Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi

Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi

D 24/12 Pandey Ghat Bengali Tola D 24/12 Bengali Tola, Varanasi 221001 India
Traveller (83)
Gutes Bett rechts unten im 6er Mixed Dorm, empfohlen
Room & Suite (14)
カレー風味のピラフとチャイ
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#10 of 60 hostels in Varanasi
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi is housed in a 500 year old refurbished mansion next to an 1800 year old temple in the tourist centre and less than a 1 minute walk from the River Ganges and all popular cultural attractions. The hostel is perfectly located for those wanting to discover the fascinating network of alleys dating back to more than 2000 years famous temples such as the Vishwanath Temple and the burning ghats are just a short walk away . Multiple common rooms are available to our guests including an in-house cinema , library and our chic rooftop kitchen which offers amazing views of the ganges . A set breakfast is included in the price . The hostel offers several bespoke guided walking tours at very reasonable prices which includes boat tours and several other social activities . The hostel is open 24 hours a day and luggage storage is provided prior to check in and after the check out time. The Bunkedup Hostel is centrally located near all major attractions We have no curfew and the reception is open 24 hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

D 24/12 Pandey Ghat Bengali Tola D 24/12 Bengali Tola, Varanasi 221001 India
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Varanasi Airport
113Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 20
  • 3
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tessmanali23 wrote a review Aug 2019
25 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A refurbished temple in the heart of Varanasi streets - couldn't recommend this place enough! Rooms were comfortable, clean showers and the staff organised a boat tour to the gange ceremony for us which was phenomenal! Ideal location for everything and newly opened cafe for free breakfast with really good vibes.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sssingh2018 wrote a review May 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia21 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I ended up arriving here at 3am due to a horrendously slow and delayed train and the guys at the reception were so kind to me! After unlocking the door, the night shift guy gave me a huge hug and asked if I was ok. They gave me water and let me do the check in process the next morning so I could go to bed. Small things, but the kindness makes such a difference. Nice place, good breakfast, cool rooftop.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DubaiAmanda wrote a review Jan 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates52 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved this place - the staff were so friendly and they went out of their way to be helpful. Their recommendations led to us having the best time in Varanasi which far exceeded our expectations. The hostel is well run and the roof top is AMAZING - the views of the Ganges are excellent and the food was superb. Would definately stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: the ladies dorm has views of the ganges
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peeknockyo wrote a review Mar 2018
Berlin, Germany19 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a twin bed private room. Sid is an excellent host and the hostel is very social, which makes me give the hostel three instead of only two points. The AC was a plus.

The pictures online are a little too good. I mean a bit of photoshop is ok, but the place is a little worn down.

We actually do not care too much about worn down places, but we do care about cleanliness. The (still wet!) pee stains on our private toilet were a real turn off. Not to speak of what we had to see when we opened the lid.

The aluminum doors are super thin and you can hear everything happening on the hallway. Plus the window glass is not put properly into the frames which makes a lot of noise when windy. We could barely sleep at night, also the mattress was very hard.

We got many mosquito bites as the rooms are not closed but have open spaces between some windows and doors.

There are only two people speaking useful English in the hostel. Good luck getting what you want if no one of them is around.

Food on the roof top is not nearly as good as expected after all the reviews we read. We had some of the worst Indian food of our journey up there. Breakfast is included, but from six options there were only three available, and not the Indian ones, which bothered us a lot.

Our still wet (!) laundry arrived five minutes before checkout. But the guys forgot to book our cab to the airport anyways. The replacement taxi did not show up either. We had to pay some random taxi at a higher rate and almost missed our flight.

Summary: good for individual travelers on a budget. But we expected more.

PS: Sorry Sid, but maybe take our criticism constructively :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheyenne H wrote a review Nov 2017
45 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After staying at so many amazing hostels in India, this one was a bit of a let down. The hostel was quite grungy, very dim (especially the rooms). It did have a couple of things going for it though- the location is great- close walking distance to the main Ghat and the rooftop has amazing views= nice place to hang out. The staff were a bit hit and miss. Some of them seemed like they didn’t want to be there but there was one great guy who always had good recommendations, especially for food! The breakfast was included but pretty terrible. There was a choice of 5-6 different breakfasts. I tried the 2 Indian choices- poha and parantha and both were the worst dishes I’ve had in India (and I’ve been here nearly 3 months). I also feel for the price, you shouldn’t have to pay extra for toilet paper!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lucy24r wrote a review Nov 2019
Brisbane, Australia25 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hostel due to the good reviews. When we arrived we were taken to a room that was different to the photos on booking.com. The room was a lot more basic, extremely loud with no glass in the top windows. After realising that it was in fact a different hostel, I approached the front desk who confirmed that the original bunked up hostel was having maintenance issues. However they had painted over the old hostel sign with bunked up signage on it making it very deceiving. Furthermore they still attempted to change me the price of the bunked up room which was considerably more expensive than the room rates for the specific hostel. When confronted with this they reduced the price slightly but it was still more expensive than the booking.com price. The room was basic and relatively clean but so loud it was difficult to sleep and the air conditioning didn’t work well due to the windows with no glass in them letting all the cold air out. The breakfast was not enjoyable at all and there was no cutlery. Overall really disappointed and would not recommend staying here at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LFiliatreau wrote a review Sept 2018
Carrboro, North Carolina28 contributions39 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a mixed experience at BunkedUp Hostel. Though the hostel is in an excellent location for sightseeing and visiting the Ghats, we had some difficulty in finding the location when we first arrived in Varanasi. I would recommend finding either the Baskin Robbins, or the the main ghat with the aarti ceremony and asking directions to Kona Cafe from there. The hostel is relatively close to that cafe and you can check for signs to the Dirty Chai.

In terms of the staff, everyone was quite lovely. The employees were very accommodating and kind, but the facilities left much to be desired. Our dorm room was on the second floor and because it's the rainy season and the dorms are carpeted, the room smelled terribly of mildew. The beds and carpet were damp (nearly everything was damp), and there was also quite a bit of trash on the ground in the rooms. In addition to this, the floors of the bathroom were nearly always wet and there was no toilet paper either.

We also wanted to note that though there was space in the basement to hang out, unfortunately the mildew was even worse down there. We saw several mice during our stay as well and the free advertised breakfast consisted simply of bread and tea.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunkedupHostels, General Manager at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Responded 2 Sept 2018
Namaste , Thank you so much for your feedback , an taking out the time to point out the things we've been missing . We do realise the mistake and would not hide behind the excuse of monsoons regarding the smell in the rooms due to the moisture but yes we will put measures to minimise the problem ie we have added room freshness (electronic) . The mice problem and the basement area were in such a situation due to the floodings in the city due to excess rains , and we couldn't fix or renovate whilst the rains were happening and we will fix as soon as possible . Also we have added common slippers to the bathrooms for use of the guest as the floors are wet due to excess usage by 40 guests and we have to constantly mop it through the day . We do offer free toilet paper at the reception and don't advertise for the same to avoid misuse . Again , we hope to host you again and the facts and the points you have mentioned will definitely be fixed if you return to us . Safe Travels . Sidd
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LisaFalck wrote a review Oct 2017
9 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty and dark. Did not clean toilets nor did showers, when really needed. Mice in the rooms. Common room at the rooftop, amazing view but too hot during the day. Staff was great. Sheets to cover up would be great. The breakfast was really good, and you could choose between 6 different meals. It's handy with a restaurant at the rooftop when arriving late. The pictures ain't the best, but gives you an idea of rooftop and view.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laurentdeburge wrote a review Oct 2017
Paris, France5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Well it's not such a cool place, we had a room with AC but tiny and lots of leaks in the bathroom. The rooftop has no shadow so it is impossible to stay there during the day. It may have been a nice place sometime but now it is neglected and derelict. The so called "library" is a bunch of dusty and rotten books, dust is everywhere; I suppose it is ok if you intend to stay for one night, but a longer stay is not a good idea.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lukas S wrote a review Aug 2017
Accra, Ghana70 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hostel is located very close to the ganga river in the small narrow alleys of varanasi, a few Restaurants, bakerys and Shops are located close to it. The boat tours they offer are really awesome, the staff is very helpfull and the food in the restaurant with a view over the City is good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from traveller52001
New Delhi, India39 contributions13 helpful votes
happy journey. you may want to contact the hotel on Facebook or by phone.
Answer from BunkedupHostels
2 contributions
Namaste Traveler , We are located next to the river and is a good 14 minute walk from the main road , and unfortunately do not have 4 wheeler parking spots due to the narrow alleyways . You can park your vehicle at the the main Dasashwamedh ghat or the Cinema which is also a 15 minute walk from the hostel and is a safe spot . Safe travels .
johari j wrote a tip Mar 2018
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best view for sunrise and sunset plus nearby the river"
Read full review
DubaiAmanda wrote a tip Jan 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates52 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the ladies dorm has views of the ganges"
Read full review
Liz F wrote a tip Mar 2017
47 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Single room was a good price and a really good size."
Read full review
Katherine P wrote a tip Feb 2017
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"AC room was still quite hot, might be better to just save cash and stick with the fans."
Read full review
Nipun S wrote a tip Nov 2016
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"best view overlooking the ganges"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varanasi area.
LOCATION
IndiaUttar PradeshVaranasi DistrictVaranasi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUNKEDUP HOSTEL VARANASI - Hostel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Which popular attractions are close to Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Nearby attractions include Ganges River (0.3 km), Dasaswamedh Ghat (0.4 km), and Sutra Yoga (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aadha-Aadha Café, Bowl of Compassion, and Sushi Cafe & Continental Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Batuk Bhairav Mandir (1.5 km), Chet Singh Ghat (0.9 km), and Ramnagar Fort (4.2 km).
All Varanasi HotelsVaranasi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in VaranasiHotels near Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire