We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant

Save
Share
507 Singh Pole Marg Navchowkiya, Jodhpur 342001 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$13
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (9)

About

#64 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Amar Niwas Guest House is a 528 year old Haveli run by a Brahman family so you can stay in a family atmosphere. Regular care and maintenance on the house keeps it feeling very comfortable for the customers. The original charm and character of the house is preserved with each improvement.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop terrace
Laundry service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
105Reviews1Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 25
  • 8
  • 14
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zoe P wrote a review Mar 2022
8 contributions6 helpful votes
I absolutely loved my stay here at Amal Niwar guesthouse, i originally chose it above others because it seemed to be the best deal money-wise, but immediately found it was much more than just good prised. Yes they have good food, a great view and are perfectly located in the heart of jodhpur; But above all I felt at home in the family run guesthouse. Such kind hearted, warm welcoming people, whom I had wonderful conversations with! Thank you Nina and Sunil Hope to be back एक दीन
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Izzy G wrote a review Aug 2019
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
We stumbled across the guesthouse for lunch and I’m so pleased! The view of the fort was amazing and in a much quieter, really lively part of Jodhpur just out of the really touristy bit around the clocktower! I would recommend the walk! The food was amazing and the owner was lovely!! Would really recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna R wrote a review Mar 2019
Ulm, Germany15 contributions
When me and my friend arrived we were welcomed warmly. Also we booked only one night and there was a great wedding the next day the owners made it possible for me to stay two nights longer, because I got sick. Its like a home for me and Nina was careing at me like a mother. I felt super comfortable. The room is nice and if you miss something they try their best to help you. The restaurant is good and from the roof top you have a great view over the old city and the fort. The location is very central so you can go out for a walk in the old city easily. Thank you very much for everything you did to me! I would definitely recommend to visit Amar Niwas guesthouse.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant
Responded 5 Jan 2020
thanks mam , that is my duty tp take care of my guest
Read more
Ruben wrote a review Dec 2018
15 contributions1 helpful vote
The view from the 2 restaurant floors (rooftop and 1 below) is very nice, but hardly difficult in this beautiful city. The room was covered with dust and some tables in the restaurant were sticky. It felt like the room was also on some smalle places used as a storage room, due to some cardboard boxes, probably filled. The shared bathroom was very small, toilet, shower and sink were almost one. Also the 5 half used strips of viagra in the shower were quite filthy. The owner was pretty disturbing. He did not lock the door when using the shared washroom and he had an unkempt appearance. Constantly he was trying to sell me things in his restaurant, his camel ride or do upgrades on my stay. Didn't make me feel comfortable and like a nice place to spend the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chris S wrote a review Oct 2018
5 contributions
Mr. Sunildutt and his wife Nina are excellent hosts and I wholeheartedly recommend them for your stay in Jodhpur. The house is a beautiful 500 year old construction. It offers a restaurant, decent WiFi, a clean bathroom with 24/7 water and a view of the fort and old part of town from the rooftop. The family is quite friendly and helpful with any issue one may have. All in all, the quality for the money is just amazing
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Giulia D wrote a review Aug 2018
Bologna, Italy2 contributions2 helpful votes
The house is awesome, but Sunil and his family are more than awesome. He's been kind and helpful and we all loved to chat with him on his wonderful rooftops. Every dish was amazing, especially the chicken ;) We booked a room but we found a new friend, and I will come back again in the future for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Don N wrote a review Mar 2018
11 contributions8 helpful votes
This is a great spot for a budget stay. If you just need a cheap and comfortable spot to call as homebase for a few days it is a great spot. Amar treats you like family as you are free to come and go anytime of day. The couple of times I had food here were exceptional especially breakfast. Any questions I had Amar gave me suggestions depending on my price range and just made traveling from Jodhpur more convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rohit wrote a review Jan 2018
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India5 contributions2 helpful votes
The property is do remotely located in streets that you can get a better rooms in Nai sarak area for the same price. Plus the rooms are small and scary . Not a good experience. The charge fpor one day was around 1400 Rs where actually it deserves to be half.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sylvain0102 wrote a review Oct 2017
Paris, France15 contributions24 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is nice, in the blue old city and close enough to the Fort. The view from the rooftop is great as well. However when we were there (october 2017), the guesthouse was with work in progress and therefore there was dust everywhere, and the owner was just continuing his work over our heads when we were sitting on the terrace, not the best way to chill. Also we found that the owner was quite a cheapskate : the check-out was at 9 (and it was impossible to check out later while the guesthouse was empty except for us and there were no other guests coming afterwards) and we asked if we could leave the bags for the day before our evening train : it was only possible until noon (what's the use of that ? First time we see that, be that in India or in other countries in which we've travelled), and also we would have had to pay something for using electricity, toilets, etc. for the time that we would have spent in the guesthouse premises after checking out. He warned us that the wifi password would be changed at the time of the check-out, and indeed when we took our breakfast after 9 (for which we paid for by the way...) there was no wi-fi indeed (which was poor indeed). Also we were not given soap, toilet paper, and we had only one towel for two.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just go elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant
Responded 4 Jan 2018
hi Sylvain thanks for writing a review for us as your review itself reflects that you were trying to deal with us in different manner . as per your booking with us you book " 2nd Oct '17 Small Budget Room INR 262.50 " and want to spend extra 15 hours after check- out with all free facilities. on booking we provide free WiFi ,free towel .free welcome drinks ,free toiletry etc. how can we give you all this for free after check-out.I think utility charge is applicable all over world .so its not a new term for guest like you who are traveling a lot as you mention in month of October we were doing renovation work and to host you we stop our work for one day .second day after your check-out our workers starts their work in another room interior so it was continuous in your presence we believe for that you must not comp-lend ,but after every thing if your stay was not comfortable we are sorry for that . but if you realize the situations TripAdvisor gives us a second chance to edit your review
Read more
Ryan S wrote a review May 2017
Belo Horizonte, MG282 contributions50 helpful votes
I showed up super early in the morning from an overnight stay, and despite the "it's ok to show up early" on hostelworld.com it was a bit of a problem with them. You should also know that they charge for the internet, which isn't listed online. The rooms were comfy, staff helps you with any info you want (even if a bit of a hard sell on taking a guided tour), and the food is super delicious from their kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$11 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanJodhpur DistrictJodhpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Blue city wonders (1.1 km), Nagendra Singh (0.7 km), and Ganesh Handicrafts (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, laundry service, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Laalten, Dylan Cafe Restaurant, and Kim Mohan's Restaurant & Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mehrangarh Fort (0.6 km), Jaswant Thada (1.3 km), and Phool Mahal (1.1 km).