We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Courtyard

Save
Share
Princess Street Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$ 92
Booking.comUS$ 92
TripadvisorUS$ 92
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (156)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (22)

About

#59 of 471 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Currency exchange
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet
371Reviews3Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 147
  • 47
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
john F wrote a review Mar 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom269 contributions66 helpful votes
On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly.The rooms are about average with the electric sockets looking somewhat dangerous. In our room the plaster was flaking off the walls by the bed which was not pleasant to look at. The chef is really friendly the food is good. The hotel is only a short walk to the market and Chinese fishing nets.One of the highlights was a visit to the laundry.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Dear John, Thank you for y our feedback. We are happy that the staff looked after you well. Since we have limestone walls, they have to be maintained yearly. And now with the off season coming in, the renovation will start. We have taken into consideration all your points. Best, Manager
Read more
Anil A wrote a review Mar 2019
New Delhi, India136 contributions37 helpful votes
Very Conveniently located near the waterfront with the Chinese Fishing nets. The rooms are clean and basic - ideal if you are out most of the time and need the room only for rest and freshening up. Being a restoration of an old building, there are no lifts. The food is good and the service is great. Shops and other restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Dear Anil, We thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us was comfortable. Best, Manager
Read more
PaulaundPu wrote a review Feb 2019
Berlin, Germany11 contributions8 helpful votes
The Old Courtyard Hotel is a nice old house in the Main Shopping Street of Old Chocin. Nice courtyard, big rooms with antique furnitures. But very noisy and badly soundproofed. You can hear every little noise from the other rooms. There is no breakfast and very poor service from a not very competend staff. It is more like a Youth Hostel and therefore too expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 26 Feb 2019
Dear Guests, Thank you for your feedback. Old Courtyard Hotel must not have been the perfect hotel for your requirements. Best, Manager
Read more
Dave K wrote a review Feb 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota67 contributions7 helpful votes
I would call this hotel average at best. It was disappointing, though it has the basic charm that could make it much better than average if managed properly. Our room was large and opened to a balcony overlooking the courtyard. But, we couldn't use the wardrobe to store our clothes because it was quite dusty. Our bathroom tile had mildew/mold on the grout and the faucet in the sink was rusty. We had to unplug a lamp to find a place to charge a phone, and the wi-fi was spotty at best. If you have physical challenges, be aware that the rooms are accessible only with one or two long, steep staircases. On the bright side, the air conditioning worked very well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 21 Feb 2019
Dear Dave, Thank you for your feedback. We will definitely look into the points you have brought up. It is indeed disconcerting that previous reviews have also covered your points but positively, It was perhaps a wrong choice of hotel for you as it did not meet your expectations. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
Floyd G wrote a review Feb 2019
Edina, Minnesota67 contributions11 helpful votes
During our tour of India we stayed at 9 different hotels. 8 were wonderful. The Old Courtyard should not have been on the itinerary. A local person should have checked it out in person rather than relying on the charming pictures and older reviews. The staff was not particularly helpful – on the first day at breakfast I waited an hour for coffee that never came. The rooms were in poor condition with jerry-rigged wiring and stained curtains. One of our rooms had a mold in the bathroom, and the closets in all were dusty and dirty. The staff, particularly the first day was not ready to serve us. A charming old historic building is fine if it is in good condition. This was not. Given the quality of every other place we stayed, this was a big disappointment. I cannot
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard
Responded 21 Feb 2019
Dear Floyd, Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your interaction with the staff. Unfortunately, we are not a 5 star hotel and perhaps your stay in other hotels were of that category. Indeed it is a quaint place not suited to everyone who require modern and up to date facilities. You were right that perhaps your agent should have done more research on your requirements. It is obvious that this was not your cup of tea. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$ 81 - US$ 94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard kochi, kochi courtyard
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing