Hotel Grand Mahal

Hotel Grand Mahal

Gupt Ganga - Ishber Road Near Agricultural University Road, Srinagar 190025 India
Traveller (133)
deluxe room
Room & Suite (25)
Lounge
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#46 of 243 hotels in Srinagar
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Grand Mahal is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Srinagar, offering many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Rooms at Hotel Grand Mahal offer a flat screen TV and a minibar providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A 24 hour front desk and room service are some of the conveniences offered at this small hotel. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Hotel Grand Mahal, free parking is available. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Srinagar, Hotel Grand Mahal is located a short distance from Hazratbal (2.1 mi) and Burzhama Ruins (3.1 mi). Srinagar has plenty of Asian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Shamyana Restaurant, Earthen Oven Restaurant, and Lhasa Restaurant, which are serving up some great dishes. Looking to explore? Then look no further than Mughal Gardens (1.1 mi), Nishat Garden (1.1 mi), and Shalimar Bagh (0.6 mi), which are some popular Srinagar attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the small hotel. Enjoy your stay in Srinagar!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children's playground
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Indoor play area for children
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Gupt Ganga - Ishber Road Near Agricultural University Road, Srinagar 190025 India
276Reviews4Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 57
  • 19
  • 5
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ashish Kumar shaw wrote a review Dec 2021
6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our kashmir trip and stay at Hotel Grand Mahal is a wonderful place to stay at Srinagar. Advised to all to come to kashmir and stay this group of hotel. All staffs Bashir front office ,Riyaz housekeeping especially Mr Nadeem wani Front office executive Is very cooperative
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashiq Pandit, General Manager at Hotel Grand Mahal
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you had a great stay at Grand Mahal. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff, services and comfortable rooms. Thank you once more for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikita❤️ wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Experience was awesome. Food quality is too good. Must visit centrally heated They upgraded our rooms we booked premium but they upgraded our room and they provide suit rooms with out any charge. Best hotel in Srinagar we recommend this hotel ..Mr Nadeem is very humble and professionally treated his guests.❤️🔥
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashiq Pandit, General Manager at Hotel Grand Mahal
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you had a great stay at Grand Mahal. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff, services and comfortable rooms. Thank you once more for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anusha wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The ambience of this hotel is amazing. The staffs are friendly and they provided us with an extra heater while we were unable to bare the cold. The breakfast provided is tasty and we had a good stay. Thanks to Mr Nadeem wanifronto ffice executive
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashiq Pandit, General Manager at Hotel Grand Mahal
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you had a great stay at Grand Mahal. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff, services and comfortable rooms. Thank you once more for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sheahana23 wrote a review Dec 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka26 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family visited this hotel for the second time yesterday 16th Dec. on our way from Delhi to Gulmarg we spent two days here. We did not have any issue. However when we checked in yesterday at 2pm from Gulmarg there was no power in the hotel. So we had to walk three floors to the suite room we booked. We immediately complained that the heater was not working. Many workers kept coming into the room but no success. Finally we got a small heater(picture attached) in the size of a multimedia projector to heat up a suite. We wanted another one but they kept saying ok but it never arrived. Hot water has timings. So if you check in at 2pm you can’t use the toilet and shower till 7pm. Because they only switch on the heater at 6pm and by the time you get warm water it’s 7pm. Not kids friendly at all. Attitude of staff is terrible. WiFi does not work well. Only works in rooms and that too when other rooms are occupied the speed is terrible. Food is good. No issues here. Check out the instruction on the water Geezer. (Picture attached). I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for family with kids.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tushar KS wrote a review Nov 2022
Navi Mumbai, India18 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
hotel and staff is good, location is 3km away from Dal so you won't get any lake view,
breakfast included which is ok in taste, i included buffet dinner which was very basic same taste & same items repeat only color changes (my opinion don't include dinner try to explore out or al carte ), rooms heated well, service is fast in room, local sight seeing nearby in range of 12Km, airport 23Km.
a great deal in terms of money.
family hotel very safe, totally occupied you can see lot of guests around
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: i chose Suit because i had family, but the basic rooms also nice and spacious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dspk6 wrote a review Nov 2021
Surat, India35 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't go by pictures of hotel.They have good ambiance but don't know hospitality.
We went for diwali vacation.Rooms r allotted which r nice and clean.

For dinner they started rate at 550rs for veg.we didn't respond due to some reasons.After one hour they cost same dinner at 450 rs.I didn't see this type in previous hotels.
In night we booked tempo traveller for sightseeing. Next morning at 9 am,we went to reception,they said vehicle is not coming,reasons nothing specific.
They said you walk 1.5 km and get vehicle from their.vwry very unprofessional behavior.and second thing i have ordered two tea from my room, I called at every 10 minute for three to four times, at last they said we don't have manpower , you came to restaurant for bed tea!
So think ever to stay at this Grand mahal.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imran Khan, General Manager at Hotel Grand Mahal
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel Grand Mahal ! First of all, let me thank you for spending your time and writing this feedback. On behalf of the whole team I would like to express my sincere apologies for any inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. I was truly surprised to learn about the points you have mentioned, as unfortunately we never have a chance to receive any complaints from your side while at the hotel. As you can see from other reviews, all our guests are praising the staff members, as they are really special, genuine and caring towards our guests. Overall, I deeply regret that you had such an experience with us, and since we never had chance to learn about it during your stay and rectify it immediately. We always put our guest satisfaction and happiness as the first priority. I am looking forward to have a chance of welcoming you back one day, I am sure you can see a different picture at that time. Regards, Imran Khan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shiksha wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Hotel Grand Mahal Srinagar was amazing. The suite room was extraordinary with beautiful interior wooden work and extra large space in it. The hotel staff was very kind and supportive. To be specially mentioned Riyaz from Housekeeping and restaurant staff were there on the toes to help us whenever asked for.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
muhamed h wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the best hospitality I have ever seen. They take good care of guests (big or small things). Reasonable price and best facility.
Must mention Mr. Nadeem for the speechless personality and extending the extra surprises above the paid facilities - which is one ever attracting thing I have seen in any hotel (3 or 5 stars).

The leadership of Mr Liyakath of the facilities kept an example for other hotels, I must specially appreciate the wonderful experience with smile on all their faces.

The best memories in kashmir is grand mahal - as same as sonamarg or gulmarg and heavenly place here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashiq Pandit, General Manager at Hotel Grand Mahal
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you had a great stay at Grand Mahal. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff, services and comfortable rooms. Thank you once more for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hemant O wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are a jain . Please do not consider this. We almost starved for three days as food was terrible.
We had three days stay here. We specially ordered jain food. Rotis were uncooked, tasteless sabji and dal . We had to leave hungry.
No staff only one waiter was running here and there. Couple of other guests too complained about the food.

Rooms were decent. Bathroom had no shampoo or conditioner.

In the middle of the night ac and fans were centrally closed down. We called room service in the middle of night. They said they cannot help it as all staff is out for midnight namaz.

We atlast had to open windows which invited mosquitos

Cannot say more..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Totally avoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anany wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great service at the hotel. Got a group of 24 people here and we faced no issues. They even extended the dinner and breakfast timings to accommodate a large group. Highly recommended. The room heating was good and the hospitality was great as well.
Mr Nadim, front office executive treated us like a friend and we made sure we didn’t face any issues.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashiq Pandit, General Manager at Hotel Grand Mahal
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you had a great stay at Grand Mahal. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff, services and comfortable rooms. Thank you once more for being our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from GGupta83
New Delhi, India69 contributions19 helpful votes
Yes, they do have in room tea/coffee kettle with all required ingredients. They don't serve complimentary tea though.
mmanekia asked a question May 2015
Mumbai, India
Hi, Do the Deluxe rooms have air conditioning ?
Answer from Hotel Grand Mahal
Srinagar, India
Yes !!!
Munawarsharif asked a question Aug 2014
Pune, India6 contributions11 helpful votes
Do they have Wifi or internet facilities ?
Answer from Hotel Grand Mahal
Srinagar, India
Yes!!!
Shivang Purohit wrote a tip Oct 2023
Mumbai, India3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dal lake , Shalimar garden and market is within 15 minutes from hotel by car/public transportation"
Read full review
Silky D wrote a tip Dec 2022
Mumbai, India17 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need heater and good food, avoid this hotel"
Read full review
Naresh G wrote a tip Dec 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can book the hotel blindly because no complaints at all"
Read full review
Tushar KS wrote a tip Nov 2022
Navi Mumbai, India18 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"i chose Suit because i had family, but the basic rooms also nice and spacious."
Read full review
Vipin Jain wrote a tip Jun 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front and Back rooms are better."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Srinagar area.
PRICE RANGE
₹8,078 - ₹9,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaJammu and KashmirKashmirSrinagar DistrictSrinagar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GRAND MAHAL (Srinagar, Kashmir) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Grand Mahal
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Grand Mahal?
Nearby attractions include Shankaracharya Hill (7.5 km), Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden (5.0 km), and Nigeen Lake (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Grand Mahal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Grand Mahal?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Grand Mahal?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Grand Mahal?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Grand Mahal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stream Restaurant, Shamyana Restaurant, and The Chinar at The LaLiT Grand Palace, Srinagar.
Does Hotel Grand Mahal have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Grand Mahal offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Grand Mahal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Grand Mahal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Grand Mahal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Grand Mahal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kathi Darwaza (4.8 km).
All Srinagar HotelsSrinagar Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SrinagarHotels near Hotel Grand Mahal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire