The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur

The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur

Beautiful design
Traveller (4990)
Panorama of the Kohinoor Suite at The Oberoi Udaivilas
360
Panoramas (16)
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#3 of 362 hotels in Udaipur
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. The hotel is equipped with Electric Vehicle charging stations as well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Haridasji Ki Magri, Mulla Talai, Udaipur 313001 India
3,559Reviews67Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,257
  • 204
  • 54
  • 28
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andrew wrote a review Mar 2023
Los Angeles, California
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
TL;DR: This is a resort of the highest caliber, by global standards. The property itself is one of the more beautifully designed and managed settings we’ve stayed in over the course of either of our travels (40+ countries each, across all 6 populated continents). If you’re lucky enough to have the opportunity to stay here, you shouldn’t hesitate to take it.

Details of our stay:

My fiancé and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a broader trip around Asia. The hotel is spread out over their expansive plot, so you’re going to “get your steps in” as you move around the property, but the result is a feeling of privacy, space, and quiet even when they’re fully booked. Aside from breakfast, you won’t feel like many other guests are around.

Arrival is an experience in itself and was a very start strong. Be sure to opt into the arrival by Audi (request Suresh, he was our driver throughout our stay and is kind, attentive, and professional) and then boat, as your driver will take you to a dock and one of their boats will give you private mini-cruise across the lake and past the islands to the hotel; it’s a very attractive view and helps you get your bearings a bit. Durga and Prabhu man the front gate in full uniform and are always waiting to warmly welcome you back (special thanks to Prabhu for patiently taking photos of us). The lobby and surrounding rooms are gorgeous. I won’t spoil the details.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was particularly luxurious and we had a garden suite with a back porch, which was lovely as the light softened in the afternoons and the peacocks were strolling around. The bed was quite firm, but still comfortable. The room staff arranged a particularly nice welcome for us, surprises at multiple points throughout, and capitalized on both big and little opportunities to make our stay special - thanks to Maynal, Mitesh, and Mrunal for their impressive attention to detail and thoughtfulness.

The food is consistently very good, with moments of excellence. Their beverage program could use a little help: 1) their wine list is lacking and stands out negatively compared to the rest of the hotel’s execution, and 2) their cocktails sounded good but the ones we ordered were lackluster aside from their Royal Old Fashioned - which is a fabulous drink.

We did several outings and wish we’d had more time to explore - as hard as it is to convince yourself to leave the property, be sure to do so! Our guide was RV and he was great. Overall, shopping in the city wasn’t as good as we’ve experienced in other Indian cities but they did help us find a couple of great spots, plus the hotel’s boutique is actually an extremely well curated collection so you will likely have luck there.

And finally, our visit’s MVP: Shubham Suwalka, our concierge. Once he learned what we were looking for and needed, he was an absolute star, and bailed us out of a departure travel issue that we created for ourselves. Big thanks to him for all his efforts!

Other members of staff we’d like to call out: Gopal (boat captain and photographer extraordinaire), Iram and Philips for being the epitome of front of house hospitality in the restaurant, and the landscaping team (we didn’t interact with them directly but were constantly surrounded by the beautiful results of their work)

[Other luxury hotels visited in the last 6 months in Asia/Pacific, being used for contrast: LikuLiku Lagoon (Fiji), Navutu Stars (Fiji), St. Regis Bora Bora (French Polynesia), Four Seasons Bora Bora (French Polynesia), Nahargahr Ranthambore (India), Taj Jai Mahal (India)]
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Opt into airport pickup+water transfer, and if you’re staying for more than a couple days make...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ankush Mahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 13 Mar 2023
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Udaivilas and I thank you for sharing such a wonderful review on this forum. We are delighted to note that you thought of the hotel to be a great place to stay. We are situated very prominently on the banks of Lake Pichola with lovely views of the City Palace. The Oberoi Udaivilas is built to reflect the setting of a Palace and remains an ideal place to explore Udaipur. Our teams are the real feathers in the cap and it has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the entire team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our team and I thank you for your kind comments. We have duly noted your feedback for the beverages list and certainly look for improvement. It is our constant endeavor to deliver our best and appreciation such as yours only inspires us to continuously achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. The team thanks you for your gracious comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits. Best Regards, Ankush Mahajan General Manager ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HuntleyNewYork wrote a review Jan 2020
New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
An absolutely beautiful property with gorgeous grounds, public spaces and rooms. And the service is extremely solicitous. But that doesn’t mean it’s always good.

At this level hotel, you expect that even the little things will be almost perfect.

If only.

We had a truly horrendous lunch our first day here, waiting nearly 40 minutes for cold dishes we knew could be prepared quickly as we had a time schedule to meet. The restaurant had only 4 active tables of guests, so it was nearly empty. So what was the reason for the unacceptable delay? And then, when it arrived, it was soggy and entirely unappetizing.

During the remainder of our stay, room service food was inconsistent. Sometimes delicious, sometimes not.

Our first evening here, we got a notification that they were turning off the water overnight. Of course emergencies happen but at a hotel of this caliber and at this price point, the least they could do is comp the guests with SOMETHING for such a potentially serious inconvenience. The offer they gave: buckets of water on request. Inexcusable.

The next morning, our first morning in the room, we discovered the water was turned back on. Thank goodness! But then we discovered the drain in the shower was clogged — and that it flooded the bathroom. After that we bunched all the bathroom rugs outside the shower and showered very quickly to avoid the problem.

We also discovered the espresso machine in our room produced mud, not espresso. It was undrinkable.

Last, and perhaps this was some kind of blessing given our diets in India: the bathroom scale never worked.

ON THE POSITIVE side, alfresco breakfast vis room service on our private terrace was a genuine delight. The sun was shining, the flowers were blooming, the birds were singing, and the food was very good. In fact the terrace overall was wonderful. A respite from an otherwise very busy trip.

And Udaipur itself is lovely. The air quality is good, the sun is wonderful, the water feeds the soul.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul_A_uvud, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi Udaivilas on your recent visit to Udaipur. Thank you for appreciating the hotel, its landscaping, public spaces, rooms and the service. I acknowledge your feedback and offer to you my sincere apologies for not being able to deliver the perfection that you have grown to expect out of Oberoi. It is indeed very important for us to have each guest leave happy from Udaivilas and it pains us immensely that you were disappointed. I commit myself to investigate and improve the areas highlighted by you. Your comments on the quality of food and delayed service in the restaurant could have been avoided with our usual proactive best in understanding individual preferences. Your concerns with regards to the inconsistency in the taste of food through in room dining has been addressed with due seriousness with Executive Chef to avoid the recurrence. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to water shutdown and for the clogged shower drain. Your feedback with regards to Nespresso in the room has also been addressed. I assure you that your experience has been a rare aberration to the normal Oberoi experience. Your feedback has my personal attention and we will make every endeavour to ensure that we improve our ability to look after our guests in a much better manner. We had the best intentions but were not so fortunate during your last stay and will be grateful if you give us another opportunity to showcase the actual Udaivilas hospitality. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harsh Banthia wrote a review Sept 2020
Surat, India
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited udaivilas during the coronavirus pandemic and were very sceptical whether we would receive satisfactory service as most hotels were running empty and were forced to reduce staff costs.

However upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised that the service which the Oberoi brand is known for was top notch even in such difficult times.

Food menu was limited because of the pandemic and the pool and spa were shut due to Govt regulations, which was a turn off, but it is not in their hands.

They left no stone unturned to make us feel safe and comfortable throughout our stay, from sanitisation protocols to service delivery everything was perfect.

There was an odd miss in the food but it can be passed.

Overall had a great experience of this beautiful property.

Special mention to Pradeep their restaurant staff for his service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul Amit, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear Dr. Banthia, Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for your stay at Udaipur and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your special mention for Pradeep. It is delightful to know that you felt our service is top notch. Your kind words of appreciation for the beauty of hotel property, safety measures and our hospitality have been accepted with genuine delight and gratitude. At The Oberoi Group, we have always prioritised the health and safety of our guests and colleagues and we understand that it is imperative for us to take extraordinary measures at a time like this. It is our constant endeavour to deliver the best to our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in the restaurant. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to the City of Lakes. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mildred2011 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the closest we have ever come to perfection in a hotel

The arrival by the hotel’s own boat sets the scene. Warm ginger and honey infusion while checking in before being shown to an immaculate room

The hotel architecture seamlessly blends the new additions with the historic former hunting lodge and is all superbly maintained. Staff are attentive and service is excellent

Dinner on the terrace overlooking the lights of the city on the other side of the lake is truly memorable. We shared dishes between us with a range of tastes and all were delicious. The young lady dancing with a flaming pot on her head was the “piece de resistance” to our dinner

Breakfast on the terrace from the sumptuous buffet is the way to start the day

Perfection is possible- make a detour if necessary to stay at this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul_A_uvud, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, I thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for staying in Udaipur and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you felt Udaivilas is closest to perfection. We are grateful for your kind words of appreciation for the hotel’s architecture, alfresco dining experience, evening musical performance, breakfast buffet, staff and their hospitality. Our service philosophy encourages us to deliver efficient and personalised service to all our guests. Food is the integral part of the complete hotel experience and we do not leave any stone unturned to delight our guests. All of us thank you once again for your kind words of appreciation and look forward to your repeat visits. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
advocate_ashishgupta wrote a review Sept 2020
Indore, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am sure it’s a dream for all those people who love opulence wish to stay here and have an experience. I can assure that one will not be disappointed for any reason. The staff is amazing and they go to any extent to make guest feel comfortable. It will not be out of place to say that if one stay here then you will not even miss your home. Staff is extremely polite and helpful. During this period of pandemic the hotel is taking all best possible care of its guests. One can come and stay here without having any doubts.
The check-in was very smooth, food quality is beyond imagination, rooms are beautifully decorated with all the amenities once can ask for.
I would especially like to thanks the management who took care of my request. The reason we came to this property was to celebrate my wife’s birthday. I requested them to decorate the room and make an arrangement for a cake and they did that very tastefully. So a big thank you to management from bottom of my heart.
The property is situated on a lake where one can go for boat ride in evening, bar is located on a nice location and needless to say one can get a photo clicked in any corner of the property and you will be not disappointed.
So all in all if anyone gets an opportunity to come and stay here then don’t miss that.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul Amit, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 25 Sept 2020
Dear Mr. Gupta, Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for staying in Udaipur. I thank you for taking out time to write such a wonderful review on this forum. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your wife’s birthday celebration at the hotel and received endearing service throughout your stay. Your compliments for the room, the check in, the bar, the team and food have been accepted with genuine delight and gratitude. Food is an integral part of the complete hotel experience and we do not leave any stone unturned to delight our guests. Thank you for appreciating the team. It was our pleasure to help you have a memorable birthday celebration for Mrs. Gupta. The team is humbled by your praise and recognition. Creating memories for all our guests with unique experiences is what we strive for and getting to know that we achieved that with you feels very special. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service. I thank you once again for your kind comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back many more times. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K. Shah wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is by far the best hotel experience I've had in my life, and I travel a LOT for work and always stay at 5-star hotels. The rooms are spacious, uniquely decorated and very clean. I had a courtyard with a partial private pool. It was wonderful to wake up one morning to a beautiful peacock on the ledge! I loved the strong water pressure in the shower as well.

The hotel itself is like a monument to explore, with many scenic walkways and photo opps overlooking the lake. The hotel restaurant is superb as well. My parents and I had dinner there both nights and lunch. Wonderful experience with live music and dancing. The chef also accommodates off-menu requests, which we really appreciated.

What I really want to highlight is the exceptional service. My parents had an unfortunate issue with the toilet in the room. The hotel staff seemed mortified that this happen - it was clearly not something that had happened before. They went above and beyond to make it up for it. The general manager, Amit, personally made sure we were taken care of. It seemed as though the entire hotel staff knew about the issue and apologized profusely throughout our stay. We greatly appreciate how they made up for the incident. It's clear they value their guests' experience and pride themselves on making sure everyone has a fabulous stay.

I will definitely be coming back again with my husband this time!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul_A_uvud, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Udaivilas in Udaipur and for sharing your experience on this forum. It is delightful to know that your experience with us had been pleasant. Thank you for appreciating the rooms, its décor and facilities, private courtyard, hotel ambience, restaurants, evening musical performance, food, team and their service. Chefs are glad to have been able to assist you with your specific requests. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to your parents because of the unfortunate incident. I hope your parents are doing well now. Thank you once again for your review and appreciation of our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back with your husband and family. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kat P. wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Udaivilas in Udaipur is the MAGNIFICENT! Every aspect of the hotel has been so carefully thought through that it is impossible to find fault. Our room was very tastefully decorated with large bathroom and dressing room and a private courtyard garden overlooking one of the pools. The spa is exceptional; best massage I have had! The spa swimming pool was the prefect temperature and overlooked lake Pichola and the Lake Palace. The pool side staff ensure you are well hydrated and bring little treats like frozen fruit :) The restaurant was fabulous with the nicest waiters in India. If you do want to eat elsewhere, the hotel's private launch will whizz you across Lake Pichola. Breakfast was so impressive that it was hard to choose what to have! Starting the day with a complimentary yoga class was a real treat too! Every member of staff was so professional, friendly and thoughtful - they really make you feel comfortable and can't do enough for you. The only thing wrong was that we only had three days at Udaivilas; I definitely wasn't ready to leave! I have no doubt that we will go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul_A_uvud, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your experience at Udaivilas. It is delightful to know that you felt Udaivilas is a magnificent blissful luxury in a stunning location. We greatly appreciate knowing that you liked the room and facilities in the room, its décor, private court, Yoga and Spa. The Oberoi Spa is a sanctuary of peace in an environment totally conducive to relaxation. Thank you for appreciating our breakfast buffet. Our Chefs always endeavor to include varieties to ensure that all guests gets something of their choice in breakfast. Your compliments for the team and their hospitality has been accepted with genuine delight and gratitude. Thank you once again for sharing your experience on this forum. We all look forward to your repeat visits. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aankitin wrote a review Jan 2021
New Delhi, India
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After having been confined for a better part of si months, decided to take the plunge and selected Oberoi Udaivilas for a staycation of sorts in mid-August. In retrospect, I reckon it was a wise decision considering how impeccably well-adjusted the staff and the provisions were towards the pandemic. Safety was definitely taken seriously here for the entire duration of our stay.

As is well known, the property certainly lives up to the built hype. It is a lush, sprawling and magnificent once you enter the resort. The reception area is well equipped and provides a hassle free check in. The rooms are spacious and offer conventional 'palace turned hotel' type room ambience, typical of spacious washrooms and high ceilings. The space is utilized well to balance out the Nawabi meets modern ensemble.

The restaurants are all top notch. The food isn't entirely spectacular to deserve a special mention, especially considering the pricing. But, hey- The Oberoi's promise an unparalleled ambience and deliver on that.

Over the years, I have realised that what sets Oberoi properties truly apart from their counterparts are it's location and people. The service standards and consistency across properties are exceptionally high and deserve a special mention.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul Amit, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 22 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi and I thank you for sharing such a wonderful review on this forum. We are grateful for kind words of appreciation for our ambiance, architecture, rooms, services and hospitality. The team takes personal pride in delivering warm, intuitive and genuine service for all our guests - it is such a delight to know that you were impressed with our service delivery. It is our constant endeavour to deliver our best and appreciation such as yours only inspires us to continuously achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sanjeev74in wrote a review Aug 2021
Mumbai, India
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got back from one of my best hotel stays in a long time. Oberoi Udaivilas with its welcoming staff justifies the many times it has been ranked among the best hotels in the World. A palace like feel with all modern amenities and comforts and staff with who go by the philosophy “Atithi Devo Bhava” what more can one ask for. No request was refused. From the time we stepped of the car and were checked in by Mr Anurag till the time we were seen off at the gate by the ever-smiling Front Office Assistant Mr. Ritam Chakraborty it was a fabulous experience.

The rooms are well equipped with all comforts one can need. The bathroom with large windows overlooking a private courtyard has a great feel to it. Each room has a private sit-out where one can enjoy the sounds of silence with a nice cup of tea. The lawns are immaculately maintained with peacocks roaming around freely.

It is no doubt a beautifully constructed hotel but what made it a wonderful stay was the staff of the hotel and this can happen only when the person sitting at the top, in this hotel’s case its General Manager Mr. Amit Kaul, gives his staff a free hand to ensure that the guests feel like guests at some one home who are to be pampered by the host and not paying clients.

From the Guards at the gate who greeted me by my last name every time I passed the main gate (I cannot understand how they could remember the names of guests staying at the hotel which was at almost full occupancy) to the so very helpful Aman in charge of the restaurant who ensured that all members of our group of 9 were satisfied with the meals to Shubham, Ishan and all the servers, Chef Alok and the other chefs at the restaurant and Meet of the in room dining the service by all members of the staff was par excellence. The front office staff were only too happy to give us a tour of the hotel.

We also took the opportunity to take a boat ride on Lake Pichola in the Hotel’s boat which was a very enjoyable experience with the courteous boatman giving us an informed tour through our boat ride.

The hotel is taking all precautions in respect of COVID19 pandemic with sanitizers and packed masks being provided at many points in the hotel property and the staff, who, according to one of them, have all been vaccinated with atleast 1 dose, always wearing masks and making all feel safe.

Overall it was a great experience or to put it in the words of my teenaged son “A magical stay”
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are the same size and have a private sitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul Amit, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Udaivilas and I thank you for sharing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is delightful to know that you and your family had a magical stay. We are grateful for your kind words of appreciation for our welcome, architecture, rooms, hospitality, ambience, restaurant, services, food, boat ride, hygiene and safety. It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to Anurag, Ritam, Aman, Shubham, Ishaan, Alok and the entire team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration for them and I thank you for your kind comments. We greatly appreciate knowing we could contribute positively to your hotel experience and are glad to know that we were able to create fond memories. Our team always endeavours hard to customize each experience of our guests and appreciation such as from you motivates them to deliver better each time. Our service philosophy encourages us to deliver efficient and personalised service to all our guests and your recognition of our service feels wonderful. The team takes personal pride in delivering warm, intuitive and genuine service for all our guests - it is such a delight to know that you were impressed with our service delivery. The Oberoi Udaivilas is a destination in itself, a refuge for serenity and luxurious charm and we are sure that you would return to us for a rejuvenating break. Many thanks once again for taking time to share your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back many more times. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ayushi p wrote a review Aug 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After months of lockdown and no traveling my fiance and I decided to go away for the weekend along with two other couples. We chose udaivilas due to it's beautiful property and amazing service as all we really wanted was to be pampered.

Pampered we were. From the moment we entered the hotel to our last goodbyes we were greeted and treated with impeccable service. We felt like royals there (especially since the lockdown). One of the best things to note was that they had adapted to the current pandemic and kept safety of their guests and staff as number one priority. With regular temperature checks and sanitizers available every corner they made sure safety for the number one key. All the staff members were wearing their masks and face shields and maintained distance. Tabels in the restaurants had been spaced out and physical menus had been swapped with qr code frames to allow you to view the menus online.

Rooms were thoroughly sanitized and we were even given an upgrade! The staff made us feel at home and tried to accommodate all our wishes. One of our friend's was proposing to his girlfriend and the management went above and beyond to make this experience a memorable one for them.

We stayed for 3 nights, explored every inch of the property and enjoyed every nook and corner. Their service is truly unparalleled. I highly recommend everyone to go at least once to experience this.

Chef Prashant arranged a biryani feast for us with never ending food. With five big pots of different kinds of biryani and 5 different kinds of raita amongst 6 people it's safe to say we were in a food coma.

Aman was our point of contact throughout the trip and looked into all of our requirements and went above and beyond to accomodate all our wishes and make this trip an amazing one.

A big thank you to the udaivillas team for a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaul Amit, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Ms. Patel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Oberoi Udaivilas and for sharing your experience on this forum. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our endearing hospitality at each stage beginning with your arrival at the hotel and continuing throughout your stay. Thank you for appreciating the beauty of our hotel and safety measures. At The Oberoi Group, we have always prioritised the health and safety of our guests and colleagues and we understand that it is imperative for us to take extraordinary measures at a time like this. It is such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed Biryani feast. Food and hospitality are integral parts of the complete hotel experience and we leave no stone unturned to delight our guests. Thank you for appreciating Prashant and Aman for their passionate service. They are humbled by your praise and recognition. We have always lived by the values laid down by our Founder Chairman Rai Bahadur M. S. Oberoi of placing our guests above all else and it is delightful that Prashant and Aman were able to do exactly that. I thank you once again for your kind words of appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Amit Kaul General Manager amit.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Ashish D
MUMBAI, India55 contributions58 helpful votes
This is the open air restaurant .. very popular and I would suggest making a table reservation
Answer from Shailendra Bansal
Agra, India222 contributions44 helpful votes
No, they can't be joined. They are opposite to each other separated by a passage. So both the rooms will be close to each other but not connected to each other. The normal premium room has good garden views and the semi private pool room has views of the lake. Going for one semi private pool room, and one normal premium room is a good idea.
Arihant asked a question Jun 2023
Mumbai, India27 contributions6 helpful votes
Which room have bath tub ?
Answer from Craig B
1 contribution
All rooms have a bath and separate showers
Answer from Kapil Mehta
Patiala, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
Best to go by boat its an experience
Answer from pallavisinghal2004
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India218 contributions67 helpful votes
Yes of course
Adventure40938315275 wrote a tip 6 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If coming to Udaipur definitely should checkout this hotel "
Read full review
arya p wrote a tip 4 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a semi private pool and it was amazing!"
Read full review
OnAir08844895771 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Oberoi is super Hotel is good nice property is room service is good nice very nice hotel staff all good fast service thank all staff very ni"
Read full review
harneet wrote a tip May 2024
Patiala, India265 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reservation before is a must ."
Read full review
Shruti wrote a tip May 2024
New Delhi, India1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best Place to stay"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Udaipur area.
PRICE RANGE
₹32,344 - ₹39,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the oberoi udaivilas hotel udaipur, oberoi hotel udaipur, oberoi hotel udaivilas, oberoi udaipur, udaipur oberoi
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanUdaipur DistrictUdaipur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OBEROI UDAIVILAS, UDAIPUR (Rajasthan) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Which popular attractions are close to The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Nearby attractions include Boutique Namaste India (1.1 km), S.naaz art emporium (1.1 km), and Gothwal Art (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Harigarh, Jaiwana Haveli Roof Top Restaurant, and Rainbow Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur have airport transportation?
Yes, The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
All Udaipur HotelsUdaipur Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UdaipurHotels near The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire