We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
See the most recent reviews
Showing 456: English reviews
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We stayed in Sinclairs Ooty for 2 nights and 3 days. I stayed in other Sinclair properties e.g. Darjeeling and Siliguri before. I experience some unexplainable home like coziness and warmth in all the Sinclairs properties. Ooty experience was no different. The Ooty hotel is located at a very advantageous location. Most of the popular sightseeing spots are not far... More 

Helpful?
Thank Indranil_Hyd
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Mr Indranil, Thank you for your detailed review of our property. It was a privilege for us that you chose to return to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty after your earlier stay, way back in 2010. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our food. Our three-level landscaped garden from where you have a wonderful... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

All the good reviews seem to be given by their staff. Staff is neither courteous not cooperative. Lunch doesn't start till 1.30 pm. WiFi is not there. Cable connection for TV is always down. Non responsive staff.

Helpful?
Thank Sai Prabhakar V
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, This has reference to your review in TripAdvisor. At the outset we would like to strongly refute your allegation that the good reviews of the hotel are given by our staff. This is untrue and baseless. We would like to respectfully submit that such a statement clearly demonstrates that your review is biased and motivated. Nonetheless, we regret... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Don't get fooled by the picture of the hotel on the website, except the lawn there is nothing that you can enjoy. Rooms are dull , shabby and good place to take any happy person into depression. No ventilation , no AC ( understandable ) but no fans too :-( huh . Staff is anything but courteous, need training in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ravi, Thank you for your review. We are really saddened that you did not like our hotel and your stay with us. While it is your prerogative to post a review of your experience during your stay with us, we wish to respectfully submit that your comments project a very distorted picture of our hotel and appear to... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The Hotel as such is good. Good location, Beautiful scenery; clean, good mattress; toilets are also good. Lift is also clean. Breakfast was complimentary and it was okay. Not so good points: I requested some help with the Wifi but the staff sounded bit rude when I could not understand what he was saying and I asked to repeat. Finally... More 

Helpful?
Thank sbsdrive
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our three level landscaped garden from where you have a wonderful view of the Ooty town as well as the blue mountains is perhaps one of the best in Ooty. As you mentioned internet connectivity in our remote location is a challenge and... More 

Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Duration of visit was 2 nights , we booked two rooms. Rooms were clean staff was professional, food was excellent, it's located in serene backdrop, so even to stay in hotel without going in town or local sightseeing is joyful.

Helpful?
Thank aditi2114
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Ms Aditi, Thank you for an excellent review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and liked our food. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other hotels/resorts at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team at these locations will... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

This resort is situated away from the centre n quiet peaceful . Gives a feeling of warmness n surrounded with the beautiful view of the mountains. The staff is extremely friendly. The food is Too delicious n quiet reasonable. Quantity of food is good n tasty too. Had a memorable visit.

Helpful?
Thank Nisha M
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Ms Nisha, Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We are indeed delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your kind words for our team. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other hotels/resorts at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. We assure... More 

Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Hotel location, view and rooms are excellent. But the service quality is very pathetic. Had to wait for 1 hour to get fresh bath towels. Room phones were not working properly. Very slow services for dinner also. Need to call the staff multiple times for serving water. Overall Hotel staff was lacking basic hospitality etiquettes. Wifi was not working.

Helpful?
Thank prahul75
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our hotel, its location and the wonderful view. We are however saddened that you found shortcomings in our services. We have briefed our team to be more responsive in serving our guests. Please appreciate that being in a remote location stable internet connection is a challenge and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Driving upto the hotel on the narrow road off the highway was unsure of how the hotel would be but one look at the hotel on reaching there and all the doubts went away. Check in was easy and the room was neat and well maintained with a nice view of the valley. Did miss some amenities which normally would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Praveen A
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Mr Praveen, Thank you for your excellent review of our property. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also thankful to you for your appreciation of our team members. Our three level landscaped garden from where you have a wonderful view of the Ooty town as well as the blue mountains is perhaps... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2016

average only 1. food could have been better 2. wi-fi connection was only for name sake 3. poor circulation of air in our room... (number 328) 4.room was stinky..and saffocating 5. breakfast was average

Helpful?
1 Thank Manish P
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Mr Manish, Thank you for your review. We are saddened that you found shortcomings in our property. Please appreciae that being in a remote location stable internet connection is a challenge and there are occasions when the connectivity is poor. Once we have a stable connection from internet service providers, we shall be able to offer stable and fast... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The service was good. The rooms are very clean and spacious. 24 hrs hot water supply. Food was excellent. View point from this hotel is amazing. I will recommend Sinclairs to my friends and relatives.

Helpful?
1 Thank sathish k
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Mr Sathish, Thank you for an excellent review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our food. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other hotels/resorts at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team at these locations will render... More 

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.1 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.7 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.3 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
2.2 km away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#9 of 78 in Ooty
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Price Range: ₹ 4,593 - ₹ 8,911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sinclairs Retreat Ooty staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sinclairs Retreat Ooty staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for rooms overlooking the valley”
 of 5 bubbles LeenaIM, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views .Good lawn area for party”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get rooms overlooking the hills”
 of 5 bubbles Dapppa, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“any rooms have a good view”
 of 5 bubbles rams_anups, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Select the Premium rooms to have the city view and rooms are located down the lobby which is one of it's kind.”
 of 5 bubbles VinayK655, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay