We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Khilona Heritage Houseboats

Save
Share
Nageen Lake Opposite Ghat No 1, Srinagar 190001 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Agoda.com
$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Trip.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (454)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 18/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 335 hotels in Srinagar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Khilona Group of Houseboats" are among the Best & luxury accommodation In Kashmir. Houseboats in Srinagar are located at Dal Lake & Nagin Lake. Tourist & travelers prefer staying at Houseboats in Kashmir rather than Hotels. Houseboat holidays are the most Romantic Kashmir Packages. The best of your holidays you have in Kashmir.On Landing in the Valley of Kashmir for the first time the idea most strucks the mind of visitors is renowned “House Boats” who finds it a noval experience for staying possible now where else in the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
341Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 34
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anshul S wrote a review 18 Aug
107 contributions25 helpful votes
Our stay at Khilona couldn’t have been nicer. The entire staff was super warm and welcoming. The houseboat itself is an experience everyone should indulge in. Rooms are spacious. Special mention for Rinku for always having a smile on his face. And special thanks to the owners- Muzzafar and Ghulam ji for enthralling us with their stories. Can’t wait to be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bansalujjawal wrote a review 15 Aug
3 contributions
+1
On 12th August 2022 we arrived at houseboat in the evening by 7 PM .when I saw the houseboat i was mesmerising by its architecture .its owner was very kind and talked to us in the evening for a hours. Now came to houseboat it's having 5 room and a dining area and a drawing room when entering into houseboat.we booked this via our kashmir travel agency but u can book it directly via calling the owner. It's being rated 4 * and price vary between 3500 to 4000. We got two deluxe room with breakfast and dinner inculcate . Dinner and breakfast are good with maintaining the hyegin. There was a one guy which name was REHAN he served us nicely for whatever we ask him. Overall u can try it as our experience was great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Krishna U wrote a review 14 Aug
1 contribution
We stayed in Khilona Houseboat for 2 nights in July 2022. It is one of our most memorable experiences. The houseboat, Khilona is simply amazing with a beautiful decor, attentive staff and our wonderful host. We look forward to another visit in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mehtab Parveez wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution
I came all the way from Léh to have some relaxing time for myself I went to khilona heritage houseboat for a night ended up by staying for 5 nights the place is situated at quite place the boat is well maintained the staff is very friendly and food was up the mark I will be back again Wondering owner very helpful Thanks for making my holiday memorable
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Altaf Wangnoo, Owner at Khilona Heritage Houseboats
Responded 1 week ago
we are so pleased by your great review and you have really enjoyed your trip we will be pleased to serve you again thanks regards Altaf wangnoo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kritsawat intasuwan wrote a review 4 Aug
Bangkok, Thailand2 contributions
+1
The scenic view around the boat and the decoration is quite good. everything look good and serene until at night.... the sellers who come up on our boat is so annoying!!. At first, the staff told us that the seller might come on the boat to show and sell there things but we can say NO if we don't want it. And, the weird thing is he told us that on 9.00 pm., his counsin will come to sell his product on our boat and he told us to give him a time to see his product.. we just say OK because we don't have any other choice although it's quite late...... when 9.00pm. no one shows up including to the staff!, so we lock the front door and go into our bedrooms. Almost 10.00 pm., someone knock and call us at the front door, we don't know who he is and we are going to sleep because we're just trekking down from the mountain and so tried, so we just say no to him, close the curtain and switch off the light. .... But, he call to the staff and then staff shows up and open the door for him and let him come to sit inside our boat!. And then the staff go to our room and call us to listen to his friend for selling his product at 10.00pm!!!!!, what is the privacy and security for this place?!!!!. We say NO almost 10 times and tell them that we don't want to buy it and he should go because it the night time but they don't listen to us at all !!!. He still try to sell his things to us. We told the staff we're not OK with this, it's almost 10.00 pm.!. It's a very terrible experience and so offend situation to us! but they don't care and still go on with his selling with supporting from the staff!!!. I think everyone want to stay privately and securely. If you want to help local people to let them sell their products, we totally understand. BUT, you should have the rules and do it properly to keep privacy and security for your clients!. You should set the proper time and ask your client for permission first before let them come up on the boat! especially on the nighttime!!!!!!!!!!! 😠😠😠. You should respect your client first because we pay the money for you to stay safe and private, not for shopping especially without our desire!. So bad experience for the first time with boathouse at this place!. please noted that and fix your rules and your staff!!!.​
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: if you want to stay privately and securely, avoid this place! until the owner will set the rules...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Altaf Wangnoo, Owner at Khilona Heritage Houseboats
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your feedback it really help us to improve the rules we have kept written on every room if vendors irritate you we have give the number of management to take the action against the person but we are really sorry what happened that evening it came to our notice once you had left otherwise we would have taken action same time, we keep your honest and sincere review and we have replaced that guy who has disturbed you we have fired him out of the job we really appreciate your concern thought we personally take care of our esteemed customers we assure your good self it wont happen again thanks a lot Altaf Wangnoo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vijayalakshmi R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This was my first visit to Srinagar and also first experience of staying on a houseboat. Staying in Khilona the houseboat was a wonderful experience. The ambience, decor and service were excellent. Maintenance and hospitality were exceptionally good. The owner took personal interest to make our stay comfortable. Staying in Khilona on the Negin lake was a therapeutic and calming experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Altaf Wangnoo, Owner at Khilona Heritage Houseboats
Responded 1 week ago
thanks you so much taking your time to write about our boat we really thank you for your kind words regards Altaf Wangnoo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arati R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Wonderful experience. The entire family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Khilona which is at the peaceful and scenic Negin lake. Well appointed, comfortable houseboat with attentive and efficient staff. The hosts really made our trip a very comfortable and memorable one! Highly recommend!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Altaf Wangnoo, Owner at Khilona Heritage Houseboats
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much taking your valuable time to write about us and your experience we look forward to serve our guest with same energy and efforts thanks Altaf wangnoo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abhimanyu wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Had an excellent experience visited with family the ambience, the warmth, the food, the attention to detail was all simply superb, the biggest advantage this property has that it has been recently renovated amenities are all state of the art with old world charm of Houseboat & the view you get & serenity all around is all overwhelming... looking forward to visiting again....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deepak kumar goel wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
It's very good and comfortable and made very beautifully. Full hand made carvings in wooden wall and many more. Will visit once again. The house boat is very clean and very hygienic and attendent and owner are very polite and friendly. Food is also good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dr. Sanjay Runwal wrote a review Jun 2022
Pune, India71 contributions69 helpful votes
We were a group of 13 people from Pune. We had an excellent stay at the Khilona House Boats 1 and 2. The owner Mr. Altaf and his father are very courteous and take personal interest in the needs of the guests. The boats are very tastefully done with intricate wooden carvings. The service by the staff too was very prompt. Food was good and the owners were always willing to organize Shikara rides at reasonable rates. These boats are parked at the Nagin Lake which is quite clean and has still waters. The only thing that I needed to ask for was a replacement of bath towels and to place hand towels in the room. The views from the front lobby of the boats are amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$50 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaJammu and KashmirKashmirSrinagar DistrictSrinagar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Khilona Heritage Houseboats
Which popular attractions are close to Khilona Heritage Houseboats?
Nearby attractions include Shankaracharya Hill (4.3 km), Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden (5.0 km), and Nigeen Lake (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Khilona Heritage Houseboats?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Khilona Heritage Houseboats?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Khilona Heritage Houseboats?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Khilona Heritage Houseboats?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stream Restaurant, Lacima cafe and pizzeria, and Ahdoos.
Are any cleaning services offered at Khilona Heritage Houseboats?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Khilona Heritage Houseboats?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kathi Darwaza (0.8 km) and Parihaspora Pattan (4.7 km).
Does Khilona Heritage Houseboats have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.