We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sterling Thekkady

Save
Share
Kottayam-Kumily Road Opposite Holiday Home, Thekkady 685509 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sterling Thekkady
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 80 hotels in Thekkady
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sterling Thekkady makes for an ideal getaway destination from the bustling city life. Nestled amidst the Idukki’s charming mountains, it falls in close proximity to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary and Tiger Reserve. Known for one of the largest elephant and tiger reserves in the country, the sanctuary is home to many unique fauna of the region which includes Nilgiri Tahar, Travancore Flying Squirrel, Nilgiri Marten, Stripe-Necked Mongoose, Sri Lankan Frog Mouth, Black Panthers etc. Offering absolute tranquility the resort features 83 luxurious rooms and suites with mesmerising views of the Idduki hills. The large, well-appointed conference and meeting facilities and a rooftop pool offering expansive views of the beautiful landscape and reminds of the quick break out options. The place offers a diverse range of nature-filled activities, whether you have a thirst for adventure or just looking for a serene experience. From trekking, to plantation tours, rafting and bird-watching to exploring the stimulating scents at spice markets of Kumily, there are tons of things to indulge in Thekkady. Experience nature in every form with Sterling Thekkady.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Karaoke
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Rooftop terrace
Concierge
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
130Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 24
  • 2
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Venkatanathan R wrote a review Oct 2021
Pondicherry, India2 contributions2 helpful votes
Worst service and rude staff behavior. When we called for booking sterling thekadi we informed that this is planned for workation and we will be making use of board room for working. Initially they said sure and once we are in they said due to corona we are not allowing . After multiple conversation they said you need to pay 2500 per hour. This was not informed earlier. After reaching out to customer care of sterling they asked for booking if which was denied by sterling reception “ we dont have any booking id “ Worst experience with sterling thekadi and customer service. Till now no reply for the email i wrote to feedback sterling
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid in case if you plan for work
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Thekkady
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear Venkaatanathan, Namaste! We are saddened to know that you did not enjoy your stay at Sterling Thekkady. We regret to learn that our staff members added little joy to your stay. Our management team has been alerted of your feedback and is working to ensure that your queries are resolved. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Jaseel wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Stayed for three day and two nights here from 14to 16th Oct 21. Booked sterling because of the good experience had with their two properties in Kodaikanal. The property is just like a lodge with insufficient parking space and not mainatianing any good standard. Rooms were not cleaned and had to call the housekeeping team to clean it agian. We had a balcony which was not usable due to the paraappet decorated with lots of dove poops which they haven't cleaned for weeks and same with windows. House keeping was pathetic and food quality was bad. Instead of having buffet dinner there, we had to drive to Abad green forest to have dinner which offered good variety. Even the food wasted not cleared from corridor after one day. When we had to overstay for a day due to bad weather we checked out from here and booked at Abad Green Forest which was well maintained and courteous staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Thekkady
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear Jaseel, Namaste! We regret to know that you did not have a pleasant experience at Sterling Thekkady. We are concerned to learn of the issues that you have highlighted in your feedback. We understand that our guests expect only the best from. Rest assured that we will do all that it takes to enhance the overall resort experience of valued guests such as you. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Namrata wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We Stayed this property on 15 Oct and 16 Oct 2021. we check in on 15 oct. We were given Room No 3308/308. On First Night stay we find that Bed was very cranky and making sounds when you turn your self in bed. Very bad back ache also started due to this bed. Next morning 8 AM we requested for change of room, By 12 Also once again i ask for change in Room, But it seems the Manager didn't bother for our request. Instead he said that house keeping staff checked the bed and no issue in it. And they didnt changed the room for us. asked for water battle refill twice to house keeping staff. But that also no body bother. At last i have to sent my son to restaurant to refill bottles. Food taste was average. we went to relax from our busy life but sterling people ruined our mood. Wont suggest anyone to book a stay with them. We earlier stayed at sterling Kodaikanal and munnar and we enjoyed the stay their . So we choose sterling thekkedy. But it was not a worth visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Thekkady
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Dear Namrata, Namaste! Thank you for holidaying at Sterling Thekkady and sharing your valuable feedback. We regret to know that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. We are concerned to know of the issues that you have shared and our management team has been alerted. We assure you a much delightful experience in the future. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Brijith wrote a review Sep 2021
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
Rooms and hotel amnesties are pretty good and sanitized. Staff is extremely polite and proactive to make your stay comfortable. The Safari experience provided by the Hotel was one of the best - thanks to travel desk and specially Renji who arranged our Safari and the driver/guide Shamnas has been really friendly and caring. The driver also took real interest in clicking great pics for us - completely enjoyed the Safari because of his company ! I rate the whole experience as “Awesome”.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Thekkady
Responded 30 Sep 2021
Dear Brijith, Namaste, Thank you for letting us know that you had a pleasant time at Sterling Thekkady. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. Our staff members will be pleased to know that their humble efforts added much joy to your stay. Awaiting the joy to host you again. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Varshan S wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Had a not so pleasant stay. It was stated that the room had a hill view. All i saw from my room was a dirty balcony. I went on a weekday, they could have allotted me on a top floor. The food - there was like totally 5 to 6 dishes for the breakfast buffet. I remember other 4 star hotels do way better than this. Room Service - There was no toiletries in the bathroom. When I called the reception and asked for them, one house keeper came to me with just one bottle of shampoo. I mean, its a 4 star stay. ppl expect a good comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Thekkady
Responded 17 Mar 2021
Dear Sir, Namaste! We are saddened to know that you did not enjoy your stay at Sterling Thekkady. We apologise for the issues that you have highlighted. At Sterling, we understand that our guests expect only the best from us and we assure you that we will do all that it takes to ensure that you and fellow guests have a memorable experience in the future. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cinnamon
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaIdukki DistrictThekkady
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sterling Thekkady
Which popular attractions are close to Sterling Thekkady?
Nearby attractions include Yodha Cultural Village Thekkady (0.5 km), Kadathanadan Kalari & Navarasa Kathakali (0.5 km), and Mudra Cultural Centre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sterling Thekkady?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sterling Thekkady?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Sterling Thekkady?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sterling Thekkady?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sterling Thekkady?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar-B-Que, Grandma's Cafe, and Coffee Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sterling Thekkady?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sterling Thekkady have airport transportation?
Yes, Sterling Thekkady offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sterling Thekkady located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Thekkady.
Does Sterling Thekkady offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sterling Thekkady?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.