Nestled amidst the warm buzz of Mattancherry's ancient bazaar, India's First museum hotel sits ensconced in an 1877 granary that abuts the serene Cochin waterfront channel on one side and opens out onto the bazaar road on the other. The charming pitched roof, terracotta tiled structure was transformed from its earlier days as a granary and later a godown that stored ayurvedic herbs into a quaint museum hotel by the Ebrahim Brothers. Afthab and Arshad Ebrahim, hailing from the Singeri family of Kutchi Memon descent. The family migrated from Gujarat in the early 1800's to Cochin and have shared valuable pieces of their family history at the hotel. Rare family photographs and artefacts showcase an era that has been frozen in time. The museum hall on the round floor houses a collection of sculptures, manuscripts, furniture and more that date back centuries and tell many a tale. Traditional Kutchi recipes handed down the generations also feature in the menu. The teeming bazaar outside the hotel has been trading fragrant spices, rice and pulses for centuries. The sourcing point for ancient traders from across the world the bazaar followed the barter system for centuries. Silk, pottery and medicinal herbs were boarded onto wooden ships to Europe. Ancient pitched roof buildings sits cheek by jowl while traders still conduct their business in rice, pulses, tea and spices. On the other side of the hotel lies the Mattancherry channel, the waterway that connects the ocean to the port and backwaters. On the opposite shore is Willingdon Island, built by Sir Robert Bristow, housing the port authority offices, wharfs and terminals for ships to berth when they call on Cochin Port.