We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Princess Street Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001 India
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Algotels
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (156)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (23)

About

#67 of 658 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Currency exchange
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
373Reviews3Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 148
  • 48
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Richard K wrote a review Jan 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom170 contributions221 helpful votes
Ordered 2 x set dinners on New Years Eve, only one other customer in. Had veg and non veg option - non veg (prawn curry) was very tasty - but only 3 small prawns in the meal, dhall and side veg and rice were all luke warm, which did not go down well, cold rice is not that palatable. In a prime position but could not get any alcohol from in site hotel ...? - went to bar around the corner for that, in a prime position but not customer friendly...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the lukewarm food. It will be advised to our staff. Regarding the beer and alcohol license, Kerala has peculiar laws , as each and every state and country would have . So for not serving alcohol on the premises we do not apologize for. One has to live in that country to understand and this is not the correct platform. There are many hotels in Kerala that do not serve alcohol. Unusual, for a foreigner to understand would be difficult. We hope you do stay with us in the rooms and would see and appreciate what we offer instead of just the restaurant. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
XXX283 wrote a review Dec 2019
Lagos, Portugal68 contributions42 helpful votes
This place has colonial style with colonial service. The quality of the wooden doors, floors, ceilings, staircases, have not only stood the test of time, but are exceptional in this day and age. Even the toilet roll holder in our bathroom (modern walk in shower in a party sized space) was made of wood. It's a shame they don't do breakfast but there are innumerable places to eat in this holiday town. I hope to come back one day for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your great review. We at Old Courtyard Hotel are happy to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Yes, we do our best to protect and maintain this heritage property even if it entails a lot of maintenance. We do have breakfast complimentary if you book through our website. Perhaps next time you book the room, we would advise that you book directly with us through our website. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john F wrote a review Mar 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom274 contributions113 helpful votes
On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly.The rooms are about average with the electric sockets looking somewhat dangerous. In our room the plaster was flaking off the walls by the bed which was not pleasant to look at. The chef is really friendly the food is good. The hotel is only a short walk to the market and Chinese fishing nets.One of the highlights was a visit to the laundry.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Dear John, Thank you for y our feedback. We are happy that the staff looked after you well. Since we have limestone walls, they have to be maintained yearly. And now with the off season coming in, the renovation will start. We have taken into consideration all your points. Best, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anil A wrote a review Mar 2019
New Delhi, India140 contributions57 helpful votes
Very Conveniently located near the waterfront with the Chinese Fishing nets. The rooms are clean and basic - ideal if you are out most of the time and need the room only for rest and freshening up. Being a restoration of an old building, there are no lifts. The food is good and the service is great. Shops and other restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Dear Anil, We thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us was comfortable. Best, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PaulaundPu wrote a review Feb 2019
Berlin, Germany11 contributions8 helpful votes
The Old Courtyard Hotel is a nice old house in the Main Shopping Street of Old Chocin. Nice courtyard, big rooms with antique furnitures. But very noisy and badly soundproofed. You can hear every little noise from the other rooms. There is no breakfast and very poor service from a not very competend staff. It is more like a Youth Hostel and therefore too expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 26 Feb 2019
Dear Guests, Thank you for your feedback. Old Courtyard Hotel must not have been the perfect hotel for your requirements. Best, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David K wrote a review Feb 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota69 contributions7 helpful votes
I would call this hotel average at best. It was disappointing, though it has the basic charm that could make it much better than average if managed properly. Our room was large and opened to a balcony overlooking the courtyard. But, we couldn't use the wardrobe to store our clothes because it was quite dusty. Our bathroom tile had mildew/mold on the grout and the faucet in the sink was rusty. We had to unplug a lamp to find a place to charge a phone, and the wi-fi was spotty at best. If you have physical challenges, be aware that the rooms are accessible only with one or two long, steep staircases. On the bright side, the air conditioning worked very well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 21 Feb 2019
Dear Dave, Thank you for your feedback. We will definitely look into the points you have brought up. It is indeed disconcerting that previous reviews have also covered your points but positively, It was perhaps a wrong choice of hotel for you as it did not meet your expectations. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Floyd G wrote a review Feb 2019
Edina, Minnesota103 contributions17 helpful votes
During our tour of India we stayed at 9 different hotels. 8 were wonderful. The Old Courtyard should not have been on the itinerary. A local person should have checked it out in person rather than relying on the charming pictures and older reviews. The staff was not particularly helpful – on the first day at breakfast I waited an hour for coffee that never came. The rooms were in poor condition with jerry-rigged wiring and stained curtains. One of our rooms had a mold in the bathroom, and the closets in all were dusty and dirty. The staff, particularly the first day was not ready to serve us. A charming old historic building is fine if it is in good condition. This was not. Given the quality of every other place we stayed, this was a big disappointment. I cannot
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 21 Feb 2019
Dear Floyd, Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your interaction with the staff. Unfortunately, we are not a 5 star hotel and perhaps your stay in other hotels were of that category. Indeed it is a quaint place not suited to everyone who require modern and up to date facilities. You were right that perhaps your agent should have done more research on your requirements. It is obvious that this was not your cup of tea. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sligogem wrote a review Feb 2019
Sligo, Ireland31 contributions28 helpful votes
The Old Courtyard Hotel is ideally located for those wishing to stay near the centre of Fort Kochi... a short stroll with bring you down to the waterfront where you can watch the famous Chinese Fishing Nets operate in the evening or early morning. Fort Kochi is a compact area . Walking around the streets near the Hotel will give you a good flavor of the history. A tuctuc tour will bring you to the other notable buildings slightly further afield. The Hotel, as the name suggests is built around a nice courtyard which allows you escape the noise , dust and grime of the streets. Tables, chairs, plant filled pots etc - a little bit of tranquility in a very busy quarter. Residents take breakfast in this courtyard and non residents can sit and have coffee/ snacks here too. Rooms are up
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 21 Feb 2019
Dear Guests, Thank you for your detailed and very positive response. Your description fits the hotel to a T. Toiletries are supplied everyday and one can always ask for more. The breakfast issue has been discussed with the Cafe who operates the F & B of the property. We hope it will be more up to par in the future. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VickyTheGooner wrote a review Jan 2019
London, United Kingdom87 contributions38 helpful votes
This hotel is pretty much perfect. A beautiful colonial building in the heart of Fort Cochin, we just spent three days here before going elsewhere for a wedding. The rooms are large with high ceilings, fans and A/C so were kept cool in the hottest weather. Rooms also come with mosquito nets. The only draw back is the walls are a little thin, which may be a problem for light sleepers. The rooms are around a central courtyard which catches the sun. It's a really nice place to just sit and read, have a cup of tea or a meal. The food is pretty good; we had a continental breakfast one day and lunch another, and had no complaints. There is a bakery next door so a lot of the food comes from there, as a result service can be a little slow when they are busy. The staff are
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 21 Feb 2019
Dear Guests, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that all your needs were met. Definitely, we are not a 5 star hotel. Being a heritage hotel, we do have issues of noise and sound proofing which we hope to rectify in the off season. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
afta s wrote a review Jan 2019
11 contributions5 helpful votes
The colonial style of the building in a great location. Very friendly and helpful staffs, always smiling. I had the room up the spiral staircase which It was ok and fun for me to climb as I traveled light.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 21 Feb 2019
Dear Guests, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard kochi, kochi courtyard
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OLD COURTYARD (Kochi (Cochin), Kerala) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor