had booked two rooms in the hotels,one overlooked the river ganga with a private and the other a budget room. And i must say i recieved what i was promised. The premium category room had a private balcony with a clear view of the ghats ,left being manikarnika (at a distance) and right till the assi ghat. If you are lucky enough to get q clear sky then the sunrays will actually fall on ur face.The hotel is an old heritage building with good spacious rooms,good ventilation bt no phones to call service boys. You actually have to come out of the rooms and shout their names. The day we reached,we had already informed the hotel and they had send staffs to pick our luggage. One has to walk through the meandering lanes of kashi to reach the hotel. Beautiful location ,absolutely on the meer ghat and very close to the mandir somewhat 5mins. They got a private staircase to tge ghat. One can enjoy the evening breeze sitting in the balcony But its a bit difficult for the aged or those who have difficulties in walking. Be prepared for network issues since theze no tower around. But for those who actually want to get the feel of "Benaras ki Galiyan" just go for it. The overall food is okayish and the staffs are very decent and well trained. …
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room 3 best view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angelsuru wrote a review Sep 2021
New Delhi, India3 contributions
The hotel is highly unsafe in terms of life & death. Actually, we stayed for 1 day n 1 night & on the day when we were about to leave the hotel, the same day my mother got bitten by 2 Monkeys just in front of my room. It was so fast n uncalled for that she wasnot able to move her feet. The hotel staff is just smiles and nothing else. They were too coward to come for help and my mother alone shooed off the monkeys. They have some serious problems in their management.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There were group of monkeys. They can attack any time, so please take care of yourself and your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ganpati Guest House, General Manager at Ganpati Guest House
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear Angelsuru We are sorry for not coming up to your expectations. It is very unfortunate and our staff was unaware that your mother is going to be alone standing in the balcony area. There has been a problem by the monkeys for which we are extremely sorry. We will take up your points very seriously as they are the tools to improve our quality and service levels. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We also thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service. Thanks & regards Senior Operation Manager (Reporting to CEO) Ganpati Guest House
Read more
sananda ghoshal wrote a review Feb 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India2117 contributions115 helpful votes
+1
had the most awesome experience as a solo female traveller staying at this place in varanasi. stayed for 3 nights (some nights i think i must be the only guest there) . definitely book the premium rooms with the balcony even if costs a bit more. just sitting there and soaking through the ambience of the city is the best feeling ever. rooms r clean, service excellent. felt very safe (as a solo female ). the staff just amazing. the pickup from airport was totally smooth . mr. amit, mr kisan and mr shailendra were very helpful and nice people. already recommended many of my friends that this is the place to stay. p.s: only disappointment was the food. this may be due to lack of regular staff due to the pandamic. i hope they inform that and that would be great
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: room number 13 had the best views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ganpati Guest House, General Manager at Ganpati Guest House
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear Sananda g On behalf of all the Hotel staff, we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Varanasi, and for taking out time to write your valuable review. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in our hotel. Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a proper way to satisfy our guests. Thanks & regards Senior Operation Manager Ganpati Guest House
Read more
ElodieC940 wrote a review Dec 2020
New Delhi, India5 contributions1 helpful vote
We were lucky enough to be in Varanasi for Dev Deepawali and it was incredible to see everything from our own room. Our only "complain" was that the room was a bit pricy for the simple standard it was and that, not including breakfast. We understood that we are paying for location and that the year had been difficult for the tourism industry and did not negotiate further. The staff was helpful and pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing the Ganga are fantastic although a little pricy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ganpati Guest House, General Manager at Ganpati Guest House
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear ElodieC940 Thank you for choosing to stay with us & taking out your precious time to write your review. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Varanasi. Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and above all to share your experiences with our future guests. Your satisfaction is our goal, so reading comments like yours makes us feel very happy. Thank you again, we’ll be waiting for you and your family at Ganpati Guest House in near future. Thanks & regards Senior Operation Manager Ganpati Guest House
Read more
Previous
123456…
PRICE RANGE
$21 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ganpati guest house hotel varanasi
LOCATION
IndiaUttar PradeshVaranasi DistrictVaranasi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ganpati Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Ganpati Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Ganges River (0.4 km), Banaras Ghats (0.4 km), and Dasaswamedh Ghat (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ganpati Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Ganpati Guest House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Ganpati Guest House?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ganpati Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vishnu Tea Emporium, Niyati Cafe, and Dosa Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ganpati Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Ganpati Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Ganpati Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ganpati Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ganpati Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Ganpati Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Batuk Bhairav Mandir (2.0 km), Ramnagar Fort (3.1 km), and Chet Singh Ghat (1.6 km).
Does Ganpati Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.