We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kambihalli Estate, Attigiri Village, Shantaveri Post, Chikmagalur 577137 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (179)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (19)

About

#8 of 222 in Chikmagalur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The cottages are located in the midst of our coffee estate at the foot of the Bababudan Hills. They were built to give our guests a coffee country experience close to nature and different from a traditional resort getaway.Our rooms are big and airy with beautiful bay windows to bring in the sun. They are furnished with antique furniture interspersed with modern pieces.Each room has a private sit out to enjoy the beautiful surroundings along with an attached indoor bath and an outdoor open air shower with a private garden. A traditional fireplace will keep you warm in the winters.
Read more
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic

Location

Full view
132Reviews3Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 37
  • 10
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Malashree wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Had booked 3 different cottages checking photos in website. Mika cottage is only true cottage. Others are old house or rooms haphazardly designed. Old place. Lacks the basic comfort of hot water. Unlike other Homestay, they don’t offer all meals. But you have to plan and order in advance. If you decide to have food later, absolutely no option. Only Mika cottage close to kitchen. Place lacks the hospitality. Staff are bland faced and only talk rules. Very very hostile staff and Owner. Owner does not greet guests. We got welcome like of uninvited guests. Property is managed by 3-4 staff naturally cannot handle more than 4-6 guests at a time. Other rooms share common wall and if you sit and talk , noise is passed to other room and naturally other guests don’t like it. Manager is quite rude, he raises voice against guests, which is last thing you expect, in place you are paid and coming as guest. Donot Recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 3 Apr 2022
Dear malashree we have already addressed the problems, however i will do so again. Your last minute bookings were done at your insistence to adjust. We retierate that had you read up on the cottages website you would have fully understood that we are a plantation homestay and have our ideology clearly stated. we are sorry that it was not suited to your expectations and we have addressed the issue with the staff and mnagaer
Read more
arundesi wrote a review Jan 2022
Bengaluru, India6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for multiple nights in December and had a good stay. We love to be out in the woods, so this place was that (yet close to the main road) for us to take a few hikes, watch the sun rise, hear (& watch) birds chirping and chill out. We did have a comfortable stay, though we were a bit skeptical after the rules & regulations that they had sent. Our cottage was away from the main area (dining & others) which has its plus & negatives (though they did tell us about it). Plus points are that it is more secluded & has more privacy. The cottage also opens up to the plantation and has a great view of the sunrise, birds and walks around the plantations. Downside is that you will have to drive (1.5kms) or walk 15-20 mins to reach the dining area (they did provide morning coffee/tea though it would have been good if they had served it a bit early). It is a working plantation that houses the home stay and their focus seemed more on that than the home stay.We didn't have any complaints but certainly they should look to improve a few aspects. The staff were all quite friendly, but their hospitality needs improvement. Having stayed at many homestays, this one (cost, comfort & quality of stay wise) should be compared with similar ones. Lunch/dinner is charged separately (which I liked btw), though it was a simple fare it was quite good & tasty, but felt it was a bit overpriced. Pretty much all the homestays serve evening tea/snacks (& on demand in the afternoon), but we are left to fend for ourselves at their cafe. Our main intention to stay in a homestay to avoid the crowd (during these pandemic times) having to go to a cafe beats that purpose. Another tip- if you want to go around (hiking or otherwise), do your own research, the staff wasn't very informative. Our cottage was quite comfortable, including the bed, bathroom, pillows etc.. but need better toiletries. Another note, not all guests will just stay put in the estate and it is not fair to expect them to open/close the main gate by themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Cottages that are away from the main dining area provide great views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 23 Jan 2022
Dear Arun, We appreciate your feed back and will definetely try and implement your suggestions. Our reason to serve snacks at the coffee shop is to avail of those specialities and get the guset to enjoy the ambience there; certainly we can ask snacks to be served at the dining area. We are a homestay and close to the road , and therefore need to be vigilant ; we will look into the aspect of the gate closing as well. Thank you for the review. thank you for your review.
Read more
Krithika wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
From the moment we came to check we experienced terrible hospitality. They are running a guesthouse in the side of their estate and have no idea how to treat guests. Please do not pay in advance, it’s a scam because there have multiple people who have left early because of their terrible attitude. The staff and the owner have a very defensive “WHAT IS MY FAULT” attitude. We were a family of 8 and they did not give us close by cottages. We were not informed that the cottages are 1km away and were told they are close by. Ponnanna or the so-called manager misbehaved and so did the owner Mrs. Nilima Cariappa claiming that it was our problem that we didn’t know. Correct me if I am wrong but it is the responsibility of the owner to let us know. We were asked to sit out of our own cottages at 10 PM cause it was disturbing to the neighbours. More than 10 calls in the evening. The manager ponnanna disrespected my family and told us to “Shut-Up”. In the hospitality industry I have never heard owners coming and asking the guests to sit out. Also you don’t allocate one cottage to two different families. And Mrs. Cariappa who believes that she needs to raise her voice to get respected was not open for suggestions and told us “it’s our problem” and to deal with it. The staff there raised their voice, used strong words and were coming to threaten. We cancelled are our two day trip to a single day trip. We have not even received a refund. Nor an apology. Everyone on the property including some lady Ritu who manages the booking and has no idea about the property wants to argue and not ready to accept feedback. We have been extremely patient but everyone here raises their voice. If you want a relaxing experience any cheaper place is better than here who order us around for food, behaviour and cottages. Again, even if you against your better judgement stay here donot pay the amount in advance. They are aware they create such incidents and they won’t refund the amount.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 23 Jan 2022
Dear krithikanjk Thank you for writing a review. We apologise if you felt you were misinformed about the property details; we will certainly look into this, as we send out a detailed welcome e mail, which you may not have read. We are saddened, that you did not enjoy your experience,it is upsetting to us and we want to address your concerns. The issue arose after we were contacted by our other guests, regarding the noise levels from your group. We only intervened at 10.30 pm , as repeated phone calls, by our manager to malashri, to please consider their requests went unnoticed , and they were unable to rest, esp as they had a senior citizen and 2 small kids who were sleeping. To help the situation, we offered you a bonfire, away from the rooms so that you're group could enjoy the night, and it was readily accepted, by malashri. However , to our surprise,it was the offensive and vulgar language , by an inebriated man in your family ,that was directed at me , a senior lady , that caused us concern, as he was very harsh and personal! He refused to move away, in spite of our requests, and covid protocols, and became more offensively verbal, that had us raising our voices, esp our staff who wanted to protect. We also requested you to speak to us in the morning, so that we could solve this amicably. Our goodwill towards, your family, to make an exception, and accept your last minute request for the available rooms, which malashri accepted after a conversation, with the reservation team, wasn't reciprocated. Our request to settle the food bill in the morning was ignored and you chose to leave without consideration. We will go over your review, with the staff , and see how we can make changes to better serve our guests.
Read more
agarnimit wrote a review Sep 2021
Bengaluru, India7 contributions5 helpful votes
Pros: In nature. Only front cottages are nice. Food is good. Cons: Food is charged extra. Even bonfire. No toiletries, tea/coffee provision in room. Geyser did not work. Need to ask for small things. Owner came a few times but not connected.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Dear Sir thank you for your response. Interaction with staff and owner was not possible as Covid restrictions were in place We are sorry that you did not read our introductory letter that explains that we are a nature homestay with sustainabliity as the focus we will look into your review.
Read more
Rama S wrote a review Sep 2021
Bengaluru, India13 contributions11 helpful votes
Pros: 2 main cottages have good views, tasty food. Cons: Strict rules, Miserly owner, Inhospitable staff. No evening tea/snacks. Operate like hostel mess with strict 1 hour time for meals. Find reasons to deduct money from security kept.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Place will tie you down with rules. Not worth if not staying in main 2 cottages. Carry along...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Dear Rama Thank you for writing in and giving us an insight - we appreciate the time you took to write in. Our web site and introductory mail very clearly gives you a picture of what is being offered and we hope you had read the same before booking. our rules are in place as we live in a forested area, and esp due to covid, we are being very safe and the staff dont interact with the guests for safety reasons. we will look into your review and thank you once again
Read more
SriramJSS wrote a review Jul 2021
Bengaluru, India134 contributions80 helpful votes
+1
We planned to go here from a long time, finally went there this weekend. The cottage is very beautiful and has good views. Amenities are also very comfortable. Probably, the best home stay we stayed so far in Karnataka in terms of amenities. Food is good, but can be better. Didn’t have many options, mah be because we were the only guests at that time. staff is very prompt for a home stay. As it rained all through our stay, couldn’t go on a walk in the property. It was beautiful for the 10 mins walk which we could do.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Take Mika or Jackie for couples and small families
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 31 Jul 2021
Dear sriram thank you for your review We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the property. if you had brought your raincoats you would have enjoyed a guided walk in the woods with one of the staff. The chef is new as has to get a hang of our dishes; will ask the manager to look into this. due to covid we are taken every precaution appreciate your feedback
Read more
Aditya NSN wrote a review Apr 2021
11 contributions4 helpful votes
First outstation trip since the pandemic and glad it was to Halliberri. Spent a rejuvenating 2 days (3rd - 5th April). Beautiful estate, lovely trails, luscious greens, amazing people, tasteful cottages. The in house meals were great. Much of our time was spent walking around the property, breathing deeply and soaking in the sights and sounds. Hope to revisit soon and for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 5 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your review.
Read more
Kiran S wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India2 contributions
One of those places, where I am conflicted about posting an honest review, lest I jinx it. Its an ideal getaway into a peaceful, no-frills coffee plantation. Limited set of cottages are perfect and tastefully done. Food is great and as per your liking. Hosts are wonderful and delightful to talk to and that includes a bunch of canines who kept shadowing our boys all the time (and the boys were more than happy for it). Everything makes for a perfect do-nothing vacation setting. We, along with our kids, visited in Dec 2020. If escaping months of lockdown was an incentive, the charms of this place made us forget what we just drove away from. Luckily for us, we were the only guests. So chef Madhav cooked for us some yummy food as per our ask. Ms Nalima and her team (her daughters and Mr Ponnanna) are wonderful hosts. They arranged plantation walks (this place is very close to Bhadra reserve, so wildlife often crosses paths, as it almost did during our stay !!) and we also were lucky to see coffee picking and pulping process as it was the season. Visit the place if you aren't a fussy traveller who expects 5-star hotel luxury/service, but rather enjoys quiet and comfortable stay close to nature. There is a charming cafe at the entrance that dishes out the best Arabica cuppa you'd have had. We made wonderful memories and hope to be back into their folds another day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 27 Feb 2021
Dear Kiran Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate that you tok the time to write and esp appreciate the warmth of your letter which shows us that our efforts to give our guests a slice of our heaven is worth it. We get many guests who revisit for the exact same reason , to be away from the mundane and make memories with us thank you once again
Read more
Shruthi R wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
This is a beautiful place with lovely cottages in the middle of nature. We would really recommend Halli Berri to anyone visiting Chikmagalur. * Good Food * Well maintained cottages * Warm people All in the midst of nature!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear shruthir thank you so much for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to write in with your feedback
Read more
AS8 wrote a review Jan 2021
New Delhi, India17 contributions
I have been trying to contact this property for days now but neither the number on their website nor the one on Google is ever answered. The property is almost impossible to contact and make a booking. In today's day and age where everyone is reachable through click of a phone, it seems this property is trying hard to not be accessible to potential customers. Extremely disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from nalima kariappa, Owner at Halliberri Cottages
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Traveller Thank you for the feedback. We are extremely sorry that you were unable to connect with us .It is our endeavour to connect with whoever calls or mails us. November and December were very busy months for us, and we have tried our best to answer all queries. Our mb no on the website is a most reachable one and always answered by our manager. It is 9483523003. The e mail id ; rituhaliberri@gmail.com is always answered. However we are going to check this out, and get back to you if you leave us your mail id. Our apologies once again
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaChikkamagaluru DistrictChikmagalur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Halliberri Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Halliberri Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Z Point (7.5 km) and Kemmangundi Peak (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Halliberri Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and secured parking.
What food & drink options are available at Halliberri Cottages?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Halliberri Cottages?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.