We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ghat No: 1 Nigeen Lake West, Opp Nigeen Club Hazratbal Road, Srinagar 190001 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (481)
Room & Suite (172)
Dining (37)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 335 hotels in Srinagar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Peacock Group of Houseboats have deluxe (3 star) Houseboats on Nigeen Lake, the most beautiful, cleanest lake in Kashmir. Handcarved of cedar furnished with Victorian style wooden furniture. Each houseboat has 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms and has a carpeted sitting room and dining room. Bedrooms have western bathrooms attached. Cushioned veranda looks out over lake. Choice of authentic Kashmiri, Indian or Western meals are served by the houseboy in the dining room. Pack lunches available. We feel pleasure to Present Peacock Houseboats as a Guide to many activities and tours that we offer in the valley of kashmir and ladakh (Little Tibet). Since 1930 ,We have been in the Houseboat Business arranging a numerous activities and has a very wide experience in guiding tourists safely as Professionals. Kashmirs greatest attraction is the Houseboat:Life on the houseboat offers you Homely atmosphere, Basic amenities and your very own staff to cook delicious meals for you. Vendors Glide past in shikaras offering a floating market of fruits and flowers and experience not to be missed.The Houseboats of Bashir Ahmad(Peacock Houseboats) are moored on the serene Nigeen lake abashed with Flower Gardens .We Look forward to Welcoming you with the garlands of Long living flowers. Host Bashir Ahmad.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Internet
Breakfast available
Car hire
Baggage storage
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Breakfast in the room
Show more
Room features
Room service
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
451Reviews17Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 273
  • 134
  • 25
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Puneet Verma wrote a review 6 Aug
7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Just awesome and seamless experience right from the start. Yaqoob (the owner) has been very helpful in not just arranging everything but also all sorts of information about srinagar in general. And the house boat itself is very tastefully done and managed. Food, needless to mention was awesome too. Highly recommended !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rinki A wrote a review Jul 2022
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India5 contributions2 helpful votes
I would recommend the best houseboat to stay here. Mr.Farooq who greeted and managed everything very well.The kind hospitality, comfort and hygiene of the houseboat was really remarkable. Also the food was so delicious. I would say 10/10 as the houseboat is located in the nigeen lake which is not so commercial like dal lake..very quiet, peace and sirene.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
richcout wrote a review Jul 2022
Kuwait15 contributions14 helpful votes
Stayed here for 1 night with family and deeply regret not staying here any longer. Nigeen Lake is clean, beautiful, and an easy choice to immerse into a serene experience alongside a home-like feeling. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom houseboat which is supersized, with a nice deck overlooking the lake, clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Manzoor Bhai is a kind hearted person who did everything he could despite being unwell. We had asked for a non-veg dinner so he had prepared Chicken gravy, Dal, Rice & Veggies setup nicely in style at the Dinner table. This was by far the most memorable experience throughout our stay in Kashmir. He had also prepared a sumptuous breakfast the next day. Thank you Manzoor Bhai for your kind hospitality and we hope to meet you again in the future. I strongly recommend staying at Peacock Houseboat for an experience like no other!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
neeraj wrote a review Jun 2022
New Delhi, India1 contribution
We stayed in peacock houseboats for 2 nights, just at the arrival we were welcome with the kahwa. We were lucky and blessed to stay in this houseboat. It was our anniversary they made surprise Arrangement for our anniversary. The houseboat is located in Nigeen lake which is quitter then busy dal lake. The winds the cold breeze the morning sunrises the evening sunset shikara rides is just the poetic world. I regretted staying in hotels. This place has all my heart.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
virholidays wrote a review May 2022
New Delhi, India1 contribution
I stayed here for three nights with my family and friends. We were provided 4 rooms. The rooms were spacious. with neat and clean and bathrooms. The food is excellent. We were provided proper Jain and veg food. Since some of my family members were jain so we had requested Jain food upfront. The place is beautiful. You have a view of mountains and lake from the balcony. The service provided by Tanveer/Manzoor and other helpers were excellent. Thank you peacock houseboats.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Balkrishna wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
f you're looking for a peaceful, serene and comfortable Houseboat stay in Kashmir, this is an ideal place to stay in. Away from the noisy and massive Dal lake, peacock houseboats on the calmer Nigeen Lake is an experience one must not miss when you visit Srinagar. This was my third visit and everytime i have stayed in Peacock Houseboats. The hospitality the service the food is excellent. One can sit on the veranda with a cup of Kehwa and relax. This is a quiet place. I usually prefer Nigeen lake over Dal lake, the reason being its quietness. You will not prefer to move out once you will reach here. It is such a relaxing and refreshing place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
virender wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
we were a group of 4 people stayed in peacock houseboats. The location of the houseboats is fabolous. The interiors are excellent. This is one of the best property located at one of the best place in NIGEEN Lake. The environment is serene. Services are top notch. you must stay here while in kashmir.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nattyjazz_13 wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India181 contributions43 helpful votes
We were 4 friends who stayed at peacock houseboat for 2 nights. And I must say it was a fabulous stay. The living room,dining room and the bedrooms were beautiful, well maintained & very very clean . The interior are stunning and the carved doors and roof give a royal touch to the houseboat. The houseboat offers a stunning view of mountains and the serene Nigeen lake. Not only is the stay here wonderful but the food offered us delectable. Breakfast and dinner was included and our wish to eat Kashmiri delicacies like lotus stem and halwa were attended to with great enthusiasm. I feel the credit for this wonderful stay goes to the caretaker Tanveer who was always there to help us and serve us with a smile on his face and super eager to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Thank you Tanveer!! If it’s a houseboat stay you are looking at look no further. Go for peacock houseboat. You will have a great time and lovely memories to cherish.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dipanwitamukh wrote a review May 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India9 contributions
I run a travel agency in Kolkata. I have sold Peacock Group of Houseboats before. Never had I faced any issue with this houseboat group until 15th April 2022. We were a group of 6 ladies travelling to Kashmir for the Tulips and booked a night stay at Peacock Group of Houseboats. My local support Holiday Express did the booking on my behalf, as I can refer to his mails he had made full payment the moment Peacock asked for it. I had been coordinating with Mr. Ehmad (you will get the no. over their website). Since the no. was on the website, I considered it to be an authentic one and kept communicating. We were supposed to check-in on 15th April in 3 Deluxe Rooms. On 15th morning at 8.30 am I made the first call to reconfirm that we are expected to reach around 4-5Pm. Mr. Ehmad simply said ok and all confirmed. At 11.30 am my local consort Mr. Subrata Das of Holiday Express calls and informs that Mr. Ehmad has requested to reach Nigeen around 6-6.30 pm on the grounds of Iftar. I called Mr. Ehmad to verify on this, to which he politely said "Madam aap log jo bhi ho 5.30 pm k baad aiye". We happily agreed and spent more time sightseeing even though my passengers weary after a 5.45 am flight. We arrived at the Nigeen Shikara Pier sharp at 6.05 pm and called Mr. Ehmad for the Shikaras. He said 2 shikaras are on their way. 2 Shikaras indeed came but after a wait of 30 minutes. It had already started getting dark outside. Technically, Peacock Group of Houseboat is just 5 minutes by boat on the right side of Pier. But our shikara person Tarek kept rowing and took us to a shady guest house names " Moon Valley Guest House" on one corner of the Nigeen Lake where there was no other houseboat or rather any person, and asked us to get off. I, being the tour manager here, refused to get off and called Ehmad. He didn't take my call this time. I called Subrata took Ehmad on concall, to which, Ehmad clearly said your local agent didn't pay us on time so we released all 3 rooms, now nothing is available. It was already 7pm, dark and we were refused rooms after the whole day of discussing! We kept on arguing and requesting for rooms. It was chilly outside and we wanted to go inside a houseboat and rest. But the Shikara person refused to take us to Peacock until Ehmad gave a go ahead and kept on going in rounds along the Nigeen Lake. It took us 1 hour to convince them and they said they could arrange 2 rooms and took us to a houseboat. It was soooo dark outside none of us even saw what houseboat it was an went in. Here Mr. Imran met us and his helper Mr. Shah Rukh said leave the luggage we will carry it inside. I went in and started the conversation for the 3rd room. Unfortunately we couldn't manage the room and had to spend the night in the living room of the houseboat. The food was tasty no doubt and we were offere Kahwa. 16th April I wake up to find that my bag with purse is missing. Mr. Shah Rukh blamed us for being careless and said we might have left it with the Shikara. Mr. Imran located the Shikara guy Tarek and he refused saying it might be at the Peir and that Kashmir has 0% crime rate against tourist. Well I clearly remember my bag in the living room on 15th night on the Sofa. Since we were not offered any room, we had to stay the night at the Living Room. It was quite uncanny since there were too many approaching footsteps. These people refused our booking and stole my purse. Later I check my mail from Peacock it clearly showed that they asked full payment on 9th April 6.45 pm and were paid in full on 10th April 9.30am. There was no further communication and on 15th May, the day of our check-in, Peacock mailed at 10.45 am that they are releasing the room. But they kept on telling us come late after 6 pm. While checking-out I noted that it was not even Peacock Houseboat where they made us stay. We stayed at PALACE HEIGHTS HOUSEBOATS IT IS A BIG SCAM. Whoever had a smooth experience are lucky. But what I experienced shocked me. Peacock had given me a mail that they will provide full refund since they couldn't serve us on 16th April. It is 5th of May and I still haven't received a penny from them. They are all interconnected and thieves. They gave our rooms to someone who paid more, made us sleep in the living rooms on a quilt (not even a mattress), then stole our money, and above that blamed us for being careless. Probably all because we were a group of 6 women!!! JnK Tourism should be ashamed for this.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peacock Houseboats, General Manager at Peacock Houseboats
Responded 30 May 2022
I would like to clarify the misinformation in this review. Firstly, on 15 March 2022 I received a booking request for three deluxe rooms on Peacock Houseboats for a group of six ladies from Mr. Subrata Das of Holiday Express Travel Agency in Kolkata. I made it very clear that he would need to send the 15% deposit by 16 March for the booking to be confirmed. I told him if he didn’t send the deposit the rooms would be released. He never sent the deposit by the due date of 16 March. He also didn’t contact me again until 3 and ½ weeks later (on 9 April) and sent the 15% deposit. I immediately called him and reminded him that I couldn’t have held the rooms when he hadn’t paid the deposit on time and hadn’t even contacted me. (By that time on 9 April all the rooms on Peacock Houseboats were booked). I told him if he would give me his account details I would refund the 15 % deposit. He then asked me to please make some alternate arrangements for these guests in a nearby houseboat. I wanted to help his group so that their holiday wouldn’t be ruined because of his incompetence. But I was able to find only two rooms (with extra beds) on Palace Heights Houseboats, which is also on Nagin Lake. Mr. Subrata agreed. I told him this information to pass on to his client. I didn’t have his client’s email address and it was his responsibility to update her about the change of accommodation. Then on 15th April the leader of the group called me at 11 am in the morning. (She said in the review that she got the number from the Peacock Houseboats website.) When she called she said that she wanted her group to have an early check-In. I told her that the standard check-in time is 12 pm. I never told her to come late in the day, just after 12 pm. She said that she and her group would visit the Tulip Garden then come to Nagin Lake. It was during that phone call she was first informed that her group wouldn't be staying at Peacock Houseboats. She seemed very surprised. Mr. Subrata, her agent, should have been professional and made it clear on 9 April the change of location of their reservation and that it was only two rooms, not three. Her party arrived at the ghat very late in the afternoon and then the leader of the group decided for the group to have a shikara ride around Nagin Lake. She called me again to inform me about the group going on a shikara ride. I told her again that her group would be staying at Palace Heights Houseboats. After that the two shikaras took the group to Palace Heights Houseboats where they were given the two rooms that Mr. Subrata had reserved for them on 9 April. Regarding the alleged stolen purse; I know the owner of Palace Heights Houseboats as an honest man. I wonder why she did not make a Police Report. Could she possibly have misplaced it? Regarding a refund: Peacock Houseboats were never paid by Mr. Subrata the remaining 85%, which was due upon check-in. When the group went to Palace Heights Houseboats we paid them (Palace Heights Houseboats) the full cost of the two rooms and the group’s dinner on the 15th April and breakfast on the 16th April.. I called Mr. Subrata a number of times to make arrangements for him to pay the 85%. It is now over a month later and he has not taken my calls. I looked up the HOLIDAY EXPRESS TRAVEL (AN UNIT OF DAS ENTERPRISE) in Kolkata on Google. There were a number of extremely bad reviews where Mr. Subrata took customer’s money but didn’t provide the service and stopped taking the calls of customers who demanded refunds. In addition, a formal complaint was submitted by a car rental agency in Dhaka, Bangladesh when Mr. Subrata did not pay for their services. My father Bashir Ahmed founded Peacock Houseboats 50 years ago. He is a man of integrity. He has instilled in myself and my brother Rahil the importance of honesty and hospitality towards our guests. We have hundreds of reviews from guests who have appreciated our hospitality. It was very upsetting to read this defamatory review that was based on inaccuracies. Yaqoob Ehmad Bashir Manager, Peacock Houseboats
Read more
kedar2015 wrote a review Apr 2022
Mumbai, India300 contributions88 helpful votes
Houseboats were really well maintained. rooms and linen were good. toilets were clean and hygienic. We faced an issue of water supply in one of the houseboat but sorted out immediately. we were promissed for having a sit out on terrace but it was not there... anyway we can not sit on terrace in evening because of some small mosquito like things...food and service was good. i would really recomend this houseboat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go for the one which has lake facing sit out [balcony]
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaJammu and KashmirKashmirSrinagar DistrictSrinagar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Peacock Houseboats
Which popular attractions are close to Peacock Houseboats?
Nearby attractions include Shankaracharya Hill (4.4 km), Indira Gandhi Tulip Garden (5.0 km), and Nigeen Lake (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Peacock Houseboats?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include room service, free internet access, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Peacock Houseboats?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Peacock Houseboats?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stream Restaurant, Lacima cafe and pizzeria, and Ahdoos.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Peacock Houseboats?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Peacock Houseboats?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kathi Darwaza (0.8 km) and Parihaspora Pattan (4.7 km).
Does Peacock Houseboats have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.