We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ganpati Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ganpati Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,395: English reviews
Start your review of Ganpati Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked the hotel, transporation and a tour from the hotel. The hotel is great for teh money and at a great location. Due to the prime minster visit on that day, our original tour was canceled and a new proposal from the hotel. We ended up with a tour to Sarnath, a walking tour in Varanasi and a 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 912rickyw
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

No room service. Not even a phone to call reception. No drinking water provided in room or in the floor. No lift. Be prepared to climb three floors if you have one of those rooms in 3rd floor. No hot water. If you need a tea or drinking water(unless you have stock), you have to climb down three floors, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rameshvr
vancouver, BC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is a gem. It is right on the ghats. We had rooms 3 and 4. Connecting rooms as we had our teenage sons with us. Beautiful view of the ghats. Located between dasaswamedh ghat ( main with night aarti) and manikarnika ghat (burning). They also have cheaper rooms without ghat view. No cars can get into old area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janvancouver_BC
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & taking out your precious time to write here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Varanasi . Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and above all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this hotel specifically because of the trip advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. I was collected from the airport by car and then dropped off the the start of the lanes, where cars cannot drive through and met by a porter who carried both my bags and Prakash, one of the hotel's recommended tour guides. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally32Rob
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We also thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in our hotel. Thank you again, We'll be...

Warminster
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ganpati is the place to be! Fantastic location central to everything you could wish for, great rooms and a rooftop restaurant with a view to die for. What more could you ask for. We never wanted to leave and the only way we could was by planning the next visit. Go.. you won't regret it. We were in the annexe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisawoods
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & taking out your precious time to write here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Varanasi . Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and above all...

Jersey City, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved the room on the Ganga, the first night I just sat and meditated and felt amazing. The restaurant is also nice. I gave it a 3 because I wanted a tour guide and that was not a great experience. It was a young guy, who I think worked in a local shop that knew very little of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We also thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in our hotel. We are sorry for your...

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for a month and enjoyed the stay very much. Varanasi is intense, so staying in nice place is crucial. Fantastic view from the rooftop and a lovely leafy courtyard. I am looking forward to my next time in Varanasi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and above all to share your experiences with our future guests. Your satisfaction is our goal, so reading comments like yours makes us feel very happy. Thank you again, We'll be waiting for you and your family at Ganpati Guest House in near future. With Regards...

wales, uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived after 3 weeks travel....met by porters who shouldered our bags and walked us through the traffic, alleyways, approx 20 mins. So not for those with mobility problems!! Arrived to a warm greeting, any problem solved , courtyard with flowers and art, headed for the rooftop where ...yes egg and chips !! Watching the boats on the Ganges.... Staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rolfeWales
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

On behalf of all the Hotel staff we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Varanasi, and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location right on the Ganges, with boat tours just downstairs that are organized for you. If you want to walk, you're right in the heart of the city. They also have a roof top restaurant with great views!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

On behalf of all the Hotel staff we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Varanasi, and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in...

Sebastopol, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Guest House is a magical oasis set on the banks of the Ganges. It is in very close proximity to sunrise boat excursions, the Golden Temple, and the "burning ghat". There is s fabulous rooftop restaurant with delicious foods and drinks. There are lots of Vegan options. The rooms are super clean and very well appointed. The bathrooms have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gamcaldwell
GanpatiGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Ganpati Guest House, responded to this review

On behalf of all the Hotel staff we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Varanasi, and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to host you again in...

1,158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (186)
Viewed
Room/Suite (148)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (123)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (548)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (27)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 76 in Varanasi
1,143 reviews
0.5 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 76 in Varanasi
195 reviews
0.9 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 76 in Varanasi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
4.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.5 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 76 in Varanasi
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Price Range: ₹ 1,307 - ₹ 4,314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ganpati Guest House staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Ganpati Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to get room in a ground floor or first floor in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles rameshvr, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the ganga”
 of 5 bubbles 167suzannet, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book ahead for river view”
 of 5 bubbles rolfeWales, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony room with a view of the Ganges.”
 of 5 bubbles emilymE1995BU, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the Ganges.”
 of 5 bubbles gamcaldwell, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.com
Agoda.com
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates