Mahatta Home Stay

Mahatta Home Stay

Traveller (235)
The newly refurbished Suite
Room & Suite (57)
The veg noodles with veg ball manchurian - all home made
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#13 of 77 guest houses in Srinagar
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the heart of the beautiful city of Srinagar, with easy; almost walkable access to the main shopping hub of Srinagar and within 2 KM radius of the Dal Lake, Mahatta Home Stay provides a perfect getaway, The B and B being in the midst of the city is far, far away from the rush and hustle and bustle of Srinagar.We have added 4 new recently furnished rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

C 26 Raj Bagh, Srinagar 190001 India
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Srinagar Airport
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
150Reviews4Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 40
  • 10
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
maanvinder wrote a review Jan 2022
Chandigarh, India103 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a group of 6 including 2 children and 4 adults. We had booked two rooms & stayed at this beautiful property from the 25-29th December 2021. The stay was very comfortable and felt like home. The owner Anita aunty takes extra pains to ensure that all guests are well taken care off. Any issues arising out of erratic electricity supply as is the norm in Srinagar are dealt with promptly. In fact we always came back to clean & warm rooms everyday.
Anita aunty even went ahead and made the most delicious dry cakes for us on request without any charges. She is the most humble and delightful host I have come across in recent trips. They also own few important commercial establishments in the Lal chowk area and narrates tales of the beautiful days gone by.
On our day of checking out we were given small Kashmiri clutches (bags) as a token of remembrance which were loved by my daughter.
If in Srinagar & looking for a homely experience, I would highly recommend MAHATTA HOUSE!!
I send my best wishes and regards to Anita Aunty!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Best locality in Srinagar Walking distance to zero bridge Walking distance to Lal chowk.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreyEagle08 wrote a review Oct 2021
Andheri West, India68 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We, 5 couples, spent 5 nights at Mahatta homestay, in September/October. The homestay is very well maintained, clean, neat & hygienic, with all basic facilities. The rooms are spacious, we were in a ground floor room, they can comfortably accommodate 3 adults. The room has a double bed & a separate single bed. Clean linen, clean spacious toilet/bath, with solar heated running hot water, essential in Srinagar. The only downside was no shower curtain, leaving the entire bathroom wet.
The food is pure veg (no eggs), tasty & well prepared. With a little notice they did prepare dishes, as per our request. The meals are served in the dining room. Service is good & staff are efficient. A special mention for Roshan, a very energetic young man, from Nepal, with a wacky sense of humour.
The Kashmiri lunch that they made on request, was one of the best meals we had on our 10 day trip to Kashmir.
The grounds are very pretty, with a lot of roses, lawns & outdoor seating.
Overall a very good experience, made special by the owner Anita ji, who took personal interest in ensuring that we had a great stay.
Drinking is not permitted on the lawn or in the dinning room.
Recommended for couples & individual travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Limited parking is available on the premises. The place is not easy to locate, all the drivers...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Promil P wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful property that gives one the feeling of a home away from home. Rooms are spacious and clean and have views of the garden. Our room opened out into the beautiful garden which was in full bloom with pink as the predominant hue in May. Service is good and the meals are delicious. They are happy to cater to guest preferences and requests for meals (we enjoyed a sumptuous Kashmiri veg wazwan for one of our dinner meals). The strategic location of the property allows for easy access to reaching popular eateries, shopping and strolling along the boulevard and residency road on foot (if you enjoy walking) or a short auto ride. If you are in luck (with the owners not travelling) and get a chance to meet them, specially Anita it’s a delight to walk through her garden with her enjoying her contagious passion for flowers and fruits growing there. We had an amazing stay and look forward to staying there again. Thank you for your hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Connector46732693039 wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very misleading, don't fall for the outdoor pictures. Yes, it might look clean and beautiful from outside, but once you stay you'll understand how pathetic their service is. First, we didn't get hot water in the washroom on our first day. It was 6°C and we had to use freezing cold water, specially my mom who is 50+ had a very difficult stay. When we enquired, they said they can provide next day only. Second, they didn't provide packaged bottle water even after asking them multiple times. They always said next day which never came. Third, breakfast time is 8-10 but you won't get to eat after 9am. They will give excuses like sab khatam hogaya. Same goes for dinner. Fourth, they are charging 450pp for an average simple veg meal but while booking they said 250. They are charging extra on arrival which is very unethical and misleading. We had booked for 3 nights, but because of their pathetic service we wanted to change our stay but couldn't find anything for those dates. So, had to suffer those 3 nights. Overall, very bad experience and I won't recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anita Mehta, Owner at Mahatta Home Stay
Responded 23 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, We have been trying to place you and are unable to find you in our records. Had you given us the your name or the dates of your travel, that would have been very helpful for me to find out about the concerns raised in your review. Regarding the issues raised by you: We have individual large boilers that supply hot water to the buildings. Sometimes especially during the day if there are less people staying in the building and other bathrooms are not in use, the hot water may take some time to come. Regarding our food: Breakfast is served in the dining room. And breakfast is made according to the number of people staying with us. Since we are a hill station and a holiday destination, we make sure that the dishes are in sufficient quantities. I would like to mention that usually breakfast lasts till 10:30 AM as some people like to eat a little late. I don't remember any day when the breakfast would have finished by 9:00 AM . 9:00 AM is usually our peak time and invariably the dining room is full around this time. Water: We try and avoid plastic usage or plastic bottles as much as possible. The homestay has RO water filter that we encourage the guests to use. I am sorry if you did not find the bottled water. I am sure the staff would have supplied you with filtered water instead. But we do have bottled water with us and is always available on demand. Our rates for the meals have been revised and have since the beginning of 2023 have been Rs450 per person. And we are very conscious of the quality of food that we serve. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. Had you called me ( my phone number is readily available on the website and also with the staff) or the manager we would have made sure and addressed all your concerns. Warm regards and hope you will give us another chance so that we make your stay memorable. Anita
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nittin Mittal wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have booked Mahatta Homestay for Two Days (New Year). I have booked through agoda but his manager told me that room that i have booked doesn't have centralized Heater and asked us to upgrade to the room where they will provide centralized Heater. But when we reach over there (At 10:00 PM), the room was freezing and we asked why heater is not working and they told us that they switch ON central Heater just for two hours

We tried to contact everyone .. Owner, Manager and there was no one on the reception to talk to.

Then nothing to left to try, we try to sleep in that cold room and suddenly at night we see our blanket caught fire (Electric Blanket). Our whole room was full of smoke.

In morning when i encountered with Owner (Old Lady), instead of apologizing for the things, she said you can leave.

I will not recommend anyone Mahatta..First because of Wrong Information they pass to the customers...second Worst Customer Experience
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anita Mehta, Owner at Mahatta Home Stay
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Mr. Nittin, I was hoping that before writing this review you would have done a little bit of introspection. And I would like to apologise to you in advance, as you have left me with no choice but to let people the truth. Had you done some introspection, you would have realised how drunk you were that night. And may be you would have also been able to throw light on how you managed to spill your drink on the electric blanket and how it caught fire (which is two layers under the bed ) without the quilt and the bed sheet catching fire. Needless to say the condition we found you and the room in the morning. I would want to make a small mention about what the other guests told me regarding your behaviour and how you have inconvenienced the entire guest house. I hope that this incident has taught you a lesson and that hereon you will be a responsible drinker. Or maybe not drink at all if you are staying at a hotel or a homestay, as it can endanger the building as well as lives. Wishing you the best for your future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madhu S wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Srinagar with my sister and a friend . Somehow I always prefer to stay in a home stay to experience local culture and interact with people and most important enjoy their food. We stayed for 4 nights at centrally located Mahatta home stay at Raj Bagh. It was a very touching moment for me when I received a phone call from the Homestay when I was boarding my flight to welcome me and inquired if I need anything on my arrival. These are the small things but they do make a difference. Mahatta home stay ...what a place ..palatial property , gardens beautifully maintained, asthetically decorated spacious rooms with kashmiri furnishing. The high point of this home stay is presence of Anita ji and their yummy vegetarian food served with love . The staff is very caring and always smiling. Anita Ji's hospitality is personalized and she has a passion to take care of guests and could anticipates guests needs. I would strongly recommend to stay here and enjoy the experience. Anita ji..thanks so much to make our stay most memorable. May God bless you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neel wrote a review Jun 2022
25 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A very beautiful property within 10 mins walk from zero bridge and famous restaurants. They have an astonishingly well maintained garden, helping staff and serve good & homely food(breakfast &dinner).
The room(&washroom) was properly clean(with clean bedsheet/towels) and spacious with a good garden view but needs some maintenance like paint/patchwork
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Varun wrote a review Sept 2022
New Delhi, India130 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were recommended this homestay by some friends. So we had high expectations from the place. We are Satsangis so that was an added reason to stay here knowing the fact that the Mahattas are also Satsangis.

Instead of booking a fancier hotel which would have costed us almost similarly, we decided to stay with the Mahattas. Their history in Srinagar also fascinated us. However, actually staying there didn’t do justice to our inflated expectations.

There’s nothing like a homestay where you get to interact with the owners and feel like at home. We were given a room and that’s about it. No interaction at all with anyone. The staff even refused to give us tea sachets, etc on being requested. Every question from the staff would attract a very dry response. Breakfast was stale. We didn’t eat anything else here.

The best part of the stay was the beautifully landscaped garden that they have.

It’s quiet a distance from the Dal Lake and the tourist attractions. We were fine with it being far as we were not too keen on these but a lot of visitors would like to stay closer.

Plenty of other hotels/homestay available around this homestay as well.

I won’t recommend a stay unless absolutely necessary.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anita Mehta, Owner at Mahatta Home Stay
Responded 21 Sept 2022
Dear Varun, I am sorry that you did not have a desired holiday. I would very humbly like to state the following: That for the two days that you stayed with us you were hardly at the property. As you were busy doing excursions the whole day. I passed you quite a few times but you looked the other way and did not even do an eye contact. I assumed that you wanted to be on your own and did not want any intrusion. Regarding the breakfast : I am sorry I don’t agree with you on the quality of food. I take personal care in the menu and the ingredients of what is served every day. We are known for our food quality and taste. So I find this allegation regarding the food misplaced. Our staff is also very courteous and is always willing to please. I wish you had met me once during your visit as we passed each other many times. And I hope that you will give us another chance to change your perception. Wishes and warm regards Anita Mehta
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nitin289 wrote a review Aug 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates65 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Tucked in one of the bylanes of Srinagar Mahatta homestay is a beautiful and welcoming property. One of the main highlights is the very well maintained garden. Just loved the flowers and fruit trees. Stayed there for 2 nights had booked 2 super deluxe rooms; quite spacious, clean, bathroom is also good. Just one suggestion: a full length mirror would have been better in one of the rooms; (not sure if it was 102 or 104). Also the wall near the single bed needs some maintenance.

Staff is very helpful and prompt in service. Meals are delicious, was happy to get pure Veg meals. One of the evenings the desert was prepared by the owner (Auntyji is a wonderful lady, very warm and courteous).

Location is also very good; it's very near to the main market.

All in all it was a very comfortable stay. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Super deluxe room that opens up to the garden...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rebecca Q wrote a review Jun 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A nice place to stay. The rooms are quite traditional, comfortable and heating was provided. The bathroom was a bit cold, there was hot water but it could be a little hit and miss. The gardens were beautiful and the little restaurant was nice, food was ok and the staff were lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anas-Explorer asked a question Nov 2017
Bengaluru, India24 contributions8 helpful votes
Planning for a Dec visit. Do you have room heaters
Answer from Anita M
New Delhi, India7 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Guest, Thank you for your e mail. We do have a Wifi in the main building, but the connection is erratic, we have a back up as a dongal that we give to our Guests in case of loss of connectivity. For reasons best known to them the service providers have not been able to settle down with the connectivity in Raj Bagh post the floods. The base of the Shankra Acharaya hill is about 3 KM from the Home Stay. It can take about 30 minutes by car to reach the top of the hill. If you walk you can do it in 45 minutes from the homestay to the top of the hill. Dal Lake is also about 4 KM from the homestay. The Dal Gate (the begining of the lake where the market is) is about 2 KM. Please do feel free to write to us for any other query or concern. Will look forward to hearing from you. Best Regards Anita Mehta
Departure32430435906 wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go for it rather then staying in the concrete jungle. "
Read full review
Jayant R wrote a tip Apr 2023
Kolkata (Calcutta), India19 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please remember it is a pure vegetarian place. A fire is lit in the garden and guests can have their dinner thereor just sit and chat. "
Read full review
Nitin289 wrote a tip Aug 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates65 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Super deluxe room that opens up to the garden..."
Read full review
maanvinder wrote a tip Jan 2022
Chandigarh, India103 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best locality in Srinagar Walking distance to zero bridge Walking distance to Lal chowk."
Read full review
GreyEagle08 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Andheri West, India68 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited parking is available on the premises. The place is not easy to locate, all the drivers we hired, had some difficulty finding it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Srinagar area.
PRICE RANGE
₹4,177 - ₹6,767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaJammu and KashmirKashmirSrinagar DistrictSrinagar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAHATTA HOME STAY (Srinagar, Kashmir) - Guesthouse Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mahatta Home Stay
Which popular attractions are close to Mahatta Home Stay?
Nearby attractions include Saklain's Coterie (0.9 km) and Polo Ground Park (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahatta Home Stay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mahatta Home Stay?
Top room amenities include a desk, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Mahatta Home Stay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mahatta Home Stay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mahatta Home Stay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Tulip, Niramish, and Ahdoos.
Does Mahatta Home Stay have airport transportation?
Yes, Mahatta Home Stay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mahatta Home Stay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Mahatta Home Stay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kathi Darwaza (5.3 km) and Parihaspora Pattan (4.0 km).
All Srinagar HotelsSrinagar Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SrinagarHotels near Mahatta Home Stay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire