We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
D 24/12 Pandey Ghat Bengali Tola D 24/12 Bengali Tola, Varanasi 221001 India
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Vio.com
Etrip
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)

About

#14 of 391 Specialty lodging in Varanasi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi is housed in a 500 year old refurbished mansion next to an 1800 year old temple in the tourist centre and less than a 1 minute walk from the River Ganges and all popular cultural attractions. The hostel is perfectly located for those wanting to discover the fascinating network of alleys dating back to more than 2000 years famous temples such as the Vishwanath Temple and the burning ghats are just a short walk away . Multiple common rooms are available to our guests including an in-house cinema , library and our chic rooftop kitchen which offers amazing views of the ganges . A set breakfast is included in the price . The hostel offers several bespoke guided walking tours at very reasonable prices which includes boat tours and several other social activities . The hostel is open 24 hours a day and luggage storage is provided prior to check in and after the check out time. The Bunkedup Hostel is centrally located near all major attractions We have no curfew and the reception is open 24 hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
113Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 20
  • 3
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
lucy24r wrote a review Nov 2019
Brisbane, Australia25 contributions5 helpful votes
I booked this hostel due to the good reviews. When we arrived we were taken to a room that was different to the photos on booking.com. The room was a lot more basic, extremely loud with no glass in the top windows. After realising that it was in fact a different hostel, I approached the front desk who confirmed that the original bunked up hostel was having maintenance issues. However they had painted over the old hostel sign with bunked up signage on it making it very deceiving. Furthermore they still attempted to change me the price of the bunked up room which was considerably more expensive than the room rates for the specific hostel. When confronted with this they reduced the price slightly but it was still more expensive than the booking.com price. The room was basic and relatively clean but so loud it was difficult to sleep and the air conditioning didn’t work well due to the windows with no glass in them letting all the cold air out. The breakfast was not enjoyable at all and there was no cutlery. Overall really disappointed and would not recommend staying here at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
tessmanali23 wrote a review Aug 2019
26 contributions34 helpful votes
A refurbished temple in the heart of Varanasi streets - couldn't recommend this place enough! Rooms were comfortable, clean showers and the staff organised a boat tour to the gange ceremony for us which was phenomenal! Ideal location for everything and newly opened cafe for free breakfast with really good vibes.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jasmine Butcher wrote a review Aug 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
My experience at bunked up hostel was both memorable and heart warming. Unfortunately a monkey took my phone whilst I was staying in Varanassi and the help and kindness that I received from the staff was very uplifting! The young gentleman (although I forget his name) took me to buy a new phone to make sure I wasn't ripped off! Also Sid and Surya were incredibly helpful through the whole ordeal! They also provided great entertainment and helped me get to my train safely. I have been travelling for 5 months in this beautiful country and have not yet met such wonderfully helpful hosts. The hostel itself is a 300 year old temple, totally unique in nature and coated in years of history and memories. The location is a 30 second walk to the ganges and plenty of nearby shops and restaurants. I will definitely be returning as soon as I am back in the mystical city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PebblesPoontang wrote a review Mar 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at the Neela hostel which was in an excellent location close to the ghats. The reception staff here were very friendly and helpful so it seemed like it was going to be a good option. There is a lovely roof terrace and there was free chai from 5-6pm to meet other travellers. However when we got to the room there was still rubbish left in there and the bathroom was filthy. I went downstairs to speak to the staff (after already having been down once to ask for towels) and someone begrudgingly came up to clean the floors and takeaway the rubbish. Agree with other reviews saying the staff do not seem to like their job. Unfortunately our bedroom was next to the communal eating area and also the kitchen with a grate opening to the bathroom. It was very uncomfortable using the loo when people were cooking in the next room! The shower was barely a dribble and the bathroom smelt very bad. The location of room and grate window to the corridor made it very noisy and were repeatedly woken up at night (in spite of quiet time being 10pm - 8pm). We checked out this next morning. The walking tour was also not good value. We couldn’t really follow what was being said and he didn’t have the best knowledge of the city. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nehul2794 wrote a review Jan 2019
Chandigarh, India1560 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
This hostel has the best view of ganga river. The hostel has 6bed -8bed room with some really nice views. The toilets are clean. The rooftop cafe is beautiful with amazing landscape of river. Overall a great place to stay for a night ..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ben B wrote a review Oct 2018
2 contributions
Absolutely loved staying here and found it hard to leave. The location couldn't be better, the rooftop is fantastic overlooking the ganges, great vibe, but the best thing about this hostel is the staff. They are simply sensational, more like friends and couldn't do more to help. Raj, the smoothest night porter in India, even gave me a lift the the airport! Big thanks to Sid and all of the Bunked Up team, Raj, Ashu, Amit, Aarav, Pregnant Lady and everyone else, keep people smiling! Ben (Priya Prakash) x
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tom G wrote a review Oct 2018
Pully, Switzerland11 contributions3 helpful votes
Really nice stay with amazing people, we came last year and will definitely come back ! We appreciate the location, the atmosphere, the activities and the helpful people. Above all: chai time with sunset!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Aryan A wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution
Great place hidden in the alleyways , hard to get to but worth to walk to it as there’s so much to take in while you walk to the hostel , it was my first time in Varanasi and views from the roof were the best the city has to offer . It was raining everyday so not a lot of social activity as the roof was wet most of the time but I did take part in the waking tours which was definitely very social and I had a great time at the place . Breakfast was omelettes bread and chai also in the roof and was a great part of the day to meet new people .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LFiliatreau wrote a review Sep 2018
Carrboro, North Carolina28 contributions39 helpful votes
We had a mixed experience at BunkedUp Hostel. Though the hostel is in an excellent location for sightseeing and visiting the Ghats, we had some difficulty in finding the location when we first arrived in Varanasi. I would recommend finding either the Baskin Robbins, or the the main ghat with the aarti ceremony and asking directions to Kona Cafe from there. The hostel is relatively close to that cafe and you can check for signs to the Dirty Chai. In terms of the staff, everyone was quite lovely. The employees were very accommodating and kind, but the facilities left much to be desired. Our dorm room was on the second floor and because it's the rainy season and the dorms are carpeted, the room smelled terribly of mildew. The beds and carpet were damp (nearly everything was damp), and there was also quite a bit of trash on the ground in the rooms. In addition to this, the floors of the bathroom were nearly always wet and there was no toilet paper either. We also wanted to note that though there was space in the basement to hang out, unfortunately the mildew was even worse down there. We saw several mice during our stay as well and the free advertised breakfast consisted simply of bread and tea.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BunkedupHostels, General Manager at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Responded 2 Sep 2018
Namaste , Thank you so much for your feedback , an taking out the time to point out the things we've been missing . We do realise the mistake and would not hide behind the excuse of monsoons regarding the smell in the rooms due to the moisture but yes we will put measures to minimise the problem ie we have added room freshness (electronic) . The mice problem and the basement area were in such a situation due to the floodings in the city due to excess rains , and we couldn't fix or renovate whilst the rains were happening and we will fix as soon as possible . Also we have added common slippers to the bathrooms for use of the guest as the floors are wet due to excess usage by 40 guests and we have to constantly mop it through the day . We do offer free toilet paper at the reception and don't advertise for the same to avoid misuse . Again , we hope to host you again and the facts and the points you have mentioned will definitely be fixed if you return to us . Safe Travels . Sidd
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
charypary wrote a review Jun 2018
Edinburgh, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
What an awesome place! I have to start with the everyone who works there, big love to Ashu and Sidd! The staff are what really help to make this Hostel, having stayed in so many hostels in the past it was really nice to stay somewhere where the staff were really making the effort and actually gave a damn about your time there. It's ideal if you are travelling by yourself or in a small group as the rooftop provides amazing views and a great place to socialize and meet other travelers. Lots of rooftop Chai and good tunes in the evening as well! The location is great for all the main things in Varanasi, very close to the waters edge and other points of interest. The rooms are decent with little fans and aircon for when it gets really hot and the breakfast was by far the best we had in India. Everyone really went the extra mile for us including one of the night staff really kindly walking us out to one of the main streets to pick up our cab in the early morning as we kept getting a lost...... (Varanasi is a literal maze). Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IndiaUttar PradeshVaranasi DistrictVaranasi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUNKEDUP HOSTEL VARANASI - Hostel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Which popular attractions are close to Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Nearby attractions include Ganges River (0.3 km), Banaras Ghats (0.3 km), and Dasaswamedh Ghat (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vishnu Tea Emporium, Aadha-Aadha Café, and Bowl of Compassion.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Batuk Bhairav Mandir (1.5 km), Chet Singh Ghat (0.9 km), and Ramnagar Fort (3.2 km).