We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3/330 A5, Drumella Estate 1, Coonoor 643104 India
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (16)
Bathroom (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 22/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 22/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Coonoor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perched at the edge of a cliff and with a magnificent view of the rolling Nilgiri hills and the plains below, The Xanadu is the top choice for guests holidaying in Coonoor. Set amidst lush gardens and with insta-worthy views this charming villa offers contemporary comforts and is the perfect escape from the hurried and rushed life. The Xanadu is a stylish 3 bedroom villa built with Scandinavian architectural features. This tastefully done up villa has 2 Double bedrooms and 1 Twin room. It constantly receives rave reviews from guest for its plush interiors, spectacular views and two verdant landscaped gardens. It has high vaulted ceilings, polished wooden floors and the ceiling to floor length windows makes you feel you are outdoors even while lounging indoors. Being east facing, it allows you to wake up to magnificent sunrises cozily tucked in your bed. On a clear day you can see right up to the Mettupalayam plains. The bright and spacious bedrooms and bathrooms have been aesthetically done up. You also have the choice to lounge outdoors amidst nature and take in the magnificent view. The two lush green lawns are a big favourite... and children can even pitch a tent! On cold winter nights, cuddle up in front of the electric fire place in the Living Room. At The Xanadu, watch the hills magically appear and disappear in the famous 'Nilgiri' blue haze. Night time opens a veritable jewellery box as millions of stars twinkle mischievously in the inky blue sky and the lights of the plains shimmer magnificently below. Be prepared to shelve your well-planned sightseeing trip and simply luxuriate at The Xanadu!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Outdoor furniture
Secured parking
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate living room
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil
14Reviews3Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
alokbajpai wrote a review Apr 2022
Bengaluru, India27 contributions12 helpful votes
We read quite good reviews and booked the place. first the good things: it was well located in terms of accessibility and also the views. Built recently so it was reasonably well maintained. The current cook makes good food. But disappointments were aplenty: - the room we got was pretty tiny with hardly space to move around - the rooms dont have windows, Actually the whole house doesnt have windows. Its all fixed glass! Few doors that they have are to be generally kept closed due to the monkey menace. So the house remains very stuffy. - 2 caretakers boys were totally untrained and unorganised. For every small thing, they had to be reminded and asked for, even for normal drinking water. One day morning we woke up and in the common kitchenet there was neither drinking water, nor tea bags, just nothing. - Overall, the experience wasnt so pleasant. The management at the site surely needs a lot of sprucing up.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear alokbajpai, Thank you for taking time to review us. Our sincere apologies for your poor experience with regard to our staff. I would like to personally assure you that this is not our service standard at all. Unfortunately our team though well trained and aware of the standards erred in their duties. Our standard practice is refilling all the water jugs and tea/ coffee tray multiple times a day if required so that the guests have anything they require at hand and needn't bother calling the staff. We have fitted netlon screens on the side doors of the bedrooms opening on to the garden to air the room and prevent the monkeys from entering the room. Our staff has been instructed to open the doors daily. They obviously failed on both counts. The room you stayed in is smaller than the other two rooms at the villa and the rate for this is lower. The other 2 rooms were already booked when you had made your online reservation and hence you didn't have the option for booking the larger rooms. We would like to let you know that since your departure, we have posted an experienced executive at the property. The service team too has been counselled. We hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to extend the hospitality that we are known for. Regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arun Kumar G wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at Xanadu Coonoor for 2 nights. Apart from a breathtaking view of the valley, the facility run by Aparna offers 5-star experience to guests. Beautiful sky view, rolling hills, chirping birds and verdant surroundings elevate your stay to the next level. Food is excellent and staff led by manager Yuvraj are very supportive. Overall, Xanadu experience has been exhilarating
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Arun Kumar Govindraj, Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your wife. Our tagline is 'Check in. Breathe Out.' and we are delighted that you experienced the same during your stay at The Xanadu. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Xanadu. Regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slowtrav wrote a review Feb 2022
Chennai (Madras), India221 contributions131 helpful votes
The views of terraced tea gardens are the best part about Xanadu. The bedding is comfortable and the bedroom is decently sized. The level of hospitality did not match the high tariff. The toiletries were ordinary, the drawers in the bathroom cabinet were very difficult to pull out and we gave up. The "air cooler" did not really cool; water had to be added to its top compartment and once that evaporated, more water needed to be added. There were no special touches, either with breakfast or the meals. The staff is very friendly and eager to take care of guests' needs. However, the cook's repertoire is quite limited, and he cooks from ready-made spice packets. Had I considered this place a 'shared room' on an AirBnB site, I would not have been disappointed. My husband I visited XANADU during December and were unprepared to have 1 bedroom in a shared house with guests in 2 other bedrooms. The common living room and seating in the adjoining veranda felt somewhat cramped. Most of the time, we felt confined to our bedrooms. We had an overnight train and the hostess accommodated us so that we stayed a few extra hours by paying partial room charges. On our own, we found information about restaurants, hikes, places to visit. The place is not centrally located so a car is a must to get around. XANADU is located in a gated community, which made it feel like we had not left our own home.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear slowtrav, Thank you for your review. I am however a little confused with some of your observations: 1. We offer guests Biotique toiletries that too the larger size and not any run of the mill unbranded toiletries. We offer an entire set of complimentary amenities which includes shampoo, moisturizer, shower gel, dental kit, comb, disposal bag, shower cap and disposable slippers. 2. You have mentioned about air coolers. Since you were staying during New Year's time, guests typically use the room heaters in Coonoor and not the air coolers. As the latter is not in use, we do not fill it to avoid stagnation of the water. When the cooler is used in the hotter months, our staff fills up water daily. 3. With regard to food, you had a special dietary requirement which we may not have met. However as you know we offer South Indian, North Indian and Chinese dishes which not many home stays offer. 4. It is understandable that one may not be comfortable with other guests around. When you had made the booking, you were aware that you were booking one room in a 3 bedroom villa and that there will be other guests. During your stay there was just another couple and their teenage son who stayed in the 2 rooms and my staff had mentioned that you were very comfortable with them and even had dinner together. Hence it comes as a surprise to read your comments about feeling uncomfortable with them being around! . 5. We have printed a Guest Handbook which is placed in the rooms for guests to know not just about the property but about Coonoor, its history and even includes a list of restaurants and shops one can visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MayankaKapoor wrote a review Dec 2021
Bengaluru, India149 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
At the time of booking itself I had this confident vibe that this place is going to blow away our minds! Xanadu Coonoor was all that and much more for us! This place is stunning! The glass walls, the lovely warm and cozy living room, the massive lawn in front and the valley view as far as the eyes can see....all take your breath away. The sunrise every morning is worth waiting for....I used to wake up at 3 a.m each day in excitement of experiencing it! Spectacular is an understatement for what we used to witness!   This is really the kind of place where time stands still! A kind of place where you can really let go of our daily hustle bustle worries and hurries of life and connect with yourself...feel the mist in your breath....let the first ray of the sun kiss your cheeks...let the first dew of the mornings caress your feet....a place where you can find oneness with yourself! This place was so peaceful and so utterly beautiful that no amount of descriptions can encapsulate the magic of Xanadu for us! This needs to be experienced! Our lovely team of 2 at Xanadu...Ganesh and Karthik took such great care of us with their love and attention, pampering us totally with their dishes and service! Aparna mam....as I said...your home in the Nilgiris is now also ours! We will not just recommend this place to friends and families to visit...but also keep visiting ourselves to soak in the magic of Xanadu!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the entire villa and is best visited with groups of friends or families
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 12 Dec 2021
Thank you so much Mayanka for your review. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us. The Xanadu was started so that all our guests can enjoy the beauty of nature, specially Coonoor. We are so happy that you experienced our tagline, 'Check in. Breathe Out." We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to your home in the Niligiris, soon! Regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Namit wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions
+1
The Xanadu is an experience. It is what you see and feel while standing in that garden on the hill top at 530 AM. It is that experience of feeling the mist rising from the valley and going across the property. Of experiencing sun rise like you’ve not seen before. It is that experience package that you get when you stay at Xanadu. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear NamitM07, Thank you so much for your review and kind words. Yes, Xanadu is an experience and we are glad that you were able to experience albeit your short trip. It was a pleasure hosting you at The Xanadu. We look forward to hosting you at Coonoor or one of our other properties, soon! Regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ranganath T wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Come here to rewind and immerse yourself in a surreal experience. The Xanadu is all about breathtaking views that come packaged with a beautiful designed place that is modern, stylish and homely. The location is a 1-in-a-million-one and you are literally on Cloud 9 as the hills, clouds, valley and vagaries of weather combine to give you ever changing views of the world outside. The sounds of nature - birds, crickets and the wind are your constant companion. For Aparna who owns this place it is clearly a labour of love and it shows.The rooms are beautifully designed with a massive floor to ceiling glass window that opens into the garden and the valley, wooden floors and a very high ceiling. They are spacious and lovely. If you are contemplating a holiday to the hills or just any holiday for that matter just head out here without a second thought !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear Ranganatht2016, Thank you so much for your generous and kind review. It was a pleasure hosting both of you at The Xanadu. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations. Your words speak for your love for nature and we are glad that you enjoyed your time amidst the clouds, mist,flora and fauna. We look forward to hosting you at Coonoor or one of our other properties, soon! Regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharmila wrote a review Apr 2021
Bengaluru, India27 contributions28 helpful votes
With a beautiful overlooking hill view, good place to put up for a weekend getaway. Birds' chirping sound along with mist flowing in while on the deck in the mornings was a great feeling. And the food served by Ganesh and Kartik was detectable. They are very good care takers. Very sweet boys. Wish them all the very best in life. Anyone wanting to visit Coonoor particularly Xenadu would be ideal to have your own vehicle since the location is slightly interior. And also Xenadu would be a right choice to stay for a weekend getaway especially in this pandemic. Otherwise also it would be a perfect place for people who want to be totally isolated. According to us tariff was slightly high but considering pandemic it was great. Thank you so much Aparna..wish you good luck!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear SharmilaDevang, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you at The Xanadu. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and connected with nature. We will pass your compliments to Ganesh and Karthik. We look forward to hosting you at Coonoor or one of our other properties, soon! Regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SG wrote a review Feb 2021
Bengaluru, India16 contributions1 helpful vote
We happened to come across Xanadu while searching for options to stay at Coonoor and it was the best decision ever! This was our 2nd or 3rd visit to Coonoor and we wanted a secluded place which was premium had good views and yet not too inaccessible if we wanted to venture out.. Xanadu was all that and much much more! Subhash the manager at the property was a brilliant host and ensured we were catered too at all times. He is also the chef and ensures that you try out all the specialties during your stay. The property is on the edge of a cliff inside a gated community and has uninterrupted view of the valley around. There is a well stocked bookshelf & loads of board games as well. We stayed here for 2 nights and loved our experience. The sunrise at the property is a must watch and it totally mesmerises you! I would recommend Xanadu as a must stay option while at Coonoor! Aparna the owner of the property is extremely involved & warm and goes out of her way to ensure that your stay is well taken care off!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose the premium room with the private balcony if you are only taking 1 room as a couple
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear SGhosh911, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you at The Xanadu. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting you at Coonoor or one of our other properties, soon! Regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aarifaziz wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India1 contribution2 helpful votes
Our family loved Xanadu! What a location.... edge of the hill with clouds rising from the valley. Well maintained property, simple home cooked food and very responsive staff ! As one sips team in the morning overlooking the valley, stress evaporates in thin air !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Dear aarifaziz, Thank you very much for taking time out to write your review and your kind words. We are delighted to know that you and your family loved your stay at Xanadu. We completely agree with you when you say that sipping a cuppa in the morning overlooking the valley makes stress evaporate into thin air! This is the reason why our tagline is - 'Check in. Breathe Out.' We look forward to welcoming you and your family back, soon. Best regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prateeksha S wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India2 contributions
I came across their insta page and booked this property. Aparna was very helpful with the booking and it was absolutely hassle-free. The contact details of the care taker and the map was shared beforehand. The villa turned out to be even better than in the pictures. The care taker- Subash's hospitality and food gets a 10/10. It has a lovely reading nook, board games, scenic view, good food, wifi, Netflix - Perfect for staycation/workation. I have been gushing about this place to friends since the time I've returned. Can't wait to be back! Thanks Team Xanadu for the comfortable stay. :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Dear prateedshetty, Thank you so much for your heartfelt review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the food, views and the entire experience at Xanadu! Thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Xanadu, soon! Best regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaTamil NaduThe Nilgiris DistrictCoonoor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Xanadu
Which popular attractions are close to The Xanadu?
Nearby attractions include Sim`s Park (4.4 km), Highfield Tea Factory (3.7 km), and Dolphin's Nose (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Xanadu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Xanadu?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at The Xanadu?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Xanadu?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Xanadu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Café Diem, Open Kitchen, and Gateway Coonoor - Dining hall.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Xanadu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Tamil.