We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Save
Share
Gorishola Road,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Booking.com
US$ 74
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$ 85
US$ 56
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/09/21
Hotels.comUS$ 66
Trip.comUS$ 85
eDreamsUS$ 74
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1083)
360
Panoramas (26)
Room & Suite (444)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 195 hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Entertainment staff
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Table tennis
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Family
Languages Spoken
Hindi
1388Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 864
  • 280
  • 115
  • 49
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Selvan H wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Worst management Firstly the worst hotel i have ever been in . This lockdown time. The service in the hotel is a joke.The guy who works in the reception, he do not know the rules of hotel management. We planned for 2nights. During this lockdown time they not supposed to give the room, but luckily we got the room after having a word with Mr. Anup. We spent one night enjoy mentally . Next day morning they requested us , for early checkout .its make us panic . They not supposed to tell that . cops are coming to check the hotel so please do the checkout early he said. Without police permission they offered the room during lockdown. we are 3. Anup offered suit room for us. Before doing checkin we questioned him, is the hotel is opened??? he replied with the smile , we are always welcome for the guest. But next day morning his behaviour quite different We are disappointed with the management. No wifi to be found and poor to cell reception wouldn’t recommend waisting your time here . We were lied to the staff, who had service the food to us. We said him we are the police guest. Its make us shameless. We are sorry to him.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sinclairs Hotels, Owner at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Responded 12 May 2021
Dear Sir, It is extremely unbecoming of you to post a review of your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. On your arrival we had informed you that the hotel has been closed on account of Covid 19. You misrepresented to us that you are related to Police Officials and only on your insistence we allotted a suite room to you. You were fully aware that the hotel is closed and because of your pleading, out of human considerations and considering your predicament, we allotted a suite to you. Naturally in view of the closure of the hotel, which you were fully aware, none of the facilities were working. Therefore it is indeed unfair on your part to complain about the poor services. Since you have yourself admitted that you were ‘shameless’, we have nothing further to add. We are not concerned that you are disappointed with the management, because we will be happy not to have guests like you in our hotel.
Read more
akshay k wrote a review May 2021
Bengaluru, India14 contributions
+1
Very good hotel with excellent facilities like gym badminton tt carrom. Went there during March 2021. The view from room was very good. Food is good . We had the best dal tadka and jeera rice with papad. No need to go out for any meal. Although only breakfast is included as complementary. Thanks to all the staff especially preetam who made our stay very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sinclairs Hotels, Owner at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Responded 12 May 2021
Dear Mr Akshay, Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you loved the happy times spent at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. We are one of the best located hotel in Ooty and the green and natural surroundings are a great treat to the guests. We offer a variety of cuisines to cater to the varied taste of our guests. We are thankful to you for your appreciation of our team members. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. We also invite you to visit our seven other properties at Siliguri, Gangtok, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team will ensure that you will have a great stay.
Read more
Abhilashvarma85@gmail.com wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I had been there with my friend.we have done late chickin in arrival day.we had issues with my carrier. On check in time no one is there in front desk at the night time.only the security was standing in front desk but he doesn't know what to do.we waited for long time after that one guy come did the formalities,his is not a professional.we requested yhe room upgrade but he said no rooms.i called from the room to front desk no one received the call at midnight.samething happened in the early morning also.this is a basic step actually in front desk anyone guy as to be there because of calls, guest requesting anything....I went to the reception there also no one is there.i don't like with the reception guy (his hair made brown color )this is a identity. His is not a standard grooming also..his looking stupid as an owl.we hated the behavior..we done the checkout early in the morning because of him..so Totally we disappointed with the sta.the band need be illuminat him it was horrible stay. Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sinclairs Hotels, Owner at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Responded 28 Apr 2021
Dear Mr Varma, Thank you for your review which we would like to respectfully submit, is an attempt to portray a wrong perception of our property! We usually do paid up-gradation on request but only subject to availability of rooms and our front office team and the Manager himself politely explained to you; however please do inform us about your next visit, so that we can allot a room accordingly. Please be assured that guest satisfaction and superior services are our prime consideration. We strongly urge you to visit us again – we assure you that you will return with happy memories as many of our guests do!
Read more
CDasgupta wrote a review Apr 2021
Bangalore, Karnataka, India38 contributions30 helpful votes
Great location - away from the center & hustle bustle. Possibly the highest location in Ooty at this point of time. Great view of the valley from the property and rooms(you should choose valley view rooms). Mr. Sumanta who is the Food & Beverage Manager is a great guy and you can count on him to ensure you are well taken care off with regards to food. Chef Chandan will always make you happy from his kitchen and his staff. Mr. Pritam Singh who was in charge of room services took very good care of us. So great staff, whom you can always rely upon for satisfaction & services. I enjoyed my stay thoroughly and i am sure most of you will.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose Valley View Rooms on the 3rd Floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sinclairs Hotels, Owner at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Responded 21 Apr 2021
Dear Mr Dasgupta, Thank you for your great comments. Yes we do agree that our location is perhaps one of the best in town; one gets a breathtaking view of the Ooty town as well as the Nilgiris. At every Sinclairs property, much care is taken about food. Your good words about the variety and quality of food are very encouraging. We take personal care of our guests and go all out to ensure that their stay in enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to any of our seven other properties at Siliguri, Gangtok, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. We assure you of a memorable stay.
Read more
Sivaraj wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
We throughly enjoyed our stay with sinclairs retreat ooty, Ex chef and his team prepared homely bengali food for us and mind-blowing service provided by fnb team. Room cleaning and sanitization was upto our satisfaction. Check in and Check out was smooth. We will definitely come back. I wish all the best to entire sinclairs team.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sinclairs Hotels, Owner at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Responded 21 Apr 2021
Dear Mr Sivaraj, Thank you for your wonderful review. Our greatest USP is the wonderful location and green and serene surroundings. Guests can relax and rejuvenate here away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The Sinclairs team of chefs always prepares food according to the taste and likings of our guests. Your kind words are a great source of motivation for us. We have taken extra precautions and care to follow diligently the Covid 19 protocols because for us it is important that our guests are safe. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. We also invite you to visit our seven other properties at Siliguri, Gangtok, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team will ensure that you will have a great stay.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sinclairs retreat ooty hotel ootacamund
LOCATION
IndiaTamil NaduThe Nilgiris DistrictOoty (Udhagamandalam)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Which popular attractions are close to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty?
Nearby attractions include Upper Bhavani Lake (1.4 km), Avalanche Lake (3.2 km), and Government Botanical Garden (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ascot Multi Cuisine Restaurant at Ooty, Le Cafe, and Earl's Secret.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sinclairs Retreat Ooty have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sinclairs Retreat Ooty offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Sinclairs Retreat Ooty have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Sinclairs Retreat Ooty accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.