We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Varkala Marine Palace Pvt Ltd Papanasam Beach Janardhanapuram,, Varkala Town, Varkala 695141 India
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (297)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (40)

About

#4 of 80 in Varkala Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are one of the prime properties as far as Varkala is concerned owing to our location. We are rightly on Papanasam beach, ideally in between the north & South Cliffs. We do have road accessibility inside to our resort. We offers 6 sea face extra spacious (suites) high end rooms, with private kitchen, attached toilets, balconies overlooking sea, running hot water as the specialties. Three rooms are on top floor, made in traditional Kerala style wooden cottage types.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Beach
Fishing
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Car hire
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Hindi
469Reviews9Q+A85Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 344
  • 97
  • 18
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Somarupa wrote a review Jan 2022
Bangalore District, India4 contributions
We booked a super deluxe room which came with a personal patio, kitchen and open air shower. The rooms are sea facing and clean built in traditional wooden architecture. The hotel is right on the Papanasam beach, so you can walk late night on the sea shore or go for a early morning sea bath. The manager was very helpful in arranging a two-wheeler for us. They have an attached restaurant also, which serves decent food and beer. Overall a very pleasant experience. Rooms have wifi, drinking water and hot water facility
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor rooms for a view of the sea
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nicolas T wrote a review Apr 2021
Chennai (Madras), India8 contributions5 helpful votes
Our second stay at this beachfront family owned hotel where rooms on the second floor exude the charm of a traditional wooden Keralan house. Outdoor; grotto-style showers are particularly pleasant after a day at the beach. Bhasker and his staff made us feel welcome and comfortable at all times. Rooms were cleaned daily and laundry done upon request. Meals at the oceanview restaurant were freshly prepared and generously portioned. Service is caring and professional. Overall an excellent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The second floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhargi Bhasker, General Manager at Varkala Marine Palace
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is great inspiration to be able to live up in these difficult times and your words of encouragement means a lot to us. thank you, Manager, behalf of Varkala Marine Palace team
Read more
Arijit Banerjee wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India12 contributions5 helpful votes
To start with this review I would say that we went there after going through a lots of good reviews. But, when we reached, it was nothing like the reviews that you read on Google or TripAdvisor. They are totally understaffed, there is hardly a person in kitchen whom you can ask for any small order like tea or coffee. Any small thing you would like to get, you will have to go in person and ask them more than twice to get it. Even that does not guarantee any service. Food was terrible. Never had such bad food anywhere else in Kerala. Whenever we complained, the kind owner had only one thing to say and it was ‘We are running out of people’. I completely understand that this Covid situation has put a dent on all businesses but that does not mean that a business can hide behind that and deliver terrible food and service after taking a great amount of money. FYI : this place is not cheap. There can be absence of a real cook or chef but it can never be justified that the quality of simple 'omelet' or terrible 'bread toast' they were serving. They are literally running a place where they are simply trying to extract money from the unfortunate travellers who were LURED BY THE PREVIOUS REVIEWS. About the property : Location : 5/5 You will hardly find a better location. The property is located on the beach and is beautiful. Room : 3/5 Old rooms but traditional, loved the open shower concept. Room was spacious but very less light and air during entire day. Needs some revamp. Food : 0/5 As stated earlier, the worst part was food. Limited menu and bad quality. Not only complaining about the taste but about freshness and hygiene too. Service 2/5 : There were two people who were serving our rooms (we went as a group) and taking orders and were literally doing everything and they were very helpful, loved their attitude and helpfulness. But they reason I am giving bad rating as they were hardly available.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhargi Bhasker, General Manager at Varkala Marine Palace
Responded 24 Jan 2021
Dear Arjit, Thank you for your Review. We do admit the shortfalls during the period of your stay and we are seriously working on it. It is true that a hotel like us cant hide it all behind the Pandemic. We are exploring ways to get back on track and we expect your support and we hope to compensate your disappointments in your next visit. Apologies, Bhasker
Read more
Solanki Shome wrote a review Jan 2021
19 contributions
+1
I would like to start by mentioning that the owner was kind enough to allow ‘Indians’ this time of the year due to Covid situation, otherwise Indians are normally not allowed in this hotel during this time to accommodate foreign tourists 🤷🏻‍♀️ We visited this place last week with lots of expectations and here is the entire experience : Location : 5/5 This is probably one of the only two hotels which have beachfront. All other hotels and resorts are on the cliff side so beach is conveniently accessible from hotel. Service/Hospitality : 3/5 They were clearly understaffed. We read in reviews that the service was great earlier but that was not our experience. They are running with bare minimum staffs. Food : 1/5 This was the most disappointing of all. Food was terrible. When we checked with the manager he told that they don't have their old cooking staffs anymore and kitchen is only managed by 2 people. I completely understand the situation they are going through but that doesn't justify the terrible food. Even basic things like 'sunny side up eggs' was horrible. Most basic food was also lacking taste. The main problem is if you want to eat outside, you will have to go to the cliff side restaurants which are not very accessible from the location of the hotel. Room : 3/5 Room was spacious, Old, Lacks light even in the morning. In conclusion I would say that keeping the Covid situation in mind, all businesses are suffering. However, if you are a paying customer and service/food are this bad, one would definitely not consider going back to the same business again. I read a lot of good reviews about this place but the in reality it was one of the most disappointing experiences I’ve had.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sudhargi Bhasker, General Manager at Varkala Marine Palace
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Dear Mickey, Thank you for your review. 1) Myself as the owner of the hotel I would contradict your first statement. "the owner was kind enough to allow ‘Indians’ this time of the year due to Covid situation, otherwise Indians are normally not allowed in this hotel during this time to accommodate foreign tourists 🤷🏻‍♀️". Sorry we completely disagree to your assessment. No matter a customer if Indian or Foreign has always been welcomed, treated politely and honored with equal respect in our property. We would like to always welcome you again and we apologize for the negative feelings. 2) We agree that we were Understaffed and we apologize for the lack of service therewith. Unfortunately, that was the best under the pandemic circumstances and we do believe that things will turn around the sooner we could employ our full team. 3) We completely understand that food was below expectation and we would seriously look into this matter. We appreciate your honesty on that part. We apologize for the negative experience and your review would definitely guide us to get on the right track. Thank you.
Read more
john r wrote a review Feb 2020
Amersham, United Kingdom16 contributions23 helpful votes
Returning to Marine Palace, after 5 years, it held the same charm and warmth we'd previously enjoyed. The staff were brilliant and the meals excellent- with a good selection of sea food and advice regarding choice. It was also possible to have a real 'non-chilli' option. We had the same room as on our last visit (no. 16)which is probably the best in the hotel. and has almost immediate access to the beach..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
jack h wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
As a traveling chef across India I came across them gem of a place, the fish was refrshsed twise a day the chef went out in the morning and evening for the best catch.. Absolutely amazing the food was great the staff was just as good so friendly and nothing was a problem I managed to get a quick lesson from the head chef and my god what an experience! Can't sing their praise's more Thanks for everything guy hope we meet again!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
MalMcG wrote a review Dec 2019
Long Beach, California15 contributions
I was not sure what to expect before arriving at Varkala Marine Palace but the owner, staff, and accommodations exceeded all of my expectations! The room was clean, quiet, and all amenities available and working properly. The outdoor shower was wonderful and the bed was comfortable. The location was great, just 100 meters from the beach and very quiet and peaceful. I could sit on my balcony all day and night and listen to the sound of the waves. It is obvious the owner is focused on improving this property everyday as their is full team on staff working to improve the grounds and open up a restaurant directly on the property, however never did I hear any excessive noise or commotion from any work being done. I was able to schedule private yoga sessions at my convenience with an incredibly kind and informative instructor. I am a yoga novice and he took the time to explain everything to me in detail while at the same time ensuring it was a peaceful and invigorating session. The ayurvedic massage area is quiet and peaceful as you lay on a bed listening to the sound of the waves. The massage was very therapeutic and I felt wonderful afterwards. From the hotel it is just a ten minute walk up the hill to the "main" strip of restaurants and bars on the cliffs of Varkala, and only a one minute walk to several restaurants, mini markets, and shops along the beach. I will definitely be staying here upon any return trip the area as I know the staff will always do whatever they can to ensure a comfortable stay and the property will only get better over time as the owner is dedicated to making daily improvements.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Second floor rooms had amazing balconies to relax.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Itchyfeet31 wrote a review Nov 2019
London6 contributions7 helpful votes
Varkala Marine Palace is the perfect place. We had the 2 best rooms in the place, on the top floor with the most ginormous bed I've ever seen (definitely ask for these). This, combined with an outside shower, fridge and fantastic veranda for whiling away the hours between beach and yet another delicious meal on the cliff made for a extremely comfortable and memorable stay. We spent many happy hours on our veranda playing cards or watching the sea eagles and the fruit bats, the fishermen pulling in their nets and the amazing sunsets (despite the decidedly iffy weather). Bashker was very helpful, organising our laundry, booking a taxi and solving a problem with our room straight away. The restaurant was under renovation which was a shame, as it has great reviews, but Varkala has so many excellent restaurants just 10 mins walk away, so we certainly didn't go hungry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Jess G wrote a review Nov 2019
Westbury, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room was a great size, nicely furnished clean and traditional. We particularly loved being able to sea and hear the sea from our balcony, dry relaxing! We also loved our outdoor shower - lovely to have a wash under palm trees.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from KeralaBabu, General Manager at Varkala Marine Palace
Responded 16 Nov 2019
Dear Jess! Many greetings from VARKALA MARINE PALACE, Kerala, India. Thank you very much for your very beautiful review. We promise to keep up the standards for your up comming holidays as well. Wish you all the best, THANK YOU!! For VARKALA MARINE PALACE team, Bhasker
Read more
Anya B wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Bhasker was very nice on first encounter, offering a so called "last minute" price as my friend and I came around 6:30pm to his place. He was very helpful on that day. As our budget was very tight, we went to find other rooms in the area the next day and when we got back. He started getting aggressive and rude because we were moving out. He was very forceful and we left and carried our luggage on our own. He tried pressuring us to stay several nights though we could not afford it. The place is nice but has so much renovation going on around the yoga place and no restaurant available. The hotel is in the front of the beach but you have no beach view. In the end I would not recommend staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from KeralaBabu, General Manager at Varkala Marine Palace
Responded 16 Nov 2019
Dear Anya, Thank you for your review. We understand that you were not happy with your experience and we apologize if you felt pressured to stay with us. We agree that our restaurant was undergoing some annual maintenance which was a let down. Somehow it was off season and also it was unavoidable and we apologize for the same. Personally I do not think that I was rude in anyway and contrary to your statement, honestly I would say that we were professional in our approach while you were checking out . Our last minute offer was our best price for a few nights together and I would say that the breach of that understanding was more hurting to us. Anyhow we do not have any negative feelings and we accept your constrains and choice. Thank you For Marine Palace Team, Bhasker
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$17 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
varkala marine palace hotel varkala, marine palace hotel varkala, marine palace varkala
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaThiruvananthapuram DistrictVarkalaVarkala Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Varkala Marine Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Varkala Marine Palace?
Nearby attractions include Varkala Beach (0.05 km), Asparagus (0.2 km), and Papasnanam Beach/Varkala Beach (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Varkala Marine Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Varkala Marine Palace?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Varkala Marine Palace?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Varkala Marine Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffee Temple, Gods Own Country Kitchen, and Varkala Marine Palace Restaurant.
Does Varkala Marine Palace have airport transportation?
Yes, Varkala Marine Palace offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Varkala Marine Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Varkala Marine Palace?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sivagiri (3.0 km).
Does Varkala Marine Palace have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.