We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11/88 Jubilee Junction Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (18)

About

#45 of 611 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Fort Cochin, Silverweed Home stay is the ideal place, a ‘home-away-from- home’ and to enjoy the wonderful hospitality as you spend your vacation, savouring all that a celebrated destination has to offer. The beautiful beach with the world-famous Chinese fishing nets, the heritage monumental architectures such as, St. Francis Church, Santa Cruz Basilica, - you are close to all these and much more at Silverweed Home stay.Silverweed offers a unique ambience of ever-ready service and homely atmosphere. All modern amenities are at hand. Every effort has been made to make guests feel that they are still at home all the while they stay at Silverweed homestay.The friendly folks at Silverweed homestay see themselves as privileged ambassadors of this land renowned as “God’s Own Country”. They are ever willing to make sure that every guest is well looked after and returns home with pleasant memories to cherish and to beckon them back here again
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Boating
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Massage
Wifi
Canoeing
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil
117Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 19
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sian and Robin P wrote a review Mar 2019
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom34 contributions13 helpful votes
This was our final two-night stop on a 4-week tour of north and central Kerala. Without being the least bit intrusive, staying at Silverweed Homestay really does make you feel part of the family. Our room and shared balcony was comfortable with good AC and Wifi and our breakfasts and lunch on arrival were lovely. However, the highlight of our short stay was the cooking course with Shyama assisted by her daughter Bindu. We have always enjoyed cooking Indian food and after nearly 3 hours of tuition from Shyama our repertoire has been expanded significantly. Thank you all at Silverweed for making us feel so welcome and for sharing your home and expertise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Silver W, Owner at Silverweed Homestay
Responded 20 Mar 2019
Hi, Thank you for your lovely comments. Eagerly waiting to welcome you back.
Read more
Frank K wrote a review Jan 2019
15 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed six nights, with a cooking lesson every day (two lessons some days). Most of the time, we were the only students, which was good because the kitchen is pretty small. The hostess, Shyama Nair, is a wonderful cook; she's friendly and pleasant, and speaks English well. The cooking lessons were basically watching her cook and asking her questions - not much hands on experience, very informal. Shyama was always well prepared, with most ingredients ready and chopped in advance. The cuisine was South Indian: lots of coconut, hardly any ghee. We chose what we wanted to cook (and eat) from a list of 60 dishes. She was completely flexible as to what time of day she would teach lessons and was willing to fit lessons around whatever other activity we had planned for the day. The house was very comfortable; we had a large bedroom and modern bathroom. The electricity in India is unreliable, which meant the air conditioner didn't always work; everything else, including ceiling fans, was on the house's back-up generator. There was a nice second-floor porch, but the mosquitoes made it unusable. (There were no mosquitoes indoors.) Fort Kochi is much more pleasant than bigger cities in India. Shyama made arrangements for us to make a day trip to the Kerala backwaters (Very interesting), and other tourist activities. They have a big New Year's celebration in Fort Kochi, including burning a 40-foot high effigy of "Santa Claus". December and January is a good time to visit, with daytime temperatures in the 80's (Fahrenheit). Everything was reasonably priced. Their driver failed to show up at the airport when we arrived, but they delivered on everything else they promised.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only two guest rooms in this homestay; they're probably identical
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Silver W, Owner at Silverweed Homestay
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Hi Thank you for the lovely comments.Eagerly waiting for your next visit.
Read more
Molly wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions
We stayed for 5 days and had all our meals there except for breakfast (we had to eat the oat porridge we had carried with us for some time). Shyamas food is various, colorful, tasty and really delicious. It's no doubt she puts a lot of good energy into her food. Unfortunately we did not participate on her cooking classes, but I know from others that she is a good teacher. The rooms have all you need, ours where tidy and clean. It was nice to sit on the terrace in the afternoon looking at the beautiful surroundings. Shyama and her husband are friendly, open minded and very good hosts. We will definitely like to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from ckkumar1972, Owner at Silverweed Homestay
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Thank you for the valuable comments. Eagerly waiting to welcome you back on the next visit
Read more
Albie C wrote a review Aug 2018
Melbourne, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
My friend and I stayed three nights here and we were both made for feel right at home by the whole family. Room was nice, clean and close to everything in the fort. Breakfast was an assortment of local dishes which we requested. During our stay we did a number of home style cooking lessons and made Dosa, Sambar, Okra curry and banana flower curry - loved it and can't wait to try the recipes when we get home. Silverweed is a super homely and chill place to stay if you are in Fort Kochi.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from silverweedhomestay, Owner at Silverweed Homestay
Responded 11 Aug 2018
Thank you for the response.We were very happy to host you and are eager to welcome you back
Read more
Yuval P wrote a review Nov 2016
Fortogna, Italy1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hospitality of shama and KSCN was great! Lovely place with clean rooms and nice balcony. 10 minutes walk from the center of fort kochin. There are only two rooms though, so it is not the best choice for the company seekers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Helpful
Share
wannabemaven wrote a review Sep 2016
Mumbai, India95 contributions21 helpful votes
A fellow travel blogger recommended a stay at Silverweed. The location is nice. We used to walk down towards the Fort Kochi beach, Chinese fishing nets and St. Francis church every day. Room is good and spacious even for three people. The balcony is the best part about the stay. The host, Shyama loves gardening and you will see her love and passion for plants. We enjoyed spending our time in the balcony during the afternoons when the heat was at its peak. All the basics including breakfast and wi-fi are part of the deal. The hosts are pure vegetarian, so the vegetarian meals tasted pretty good. But the one time, I ordered for a non-veg meal, it wasn't that great. Also they are a little expensive compared to other homestays as I enquired around the area for cheaper options in case I had planned to return to Kochi for a night. Having said that, the stay feels like a homestay and not a lodge. A lot of people in Kochi claim that they are homestays but the ambience is that of a lodge. It's a good option to stay, but they need to rework their price and off season should be cheaper!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from silverweedhomestay, Owner at Silverweed Homestay
Responded 28 Sep 2016
hi, Thank you for the review.I have read the comments and would like to stat thatit is not easy to operate a homestay with a lesser rate than which was offered to you.I have given you the best rate in the present market.Price is always on the higher side when we all need quality.I had also spoken to you but you said everything was perfect if you did have a different opinion i could have helped you Regards krishna
Read more
itsco926 wrote a review Sep 2016
Kyoto, Japan27 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Thank you so much for making each moment so beautiful!! I had such a wonderful stay at Silverweed Homestay for one week. I come to Kerala twice a year so I wanted to get a something different experience in this time and I found here in TripAdvisor. It was the right choice. I really enjoyed mother's cooking. She prepared variety of delicious traditional meals everyday. I didn't expect to have cooking lesson before I come here but finally I had 8 lessons for one week. These mother's recipes would be my life treasure. They always tried to make me comfortable. There was such a thing, I said I like fish in typical conversation then she prepared fried-fish for dinner even though they are purely vegetarian. They are punctual person and have warm hospitality heart and mind. I was very lucky to be able to come and stay with lovely family. I Highly recommend this place for all of generations. Wishing Silverweed Homestay a future filled with happiness!! Sincerely regards,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Symphony of mother's heart and Kerala nature
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from silverweedhomestay, Owner at Silverweed Homestay
Responded 28 Sep 2016
hi, Thank you for the reviews .We are eager to welcome you back to our home stay again
Read more
Joseph O wrote a review Jul 2016
3 contributions
 Krishna and his lovely parents were exceptional hosts! We sincerely appreciated their warm hospitality and sense of humor. Krishna's mother won a statewide cooking competition recently and prepared a variety of delicious traditional meals for us. We enjoyed her private cooking class as well! Krishna helped us arrange a house boat tour, private yoga classes, and even cultural events in Kochi. The family is well connected to the community and was readily available to help us with everything from directions to cutting up mango for us. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable with modern amenities. The home is within easy walking distance to all major attractions in Fort Kochi. We enjoyed chatting with Krishna and his parents and look forward to returning one day. Highly recommend this home stay for anyone looking for superb hospitality and the best food in Kochi!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
AsquithR wrote a review May 2016
British Columbia, Canada19 contributions1 helpful vote
The Silverweed Homestay was a very pleasant experience. The private home has just two rooms with a large quiet balcony. The couple who own the home were lovely people. It was a bit of a walk to the main touristy part of the town, but enjoyable. The only comment we had was that although the home cook breakfast was delicious… there wasn’t enough.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
kayess11 wrote a review Jan 2016
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions11 helpful votes
Friendly, informative, sweet and accommodating family, simple but clean room, lovely balcony, simple but tasty breakfast. Our only concern was that this place was quite overpriced compared to other places in Cochi. 2100Rupees for a basic double room w/ bathroom. Have stayed in places half that price that were just as nice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from silverweedhomestay, Owner at Silverweed Homestay
Responded 19 May 2016
hi, Thank you for the reviews we will surely look into the rate for the coming season.But if quality is needed amount will be surely on a higher end.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Silverweed Homestay
Which popular attractions are close to Silverweed Homestay?
Nearby attractions include Vallarpadam Church (4.8 km), Kashi Art Gallery (2.3 km), and Kerala Kathakali Centre (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Silverweed Homestay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Silverweed Homestay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Silverweed Homestay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Silverweed Homestay?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silverweed Homestay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Latest Recipe, Tharavadu Restaurant by Casino hotel, and Thai Soul.
Does Silverweed Homestay have airport transportation?
Yes, Silverweed Homestay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Silverweed Homestay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Silverweed Homestay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Tamil.
Are there any historical sites close to Silverweed Homestay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. George Orthodox Koonan Kurish Old Syrian Church (2.1 km), Aspinwall House (2.4 km), and Kadavum Bagam Synagogue (0.3 km).