We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
C 26 Raj Bagh, Srinagar 190001 India
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (200)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (18)

About

#26 of 435 in Srinagar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the beautiful city of Srinagar, with easy; almost walkable access to the main shopping hub of Srinagar and within 2 KM radius of the Dal Lake, Mahatta Home Stay provides a perfect getaway, The B and B being in the midst of the city is far, far away from the rush and hustle and bustle of Srinagar.We have added 4 new recently furnished rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
26Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
132Reviews3Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 37
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SuhasPade wrote a review Yesterday
Mumbai, India2 contributions
It was truly home stay. Amazing experience. Spacious, clean and neat rooms. Staff was very co-operative. Food was really delicious. Beautiful, nicely maintained garden. You feel positive energetic atmosphere as you enter the premises. And above all, Anita aunty was so caring and paying personal attention. I definitely recommend Mahatta Home Stay for family and friends. Our best wishes to Anita aunty and her staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Shweta K wrote a review 2 May
2 contributions
A very central place with all facilities.Home cooked food was mouth watering and very sweet staff and sipping tea in the garden was the highlight with all the beautiful roses Shall surely recommend for family and friends and shall surely be back soon
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sonu wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions
I love this place, seriously i love this place. Staff is damn good. Food is ok. Rooms are fabulous. And park is out of the world. I found peace and calm only there and its mind blowing. I will suggest to everyone if you are lover of veg food pla do visit here
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
maanvinder wrote a review Jan 2022
Chandigarh, India82 contributions48 helpful votes
We were a group of 6 including 2 children and 4 adults. We had booked two rooms & stayed at this beautiful property from the 25-29th December 2021. The stay was very comfortable and felt like home. The owner Anita aunty takes extra pains to ensure that all guests are well taken care off. Any issues arising out of erratic electricity supply as is the norm in Srinagar are dealt with promptly. In fact we always came back to clean & warm rooms everyday. Anita aunty even went ahead and made the most delicious dry cakes for us on request without any charges. She is the most humble and delightful host I have come across in recent trips. They also own few important commercial establishments in the Lal chowk area and narrates tales of the beautiful days gone by. On our day of checking out we were given small Kashmiri clutches (bags) as a token of remembrance which were loved by my daughter. If in Srinagar & looking for a homely experience, I would highly recommend MAHATTA HOUSE!! I send my best wishes and regards to Anita Aunty!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Best locality in Srinagar Walking distance to zero bridge Walking distance to Lal chowk.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nittin Mittal wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
I have booked Mahatta Homestay for Two Days (New Year). I have booked through agoda but his manager told me that room that i have booked doesn't have centralized Heater and asked us to upgrade to the room where they will provide centralized Heater. But when we reach over there (At 10:00 PM), the room was freezing and we asked why heater is not working and they told us that they switch ON central Heater just for two hours We tried to contact everyone .. Owner, Manager and there was no one on the reception to talk to. Then nothing to left to try, we try to sleep in that cold room and suddenly at night we see our blanket caught fire (Electric Blanket). Our whole room was full of smoke. In morning when i encountered with Owner (Old Lady), instead of apologizing for the things, she said you can leave. I will not recommend anyone Mahatta..First because of Wrong Information they pass to the customers...second Worst Customer Experience
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Mehta, Owner at Mahatta Home Stay
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Mr. Nittin, I was hoping that before writing this review you would have done a little bit of introspection. And I would like to apologise to you in advance, as you have left me with no choice but to let people the truth. Had you done some introspection, you would have realised how drunk you were that night. And may be you would have also been able to throw light on how you managed to spill your drink on the electric blanket and how it caught fire (which is two layers under the bed ) without the quilt and the bed sheet catching fire. Needless to say the condition we found you and the room in the morning. I would want to make a small mention about what the other guests told me regarding your behaviour and how you have inconvenienced the entire guest house. I hope that this incident has taught you a lesson and that hereon you will be a responsible drinker. Or maybe not drink at all if you are staying at a hotel or a homestay, as it can endanger the building as well as lives. Wishing you the best for your future
Read more
Madhu S wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
Visited Srinagar with my sister and a friend . Somehow I always prefer to stay in a home stay to experience local culture and interact with people and most important enjoy their food. We stayed for 4 nights at centrally located Mahatta home stay at Raj Bagh. It was a very touching moment for me when I received a phone call from the Homestay when I was boarding my flight to welcome me and inquired if I need anything on my arrival. These are the small things but they do make a difference. Mahatta home stay ...what a place ..palatial property , gardens beautifully maintained, asthetically decorated spacious rooms with kashmiri furnishing. The high point of this home stay is presence of Anita ji and their yummy vegetarian food served with love . The staff is very caring and always smiling. Anita Ji's hospitality is personalized and she has a passion to take care of guests and could anticipates guests needs. I would strongly recommend to stay here and enjoy the experience. Anita ji..thanks so much to make our stay most memorable. May God bless you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
GreyEagle08 wrote a review Oct 2021
Andheri West, India63 contributions15 helpful votes
We, 5 couples, spent 5 nights at Mahatta homestay, in September/October. The homestay is very well maintained, clean, neat & hygienic, with all basic facilities. The rooms are spacious, we were in a ground floor room, they can comfortably accommodate 3 adults. The room has a double bed & a separate single bed. Clean linen, clean spacious toilet/bath, with solar heated running hot water, essential in Srinagar. The only downside was no shower curtain, leaving the entire bathroom wet. The food is pure veg (no eggs), tasty & well prepared. With a little notice they did prepare dishes, as per our request. The meals are served in the dining room. Service is good & staff are efficient. A special mention for Roshan, a very energetic young man, from Nepal, with a wacky sense of humour. The Kashmiri lunch that they made on request, was one of the best meals we had on our 10 day trip to Kashmir. The grounds are very pretty, with a lot of roses, lawns & outdoor seating. Overall a very good experience, made special by the owner Anita ji, who took personal interest in ensuring that we had a great stay. Drinking is not permitted on the lawn or in the dinning room. Recommended for couples & individual travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Limited parking is available on the premises. The place is not easy to locate, all the drivers...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
PotteryMaking wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
Mahatta homestay in RajBagh srinagar, was the most beautiful experience. We enjoyed our stay which was very comfortable and the food was really good. Special.mention for the staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable..Thank u Anitaji, ur homestay is really a home away fro. Home
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Amanda wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I'd like to bring to everyone's attention the situation at Mahatta Homestay (Rajbagh, Srinagar) so travellers looking for long-term accommodations can make a well-informed decision. Several guests have been staying at Mahatta Homestay on a long-term basis (1-3 years). I myself spent 4 out of 8 months there (Oct. + Nov. & Apr. + May). While the situation was not bad during Oct. & Nov. 2020, here's what transpired this time - * Cruelty Regarding Food - a) The landlady kept all the groceries in her own personal kitchen & measured each item before each meal was prepared. b) The past few days she has shut down kitchen access for everyone during the day to avoid anyone entering (even if people have personal things kept in the kitchen fridge like dahi or need to make coffee) c) Tenants are NOT allowed to cook in the kitchen d) Tenants were not given a breakdown of the rent vs. food & had to subscribe to a comprehensive package that included both e) Srinagar does not have many veggie food options (i.e. tiffins / delivery) so the vegetarian tenants had to succumb to whatever was being served in-house f) During the lockdown that took place in the pandemic, even restaurants / cafes shut down so meals had to be had in-house. Breakfast consisted of as many flavorless permutations and combinations of maida and aloo - i.e. aloo parantha without any dahi/butter; pieces of bread glazed with cooking oil and a few pieces of thin tomatoes without any dressing or giant chunks of aloo sabzi without any dressing stuffed inside. After a lot of arguments, either a tiny butter serving or a tiny runny dahi serving was offered with paranthas, but the staff was instructed to pretend it's run out and only if we made a scene it would magically pop up from the landlady's stash. g) April 23rd onward, lunch was uncooked - i.e. rotis & sabzis were kaccha... As a result lunch had to be skipped because it simply wasn't possible to chew it. After a point, the landlady finally asked the cook to not keep the lunch kaccha but the timings were pushed very late - 2 PM / 2:30 PM to torture us h) Already most of us were malnourished, hungry from very tiny and disgusting breakfasts. Our stomachs would hurt from waiting for lunch. Often, even if the lunch was cooked fully, it was prepared so awfully for us (versus the food going to the landlady's room) that we still had to skip it or only eat half to make our stomachs stop churning i) Dinners were disgusting on most days - many of us just dipped chapattis in gravy so it was soft to chew rather than eat properly. One person kept popping pudin-haras & enos to calm their upset stomach. The quality of the rice / rotis were below substandard - first the landlady claimed there was nothing wrong with the rotis. Then, she admitted that a DEFECTIVE bori of atta with more maida in it was sent & we HAVE TO finish all of it because ab aa gaya hai toh eat it even if it's unhealthy. j) Many conversations happened to not give us lavish food, but to simply at least make whatever is being prepared a bit more edible so we can eat. We were gaslit every time. The only time food was ever edible was ONLY IF there were a lot of short-term nightly guests to leave a good impression on them. k) There were bugs in the poha sometimes - thankfully, poha eventually got discontinued l) The landlady would gaslight us that she only eats one meal a day (lunch) & never has breakfast / dinner (not true - we all could see more meals being sent). She tried to convince us we are being unreasonable to want any basic edible meals during the day as if we are abnormal or brats m) We were lied to about basics like tissues / napkins running out, so deal with it. n) Considering the lack of veggie options in Srinagar + banishment from cooking on our own in the kitchen we were fully dependent on consuming whatever was being offered to us in the lockdown no matter how horrible it was. Furthermore, we were all being forced to pay for food whether we ate it or not, so there was a financial aspect, as well, for some. * Hygiene Protocol - During a pandemic, hygiene is of utmost importance. Bed linen and towels were hardly ever changed. After many requests, towels started getting changed once in 7-10 days. Bedsheets / comforters / pillow covers are a whole other story altogether. * Treatment of Staff - The landlady is sadistic. Many of the workers - i.e. painters, electricians, carpenters - were not paid fully. The cook and in-house staff only received sookhi chapatti and chaai for breakfast and measured rice / stew for lunch while working 'round the clock, terrorized by the landlady like they are Dobby the house elf. The staff is being outright exploited, and as a result they are really unpleasant with all the guests or rudely give the silent treatment. Their fear levels are off the charts. * Drinking Water - The water filters were not cleaned and bugs were found when we would fill up our water bottles. We realized that the water kept inside the kitchen also had immense dust particles. * Impact on Mental Health - Everyone was already dealing with the depression of the pandemic the world is facing. Food is such a basic thing in life - considering everyone was massively malnourished, it took a huge toll on everyone's mental health and morale... Energy levels dipped substantially. Lethargy kicked in. Everyone was drowsy. The environment became toxic. There were frowns on everyone's faces the entire day. The ability to work or think clearly became impacted. * Functionality of Rooms - Several of the long-term tenants had rooms with cracks in windows (super cold in a climate like Kashmir), lightbulbs not working, charging points not working, geysers not working, cupboards not closing / opening properly. The landlady gaslit most of us to just put up with it. Most rooms did not have functional water kettles, either. Those who stayed back in the harsh winter did not receive adequate provisions for heating. For example, I remember even in November when it started getting very chilly I was told "aapko toh thand ka phobia hai" and that the landlady keeps all her windows open it's that "warm" (which is not true - she had heating provisions such as kangris she was using back then). If you asked for an extra blanket, it would be provided eventually, but only after gas-lighting that it's odd you're feeling cold. Not everyone received functional electric blankets, either. * Leaving / Moving Out - Due to different majbooris - including the fact that when the lockdown happened there weren't many options of other homestays in the area where there would be other guests staying versus being totally isolated in such an uncertain time - the landlady knew we didn't have the option of checking out all of a sudden and had to surrender to however she was treating us. Again, do not forget that when one is not receiving something as basic as edible meals it impacts one's ability to think clearly even if there are alternative solutions. You get stuck in a toxic rut. I have checked out of Mahatta Homestay finally, which is why I am now in a position of privilege to be able speak up about what was happening. There are other people who are still stuck behind and I really hope someone intervenes or investigates what's happening there so the mental and physical health of those staying behind does not decline further. I am worried about them and am afraid for their well-being. The landlady is treating everyone very sadistically and it has crushed everyone's spirit to the core. If you are staying at Mahtta Homestay for a few nights, your experience will be pleasant, no doubt. But, anyone who is planning on a long-term stay, please be mindful of the on-ground reality at the homestay before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Anjali D wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
April 2021 For the very first time we decided to stay in a homestay. What a blessing in disguise and a wise decision it was. Located at raj bagh, srinagar, centrally located about 3 kms from dal lake, beautiful lawns with fruit & flowers beds; 15 rooms, each different from another, in shape, size & decor with all the modern facilities - an electric kettle; electric blanket; room heater in each room. A young nepali boy who runs hither tither catering to all your room service. A lovely cute glass house as dining area; sufficient parking space. Food :- 7/10 each day the menu would change catering to all our taste buds Hospitality:- 8/10 Mrs.Anita Mehta a very hospitable lady runs the establishment with clockwork precision giving higeine & covid precautions utmost priority. The day it was raining, umbrellas were provided. Rooms:- 8/10 some suggestions were offered by us Hygeine & cleanliness:- 8/10 Kashmir is 200% safe I would definitely recommend this place and spread the word and suggest to my friends to stay in this homestay as n when they visit Srinagar THANK YOU KASHMIR FOR MAKING OUR TRIP HAPPY & MEMORABLE and making us all feel so safe
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$51 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaJammu and KashmirKashmirSrinagar DistrictSrinagar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mahatta Home Stay
Which popular attractions are close to Mahatta Home Stay?
Nearby attractions include Saklain's Coterie (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahatta Home Stay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mahatta Home Stay?
Top room amenities include a desk, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Mahatta Home Stay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mahatta Home Stay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mahatta Home Stay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ahdoos, Mughal Darbar, and Chai Jaai.
Does Mahatta Home Stay have airport transportation?
Yes, Mahatta Home Stay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mahatta Home Stay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Mahatta Home Stay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kathi Darwaza (5.3 km) and Parihaspora Pattan (4.0 km).