We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Doddankoppa Estate Javali post Javali Mudigere Taluk, Chikmagalur 577122 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (11)

About

#23 of 180 in Chikmagalur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
You can take long walks and be lost in the wilderness without meeting a soul to be only woken up from your reverie by startled peacocks suddenly taking flight leaving a tail wind of breeze in their wake on your face. Or take a local and go for long treks. You don't have to be an ornithologist to enjoy the songs of nameless birds and delight in their visual feast to your eyes or haunting concert of myriad crickets and cicadas at night.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Badminton
Hiking
Indoor play area for children
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Table tennis
Walking tours
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
First aid kit
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Show more
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
Contact
Doddankoppa Estate Javali post Javali Mudigere Taluk, Chikmagalur 577122 India
Getting there
Bajpe Airport67 kmSee all flights
Jindal Vijaynagar Airport257 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
68Reviews2Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 8
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Preetha11 wrote a review Jan 2018
Bengaluru, India295 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
The place is a short drive away from Bangalore, about 4-5 hours, situated not too far from the main road, yet it is calm and quiet. The house itself is beautiful, built with stone walls with a really high ceiling. There are about 3-4 rooms, and we got the one in the right side adjoining the living area with a TV, and an opening on to the garden, so it's like a complete private space. The garden itself is great to just laze around. I loved the bougainvillea tree in the centre and the seating area in the verandah which gets amazing sunlight in the morning, and you can play with the dogs. The food was delicious and homely. With all these positives, we were still a bit disappointed considering the price we paid. It's neither a homestay where you experience living with a family, nor
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Helpful
Share
santanu2013 wrote a review Oct 2017
Bengaluru, India53 contributions17 helpful votes
Hi Krithika, Thank you for taking time to call and reply to my wife's feedback. But I want to clarify few points that you have mentioned in you reply. 1. You don't market as budget hotel as a result our expectation was much higher 2. I do not mind paying premium if I get the worth of it. You mentioned that management had asked the estate manager to drop us till main road but the fact is that it was us who requested him to drop us and being a very good person he agreed to do so. Highly appreciate the same. Please check the facts before you reply in public. We agree that monsoons are very heavy this year, but after paying a premium we can at least expect some kind of rain proofing of the property. We went there to relax and not to run around at night with buckets in our
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Aarathis wrote a review Oct 2017
Bangalore, Karnataka, India2 contributions
If you're thinking about a homestay in Chikmagalur, look no further. This gorgeous property gives you the right mix of home and luxury. The beautifully laid out house coupled with a beautiful scenic view and luxury tents is perfect if you want a break from city life to just unwind. So if you're looking for clean air, home-cooked food and a tastefully done estate house, here's where you should go.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 9 Oct 2017
Dear Aarathi, Thank you for your kind words, look forward to having you stay with us again! Best, Krithika
Read more
Paul George wrote a review Sep 2017
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
I was really excited to visit Chickmanglur as it would be my very first trip and as is normal these days I went through websites, reviews and what not. After all the accumulation of info and mental images, I was apprehensive that the reality may fall short of the virtual. It was a good 6 hours drive from Bangalore, the roads though single lane were in good condition. The local eateries are very very reasonable with good quality fresh food. The drive as you enter the property is nice. We were greeted at the reception in a traditional Homestay style as we were welcomed by Krithika Gopinath . But what stayed with me was the delicious coffee that was served ....outstanding!! And that was what set the standard for our entire stay. Rooms...it is one thing to see picture and quite
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 14 Sep 2017
Dear Paul, Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to hosting you again! :) Best, Krithika
Read more
Shayari M wrote a review Sep 2017
1 contribution
A short drive away from Bangalore, chikmanglur is known for its coffee plantations in between which lies this enticing property - captains bungalow. My stay at the bungalow was so much more than I expected! I can never forget the first of my many trips there. I woke up to the most lovely array of clouds covering the hills and trees. The luxury bungalow has the most spacious rooms with a picture perfect view. Every corner of the bungalow is warm and inviting. They have the most hospitable staff in an environment that is luxurious, yet simple. My most favourite part was the home cooked food served to us around the bonfire. I cannot wait to go back! Have a long weekeend coming up? GO HERE. You can thank me later 😊
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 14 Sep 2017
Dear Shayari, Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to hosting you again! :) Best, Krithika
Read more
Jonathan J wrote a review Sep 2017
1 contribution
I went to the captains bungalow with a couple of my friends and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the place. From nature, to estate, to food, animals and the bungalow itself. Krithika was very helpful and quick with our enquires and requests. They're doing a great job. The awesome part about this place is that it accommodates all groups of people, young, old, or even single ppl. It's the ideal getaway and I highly recommend it. 👍👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 13 Sep 2017
Dear Jonathan, Thank you so much for your kind words, please do come back for a visit soon! Best, Krithika
Read more
Amit M wrote a review Sep 2017
Bengaluru, India49 contributions6 helpful votes
Nestled within a few hour's driver from Bangalore, this place provides respite from city life in a laid back modern yet serene house, nestled between forest clad mountains, coffee plantations & coconut trees On reaching we were greeted by our host , The Captain himself ,who was very hospitable. Who showed us around the bungalow, furnished tastefully, the bungalow has a living area, and sun deck opening into the sky. The Deck Bar is a haven for any thirsty traveller... He took us on a tour to coffee estate and set up a bonfire & BBQThe bonfire and bbq were truly the highlight for the evening. On top of the house, a lovely view of sunset/ sunrise is as picturesque as any postcard Home cooked breakfast / lunch & dinner is served in the veranda, which is very scenic The
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 13 Sep 2017
Dear Amit, Thank you so much for your kind words, we thoroughly enjoyed your company and would love to host you any time you decide to come back. Although we don't have coconut trees, what you saw facing the house are arecanut trees; but I don't blame you as we all have mistaken arecanut trees for coconut/palm trees :) Thank you. Best, Krithika
Read more
Shishir Sathyan wrote a review Sep 2017
Bengaluru, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was my 3rd visit to this property, and that's testimony to how much I love coming to this place! I love the view from the gorgeous house and the walks around the plantation. My favourite spot being the bar on the outside under a tree. I could sit there for hours with nothing more than a book and a couple of beers. Every time I want to get away from the noise of the city I shortlist this place to visit. I've been here with friends and family and quite interested in coming here alone the next time. It offers the kind of peace and tranquility that energises you to get back to the hustle. The food is modest and the staff are warm and friendly. At a place like this when you're away from everything that's all you can ask for. The roads for the last 2-3 kms are broken, but the
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 13 Sep 2017
Dear Shishir, Thank you so much for your kind words, we also really enjoyed showing you around and hosting you. Hope to see you again real soon! Thank you. Krithika
Read more
Ashutosh S wrote a review Sep 2017
7 contributions10 helpful votes
Landed up at this place almost by accident. Cicilia had been very kind and helped me in finding the place and also in setting it up for me as it was a last minute arrangement. Was greeted by the most majestic property I had seen in a very long time, or perhaps ever. Nestled in the heart of pristine coffee plantations, overlooking the hills, this very quiet and serene place is the perfect getaway for the weekend. Place would best be enjoyed with a group of people or even alone if you're in the mood to getaway from civilisation. Facilities like a fire place, bar be que and even a water reservoir can melt the toughest of hearts. The property has a small army of all breeds of dogs that are very friendly and are very well trained to not invade the guests' privacy indoors. I'm surely
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 12 Sep 2017
Dear Ashutosh, Thank you for your Kind words and we hope to see you again! :) Best, Krithika
Read more
Sayantani Mitra wrote a review Aug 2017
Bengaluru, India38 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
We were very excited about the trip. We were charged 10k per nite with food which is most expensive stay for us till date. We travelled with a 6 mnth old,two 60plus and one 80 plus senior citizens. The place is simply beautiful with greenery at its best due to monsoon. The place is an british style bungalow in the coffee estate. Bt the last 2 km road to the bungalow is pathetic!! Practically there is no road, big potholes with loose stones. If it is a low car like us God help you,your car will need ICU treatment. This was not told to us clearly by the booking authorities even after stating that we hv infant nd old ppl with us nd car is nt an SUV. This is really not appreciated. We were very tensed and faced a lot of trouble. Hospitality was good, though the kitchen staff were a
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Krithika G, Guest Relations Manager at Captains Bungalow
Responded 12 Sep 2017
Dear Sayantani, Thank you for your feedback, would like to respond to a couple of your comments. * With regard to the road, that is actually the job of the government to make sure its well maintained but as we all are aware of how efficient they are; in spite of the numerous requests the status is the same. Having said that, my colleague Cecilia did mention to your friend Mritsa that the road is bad via telephonic conversation and as well as email as Mritsa was the one person contact for your group. However, as you found it so difficult which is why we told our estate manager to take you till the main road which is something we don't normally do for any guest. * With regard to the amount you spent at our place: 1. We don't market ourselves as a low-budget homestay. 2. We have been in the area of Chikmaglur long enough to say, that you will most definitely not find a place like ours for a lower price. 3. We do strive to maintain high level of quality at our homestay. * With regard to the help being slow, noted will make sure to change this from our end. * With Regard to the rooms being damp, unfortunately it is the monsoon season, and unlike the city in remote areas there is only so much you can do with dampness and leaking roofs. As the level of rains there is very high during the monsoon season. Best, Krithika
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$201 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaChikkamagaluru DistrictChikmagalur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing